Kid reviews for A Fistful of Dollars

Common Sense says

Guns galore in intro "spaghetti Western" serving.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 8 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 27 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byDinosaurReviews May 28, 2018

Very violent, but a good western

This movie is a classic 1964 western by Sergio Leone and introducing Eastwood to fame, but it isn't for kids. There's more blood than the common sense media review implies. MANY people are shot and killed, including lots of soldiers by a machine gun in one scene. A man is impaled by a machete. It is shown sticking through his body, and blood is shown. No blood is shown in the shootings. Two men scream before getting crushed by a huge barrel against a stone wall, and we see their bloodied bodies later. TMWNN and his old friend are tortured. TMWNN is punched, kicked, and beaten bloody by Ramon and his cronies, and his friend his stung up by his hands and punched in the stomach, but thankfully no whipping is shown. A kid is shot at, and his father his kicked. Otherwise, this is a classic, but not for kids due to violence. (Also, The man with no name drinks and smokes, and so do other throughout the film. A woman is captured and kissed against her will). No sex or language, except hell, which isn't really even a bad word if you use it in one way.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bygranth July 11, 2014

Clint Eastwood's first great classic.

One of great films from the old west. Clint Eastwood's character kills people without any remorse. This movie would be rated PG-13 if it was a more recent movie.
Teen, 13 years old Written bythatonespymain May 12, 2021

Aim for the heart, ramone

i love this film. its a great western action guns go bang film. it doesn't even have swear words, the violence is moderate. there is one scene where clint eastwood gets beaten up so be weary of that scene if you don't like seeing people get hurt, but he gets back up. some days i want to be the man with no name, wondering around the western americas gun in my hand claiming new land. i give it an A
Teen, 13 years old Written byfamousstar4 March 5, 2021

Should be for kids

i think this should be rated this just because it has some shooting but not alot and it is by clint eastwood thebest shooter in movies
Kid, 11 years old February 8, 2021

Good Starter Western

This film was the very first western i ever saw and i was surprised but i kind of liked it. there is violence but it is good for kids.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 15 years old Written byCommonSenseMedi... January 6, 2021

A little bit more violent than described

Extremely well talented cast and director. Common sense media rated the violence at 3 stars which is a good rating star wise, but the description could use a bit more description. For instance, the knife flinging scene is really done with a machete, and it shows the machete going in one way and coming out the other, with blood. It's not focused on for a long time, but still there. Also, two men are crushed with a giant barrel, and their blood is seen on the wall behind them. Their faces are also covered in blood. The torture scenes aren't that bad, except lots of punches and kicks to ribs, and also a cigar burn to the hand, which another man steps on and runs the heel of his boot into. The gunfights aren't very violent, except the last one shows blood coming out of mouth, and the second to last one is a massacre in which men surrender but are gunned down anyway, and some catch on fire. Overall, I don't realistically see any 11 year old even sitting through this movie, because a lot of it is talking and they might find it boring. But if they could, I don't think they would be messed up too badly, but I would wait till 13 maybe. I watched it at 15 and loved it. The good the bad and the ugly is probably my favorite of the dollars trilogy

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written byDisneyFan06 December 23, 2020

Start to the Best Trilogy of All Time

This started my favorite trilogy ever. The Dollars trilogy. All 3 films are 5. Anyway this one has violence but it's not too intense. It's basically the same as superhero cartoons with violence only its live action so it's a little more intense. There is a kid at the beginning who is tortured. Man With No Name (Eastwood) has a cigar in his mouth basically at all times.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byThe_Stoic October 14, 2020

Great movie

This movie is similar to Open Range with Kevin Costner, but not as disturbing. There is one scene the high lights the coldness and hate of the bad guys. There is drinking and smoking

This title contains:

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byEthan R. October 1, 2020

This movie could be PG-13 not R

Great western/cowboy movie, contains lots of shooting and violence.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 16 years old Written byRodri's Retro Club July 7, 2020

Clint Eastwood's Biggest Movie!!!!

A huge movie for all ages!!!! No graphic Violence, and drinking! No nothing!!!
Teen, 15 years old Written byNsgolf18 April 29, 2020
Great movie, this shouldn’t be rated R, a PG-13 is way more accurate.
Teen, 13 years old Written bySnoopypug3 March 25, 2020

Brilliant spaghetti western with Clint Eastwood

Warning Spoilers
This Western film is very good the only swear word they used is Hell and they used a Blasphemy but it is clearly in Spanish there is a slightly disturbing scene in were Clints character gets beaten into talking and he shoots a villain and blood pours out of his mouth it is a film to watch if your kids want to watch a more violent film to get used to Moderate/edging into Strong Violence

Sex (1/5) There is a woman who gets kissed its implied that she is forced to sleep with him,A women in her near underwear gets interrupted

Violence (4/5) Through out there is lots of violence including puching,Kicking Hanging by hands and lots and lots of guns

Profanity (0/5) 1 "hell" and a Spanish Blasphemy

Alcohol/Drugs (2/5) many Cigars

Frightening scenes (4/5) Most of the film is under tension and lots of deaths including a death toll with a machine gun and scene of moderate torture
Teen, 16 years old Written bylechatnoar March 23, 2020

a fistfull of pleasur

It was one of the best spaghetti-western I've seen. The story, the acting, the music are brilliant. It's a little bit violent but as your kid already play to GTA it's okay :) . But , I warn you that a lot of people die because of duels ( it is a western so a movie about men wearing hats and trying to shot eachother ). So , I think it's the kind of movie people with 14+yo kids should watch .Excuse my English, have a nice quarantine.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 14 years old Written byJim R. March 9, 2020

The start of the Trilogy

It is the classic from director Sergio Leone. The action is fun and Clint Eastwood as Joe (The Man with no Name) is fantastic. The movie is also suitable for people that are 12 years old. There is one scene that is brutal and it is the torture scene. The rest is just harmless shooting like in an superhero film.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written by3yeet July 21, 2019

Good-but-not-great western has overrated Clint Eastwood performance - mild violence, but should be okay for kids

This is technically a review of "A Fistful of Dollars" by Sergio Leone, but it is really, (or at least it should be) a review of the film "Yojimbo", the Akira Kurosawa film, starring Tashiro Mifune, from which "A Fistful of Dollars" stole it's plot. It's one thing to make a stylized, fun but pointless western showcasing a guy who's really annoyingly aloof, but it's another thing to make a stylized, fun but pointless western showcasing a guy who's really annoyingly aloof but also steals it's plot from another film. The sad thing here is that the Kurosawa film is better on all marks than the Leone film. The cinematography is more refined, the first scene, (which is bizarrely absent from A Fistful of Dollars despite being one of the best scenes to reinvigorate) is classic, and the acting is better (specifically Tashiro, who is more modest and much better acted than Eastwood). Thus, it's bizarre that Yojimbo is absent from many mentions of A Fistful of Dollars, given that Yojimbo is a four, or more likely five star film, whereas A Fistful sits perfectly at a three. Now, let's give credit where credit is due; A Fistful of Dollars is, first, (and it may be surprising for you to hear me say this) a good film, a Spaghetti Western that had tremendous influence on the Western Genre, and a film that spawned "For a Few Dollars More" which itself I haven't seen but it spawned "The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly" a film that I will talk about in it's own review but allow me to say that it's certainly a five-star film with a star-making performance by Eli Wallach. "A Fistful of Dollars" is about the "Stranger" (played by Clint Eastwood) getting into a conflict between the violent Rojo family and the Baxter family lead by John Baxter (who is himself played by Wolfgang Lukschy), the sheriff of the town. They fight amongst themselves and the Stranger enters the conflict for his own material gang. A series of complex events happen which [SPOILERS] leads to the Stranger himself coming under fire, but after the [BIG SPOILERS, SKIP TO THE RATING IF YOU HAVEN'T SEEN THE MOVIE] Rojos massacre the Baxters, the Stranger kills the Rojos, and, as was his goal, becomes the only man to come out on top. It's a good, fun, and very stylistic film, but I think I've said all that was necessary previously. As for the age rating, it's pretty standard western violence. Shootings, torture, massacres, etc. That may sound bad by modern standards but keep in mind that movies like these really show their age over time. Violence that was significant in 1964, is going to be nothing to children in 2019. Case in point: Se7en, traditionally considered one of the most disturbing films ever, and is at 1995 much more recent, still very dated in it's violence if it was to be viewed today, where it would probably be considered a mildly dark action thriller. As I've said, it depends on the kid. More mildly prominent is the presence of cigarettes and alcohol, with which the characters drink and smoke. So yeah! Watch this film if it interests you, but more importantly, watch Yojimbo.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byCritiKid November 26, 2018

As far as westerns go, this one is a must see.

There is no inappropriate content in this film, and there is basically no bad words. Violence is definitely the main concern. There is very little blood. Some parts that are a bit bloody include a scene when Clint Eastwood throws a machete through a man, there is blood but it is pretty fake. The other part is when Eastwood sends a giant barrel rolling onto to people, there is some blood but its not bad. This movie got an R rating at the time, but it would probably be on the border of PG and PG-13 by today's standards. The violence itself is usually bloodless. This movie is a classic western film that every western or clint Eastwood fan should definitely see.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 17 years old Written byFlimFanE2 January 10, 2018

Classic spaghetti western is worth showing kids ages 10 and up.

Quality:
One of the best westerns out there, A Fistful of Dollars tells the story of a bounty hunter who works with both sides of two rival families and eventually gets caught in the middle of a conflict. Clint Eastwood plays his character perfectly as the likeable bounty hunter. The script is also very well written and although not as good as the two other installments in the "Dollars Trilogy" it is still a terrific movie.

Content Guide:
Violence: Characters are shot throughout, however none of the deaths are graphic and when blood is shown it is very fake looking. Two men are brutally beaten by the villains onscreen again not graphic by todays standards but for the time it was extremely violent. A man also has a machete thrown into his chest, blood is seen on the tip.
Sex: It is referenced that a woman is forced into a sexual relationship with the villain.
Drugs: No drug use but smoking occurs constantly throughout, especially Clint Eastwood's character whose cigar is iconic in this film.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byMovieGeek12345 September 24, 2017

A great and entertaining Western.

A Fistful of Dollars is a very important film as it helped shape the spaghetti western genre. The film is smart in how it deals with the plot by using interesting characters and an intriguing storyline. This is especially the case for Clint Eastwood's character who is so engaging that although he may not be a "good man" the audience empathises with him and wants him to succeed and do the right thing in the end. Overall there is not much to dislike about A Fistful of Dollars, although certainly not the best western out there is certainly an enjoyable film.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 9 years old August 17, 2015

Violent, And Dissapointing Considering The Third Movie, The Good, The Bad And The Ugly, But Still Good

Firstly, I thought i'd put this here: This movie is the first movie in the series of The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly. I don't believe it is very well known that The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly was in a series itself. (I could be wrong, I just found this out) With that, this is very disappointing, if you have noticed the stellar acting and quality that has made itself known in The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly, it certainly isn't here. (I was surprised when I noticed the first clich'e) I did like it; it definitely isn't bad, but it is plagued by some of the problems that weren't there in the third movie. Again, for anyone who is surprised to see that there are two others, the third movie didn't hint at any backstory. (So it's hard to notice) The problems are that there are cliche's, and the acting doesn't go nearly as great. The feel to the movie is much less good (maybe it's hard to not realize it if you watched the third), it really wasn't there, and felt offbeat relative to the third (or third to first, haha) but the feel was better in the third. This is good, and someone who is a large fan of the third (like myself) will enjoy this. I'm certainly glad I watched it. It began spaghetti western; big achievement. It has killings, a small amount of blood, and drinking, becoming more traditional as the genre went on. (spoilers) The good is the only one here; the bad plays a different character, and the Ugly just isn't there at all. For young children, it does turn down the violence level. Good overrall, maybe okay for those who have not seen the third.
-Movies0000

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 15 years old Written byMavrah333 July 30, 2015

While a classic, and historically important, Fistful fails to deliver any true thrills.

Pages