All parent member reviews for A Nightmare on Elm Street

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 17 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written bygrapelover46 September 13, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

This is not a good movie for your kids, but it is pretty good.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 15 year old Written byjenn1996 December 3, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Not a Family Movie hahaha

MY GOSH. THAT WAS QUITE A HORROR MOVIE. I'm almost 15 years old and I absolutely LOVE scary movies and that one was a thriller!!! I watched it with my mom and the only concerns I have for this movie is sexual content (the characters are MY age and their getting laid loudly...if you know what I mean.) and language (every 20 min they just the f-word, and they like to scream it!). In my household, violence isn't a big factor in movies and I'm used to it, but if you don't like a lot of blood and gore-- haha this movie is DEFINITELY NOT for you! The most scariest thing about this movie is just the element of surprise. Lots of things jump out and scare the heck out of you! After I saw this movie, my mother said "Okay.. No more Freddy Kruger movies for you.." Like if any kids younger than 15 saw this: they're probably scarred for life. I can't imagine what the remake of this is like.. Maybe when I'm 18 I'll go see it! Lol(:
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byLEEMOM123 April 17, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

OK for age 17+, but not "tweenagers"

What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byhomey335 May 28, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great, but violent and gory.

Violence: 8/10- Teens are stabbed to death, there are bloody images, a character is burned to death, etc. Sexual Content: 5/10- Teens are seen having sex in a be, but under the covers. Language: 6/10- F**k is used 5 times. Sh*t is used 4 times. Godd*mn and b*tch are also used. D*ck is mutterd once. Drinking and drug use: 6/10- Consant drinking. Frightining or scary scenes: 9/10- This movie is about a killer who kills people in their dreams violently and gory. This is a pretty scary movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bygitters April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

once, two, freddy's coming for you!

A boogieman haunts teens in their dreams. If he kills them in their dream, they die in reality. If you know your kid and you let them watch horror movies, this is a light "R" in my book. Gore is about average, language is rather taime compared to many "R" rated movies.
Adult Written byyaktown April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byIt Is Me May 30, 2015
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not Appropriate

This movie is not appropriate, no matter what the kids try to tell you. I was 15/16 when I watched this and I was scared out of my mind. This graphics suck, so it did take the experience down a bit, but the idea of dying in a dream is scary enough. Freddy is hideous and is very much one of the ultimate horror movie villains. I am pretty good with horror movies, but this one was definitely scary. I would not suggest this movie for anyone who has even the slightest of hard times telling what is real and what is fake. There is lots of blood, and while it is not as gory as its sequels/remake, it is enough to make a lot of people squeamish. Long version short, I had nightmares for about a week after watching it and I have watched a lot of horror movies.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byDaniel Hasferd October 2, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good Movie

A really good movie for mature pre-teens. But, I really think that some younger kids should avoid this horror film. NOTE: It is a HORROR film and does contain violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 11 year old Written bymrs conn April 17, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
my MPAA Rating R for bloody violence
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byQuinton_Moad February 5, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

"A Nightmare on Elm Street" isn't terrible but be cautious about showing it to your children

"A Nightmare on Elm Street" is age appropriate for children between 12 and 13 if you feel they are mature enough. It contains intense violence and a scene of sexuality. It also contains a life-affirming message about dominating your nightmares.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Adult Written bycallofduty5 September 25, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Robert Englund= Awesome!

Originally good slasher must buy for horror fans don't watch remakes they arent worthy
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 5 and 7 year old Written byGOREROCKS July 2, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

AWESOME MOVIE

I loved this movie!!!!!! I Think That the rating is very harsh. I was amazed when i saw the rating on this site. IFFY FOR A 16 YEAR OLD?????? That is so ridiculous. I saw that it was showing in a little theater that shows old movies and brought my kids to see it. I highly recommend seeing this movie. AWESOME MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byPlague March 5, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A Nightmare on Elm Street

Little kids beware, this is not a movie for you. But teens and adults must watch it! Freddy is #4 on my top 5 favortie slashers.
Parent of a 12 year old Written byravenjayz March 3, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
i loved this movie but i heard there is a new nightmare on elm st comming out with out robert enland in it an he is the only freddy. now thats a crime it wont be the same
Adult Written byEvanReviews August 14, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Perfect Horror Movie for Mature Teens and Adults

Classic horror movie which I really enjoyed. Violence is throughout so is moderate language. And a brief sex scene but with no nudity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byfarrell1 May 9, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
great movie in horror movie history. Hope the remake is a good or better of im not watching it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing