Kid reviews for A Serious Man

Common Sense says

Brilliant but bleak comedy for mature Coen brothers fans.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 8 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 8 reviews
Teen, 14 years old Written byTophatman May 9, 2020

I don't understand why this is 17+

The age rating for this is much to high. Very little nubity and very little violence. 17+ is insane. For content this is higher than Fargo.
Teen, 16 years old Written bycsm_overreacts June 10, 2019

light nudity and language, deep conceptual film

The only reason I rate this 14 and not younger is that a younger person might not appreciate the movie as much. It provokes a lot of question about religion and is very philosophical. I'd say this is a majority of what makes the movie good, and if you don't understand that then there's little point to watching it. There's a clothed sex scene and a woman sunbathing topless from a distance, so sexuality is not big in the movie. A lot of strong language is used among children, but curses are just words, and kids have all heard them before. The only other thing to mention is young teenagers smoke weed, but nothing too extensive. Overall, the movie is very good, and the aspects of language and sexuality are brief and not important to the base of the movie. Would strongly recommend.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Language
Teen, 17 years old Written byconjab June 1, 2018

Deep Biblical Allegory

There is Biblical messaging throughout the film with a story about a man living a hard life. However, there are some issues with sex, drugs, and violence.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byParamm1 May 14, 2016

A masterpiece.

There are a lot of F-bombs, a topless woman is seen from a distance, a man is stabbed in the prologue, a man is shot in a dream, there is a very mild sex scene (also in a dream), and marijuana is a constant theme in the movie (used by kids). It's brilliant, everything is beautifully shot, it's funny, it's bleak , and it's thought provoking. Almost a flawless film. Go watch it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byBestPicture1996 April 25, 2012

Seriously confusing

"A Serious Man" was not unlike the Coen brothers movies I've seen, "True Grit," "NCFOM," etc. But this film took a lot more deciphering to do then any of those. It's a small, complicated little film about why things happen to us, and when we'll receive answers. It's well acted, and is worth a rental.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bymasonlackey January 15, 2011

inspirational

a great storyline very inspirational movie its great!!!

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 17, 2010

A good black comedy, but most kid's wont enjoy it

This is a very bleak, obscure comedy by the Coen Brothers, most notable for making movies like "Fargo" "The Big Lebowski" and "Burn After Reading." People need to know that compared to those films, the humour in this movie is not obvious and very very dry and obscure. It's deep and complex, with lots of themes including Judaism, anti-Semitics, drug use, divorce, death, terminal illness, child pornography etc.
The film is set in the 1960s and it is based around the life of a highschool teacher who is cursed with bad luck. Everything is bad in his life, and some people might find this boring, but if you look deeper into the whole thing, there is lots of very funny humour.
With his wife wanting a divorce, his son's bar mitzvah coming up and a korean student conning him into giving him a good exam mark, he is very stressed and consults three different rabbis, trying to find out the meaning of his life.
Some of it can be boring and bleak, but I found most of it was very subtle and very funny. The ending may be frustrating to some, but I really enjoyed this film and thought it was classic Coen Brother's style. You actually feel very sorry for the main character and what he's going through.
There is some swearing including f***, among others, some sexual references including a fantasy sex scene where a woman is thrusting on top of him (brief and nothing shown), a man is accused of sodomy and child abuse, people are shown smoking marijuana and getting high (comedic), and there is some violence including a man being shot in the neck (from a distance.)
All in all, I really enjoyed A Serious Man, but I think you have to have an acquired taste to really embrace the feel and mood of the comedy, and the subtlety of it. :)

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byJVazquez November 18, 2009
This movie is funny but for some reason i freaking loved it. This movie has it confusing parts but there most likey dreams.