All parent member reviews for Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

Parents say

(out of 9 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Adult Written byredcandi June 24, 2012

nudity is uncalled for

I do not have kids, but I do want to hold Hollywood to a standard, no nudity (porn) is really important to me as a young woman myself, I want to be respected by the people making the film. THIS ONE MISSED THE MARK, near the beginning, random topless women.. I am now trying to contact the maker to let them know I am really disappointed and will not give them my money.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written bychristian2011 March 17, 2013

A very disappointing movie remake of the original book. Don't bother.

This movie mainly focused on the violence, not the character's stories, the plot or setting - all about the vampire slaying. The acting was also bland and the characters didn't have depth, which made it boring all the way through. Abraham Lincoln and vampires ironically fighting each other just don't make a particularly good match, and the title would ward off movie goers anyway.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byTheBespectacledNerd November 19, 2012

Got my sister to ask questions

I saw this movie with my sister (17 years old), so keep in mind that this review is not based on any experience watching this movie with young children. I had thought that Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter was going to be some forgettable comedy that solely revolved around the title as a joke. Luckily, I was dead wrong. It's actually kind of refreshing to see a movie that takes such an absurd concept and plays it so seriously. My little sister, who saw the movie with me, didn't really want to go, but actually wound up liking it. I'm a huge history nerd, and she doesn't know much about history, and after (and sometimes during) the movie, she would ask me questions like "So what's the real story behind [insert scene or line of dialogue here]?" This movie actually got her to seek out knowledge of American history, and any movie that can do that gains more than a few points in my book. And what's more, after some quick Civil War history lessons, some of the stuff I've tried to teach her about race relations and institutionalized racism started to click for her (she'd never really understood or seemed to care before). All in all, as a movie-lover, history nerd, vampire fan, and older sister, I give this movie a solid 4 stars.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byKAL57 November 8, 2012

Thumbs down

To much viscous fighting and violence for young children. Heads being chopped off and lots of stabbing and blood. One scene shows a dead woman's breast exposed. Movie could have been made without that scene, but that's Hollywood for you. Some cussing and the F word used. I would not take my children to see this movie. I prefer to not patronize these type of movies for myself, but was with someone else when it was shown. Wouldn't pay to see it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byShivom Oza August 25, 2012

The Film Makes Vampires Look Dull - Shivom Oza

A young Abraham Lincoln (Lux Haney-Jardine) witnesses his mother being killed by a vampire, Jack Barts (Marton Csokas). Considering himself to be guilty for his mother’s death Abraham vouches to take revenge. A decade later, he (Benjamin Walker as Abraham Lincoln) tries to eliminate Barts, but in vain. An acquaintance Henry Sturges (Dominic Cooper), who is a vampire himself, teaches him ways in which he can fight and kill vampires. However, Henry makes it clear to Abe (short for Abraham) that he will only kill vampires on his orders. Abe moves to Springfield where he is on the job in the days and on the hunt during the nights. The store owner Joshua Speed (Jimmi Simpson) helps him out in getting accommodation and work and goes on to play an instrumental role in his growth as a politician. He also meets Mary Todd (Mary Elizabeth Winstead), his eventual wife, as well as reunites with his childhood friend Will Johnson (Anthony Mackie). Once he plans to move on to the worldly ways, he vows to not ever get pulled into the world of vampires again. However, having made enemies in vampires such as Adam (Rufus Sewell), Vadoma (Erin Wasson) along with their entire troupe, Mr President Abraham has to return back to his vampire-slaying old-self to save his country. Performances were decent. Benjamin Walker shows his mettle as a fine actor; however it gets too annoying after a while. He puts in an intense performance in the first half. However, it does dwindle a bit towards the end. Dominic Cooper’s role is one-dimensional, leaving the ‘The Devil’s Double’ star with nothing much to do in the film. The villainous vampires (Marton Csokas, Rufus Sewell and Erin Wasson) too, fail to have any sort of impact. The women in the film are almost lampposts. Mary Elizabeth Winstead, who plays Lincoln’s wife, could have done so much more with her character. The performances were impressive; however they are terribly let down by the disappointing writing. Based on the 2010 novel of the same name by Seth Grahame-Smith (writer of ‘Dark Shadows’), the film is directed by Timur Bekmambetov (directed the Angeline Jolie starrer ‘Wanted’). Seth Graheme-Smith, who also wrote Tim Burton’s ‘Dark Shadows’, fails to derive the greatness of Lincoln. He even does grave injustice to the genre of vampire films. The concept was indeed, very innovative. To amalgamate a historic figure with a surrealistically-conceived plot was always a risky one. There were a few moments in the film (for instance, Abe learning the art of slaying vampires, his battle with his mother’s murderer Barts with a backdrop of innumerable horses galloping at a thunderbolt speed, the speeches made by Abraham during the political rallies). However, the sad part is that they are too few and far in between. The background music of the film (Original Music by Henry Jackman) was brilliant. In films such as this one, sound along with visuals plays a big role in capturing the attention of the audience (notwithstanding the thoughtless idea), and Jackman does deliver. The CGI (computer-generated imagery) was breath-taking and even the 3D effects were passable (better in comparison in some of the recent fare that is being meted out). Director Timur Bekmambetov fails to capture either of the two worlds effectively. Honestly, like one shouldn’t tamper with the classics, even historic figures should be left untouched. Abraham Lincoln is too iconic a figure to be caricaturized in such an absurd manner. The screenplay of the film was bizarre. The events that unfold towards the end could have been better placed in order to end the film on a high. However, looks like the makers wanted to leave no stone unturned to accomplish this kamikaze. They shouldn’t have made this film at all. Neither does it contribute greatly in terms of storytelling nor does it boast of out-of-the-world visuals. The story does great disservice to the great man that was Abraham Lincoln. Shivom Oza
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of an infant, 13, and 16 year old Written byParentReviewer August 9, 2012

Everything is good except the action parts.

This movie was not good like I was hoping. It wasn't even "mindless fun" because the best scene is in the Red Band trailer and the only action scene besides that is the train scene which is bloodless and boring. The acting was very good and the violence really isn't that bad. I'd say 2/5 instead of 4/5. There is a little bit of sexual content such as nudity for about 5 seconds and a man and woman are in a bathtub together. Overall, this movie is okay for kids but it's not a very good movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bymoviesrule1424 July 15, 2012

It's an amazing horror movie everyone 17 or over should watch.

Lots of bloody violence; alcohal abuse. 17+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydarkknightrises232 July 14, 2012

It's really good and high quality, but innapropiate.

The mvoie revolves around vampire violence and has salty language, sexual content, and alcohal.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byNukeNerd June 30, 2012

Think before you talk people.

Com'on people,sure this movie has foul languages,but really.You know how teens are they love actions with a bit of violence and honesly language,because they WANT to be entertained.THIS MOVIE SHOULD BE RATED 13 OR OLDER ONLY!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing