Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for Alien Resurrection

Common Sense says

Grotesque carnage, vile characters; steer clear.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 13 reviews

Kids say

age 16+
Based on 31 reviews
Parent of a 13 year old Written byabrahm January 31, 2011

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written bycheeser July 10, 2009

Good

A bit violent.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byJustinC 1 February 2, 2016

Very violent, gross, and disgusting. Age 18+

I saw this in the theater when I was 17, and afterwards I wished I hadn't seen it because it was very violent, very disgusting, and disturbing. I had already seen the first 3 "Alien" movies before I saw this, and this is by far the worst "Alien" movie.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Parent of a 1, 4, and 7 year old Written byaetheriadraconis December 30, 2015

Good action packed movie for not oversensitive teens

SPOILERS ALERT: Don't read it if you haven't watched this movie (and you have to watch it before even deciding it for your kids). Well, at first - this is not classical Alien style gothic horror, no. It still has the dark ambient atmosphere of doom and despair, but it's packed into, in fact - 3 hours timeframe, before the nightmare spaceship will reach the Earth. And this is, probably, the only moment when human characters had shown any humanity - they do care about the Earth and the inevitable end of mankind if the aliens will reach the planet. That's it. In general, almost all human characters are disgusting and amoral, greatly outlining the fact that in this bright future world humans are worse than aliens. Crazy and amoral scientists, making alien-human hybrids and using human hosts for aliens. Mercenaries, hijacking the cargo ship to deliver humans for experiments to the scientific ship. Military turned into huge greedy corporation with no moral standards. The only neutral or rather, semi-good characters are the survived marine and the man from the cargo ship with alien inside. Closer to the end of the movie Ripley says to Call: "I should have guessed that you're a robot. You're too humane to be a human". Truly, the two good characters of the movie are half-alien and a robot. Now about the rating. Great messages: well, the whole movie is a single great message making one big negative example, where gore and violence are used as background to deliver it. Role models: a robot and half-alien? No, probably not. Too much violence even for Alien sequel and, generally, too much for teenagers. No sex at all - there are several scenes of partial nudity of Ripley and her clones, but they are asexual by their nature and the only "sexual" scene is where a man gives the legs massage to the women. A lot of swearing in general (but not too much, giving the circumstances). Some drinking and smoking at the beginning. Now as for the age rating. We were watching it with my 7 y.o. daughter in a dark room at 10:00 PM as a scary bedtime story. She had no nightmares and really enjoyed the plot and action, but I had to explain several topics, like: "they said that the ship's autopilot is set to return the ship to Earth (as its home base) automatically in case of emergency" or "Call had just connected to the ship's central computer to schedule its self-destruction before it reaches the Earth" or, in general: "the Aliens behave like hornet hive with a Queen, eggs and workers or rather as parasitoid wasps that use caterpillar hosts for their larvae". Still, I think that most kids should watch it at 12+, 14+ or 16+ - all depends on their individual tolerance for blood, gore and freaking monsters.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Language
Parent of a 2 year old Written bygerbowski October 17, 2012

A few new Alien twists, but mostly the same old stuff

This new "Alien" film is just as dark and tension filled as the others in the series. There are some new twists in the human/alien relationship, including Ripley, who is half-alien herself. If the first three Alien movies disturbed you, this one won't be any better.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Parent Written byTikhon K. November 14, 2017

Quite cool horror movie

Creepy, cool, bloody, gruesome and tons of swearing. Not for kids

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Parent of a 10 year old Written bymrfredcarrey October 4, 2012

i like it

i like the scene when ripley get face hugged

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byfonzieg April 3, 2015

A gory, sloppy mess of a sequel, not worth your time and money!

Terrible characters, terrible dialogue, and so-so special effects! Wow, there is almost nothing good in this atrocity! At least Alien3 was actually good (in my opinion), but not great! This movie is the complete opposite of good! The best part of this movie is Ripley and Brad Dourif's character, and some of the action sequences, but that's it! Skip this sequel, watch the first 3 movies, they are much better than this one!
Adult Written byRun boy run. July 14, 2012

Dreadful sc-fi horror almost drowns in gore.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byFrankinf March 25, 2012

Okay but not for kids

This movie has a great story line but is scary for kids so pre-teen plus is fine

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Parent of a 15 year old Written byTsion June 15, 2011

Pretty Gritty...and Just Downright Gross

ALIEN: RESURRECTION is just a strange movie. Basically it's a completely unnecessary continuation of the Alien franchise, which started out brilliantly strong and unfortunately sunk to low standards before its closure. Maybe the filmmakers sought to redeem the franchise with this next movie. It doesn't work. Resurrection isn't a horrible movie. If you've come to see aliens kill people and Sigourney Weaver fire some massive blowtorches, then you surely won't be disappointed. However, this Alien movie lacks what the first two had a lot of: spirit. These movies have always been gross, don't get me wrong. But while the first one was cinematically brilliant, the second carried strong characters and plot, and the third was (again disappointingly) cynical yet thought-provoking, this one is just plain disgusting. There is absolutely no reason for you to let any kid or teen see this movie. The bloody atrocities committed by aliens and humans alike transcend description. It's almost like we're watching Saw in space. People's heads are crushed, split in two, skulls are pulverized, intestines are eaten, blood is sprayed, aliens are ripped apart inch by inch (with accompanying entrails), and one guy is blown apart (quite gorily) after being frozen in liquid nitrogen. The camera doesn't blink for one second. The previous Alien movies (yes, even the third) used a certain class when approaching violence; yes, it was graphic, but it wasn't just violence for violence's sake. This one is just gore porn. I'm typically not a squeamish person, but it made me want to vomit. Plus, there's pretty much every vulgarity in the book, used in every which way (including in a sexual context). Two words can sum up this movie and its content: completely unnecessary.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written byMovieLover4Lyfe October 26, 2010
Violent and gross. The Alien series has never been one that I particularly like and this addition did nothing to help that.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written bygreen_goblin November 7, 2008

Not bad at all

Better than part 3. This film was so suspenseful, but it was the story that sucked.