Parents say

(out of 43 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Parent of a 8, 11, and 12 year old Written byYatesy March 5, 2013

12 yr old intrigue.

My lad is nearly 13. he is asking about these kinds of films because his mates are watching them. I know as parents we all have wildly varying views on film content but I think this website is great at understanding what a majority think. I'm going to let him watch 'Alien' at the weekend and see how it goes. I will amend this review if I feel I changed my current thinking once he has watched it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 2 year old Written bygerbowski October 7, 2012

Scary, but good.

A great classic in the sci-fi horror genre.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 4 year old Written bytonyhutchins July 18, 2015

Not a particularly scary horror film, but thoughtful and well-paced

Alien was probably terrifying when audiences first watched it in the 1970's. And even today, in a dark theater, with the music blaring and the lighting just perfect, it can have a certain presence to it. But watching it at home brings to light a lot of the faults of the film and a lot of the shortcuts that were necessary to make it. Alien is clever by necessity. Since their scary monster is basically just a man in a rubber suit slathered with K-Y, they're forced to show it only in pieces, jump cuts, and mention it off-camera. There are deaths, but none you actually see. There is violence, but it's largely appropriate for PG-13 audiences, with no serious blood or gore. There are two scenes that might give parents pause- the "chest burster" scene, where the Alien explodes out of a man's chest, and the appearance of the face-hugger alien, as this is a bit scary for youngsters. This is a movie that would recieve a solid PG-13 if it were released today.
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written byOneVeryLongUsername March 3, 2015

"Alien" - Parental and Artistic Review.

Sexual Content: One of the cabins is full of pornographic magazines and posters. The posters adorn the walls, but they aren't viewed up close and the images aren't seen very clearly (they are explicit, though). They don't serve a huge purpose to the story, they are simply there in one scene and one of the magazines is rolled up and used as a weapon when Ripley and Ash get into a fight. At one point Ripley strips down to nothing but an undersized undershirt and skimpy panties (the top of her buttocks are visible, and her nipples are obviously poking through her tank-top). She remains like this for quite a long time. When Lambert complains about the food not tasting nice, Parker says, "I'd rather be eating something else right now, but right now I'm thinking food," an oral sex reference. It's implied that the Alien rapes Lambert (she's naked and hanging from a ceiling -- only her foot is seen). Violent/Gory Content: The alien bursts through Kane's chest while he is eating dinner with the rest of the crew (blood spurts in few places, including on some people). This scene is very intense, he begins to choke and then starts squirming around. then he starts having a seizure sort of thing and begins to scream and yell. The Alien tries to burst out of him and succeeds on the third try. It looks around, surrounded by blood and some gore (not detailed but there is a lot of blood), while the man's hands twitch and have spasms. The alien attacks a Brett and pierces his head with a headbite, then drags him into a ventilation shaft (a puddle of blood is shown in the Director's Cut). Lambert and Parker get killed by the Alien: The Alien sneaks up on Lambert and Lambert freezes with fear. Parker attempts to kill the Alien with his flamethrower, but fears he may injure Lambert as well, so he charges at the Alien, but the Alien notices him and throws him into a wall. It pins him against the wall, denying him the chance to escape, and then kills him with a headbite. After that, it corners Lambert and kills her off-screen (her screams are heard over the intercom). Shortly afterward, their bodies are seen, and it appears that Lambert's body is naked, hinting that the Alien raped her. A man is hit in the head with a fire extinguisher and white substance comes out of him; he is then hit once more and his head tears off; moments later, we figure out he is a robot; afterwards, the crew asks him questions and at first he answers with sputters and spurts (his blood is white and milky, though). A man cuts a "finger" off of a facehugger and it bleeds acid. Ripley is attacked and beaten severely by a human-like robot or android on-screen (her nose bleeds and she makes disturbing moans as she is being thrown all over the place). 7.2 out of 10. Profanity: At least 5 "f" words (6 in the Director's Cut) and 8 "s" words. Other words include at least: 16 "hells," 8 "damns," 5 "S.O.B.'s," 2 "craps," 1 "ass," 1 use of "bitch" (3 in the Director's Cut) and 1 use of "bastard." Religious exclamations and profanities include at least: 11 uses of "Goddamn," 8 of "Oh, God," 2 uses each of "For Christ's sake," "Jesus," "Oh, my God" and "God" and 1 use each of "Jesus Christ" (2 in the Director's Cut) and "For God's sake." 5.6 out of 10. Substance Use: Lambert, Brett, Kane and Ripley smoke cigarettes several times, while the crew drink a beer called Aspen Beer at the dinner table. Conclusion: "Alien" is a classic sci-fi horror film that has stood the test of time. It has a good script, a great story, memorable performances, and of course, a great protagonist. This film is amazing and I definitely recommend it. I give this film 8.9 out of 10.
Adult Written bySeanT726 July 15, 2015

One of the greatest horror movies ever- and an alright introduction to the genre for kids

Title is roughly self-explanatory regarding my thoughts on the film. It's beautiful, period. As far as whether it's good for kids: the beginning of the film has a few F-bombs, there's the infamous chestburster scene, and you see Sigourney Weaver in some of the least revealing/sexualized lingerie in film history. I would advise it for preteens up (roughly the time at which they begin hearing the saltier language in everyday life), but a particularly mature younger kid could take it.
Adult Written byGresh854 January 19, 2015

One of the Greatest Sci-Fi's

begging it eventually gets you on the edge of your seet the 2nd half of the film. All though it is rated R I feel it is inbetween the rating R and PG-13. There is really only one or 2 scenes that are a bit over PG-13 violence, but they are not too realistic. I definitely recommend this to anyone into Thrillers!
Adult Written byashbudgie1 June 25, 2011

A must see!

Very gory, but also very exciting. It's a classic for a reason; it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Everyone who loves horror films should see this at least once. It's one of the best!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bywilkier July 11, 2015

Amazing horror film has one or 2 bloody scenes.

Alien is one of the best films ever, and most teens will love it, it only really has 2 bloody scenes, one of which includes an alien coming out of a man's chest and a robot head with guts of spaghetti, it has around three f--ks and nothing else, also a cat is constantly in peril.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bylibbybowen December 16, 2015

Alien

i think 9 is old enough to watch
Adult Written byjacob a February 25, 2015

AWESOME!!!

theres a scene with a little bit of blood and some bad words in it, but that, i think it aint bad. but if your kids get scared easily, they shouldnt watch it.
Adult Written byNathan009 October 12, 2014

Mature

The movie is about a group of people trying to survive in space with a alien on board. The overall content is ok but some scenes some viewers may find disturbing. 12+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byhomealonefan123 April 27, 2014

This violent, sometimes very gory thrill ride is awesome, best for teens!

Parents need to know that this 1970's sci-fi-horror film is violent and sometimes gory. The violence includes other life forms bursting through people's chests, shooting, and being killed by the alien. There is some strong language and posters of naked girls. But other than that, this movie will be perfect for teens!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 15 year old Written byTsion December 27, 2010

Dated but suspenseful thriller...

ALIEN shows its age. A lot. What was extremely terrifying back in '79 when the movie was released is merely suspenseful today. Whereas the movie's gore was trendsetting back then, nowadays most kids have seen worse. What hasn't changed, however, is the masterful artistry with which the film was made. Although it wasn't as scary as I remembered, the dedicated work and talent of the crew behind it is as evident as ever. Now, I don't mean that the movie isn't suspenseful, or scary for kids. It very much is. The suspense is a killer in most places, and just because the gore doesn't compare to what is seen today doesn't mean that kids should watch it. Audiences see an alien bursting out of a man's chest, with splashing, spurting blood and moans and screams. A man is impaled from behind by the alien, and blood drips from his mouth. Another man is shot through the head by the alien's teeth, shown in a split-second cut of blood. This movie is less action-oriented than its sequels, thus, the single alien is more menacing. It stalks the crew members one by one, and kills them. The strange murders by the alien are also on a disturbing, quasi-sexual level, though no kids will pick up on this. Before a woman is killed, the alien's tail crawls up between her legs to stab her. And, after a man has an alien egg laid inside of him, it is mentioned that he has been "violated" and that the alien inside of him is akin to "his son." In addition to this, we see topless pin-up posters in the distance of one shot. There are four or five "f" words, and milder language like "d**n" and "s**t" is used probably twenty times. ALIEN is a stellar movie that, unfortunately, doesn't retain the power it had when released. However, it still remains an exciting introduction to quality horror movies for teens who are mature enough.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byJoshT 1 September 18, 2015

If your kid can handle Jurassic Park, he/she most likely can handle this

Hello everyone, I'm 13 years old. But just because I'm not an adult please don't ignore this review. Violence: Violent enough to be disturbing, but not that bad. There are two scenes which might be too much (1. The chestburster scene 2. Brett's death) Sex+Nudity: At one point, Ripley is wearing slightly revealing clothing. Aside from that, there's nothing else. Don't worry about it. Swearing: Naturally, the crew of the Nostromo (who have been in space for a long, long time) are a little grumpy...so swearing is very evident. Drugs/Drinking: The characters smoke. That's all! Extra note: Ripley is a good role model aside from swearing and smoking. In the end, Alien is not only one of the greatest sci-fi movies, but one of the best horror movies! Don't shy away from showing a tween or pre-teen this film.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written bypixeli May 21, 2015

Not scary

When this was shown it was probably really scary. Now it's more of a thrill than a horror. The Chest-burster scene has quite a lot of blood in it and the other scenes have less. There is quite a bit of swearing but everyone's heard it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byResponsable February 4, 2015

Perfect Sci-Fi Movie!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byDuncanDerund August 31, 2014

Movie

R for alien destruction and violence and crude imagery and language and some battle and surprises.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bytrevork November 13, 2016

Great movie with a great role model has some iffy scenes

I think that this movie is perfect. I did not need any sequels but i think that Aliens was good. Although some of the others were just terrible (COUGH ALIEN 3 COUGH ALIEN RESURRECTION). This movie was great but had some pretty gross parts. Including the scene that everyone knows where the one guy's stomach explodes and an alien comes out of his chest. SPOILERS AHEAD WARNING and when you figure out Ash is a android and the other guy knocks Ash's head open. I was watching this part with my dad and he is 39 and he even said "That's disgusting." There is also a lot of swearing through out the movie but it wasn't too bad. Other than the suspense throughout it, Ripley is a great role model and will do anything to get off the ship and save her crew. This movie is 5/5 stars and has great messages and role models but be warned it may be scary for some kids who are scared of aliens.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byMotionPictureEt... July 31, 2016

Scary, but modern day action films are more suspenseful.

This is an old film, but a very good one. There is some violence but most of it is done offscreen. A couple F-bombs are dropped but nothing much more than that. The horror parts can be intense but this films suspense less or equal to any other action film out right now.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byfonzieg April 3, 2015

Classic sci-fi flick may bore kids, but will please teens and adults!

One of Ridley Scott's finest movies! It's like a slasher movie, but in space, and with an alien! However, this movie will definitely bore kids! The pacing for this movie is incredibly slow! The only problem i have with this movie is that the still shots of inside the ship gets really boring! Other than that, this a movie that is worth your time and money, because this is a great film!

Pages