All parent member reviews for Alien

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 35 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byashbudgie1 June 25, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

A must see!

Very gory, but also very exciting. It's a classic for a reason; it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Everyone who loves horror films should see this at least once. It's one of the best!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 8, 11, and 12 year old Written byYatesy March 5, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

12 yr old intrigue.

My lad is nearly 13. he is asking about these kinds of films because his mates are watching them. I know as parents we all have wildly varying views on film content but I think this website is great at understanding what a majority think. I'm going to let him watch 'Alien' at the weekend and see how it goes. I will amend this review if I feel I changed my current thinking once he has watched it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 15 year old Written byTsion December 27, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Dated but suspenseful thriller...

ALIEN shows its age. A lot. What was extremely terrifying back in '79 when the movie was released is merely suspenseful today. Whereas the movie's gore was trendsetting back then, nowadays most kids have seen worse. What hasn't changed, however, is the masterful artistry with which the film was made. Although it wasn't as scary as I remembered, the dedicated work and talent of the crew behind it is as evident as ever. Now, I don't mean that the movie isn't suspenseful, or scary for kids. It very much is. The suspense is a killer in most places, and just because the gore doesn't compare to what is seen today doesn't mean that kids should watch it. Audiences see an alien bursting out of a man's chest, with splashing, spurting blood and moans and screams. A man is impaled from behind by the alien, and blood drips from his mouth. Another man is shot through the head by the alien's teeth, shown in a split-second cut of blood. This movie is less action-oriented than its sequels, thus, the single alien is more menacing. It stalks the crew members one by one, and kills them. The strange murders by the alien are also on a disturbing, quasi-sexual level, though no kids will pick up on this. Before a woman is killed, the alien's tail crawls up between her legs to stab her. And, after a man has an alien egg laid inside of him, it is mentioned that he has been "violated" and that the alien inside of him is akin to "his son." In addition to this, we see topless pin-up posters in the distance of one shot. There are four or five "f" words, and milder language like "d**n" and "s**t" is used probably twenty times. ALIEN is a stellar movie that, unfortunately, doesn't retain the power it had when released. However, it still remains an exciting introduction to quality horror movies for teens who are mature enough.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byGresh854 January 19, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

One of the Greatest Sci-Fi's

begging it eventually gets you on the edge of your seet the 2nd half of the film. All though it is rated R I feel it is inbetween the rating R and PG-13. There is really only one or 2 scenes that are a bit over PG-13 violence, but they are not too realistic. I definitely recommend this to anyone into Thrillers!
Parent Written byDuncanDerund August 31, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Movie

R for alien destruction and violence and crude imagery and language and some battle and surprises.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byhomealonefan123 April 27, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

This violent, sometimes very gory thrill ride is awesome, best for teens!

Parents need to know that this 1970's sci-fi-horror film is violent and sometimes gory. The violence includes other life forms bursting through people's chests, shooting, and being killed by the alien. There is some strong language and posters of naked girls. But other than that, this movie will be perfect for teens!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bycritic sense November 4, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Recommended Rating: 14+ for moderate violence, intense/frightening scenes and brief strong language

Although this classic sci-fi/horror film is not very gory, it maintains an intense and dark atmosphere throughout. There are many jump scares and some scenes may be too frightening for younger viewers. The chestburster scene is the only real violent part of the whole film. A baby alien bursts from a man's stomach and blood splatters everywhere. There is a bit of strong language, including 5 F-words, but it's quite brief. There are also some mild sexual references, including a non-explicit portrayal of nude women on pornographic magazines. Some characters smoke cigarettes in the film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 10 year old Written bymrfredcarrey October 22, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

alien

alien is ok just the part when kane get a alien in his chest and it pop out and it shooting blood but it a good movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 2 year old Written bygerbowski October 7, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Scary, but good.

A great classic in the sci-fi horror genre.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bygrapelover46 September 12, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

It's an okay sci-fi movie with gore.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydarkknightrises232 July 14, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Too bloody and disturbing for children.

People are ripped to death by the alien(bloody), and the alien comes out of a guy's stomach(extremely bloody). There is three uses of f--k.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byhomey335 May 28, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Great 70s movie, but gory and some profane.

Violence: 8/10- Gory and violent attacking. Sexual Content: 6/10- A charcter strips. Language:7/10- 5 or 6 uses of f**k, along with godd*mn and b*tch. Drinking and drugs: 2/10- Beer is visible. Frightining scenes: 9/10- Extremely scary, espicially for younger viewers. Drinking and drugs: 2/10-
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byDieForDethklok May 16, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Alien

Violent. Scary. Enough stated.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 7 year old Written bypaulgibbons March 24, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The most frightening sci-fi ever?

This, and its sequel, are the most frightening movies I have ever seen. I walked out of the sequel twice! (When - spoiler alert - the little girl was given Ripley's tracker. OMG, something is going to happen to her. Quick exit into hallway!) In addition to pretty gory gore, the suspense is about as intense as it can become. Put is this way, my seven year-old has seen the Matrix and Terminator, but won't be going to this until he is 13/14.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent Written byFrankinf March 24, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

The best scifi movie of 1979

It is not very scary and not that goriness but is suspenseful and awesome just know the kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13, 13, and 15 year old Written byJawsFan3000 October 15, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Sci-fi/horror classic is very scary. Stay away, little kids!

My MPAA rating: PG-13 (borderline with R) for some intense sci-fi violence, once bloody, frequent threat and horror, brief nudity, and infrequent strong language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 11 and 13 year old Written bypwi11iam2 October 29, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byMovieLover4Lyfe October 26, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
This movie wouldn't be appropriate for someone under 13 years old. Depending on the child I'd say that you might even wait until your child is older than that even to let them view it. The aliens can come across as very scary and the movie itself isn't really that original or good even.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written by4stewarts July 31, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 17 year old Written byfoxygramp October 28, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models

Pages