Kid reviews for Aliens

Common Sense says

Alien sequel is bigger, faster, scarier.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 20 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 84 reviews
Teen, 16 years old Written byjohnwi312 December 27, 2009

Intense and amazing. OK for all teens.

Aliens has intense violence and some profane language, but is totally fine for any young teens or even mature older kids. Awesome movie, the tension never lets up - I slightly prefer Alien, but Aliens is also one of the best sci-fi movies out there.
Teen, 14 years old Written byzazmopepperz February 18, 2010

Not that violent and barely any strong language

This film is actually not that scary or violent, and theirs not much bad language either. This film nowhere near deserves and 18+ the new alien vs predator movies are more gory and they are 15+. The film in my opinion may have been able to pass as a 12+. Anywho enough about age ratings; the film is amazing. James Cameron himself said he couldn't top alien but he did. I congratulate him for this film and hope him the best.
Teen, 13 years old Written byLuke_Stamp March 26, 2017

Ruins the first

Alien was one of the most entertaining, scary, and enjoyable movies ever to be made. Aliens is far worse. See, in the first, Ripley is a strong, independent individual, and her gender does not matter in the slightest. In the second, she is a mother figure, which isn't bad, just not as cool or as fun. In this movie you would expect it to be scarier and bigger, but it goes so over the top that you become numb to any of the scares or action. Also, in the first, it took the crew a very long time to kill the alien, but in the second, they can kill them like they are regular people. This does not harm Aliens, but it does harm Alien. All in all, Aliens disappoints, and underperforms. Just another series where the sequel does not live up to its source material.
Teen, 16 years old Written byBrenblank August 25, 2010

3 stars? The film is great.

I was 11 the first time I saw this film and it was great. There are a few scenes that are too violent for young kids, but the worst are the chest-bursters. And you see those twice in the entire movie. Aliens has minor cursing, but it's nothing kids wouldn't hear when their parent(s) does something along the lines burning themselves while cooking. It's absurd for people to comment on the "frequent use of guns" by the characters--they're Marines! The only drug/alcohol use in the film is the cigars that are smoked by Sergeant Apone when the marines are introduced. The "bad role models" are the characters who aren't meant to be viewed as role models. The characters who are meant to be viewed as role models are clear, as they differ from the rest--examples being Ripley, who is a traumatized innocent that conquers her fears, and Hicks, a quiet, down to earth "grunt" that has his act together. There are few scenes of "ghastly violence" against the little girl in the film, one where she ACCIDENTALLY gets shot at (no harm comes to her) and another where she and Ripley are in a room with two parasites. This is a PG-13 film that can be viewed by kids of younger ages who understand the difference between reality and fiction.
Teen, 13 years old Written byWar_Badger123 October 17, 2016

More violent sequel that teens can take.

Overall, this sequel has more profanity and much more violence. The violence is in quick flashes and the gruesome deaths are mainly off-screen. I think that ages 13+ can watch this.
Teen, 13 years old Written byaustant September 5, 2016

ALIENS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

best movie ever i say 13 and up because heavy use of f--k b--h all in all it is the best movie ever i love aliens

This title contains:

Positive role models
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byNicky0250 June 7, 2016

Dark, Gory and Profanity-laden with tremendous pacing. 3 stars, I think not!

Aliens is the sequel to Sir Ridley Scott's brilliant sci-fi horror. It continues the story of Ellen Ripley, the only survivor of the first film when she awakens from cryogenic hibernation 57 years later, she reluctantly goes back the planet where her nightmare began: LV-426. But this time she is backed up by a squad of very heavily armed Marines, to compensate for that amount of firepower James Cameron took the liberty of putting more emphasis on action instead of suspence and added a lot more aliens (or Xenomorphs if you want to know there real species name, it's also shown that the planet colony the film takes place in is home to 157 families, so that's about 628 monsters). The violence of the film is ramped up, many of the aliens are shot with acid blood spewing everywhere (one of the marines is shown to have been killed by it, two others are hit with it, but survive). Language is at the usual Hard R level.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written by321person123 December 23, 2015

Aliens

Aliens is a good movie. A bit more fast paced than the original. The movie has some of the same bloody scenes and a few more. While this movie has a little excessive swearing it makes sense with the story and nothing middle school kids haven't heard 8,000 Times. While some characters do smoke cigars it's in the background and not the main focus. All in all this is a good movie appropriate for middle school age and up.
Teen, 13 years old Written bySomeoneYouDon'tKnow October 21, 2012

Can't match the first film, but still thoroughly entertains

Like the first film, Aliens is a big-top, blood-splattering sci-fi attraction. But it's much more of an action movie and less a horror movie than the first film, which is a bit of a downside for me, as someone who was stricken by the first film's subtle chills. On the one hand, there is more gore and violence than the first film, as well as a bigger budget and better special effects. But that crucial sense of dread, claustrophobia, and undying fear that we found in the first film is not present here, which is the film's biggest flaw. I also didn't think the characters were all that likable, and the script/dialogue felt contrived at times. But the special effects and sets felt better rendered and believable than they were in the first film, and the alien queen looks freaking awesome. There are some more revelations about the aliens here, and Ripley continues her character development, with a typically strong performance from Sigourney Weaver. Carrie Henn is excellent as Newt, with a good face, good emotional intensity, and a relatable personality. Paul Reiser was kind of hoaky as the slimy Company executive, and I kind of saw it coming when (SPOILERS!) it was revealed that he wanted the alien alive. And I thought Michael Biehn gave a flat and contrived performance that didn't really fit in. So, even there are some elements that improve upon the first film, I think I'll always prefer the dark and gothic chills of the first film. Even so, this movie is innovative and inventive in its own right, and looks even better in the extended version.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 9 years old August 24, 2010

epic!

this movie is epicness!!!! its rlly vilent at times, but it dusnt get rlly rlly bad lik sum movies lik alien vs predator, ewww that was nasty. this is a gud movie, any1 10 or older shuld definately see this movie!
Kid, 11 years old July 3, 2017

Great movie but a lot of swearing and violence

Aliens may be better than the first one (Alien), but there is one MAJOR plot hole. The major plot hole is that Ripley and the rest of the crew are staying on the enemy base(the aliens base). The reason that I like Aliens more than Alien is that Aliens is more of an action movie and Alien is more of a horror movie. The reason that I think this movie is OK for teens 14 and up is because there is frequent swearing and some gory/bloody violence.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Kid, 10 years old February 6, 2017

ALIENS is aweasome

ALIENS is a great movie there are some scary scenes and some swearing
Kid, 9 years old September 8, 2016

uh ... a line from the movie

This is a good movie James Cameron has some great talents. The 2 problems I have are small. 1 it's long it did not need to be this long. 2 the continuity is not good I'm talking about in this movie not the continuity from alien to this movie other than that it's a good movie. A-

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bySamfan4 August 12, 2018

Fine for kids 14+

This movie is the greatest James Cameron film, I loved it so much. There is a lot of language though. There are about 15 f words, and s-words, d-words, and a lot more. The action sequences are extremely violent, with lots of cussing. The Aliens can be scary, one impales an android and rips him in half. There are also the smaller Aliens witch latch on to a face and force an egg down a person's throat. The larve then eats its way out through the chest. this is shown with on person in the movie. No sexual things, An all around great movie, but wait until you are mature enough.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 17 years old Written byNOname123 November 27, 2016

Classic James Cameron, the best!

Moderate horror, however there is more action than that. The aliens explode apart spraying acid blood at the marines, the alien queen may scare some viewers. A chestburster burrows its way out a woman's abdomen, some blood pours out. Viewers age 14 and up should see this.
Kid, 12 years old September 17, 2016

Great sequel is scary and violent

This film is the sequel to the film Alien. Although it is not as scary as the original the aliens are still freaky, and look more realistic. There is a lot more violence than the original including aliens bursting out of chests, alien face suckers sucking off faces, aliens tearing people to shreds and humans shooting at aliens. Although there it is not particularly gory alien blood spurts and occasionally some human blood and guts are shown. The language includes s--t, f--k, d--k, ass and bitch. Also there are some mild sex jokes.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byzion2005 September 23, 2018
Not nearly as good as Alien.
Kid, 12 years old October 20, 2018

By Far The Best Alien Movie

This is by far better than the first Alien movie. However, there is more content in this movie than the first one. So far as content, there is a heavy dose of language with infrequent use of f--k, s--t, hell, and goddamn. One of the most famous lines from the movie is "Get away from her you bitch!" which Ripley yells at an alien. No sexual things at all. More violence than the first one with aliens bursting out of stomachs and more disturbing things with the violence. It's still not a super scary movie, especially being made in the 80s, but it's definitely worth the watch if you love Sci-fi movies, or alien movies. 12+ for language and some violence.

This title contains:

Language
Kid, 11 years old May 13, 2017

Not Bad

This isn't the worst movie, but it isn't the best either. This is an Action/Sci Fi/Horror movie that I think is great for kids 11+. It's pretty suspenseful, so it might not be great for younger audiences. There is nudity and language, but not enough to make it too intense. It's a good movie, and I don't think it should be rated R.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 14 years old Written byNicholas Rytting September 8, 2018

Great Movie, Sometimes Violent.

I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It has tension, like the first one. However, this one feels more like a war movie over horror, and the shift between the two films are seamless. Nonetheless, it can be a little intense for pre-teens. Most of the film isn't too bad, but the scene in which a character is torn in half is pretty violent. Also, there are frequent uses of harsh language, not suitable for a PG-13 film. (F-bombs) This movie is high quality, funny, scary, and action packed.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language

Pages