All teen and kid member reviews for Antz

Kids say

(out of 25 reviews)
age 9+
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008

funny and highly entertaining film!!

Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
Teen, 16 years old Written byTsunami Tommy July 27, 2010
I think all you parents are being a little too sensitive. Hell, is not a bad word. I'm sorry, but it isn't. Your kiddies hear it every Sunday, and I bet when they are at school, they are saying it as well. Language these days isn't as "adult" as it used to be. This is a good movie, yes it does have pretty intense fighting scenes, but nothing they haven't seen before in their lives. So, don't be so picky parents, it's not inappropriate movie by any means, and I think liberal parents will love the government messages it has under the kiddy stuff.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008

good movie

a good movie have a few miled words and some vilence (burning ants with a magnifing glass)
Kid, 12 years old January 20, 2012

Ok

The Bad Words In The Movie Like H*** Tight A** B****** C*** D*** And Oh My G** In One Sence At The Bar The Guy Ask Z Do You Want A Beer And It's Not Good For Kids
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old October 2, 2009
Don't know what they mean by no sexy stuff, there are quite a few scenes of flirting in this poor quality animation. Only really starts to get going when they get outside into the human world, and even then it's dreary. Not to mention the freaky termite battle.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bydanny 7000 August 4, 2015

Antz is not for little kids

i think Antz is an amazing movie but its not for little kids because its very vilonte like some ants get graphically burned with a maginifying glass and later a ant holds a another ants decapitated head in his hand and theirs lots of swearing like crap hell danm and bitch with that being said i think Antz is aimed at Teens and Adults and i don't recommend it for anyone under the age of 13
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byFairyWars98 August 31, 2013

Bug's Life.. PG-13 VERSION!

Keep in mind that this is Dreamworks, NOT DISNEY! Not the same thing. Shrek 1 uses the exact same language yet nobody freaks out over him. But I still wouldn't let kids watch this, I think it's more of a 13+ movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byRockah12 June 8, 2012

Over-the-top cursing and violence for a PG.

A fantastically made film, but it contains high levels of cursing and violence. Some sexual themes including a implied rape. Not really appropriate for any kids under ten, and still kinda overboard for any age higher than that. In my opinion, it should have been PG-13.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bysb1254 May 4, 2011

Not for young kids, buy maybe tweens.

While the site might say okay for 7+ Id say it's much higher. From what I remember, the violence was problematic and the langauge was pretty bad for a kids flick.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byBestPicture1996 August 23, 2009

This movie introduced me to the

"h-e-double hockey sticks word." I hadn't heard this word up until "Antz," and I think I said it in a drive-thru w/ my uncle and he got very mad. Warn your kids about this movie, it may look innocent, but it's more of a hardcore "A Bug's Life."
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byCartoonWorld100 May 21, 2016

Wonderful Movie

Great Movie With Lots Of Great Stuff Like The Acting, Animation, Music And Many More, Dreamworks Has Done A Great Job Making This Wondeful Movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byjonathanw1 August 31, 2015

Better than Bugs Life!

A great kids movie that talks about the importance of individualism and the values of communities. The only thin I would worry about is that there's more language than in your normal kids movie, and there is a battle sequence that some kids might find frightening.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old May 27, 2015

The Language Isn't That Bad!

Other people say there's too much swearing. But the swearing is only minor like "crap" or "damn." It's not that bad.
Kid, 12 years old September 9, 2014

good but violent movie.

I think it is a good movie. It has some violent parts. It also has some cussing in it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byfluffy gizmo July 7, 2014

Watched it since I was little

This movie has lots of action that could be intense depending on your kid,has some swearing and drinking.But a nice film for the family.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old March 23, 2014

Surprisingly Violent & Too Much Adult Language

For the first DreamWorks movie, it's OK. The animation is good, the characters are definable and well written. The main problem I have with the film is that there is way too much swearing. The fight sequences are gripping, but are very intense for younger viewers. The dead soldiers are seen in pieces on the battlefield.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpielberg01 July 24, 2013

Great visuals, effected characters. But surprisingly very violent.

Educational value - 1/5 - Kids might learn all about the ant colony and how it intends to work everything out. Use of scientific words. Positive Messages - 3/5 - Individualism and thinking of your self is mentioned. "Be your own ant" and "make your own choices" are heard repeatedly. Blindly following someone ants learn is fatal. Good teamwork, a strong working resolution on a point, and good attitudes are here. Positive Role Models -3/5 - Z is smart and always admits his mistakes. The ant girls are feisty, brave, and smart. Princess Bala has a point on which way would be more safe or to figure out how to handle the time together to fix Z's mistakes. Z turns out to be an unlikely hero. The general is cruel, harmful, and has bizarre ideas against his colony (wait for the end). Violence - 4/5 - Surprisingly a lot. Although it is cartoonish, and sometimes played for laughs, it is intense and extensive for a kids movie. Several thousands of animated extra ants are slaughtered by scary beetles that squirt a kind of acid out of their heads. An ant head is decapitated (later shown, and is a really liked character) that is alive for a few minutes. A bar fight is portrayed with numerous punching. A magnifying glass is reflected out of a beam of sunlight, and turns a few ants into ashes. The two main characters have to survive a person walking while both are stuck with gum on the kids shoe, water drops, and a bee imitates for being crushed by giant tennis shoes. The general creates a large waterfall to drown numerous numbers of ants. Two torture scenes are caught in a scene, one onscreen, and another on a female character. Combatants are stabbed, massacred, and stomped. A character falls off a cliff, though not too graphic. Sexual Stuff - 1/5 - Mild innuendo (such as when Z tells Bala "You were becoming one of my most errotic fantasies") and a few others. Some kisses and mild suggestive dancing. Talk about ant probation (very little words to worry about though) Language - 2/5 - Name-calling. "Twerp" "butt" "idiot" "maggot" and some potty swearing, such as "who the h-ll" "what the h-ll" "d--n" "tight-a*s" b---hin'" "a--" "an-s" and "cr-p". One insect eats insect poop. Consumerism - 1/5 - In an insect land, Pepsi, Mountain Dew, Kendar Motor Oil, and a Hershery bar is seen. Drinking Drugs and Smoking - 1/5 - Talk about not getting drunk to much. In a bar, ants drink an alcoholic drink determined out of a bug. Why I like this movie: The visuals were great and dazzling (especially the magnifying glass reflecting scene and the kid-walking-with-ants-holding-on scene). The vocal performances were stellar (especially Allen, Sharon, and Stallone). The story wasn't lackluster (even though it took a bit out of Picard a bugs life), it was actually surprisingly refreshing and funny. The violence overwhelmed the movie, so kids might feel a bit too intense watching this. That including a few minor innuendos and some swearing. The sophisticated humor may be lost with kids, but they'll still find other things to laugh at (especially adults). The characters expressions and look of fear or depression helped with the story. This movie should have tuned a bit more high on the kid/teen appeal though to be more entertained rather than bored plainly watching this. Anyway, pretty good movie.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written bydekdek June 7, 2013

it's a fun movie,but,not for younger viewers.

It's ok for a older crowd,but,not for some younger viewers!there are some terrifying scenes ,mostly,when the antsget caught in the outside world,and you may discuss with some bad language(mostly mild language) use through parts of the film.it's a fun film,but,i don't recommend to younger viewers.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old May 4, 2013

This film is recommended for everyone. unless your a child under 11.

This film Is very good. But children may be puzzled by the story of antz.

Pages