All parent member reviews for Argo

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 19 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written byShivom Oza October 16, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Argo (2012) Review by Shivom Oza – Enlightening, Entertaining and Engaging!

Based on a true story, ‘Argo’ is about six Americans, who although escape from being held as hostages at the U.S. embassy in Tehran, have to find refuge in the home of Canadian ambassador, Ken Taylor. The film is about the rescue operations undertaken for these six American diplomats. The film is an absolute must-watch. The cast, that looks amazingly similar to the real men and women involved in the crisis, delivers first-rate performances. Ben Affleck gives a fine performance as an actor and shines as a director. The year is 1979. During the ongoing Iranian revolution, Islamic ‘revolutionaries’ (or the terrorists as the Unites States refers to them as) take over the U.S. embassy in Tehran. This action is in retaliation for the support given to their recently-deposed Shah by the U.S. While sixty-odd diplomats are taken as hostages, six of them (four men and two women) evade capture and find a hide-out in the home of the Canadian ambassador Ken Taylor (Victor Garber). No one, except the State Department back home in the U.S., knows about the situation of the six escapees. They then begin to explore options of getting them out of Iran. CIA operative Tony Mendez (Ben Affleck) comes up with a rather improbable idea. It strikes him while watching the sci-fi film ‘Battle for the Planet of the Apes’ that they can create a cover-up that the escapees are Canadian filmmakers, hunting for locations in Iran for a film called ‘Argo’. So Mendez and his supervisor Jack O’ Donnell (Bryan Cranston), along with a Hollywood make-up artist John Chambers (John Goodman) and producer Lester Siegel (Alan Arkin), hatch out a plan to start creating buzz around this cover-up movie. They set up a fake studio for this fake film and even hold a presser to get the media to talk about it. Back in Tehran, the situation gets all the more serious as the revolutionaries find out that there have been escapees. They have been trying to put back the shredded documentation that they found at the embassy to look for vital information, the identities of the escapees in particular. So Mendez enters Iran anyway carrying fake identities, fake film material, fake passports and fake documents. Will the six hostages get rescued? Will Mendez leave them in the lurch? Will the U.S. government ditch the seven Americans stranded in Tehran? ‘Argo’ is a superb ‘political’ film. The scenes, the locations, the props, the body language, the characterization and the costumes are absolutely circa 1979. The best thing about the film is that while it is based on a true incident, there is not too much of ‘history’ and ‘trivia’ thrown in consciously. All the important bits of information are brilliantly etched into the screenplay so there is no need to ‘educate’ the audience with needless narrations and overlaying text. The on-goings within the U.S. government, the state of the film industry, condition of the people living in Tehran, all of these aspects are portrayed in a very realistic manner. None of this takes away from the ‘suspense’ element in the story. There is no blatant stereotyping. The predicament of all sides has been handled in a very delicate manner. This film is a delight not just for its brilliant performances and gripping screenplay, but also the important bits of history that it provides. The casting of the film is first-rate. Not a single actor/actress looks/seems unfit for the role that they play. Right from the look to the dialogue delivery to the body language, the cast gets it right! Ben Affleck is brilliant as Tony Mendez. The actors, who play the six escapees, are also superb. The best dialogues have been given to the make-up artist-producer combo played by John Goodman and Alan Arkin. Alan has some hilarious lines in the film. Most of them are take-offs on the film industry. In a tense, dramatic film, such moments provide the much-needed comic relief. The screenplay (Chris Terrio) is engaging, realistic and has a fine mix of drama, subtlety and humor. Director Ben Affleck superbly gets it all together on the screen. The scenes are very well-written. In most of the scenes, silence has been used fantastically. Joshuah Bearman, who wrote the article ‘Escape from Tehran’, has also been credited as a writer. Overall, the film excels wonderfully in the writing department. The music by Alexandre Despat is splendid. After ‘Moonrise Kingdom’, he scores yet another winner. One of the best films, based on real-life accounts, made in recent times. Enlightening, entertaining and engaging, ‘Argo’ is a must-watch! Shivom Oza
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byOaksmom November 4, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Better for kids than most PG-13 action movies

There is a lot of swearing in this film, and yes the one image of a swinging corpse is gruesome. But compared to a lot of "action hero" movies rated PG-13, I would rather have my kids see this than those. At least there are true heroes in this movie. Just discuss the language and the one or two graphic scenes with them afterward.
Adult Written byLowe's man January 4, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

educational and insightful

As most people over the age of 40 know, the hostage crisis in Iran was a major reason why Jimmy Carter didn't get reelected. Most people younger than that only know bits and pieces of the hostage crisis in Iran. This movie should be seen by everyone from high school age on up. It will teach much about this difficult year in our nation's history. Even those who watched coverage on the news at the time that it happened will learn that this crisis was worse and more intense than they thought. I also agree with the parents and other adults who say that this movie should've been rated PG-13 instead of R.
Parent of a 1 year old Written byMbenz1962 March 24, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Excellent movie, but could have cleaned up the language to appeal to a wider audience.

Quite a lot of profanity (go f*** yourself) that was unnecessary. This movie would have been absolutely great with less foul language.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent of a 10, 12, 14, and 15 year old Written byHighTechDad February 23, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Definitely worth seeing

Argo is an entertaining, inspirational story with a real-life political backdrop. While it has an R rating, many PG-13 movies seem to have as much questionable material for children as this movie does.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 and 9 year old Written byTuesdayBear November 3, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Excellent movie, not to be missed

This truly is a very well-done film. Yes, there are historical inaccuracies, but they don't detract from the overall tone of the subject. If anything, this film should inspire the audience to learn more about this event in our history. From an educator's viewpoint, there is potential for some good discussion from this film. As a parent, I would hesitate to show this movie to anyone below the 10th grade level. I just don't see that many people below that age would have much interest in it. The violence is minimal given the topic, but there are disturbing scenes that I certainly would not show to anyone below the high school level. I also disagree with the CM review that the casting of Affleck was a poor choice. I thought he did a fine job. Furthermore, I felt the inclusion of his character's family life added to the story, rather than detracted. After all, the preservation of American family life is a fundamental reason why we involve ourselves in issues like this. That concept wasn't just a cute side story - it was a reminder of how much we take for granted.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bykipwalker44 October 22, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Riveting political thriller has great messages about braveness

"Argo" is an excellent film that will keep you on the edge-your-seat from start to finish, despite some profanity. Regardless, this an ideal film to show to teens, and is not deserving of an R-rating.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent of a 4, 9, and 11 year old Written bydgaston March 19, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Parent Written bykidhuger1234599 June 24, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

AMAZING BUT LANGUAGE

It is an amazing movie and nothing ten year old can'y handel but it does contain some language.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written byvictizing April 22, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Really good and should be pg-13

It's so good but like 10 uses of f--k, and two characters make a joke saying "Argo f--k yourself", there are some hung dead bodies, characters are shot, and people come door to door to find the hostages,but there is a message about not giving up.It's really more pg-13
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 10, 14, and 16 year old Written byGOOD MOTHER March 24, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Argo was a good movie just note that some small parts may be a bit much for young ones.

I thought that kids at a certain age should see this so that they can understand some history and at the same time please keep in mind it has three parts to the movie that show some very near nudity. The first was at the beginning on the movie and it shows a drawing of a naked women the next is of two women in very revealing customs when the contact the sci-fi man. The third was when they try to convince the media of the movie and they have women dressed in very reveling costumes again. You may want the kiddos to turn around in these parts. I understand that this is history and what happened so they couldn't change it to much. Theses scenes don’t show very long they are brief parts of the movie. There was some bad langue and casual drinking and smoking did happen as well. Violence was talked about and showed throughout the movie but not too harsh. The most disturbing was when they showed a man hanging but again was brief. Over all I enjoyed the movie with my 15 and 16 year old children and just had them turn around for the parts I thought were inappropriate. The movie has a great story of courage hope and shows life lessons.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bySinfoniarc March 23, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

A Fine Film For A Child Of The Right Age

One thing that I'm sure will be over-looked regarding this film is that some will view this film as being offensive towards the people of Iran. While I personally do not, be sure to be sensitive to the fact that the United States is portrayed as "the good guys" while we are at least partially responsible for creating the situation depicted in the film. If your children are not familiar with this incident in American history, you might do well to pre-educate before letting your teenagers watch this film. Especially in a post-9/11 society, it will be easy for children who don't fully understand the situation to take on anti-Middle Eastern attitudes that may or may not be fair. There is not any nudity to speak of but the movie portrays a very real sense of terror and suspense surrounding the situation. The film has a fair amount of bad language in it, but I suppose it's appropriate for the situations portrayed. This film is drastically different from anything else that Ben Affleck has ever been a part of and it blows the rest away by comparison. There's a reason why this movie won the Oscar for Best Picture and you'll see why when you rent it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byLSU Mom March 2, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Good for Older Teens

Excessive smoking and profuse bad language, both probably pretty closed aligned with reality of the 70s, particularly in political and Hollywood circles. There is an early reference to abortion, which I tied to the proximity of Roe v Wade to the time frame, probably also in context with the era. Other than that, a good history lesson for kids. The movie seemed seriously dedicated to sticking closely with factual information.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 7 and 12 year old Written byStephen the great February 24, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Argo ok for kids!

A GREAT MOVIE! I personally let my 9 and 11 year old see this. I think there mature. My 11 year old enjoyed but my 9 yeaar old got bored. There is swearing though.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byDan G. February 22, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Still an R-rated movie due to uncountable F-bombs.

The language used in this movie is vulgar and profane. The number of times the f-bomb is dropped is uncountable. The story itself can be disturbing, although the values portrayed are largely good. There is a referance to abortion. If the language of this movie had been cleaned up some, it would have be appropriate for older teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 10 and 14 year old Written byKresstech February 17, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Sophisticated film with little that is inappropriate

No idea why this has an R. PG-13 would be fine. The only reason I say 14 and up is that the situation is a little complicated, and I'm not sure that every child would understand it. The age rating is more about whether a person will find it interesting and comprehensible than much that is inappropriate. The language is very strong if that bothers people e.g F bomb everywhere. A few quick graphically violent images e.g. a still of someone being hung upside down and tortured, but not much more than you'd see in "Iron Man". Excellent film, particularly for a child who is starting to get some political sophistication. They do a particularly nice job of portraying both why the Iranians are so angry at America and why being with an angry mob is so frightening. An unusually balanced view of the Arab world for an American film. There are indeed unappealing Iranians in the film, but the attentive viewer should understand why they are so angry, and there are some unappealing Americans too.
Parent Written bythenoah December 17, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

One of the best films ever made

This is one of the greatest movies ever made. There is a lot of language, but that is it. This movie is okay for kids eleven and up. Its very intense, and has you at the very edge of your seat. Tony Mendez is definitely a role model. This movie will go down in the books as a classic.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydavyborn November 13, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Thought provoking and well made historical thriller. Educational value okay for teens+

Ben Affleck (The Town, Gone Baby Gone) has fashioned a masterpiece, with this year's shoe-in for Best Picture at the Academy Awards next March. Argo, a factual, historical thriller based upon real-life events, which are interwoven with an incredibly far-fetched but absolutely real attempt at a hostage rescuer's (Affleck) attempt at going into Tehran, during the 1979 Iran Hostage Crisis. Now, that sounds reasonably simple enough, but, if you have seen the ads for the film, you will know that there is a major twist to that sitatuon: In order to safely infiltrate the country and remove the American hostages hiding out in Iran, Tony Mendez, who is played by Affleck, here, devises an incredibly imaginative plan to get them out, by enlisting the help of a hollywood makeup artist (John Goodmen, in another dynamite performance) and an aging ang slightly bitter hollywood producer (Alan Arkin), to go into the country as a charade that Mendez is actually filming a movie in the country, and that the hostages that he is trying to rescue from that country are put into the disguise of the film crew. Now, that may sound far-fetched, and believe me, I know how it sounds, but this is still based off of a completely true story, and, Affleck, who, after years of mostly mediocre performances and hackjob entrys substituting for real acting, finally scores huge, here. Like the Town, he both directs and stars in this film, and it can mainly be described as an experience of awe-inspiring daring, educational and informative historical accounts, fantastic acting, pulse-pounding intensity and humor. It is a hard sell, but Argo manages to be all of those things done to a degree of very near perfection. Really, Argo is one of those rare films this year, like Prometheus, Looper, Savages and Sinister, that you just simply must watch again, and you want to, as soon as it ends. Plus, it is not a bad thing that it also has one of the best casts of the year, with the previously mentioned Ben Affleck, John Goodman, Alan Arkin, Bryan Cranston, Phillip Baker Hall, Victor Garber and Clea Duvall, with Arkin providing much of the films humor, and Goodman cheerfully joning in, but working very well together in scenes near the end, where a hgih level of dramatic intensity is required in there performances, and they absolutely nail it. Also fanastic, hear, is Affleck, who, I previously talked about as the director of this thrill ride, but really does put down one of his absolute best performances, here, keeping a level eye on low-brow comedy, but jumping into gear when the films more traumatic scenes take there courses. But, now, when I really think about it, there just isn't a bad performance in this movie. It is just, all around oscar-worthy work from everyone involved, here, and deserves the audiences attention, when they are on screen. Now, despite the fact that Argo sports an R Rating, I would like to make something perfectly clear to parents and everyone else reading this and trying to decide whether or not this film is suitable for there teens, based off of Ben Affleck's track record for previously directed films: Unlike The Town, Argo does not assault the viewer with brutal violence, and extremely pervasive language. While it does contain nearly 30 uses of the F-word, and does have some extreme intensity, substituting for violence, this is a much less gritty film, and, as such, could be used as educational material and, of course, doubling as great entertainment for teens. So, while I think that Argo is one of the very best films of the year, come next March during the 2012 Academy Awards Cermony, while I certainly hope that this fim will gain multiple oscar nominations, I cannot completely count on it winning best picture. Still, here's to hoping, at the very least. Reccomended.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking