All teen and kid member reviews for Black Swan

Kids say

(out of 56 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old March 28, 2011
i saw it and i'm 10 i kinda though the parts that were sexual kind of inappropriate but kids my age know most of what they're doing and talking about
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byek03 June 9, 2015

very good

great movie
Teen, 17 years old Written bySynchronicity January 1, 2011

Ballet thriller is unflinching, unnerving, and definitely NOT for young teens

(Spoilers may be ahead.) You can only be perfect in death. That's exactly what this ersatz thriller by Darren Aronofsky embodies. Aronofsky is one of the best filmmakers of our time; he's done several other films, like ? (Pi), Requiem for a Dream and The Wrestler that chronicle their realistic characters' falls from grace through obsessions with mathematical patterns, drug addiction and wrestling (respectively). But Black Swan, arguably his best film since Requiem, tackles the subject of the pursuit of perfection in the world of ballet. Natalie Portman is finally in a role that she could easily win Best Actress for. This role is as Nina, a dancer in her mid-20's whose life is pretty much consumed by dancing. She doesn't put any joy into it, according to her choreographer Thomas (played by Vincent Cassel in one of the most underrated performances this year). But she still convinces him to give her the role of the Swan Princess, since she's the perfect embodiment of the White Swan: fragile, joyless, and innocent. But her Black Swan doppelganger, Lily (Mila Kunis in an extremely Oscar-deserving performance) comes into the picture - and Nina believes she must do everything she can to not let Lily steal part. This is all in her head, though - as are several parts of Black Swan. Although this is an excellent and intense film about ballet, its mix of sex and horrifically disturbing images make Black Swan a very, very poor choice for anyone under at least 16 (or 14, if VERY MATURE). There are two clearly implied scenes where Nina masturbates. In one, she's clothed and in a bed, and the other takes place in a bathtub. We see a bit of thrusting in the former, while the latter shows a bit of nudity (though the worst we see is her stomach). This scene ends when she sees some blood dripping into the water. Nina also is seen with only her panties on at least twice; her hands cover her breasts. Also, there's that hyped (imaginary) tryst between Nina and Lily that involves oral sex. There's no nudity, but it's extremely clear what's being done. Also, Thomas touches Nina's (clothed) crotch and forces her to kiss him a couple of times. Dancers are seen in skintight leotards (but since this is a film about ballet, that's to be expected). But it's not the sex that has the potential to disturb (unless you're conservative); it's the violence and bloody images that permeate Black Swan. Right off the bat, Nina's feet are covered in raw skin and slightly bloody blisters, and she cracks a toenail. Later, she imagines ripping a large piece of hanging skin off her finger, with bloody results. She also imagines growing feathers out of a scratch on her back, and even pulls one out. Nina also has a run-in with a ballet dancer who just had a car accident, and her injury is shown in close-up. (POTENTIAL SPOILERS AHEAD) In a second visit, this dancer stabs herself in the face repeatedly with a nail file. But in the climax of the film, it appears that Nina stabs Lily in the stomach under pressure. It is revealed that Nina actually stabbed herself, and she dies at the end. (END SPOILERS.) There's also some R-rated profanity; about 14 f-bombs are dropped, the anatomical terms "c*ck" and "p*ssy" are both used, and there's some more mild profanity. Finally, Lily and Nina smoke in the dance studio (even though it isn't allowed), and they both get drunk and take hallucinogen pills in a bar, which ends up fueling Nina's insanity. Overall...well...not much left to say about how great this one is. But this is definitely not a movie for young ballet lovers; it's a film showing a great's descent into insanity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written bypineapplejuicexo May 10, 2011

a BIG disappointment!

im not saying it was a bad movie, the over all story line was actulley really good. but come on? im 14 and i watched this with my mom, both unaware about the amount of sexual content in this movie. Its quite sickning. I mean what does a girl touching herself have to do with the movie? its just plain gross, all thats gonna do is get laughs from immature teenage boys. so i suggest only adults or mature FEMALE teenagers. and i suggest you dont watch this with your kids.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bypeaceboy April 26, 2011
This is an awesome work of art!That being said all the following concerns are for youngins.If you could skip the sex scenes,it would be a good thriller for my group of age.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bybananalover March 26, 2011

incredibly made but it is dark and intense

in this film there is more sex than violence surprisingly because this a thriller not a romance. but there is still alot of violence people turture themselves metelyly and phisicaly.the audience sees a girl stabbing someone with a piece of glass. alot of sex so if you are worried about that don't let your kids see this movie. launguage is another major event in this film they say f**k s**t d**k and even more. Black swan is a dark and intense thriller but it is also amazing made by fox searchlight.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bydonny4022 May 10, 2015

Non-Violent, but disturbing.

i saw this film when I was 13 with my parents. The violence was not a concern, only "bloody images" as it said on the back of the DVD. However, we ended up fast-forwarding scenes due to the fact that a woman was masturbating after her dance teacher told her "to go home and f*ck your[her]self". This occurs twice, the first time on a bed and is shown, still dressed but moaning and the second when she is in a bath and you see her hands sliding down her abdomen, nothing mp but the abdomen is shown. There is also a graphic lesbian sex scene, which ends in her partner smothering her with a pillow. However, a good movie to show your children if they are obsessed with being perfect.
Teen, 17 years old Written byBunnyNostrils April 7, 2014

Ok Movie

Violence: 6/10 Language: 6/10 Sex: 8/10 Disturbing: 4/10 At times can be somewhat disturbing and a couple of graphic scenes of violence
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byPoetic Ramblings December 23, 2010

Really wish I hadn't seen this...

I went to see this movie with my friend yesterday (my dad came as a chaperon, as we're both under 17), and I really wish I hadn't. Though the premise of the story seemed promising, and the movie started out strong, but devolved into a very sick film. (Not to mention the fact that the ending was obvious from the first five minutes) It was also a very hard movie to follow, but that may have been just been due to the fact that my eyes were shut during half the film. If you're under 18, save your money and rent The Soloist instead.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 2, 2016

good but very dark

I watched it and it was pretty good but, there was a lot of scary/horror scenes, they made me hesitate a little bit, but I wouldn't let a child watch it, there was masturbating and lots of sex scenes in it, AGAIN i wouldn't let a child watch it....
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byelizabethswann September 4, 2016

disturbing and gory

After years of begging my parents to let me watch this movie, they finally allowed me to. After seeing it, I can say that I'm very glad they waited until I was an older teenager to see this. The movie constantly shows gory images of various ballet related injuries on a woman's body including scratches, scabs and blood. There is one sex scene and other scenes that show characters touching each other (no nudity). The tone of the movie is dark and disturbing and would be upsetting for most young viewers.
Teen, 15 years old Written byHenvin August 22, 2016
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byjcoe10 July 31, 2016

Crazy stuff

WOW. This movie is a whirlwind. I'm 15 and got quite spooked from this one. I thought at the beginning it wasn't a thriller but it definitely is. Some bloody scenes that were very graphic. Also sex scenes. This movie also deals w the issue of striving for perfection. Especially in ballerinas. Includes purging, self harm and negative body imaging. It is such a good movie though. Really hits the soul
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bychaprabha May 24, 2016

One of the best movies

Kid, 9 years old April 22, 2016

Intense, graphic, and though-provoking thriller is confusing and un-original but exciting and beautiful movie.

This wonderful yet tragic and unoriginal thriller is about a woman named Nina, she is a dancer in the city of New York, she is involved in a dance company. She is practicing for her try outs for the play Swan Lake, once a new dancer comes in named Lily, Nina thinks Lily is trying to take her role, or even going after here. Nina starts to break down after getting the chance to preform, and is experiencing mental problems, horrible dreams, and more, some of the dreams may just come to life. Violence 4/5: This thriller is very violent, and although violence is infrequent, this movie has many scenes of disturbing self torture, gory cuts, and of characters dying in real life or a dream. A woman takes a thorn out of her back. A woman scratches her back and it bleeds frequently, many disturbing dreams show a large about of skin coming of off Nina in a horrible and in a extremely graphic way. In a dream sequence, a character is murdered with a peace of glass, and blood polls and comes out of the characters mouth. A bloody suicide. Shocking images and some jump shocks. Sex 5/5: The violence is strong but the sex is strong and very graphic but infrequent. In a dream sequence, 2 woman have sex, this scene is extremely graphic, as a woman is seen graphically giving oral sex to the other woman and wet sounds are heard, a woman masturbates in bed which is implied but somewhat very graphic, and later, a woman is seen masturbating in a bath tub. A dream sequence show a man and a woman having sex on a table, and another scene shows a man grabbing a woman's breasts. A woman briefly rubs another womans crotch. Drugs 4/5: In one intense scene, 4 characters are seen getting extremely drunk, and are scene rolling. Other references to pills, dying because of drugs, etc. Although this movie is beautiful and suspenseful, it's not very exciting or original. The sexuality is strong and graphic but is fine for anyone who can handle it, like me. The violence is bloody but brief and intense. The drugs are also brief but very strong. My rating:R for strong graphic sexuality throughout, brief partial nudity, and language.
Teen, 17 years old Written by_____________ December 19, 2015
Teen, 15 years old Written byPauletteWilde September 30, 2015
Visual and intense
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bymoviefanatic88 May 16, 2015

amazing filmography for psychological thriller

Just saw this movie with my parents and I agree with many other users: The sexuality is intense (muted the tv and covered my eyes) and the gore can be intense-but as a former ballerina, I think it explores a really unshown side of it and of how this obsession for perfection is mind blowing. I really think it is a great film, but make sure your child is mature and you have the fast forward button handy. Other than that, I do think it was really good and it promotes loving yourself and staying true to yourself. (MUST SEE for ballerinas)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byspring_sweaters December 7, 2014

One of the Best Films Ever Made

Having watched this film yesterday, I can say that this film is one of THE BEST films I have ever seen. Here, in the UK, it has a 15 rating, which I would say is about right. It's a little confusing, especially towards the end and it has a very dark edge to it. Really though, the worst that happens is off screen self harm (scratching and possibly anorexia?) and a "murder" scene (technically she didn't stab Lily). There is a sex scene involving two women, but you really don't see a lot. Overall, it is an amazing film and would highly recommend.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bymisfits1013 April 11, 2014

Surreal and disturbing, but an absolute masterpiece

This film is very mature and disturbing. However, I think it depends on the mentality of the person viewing it. I know some 14 year olds who could handle this and some 18 year olds who can't. The violence and disturbing themes are the most concerning for me. You often feel as though you are hallucinating (brillant cinematography and filmmaking btw) and going crazy along with Nina. It captivates you and draws you into the story. However, there are some very trippy and surreal moments and imagery that scare, confuse, and disturb. There is also a theme of self harm. The film displays a woman pursuing her dream so much, that she veers to the brink of insanity. As far as onscreen content, there are a couple shocking violent scenes (SPOILER: a woman stabs herself in the face with a nail file) that happen without warning, making it nearly impossible to look away beforehand. As far as language and drugs, there is a fair bit, however it is not promoted. If you are worried about your kids' habits being influenced in anyway by this film, then they are in no way mature enough to watch it. Finally, the thing everyone seems to be making a fuss about is the sexual content. There is a fair bit of sex in the film, however it is not the main focus and it not as graphic as other people are making it out to be. Most reviews on here are upset over the sex scene between two women and Nina masturbating. I have heard hardly any mention of the sex scene between Lily and her instructor. Nina and Lily's sex scene is hardly hardcore porn as some people suggest. There is no nudity, it is not too graphic, and it is also very surreal. It is not "disgusting", rather it's more sensual. There have been far more graphic and frequent sex scenes between men and women in R rated films before. The only reason people are making a fuss, is because it is between two women and it is not something they are either comfortable with or used to. Our society views female sexuality and pleasure as a taboo topic. This is further proven by people getting upset about Nina masturbating. I have seen PG-13 films with men masturbating and nobody gets upset. I have read reviews calling the scenes "disgusting" and inappropriate for anyone under the age of 18. Really? This whole mind frame needs to change. I am not saying that children should be exposed to this content, or this film. I am simply saying that it is wrong that more people take issue with the sexual content than with the graphic depictions of violence in this movie. To me, it seems as though the majority of people are more uncomfortable with female sexuality than they are anything else. Depressingly, some of these people are women. Listen up, if you are uncomfortable or embarressed by the word "vagina", then your are certainly not mature enough to handle this film. On that note, this is a brillant and though provoking movie. I highly recommend it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages