Parent reviews for Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen

Common Sense says

Enjoyable movie about the trials of being a teen.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 8 reviews

Kids say

age 9+
Based on 19 reviews
Adult Written bypunk_butters April 9, 2008

Another stupid chick flick

Are teenaged girls supposed to be stupid or something? 95% of all teen chick flicks are really dumb & revolve around some nobody trying to get a boy to like them or achieve stardom, & guess what, this movie fits into that spot perfectly. Make a teen movie with a real plot, PLEASE! She's panicking over her loser band breaking up, get a life. Plus in this she insults her name 'Mary Elizabeth', can you guess who also has that exact same name? Me! Last, she's lies about her parent dying & acts like it's so cool & romantic, but guess who really did have a parent die! It is not fun & not romantic, & not something to joke about!
Adult Written bygalsmom April 9, 2008

Disney and Lohan are big disappointments

I took my two girls to see this because we had all enjoyed Lindsay Lohan in Parent Trap and Freaky Friday. Unfortunately, in this film her breasts become one of the main characters. She shows bouncy cleavage and wears a dress so tight that it's impossible to imagine how she could move. It absolutely sends the wrong message to girls about their body image and how they should dress. The moral message of the movie is totally convoluted. Although the dialogue expresses the consequences of lying, the action reveals that she got everything she wanted by being deceitful. They showed a trailer of Lohan's next film - I forget the name -but it was a clone of this. No way will I let my girls see that one.
Adult Written byjcarole April 9, 2008

Breasts and Lying

A friend said this movie was okay but it wasn't. The girls are dished up as sexy throughout, the girls are mean and all the lying isn't dealt with until the end when the main character still gets rewarded for her behavior. There's so much wrong with the concert/party storyline I can't write it all here. I spent most of this movie stopping the DVD and explaining to my child why she should NEVER do the things these girls were doing. The Princess Diaries, Ella Enchanted - there are so many good movies out there. Kick this one to the curb.
Adult Written bybeedee1126 April 9, 2008

A cute movie

I thought it was a very cute movie. It made me laugh, epecially when Lola was daydreaming that she was Marilyn Monroe. The music was very good, too. I was singing along. Lindsay was excellent as Lola. She is proving to be a good singer too. I viewed the movie as a kid at heart as well as a parent. There are very few movies for kids, especially for preteens. The movie gives a little bit of insight as to what kids might encounter in junior or senior high school, although not as dramatic as the movie. Kids do daydream (We adults did it as kids and we were probably drama queens and kings as well.). Kids want to fit in especially when they are the new person in school. Parents, do you remember your own experiences when you were kids? Did you learn something from them? Lola did fib about her dad being dead but she did realize later that she was wrong. We all make mistakes but we need to learn from them and try to make a positive out of a negative. Also, Lola's and her friend's parents did the right thing by gorunding the girls. The only skimpy thing that I could recall was the kids were doing the final scene of the play. At least, they didn't dance around like Britney Spears does in her videos and her concerts, or touching their private parts like Michael Jackson (I would have screamed bloody murder.)Maybe the outfits that Lola and her friend wore going to the concert were a little skimpy as well. Otherwise, they dressed like normal teenagers.The rock star that Lola idolized was the only person in the movie that drank. At least Lola had the common sense and the guts to tell her idol that he was an alocholic (I was so proud of her. More kids should do that.). The good thing was that he listened (I always thought the kids were smarter than adults give them credit for. So parents, listen to your kids. They are smarter than you think thanks to some of the commercials against smoking, drinking, and drug abuse. Keep talking to your kids. They will thank you later.). If you keep drumming good values into your kids' heads (Churchgoing or non-church going) you are still doing a terrfic job either way. I see no problem with the movie. Just relax and keep in mind that you were a kid at one time.
Adult Written byksoster April 9, 2008
Parent of a 9 year old Written byrobinpeggy April 9, 2008

Good message eventually

After months of avoiding this because of the CSM review, I gave in to my 6-year-old on a transatlantic flight and was pleasantly surprised. Yes, the Lohan character does lie, but she learns that it doesn't pay, and the ultimate lesson is that you can be different (both Lohan and her best friend) and still be happy. And the alcohol message is a positive one - Lohan's character is disillusioned by the drunkenness of her former idol, and he stops drinking because she calls him on it.
Adult Written bycommon_sense_user_12 April 9, 2008

A mind-numbing waste of time...

This was one of the worst kids movies I've ever seen. It was pointless, stupid, and idiotic from beginning to end. Mary "Lola" is overdramatic (hense the movie title) and lies to make people think she is more interesting. Ella is the only character that seems to have a moral conscience. Don't see this movie. It's boring, stupid, and has a bad message.
Adult Written byDexterSmith April 9, 2008

Cute teen flick contains some iffy behavior

Sexual Content (Not an Issue): Lola wears skimpy outfits. Some kissing, mild sexual allusions. Violence (Not an Issue): A non-graphic car crash, played for laughs. Language (Pause): One use each of "s--t" and "crap". Social Behavior (Pause): Lola steals and tells lies and receives minor consequences. She learns some lessons, however. Commercialism (Not an Issue): None. Drug/Alcohol/Tobacco (Pause): Stu is an alcoholic.