All member reviews for Coraline

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Cool but creepy animated fantasy too scary for young kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 445 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 6, 12, and 15 year old Written bycareful mom too August 30, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
I rented it for the kids and they watched it, then I watched it later with them. I was in total shock at the might-as-well-be-nude scene with the lady with the exaggerated chest. What is wrong with the people who make these things? I don't think it was appropriate for ANY age, least of all, kids. I'm still angry about it. Why do people keep saying, "It was OK EXCEPT for the taking the Lord's name in vain and the naked ladies?" Those things,among others, make it NOT OK in any sense. It was pornographic and disgusting. I'm still angry.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8 year old Written byrienovo March 20, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

8 is too young.

Very good movie, but I would agree with other viewers that it is too scary for children 8 and under. I thought our 8 y/o daughter would be ok, as she has seen other scary movies such as Narnia and Harry Potter, but this is way creepier. She spent the last half of the movie in her father's lap. And we didn't even see it in 3D! So much for animation being less scary! I wish I had read the reviews before going!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 4, 6, and 8 year old Written by3girlsmom March 26, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Very disappointed

I regret not reading reviews before seeing this with my children. From the advertising, I thought it'd be ok for kids and didn't look very scary. I was so wrong. Some helpful reviews if you haven't seen it are from: missbunhead, ParkerH, peony,and AmyB. I'd recommend reading these because they give good details of the iffy aspects of the movie and explain some of the reasons why other people said what they did. I, personally, hated it. The first half was dark, slow, and left you wondering what in the world the story was about. It leads to intense and disturbing scenes that can be very difficult for some to see or hear. I should have left with my 2 younger ones,(4.8 and 6.5), but stayed because my husband and 8y/o daughter didn't see how it was too scary. I would compare it to The Twilight Zone or Alfred Hitchcock. It was well done, had good animation, and had an unusual storyline. I guess I can say that about it. I just don't like scary movies, period. I'd rather see films that make me feel good afterward and leave me thinking that yes, there is good in the world. I'm a bit more sensitive and so are my children(I'll admit that). They are very sweet, kind, loving kids, and I think if this describes your child then don't take them. I wish I wouldn't have seen it, but as I said earlier, my husband thought it was fine. The parts that disappointed me the most were: the old lady with massive, bouncing breasts having tiny stars covering her nipples and wearing a nearly unseen thong because her fat almost covered it all; the immense intensity of the creepy, scary scenes (which is nearly the whole movie); the thought of having buttons sewn on your(the girl's) eyes and on the mouth(the boy); the ghost children who lost their souls to the evil spiderwoman who had sewn buttons on their eyes; the swear word, and the thought that your parents might not be real and will eventually betray and abuse you. My 4&6 yr-olds had their eyes covered, curling up to me the whole last half of the film. But like I said, my children are happy, pleasant, kind children who wouldn't want to hurt anyone. They both had 2 bad dreams that my husband and I had button eyes within 2 weeks of seeing it, and my 4y/o has strongly requested multiple times to never see it again. I reassured her we won't. I'm surprised at how many children enjoyed this movie. I agree with missbunhead that this could be because of neglectful parents with little real morals. For those reading reviews from others who rated this movie as good, take a look at some of their usernames.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old August 23, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

INTENDED to be creepy! Stop whining about it.

Great movie! I hate people who keep saying it's too scary/innapropriate, because DUH. If you show a 8 year old (or under) this movie, which is intended to be creepy, they will obviously get creeped out. Jeez, people are ignorant now-a-days. Anyways, good movie. Great animation, original story. Very imaginative!
Teen, 16 years old Written byxxxemilayxxx March 20, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

For all you insane parents giving this a 17 +

Seriously, I went and saw this movie about a month ago, and it was amazing. I loved the characters and the setting. I can't believe people would rate this as "inappropriate for children under 17" because of an old lady with a huge chest wearing pasties. She's a ANIMATED CHARACTER. How disturbed do you think your kids are going to be? If you keep them sheltered like that, imagine what the real world do to them. The movie was a bit too scary for little kids, I'd say ages 8 and up.
Parent of a 4 and 8 year old Written byerika530 February 12, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I hate this move

I HATE the movie Coraline! It is VERY bad and a lady has huge boobs! And on one part, she had only stickers on! She had only underware! And the other mother tries to kill all of the children! This movie IS NOT OK! The other mother also tries to sow buttons on her eyes! I am 8 and my little cuson is only 4! We both watched it and my little cousin dosn't think it's skary! I don't either. Coraline should of not of been a real movie! I will always try to tell the people that the movie Coraline, is THE WORST movie for children to watch. So if enybody has the people's phone number who made this, please tell me it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 2, 6, 10, and 12 year old Written bysocalmommyof4 February 14, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Way too scary for little kids!

I'd only heard or read positive reviews of this movie before I took my 10 and 6 year old kids to see it. Certainly it was visually amazing, but the fat old lady with huge breasts wearing only pasties was shocking and unnecessary, and the "other mother" goes from being slightly creepy to really, really frightening. I would say that any kids under 11, especially those with a vivid imagination, should be kept away from this movie. Imagine going to bed with 3-d images of an alternate universe on the other side of your wall, where there's a murderous, skeletal, spidery witch waiting to sew buttons over your eyes with a sharp needle, then kill you. No thanks. Both of my little kids have asked to sleep with me tonight. To be fair, my 18 and 13 year old kids went to see it together and absolutely loved it. So, an artistic wonder, to be sure, and creative story, but meant for bigger kids.
Parent of a 6 and 6 year old Written byandsoitgoes June 9, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Coraline - Not a movie for everyone, but a unique gem in a sea of same-old-same-old films.

First, this movie was one that almost completely turned me off of CommonSenseMedia as a whole. Seeing the completely close-minded parent reviews about this movie shamed me as a parent, knowing that these people were my peers. Corline is a movie that's not for evveryone. Yes, it's scary. Yes, the issues discussed aren't happy and cuddly like most Disney fare. No, Coraline is not likeable all the way through. The very first thing I would like to address is the constant talk about the 2 old ladies who dance for Coraline. People have lauded the way that French and Saunders (Miss Spink and Forcible) dressed for this dance. They stated that "Her boobies were too big and exposed!". I'm sorry, but people that take severe issue to this need to rethink how they discuss the human body with their children. Yes, they are dressed in scantily clad outfits, but it is not with sexual overtones. It's how many public performers dressed in the era that they were representing. Yes, she has larger than normal breasts, yes they "bounce", but these things are done in a light-hearted manner. So if that description disgusts you, then Coraline isn't for you. The overtones in this movie are serious and grave, as they are in the book. For most children, ages 7 and up (possibly 9 or older) are best suited for the film. If you spend any time looking at what the story is about, you'll understand it's not going to be a fluff film. Coraline is a girl who is not happy with her parents or what she has in life. She's presented with what looks to be an amazing life from her "Other Mother", and she's thrilled - Until she realizes that her "Other Mother" is trying to steal her soul, as she's done with other Children. Coraline has to take a long look at herself, through the help of others, to recognize that her parents are fantastic, that they love her and that she loves them, and never wants them to go. These are character struggles many children go through, especially when their parents, like Coraline, have moments in their life in which they are too busy, or have to do unpopular things such as moving away from friends, school, etc. Coraline acts out, and the entire story comes full circle, Coraline atones for her actions and, something that is handled better in the book, truly is changed from the person she was. Do not go into this movie with an expectation that it's a fun fluff piece. As I mentioned, it's a serious, grave movie that deals with scary villains and is, to be honest, a "horror movie" for little kids. Coraline sometimes uses words to hurt her friends because of her frustration and initial narrow mind, but this is necessary to show her growth throughout. We, as parents, owe it to our children to screen movies like this before showing them to our children. It's clear that parents who blindly took their 4, 5 or 6 year olds to go see this were not doing their job. 10 minutes on this site or on reading a detailed description would have saved them an immense amount of grief. And seeing the responses here from parents simply, as I've said already, makes me ashamed. The same parents who are fine with Nightmare Before Christmas blast this movie for having poor values and that it's too scary. Well, guess what people - The little kids in Nightmare Before Christmas walked around singing a song about how they wanted to kill Sandy Claws, Oogie Boogie fights Jack at the end using multiple types of guns, and Sally poisons the person who is holding her hostage. You're telling me that you're totally fine with that, but not this? And how do parents posting her expect anyone to take them seriously? I see better grammar and sentence structure from child reviewers! It's a shame to see parents pour their thoughts into posts where, if graded by a teacher, would get a failing grade. If you can't coherently explain your feelings and thoughts, don't post at all. It does you no benefit other than making you look more foolish. That goes for people applauding this movie in the same way. When you post her, you need to post her as an adult, with an objective and OPEN mind. Anyone that doesn't should be ashamed of themselves.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 8 and 8 year old Written byGraphicsmom February 15, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

"Horror-line"

I wish I had read reviews before taking my 8 year old twins to this movie. I know my sentiment is shared with the parents of the 4 and 5 year olds I spoke to outside the theater today. In the movie trailer it looks like an artistic film with cute little girl in it. I am not familiar with the book the or the author but it was advertised as a "kid's movie". The PG rating doesn't really fit. There are lots of kid's movie rated PG for things like crude humor but this It is a scary film about a little girl who discovers a secret door leading into a parallel world of a kid-napper/killer who wants to sew buttons into Coraline's eyes. When Coraline realizes this and wants to go home, the "other mom" turns into a big, scary, skeleton. There is one terrifying scene after another. What kind of kid enjoys getting scared to death at the movies? Not to mention the distasteful show of nudity by the elderly neighbor with the triple G breasts wearing nothing but pasties. That alone should boost the rating to PG13. This movie is NOT APPROPRIATE FOR CHILDREN!!!
Parent of a 6, 8, and 10 year old Written byteamworkfun September 14, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not a great film.

I was shocked when I took my kids to see this. This movie is filled with bad stuff you don't want your kids to see, if you're a good parent. 1. Coraline isn't respectful towards her parents. 2. When Coraline goes into the other world, her other parents start to say grace, when the other father makes up a silly rhyme, and the other mother chuckles. Indicating that they don't take saying grace seriously. 3. Mrs. Forcible is shown wearing stripper-like pasties, and a skimpy bikini bottom. 4. There are many violent and scary scenes with the other mother. Do you really want your kids to see this?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old February 28, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Okay, but creepy and partially disturbing.

I'm an 11 year old girl and I think that this movie is " iffy" for kids 11 and 10, "on" for 12+, and "off" for kids 9 and under. One scene that was partially disturbing was the one scene close to the end where Coroline is in the "other world" and she goes and watches a performance by the two elderly women. At the beginning of the show, after the first elderly woman does her first song, the elderly woman, Maurice, pops up (after a slide of the dogs running the opposite way on a giant rodent wheel) wearing a small thong ( which shows her buttocks briefly) and two small seashells covering only her nipples. Both outfits are very...,well,...revealing. The rest of that section and the torso are bare. Another reason this is disturbing is that some womens breasts are exagerated, sometimes greatly and sometimes minimumly, in size.There are one, maybe two uses of the word cr*p. I also rate this "iffy", "off", and "on", is because of the creepyness portion of the movie. One disturbing feature is the button eyes.CREEPY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I also do not like How the " Other Mother" eats bugs, and is basically a spider herself.It is kind of scary when the "Other Father" says, "So sharp you won't feel a thing" when they are talking about the ' putting buttons over the eyes buisness. My sister and I were kinda scared and I couldn't go to sleep. I had to sleep in my moms room! Remember!!! It all counts on the kid. Not really a grown-up movie at all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old June 22, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

its one of the best movies ever!

this movie may contain scenes that might scare children under age 7.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old June 20, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not a little kid movie

I honestly didn't like this movie very much. I'm not saying it's bad, it's just not my kind of movie; I'm not a fan of violent, action packed movies, I prefer romantic comedies and stuff like that. Parents, beware-just because it has dakota fanning and is animated doesn't mean it's appropriate for your 4 year olds. Although it was advertised mainly to the 2-8 yr old audienece, it really is more for ages 9+, and even teens. I don't think it was fair that in the previews, they didn't show the really scary parts and the "boobs" part (which was sick). Just know that if you want to rent it or see it, leave the kids under 10 at home unless you want them to have nightmares for the next few months.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 2, 6, 6, and 9 year old Written byCrickHop March 8, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Animated Underworld Is Scary

"Coraline" is clearly meant to be a suspense thriller for the preteen to teen child. The movie begins with Coraline searching out her new surroundings and being spooked by the setting and the introduction of new characters. However, each of these scenes and characters prove to be rather harmless, as we are only being set-up for the real "danger." Coraline, is lured into another world out of her own pride filled dissatisfaction of her own world. What she has crossed over to in fact is the underworld. It is a world that at first seems wonderful, only to quickly change direction as she disovers that all that seems so perfect and enchanting is only an illusion meant to entrap her. Coraline escapes only to find she has left others behind who need her help. As any true Heroin, she decideds that if others can't help, she will have to conquer her real fears and face her evil foes. What Coraline discovers ultimatley is that circumstances and people in life may never be the way she would like them, but that she can appreciate and love what she has. And, she learns that if you're not happy, don't rely on others to make things right. All in all, this was an excellent scary allegory for the right age! I would not take a child under 9 to see this! I took my daughter who is almost 9 to see it, and she was scared a great deal by it..ie she didn't sleep well. Important subject matter to consider: Disrespect towards others, especially parents..however this is one of the heroines faults that leads to lessons learned, Suggested nudity..apparenty justified because it is not a "real" body, just one created in the underworld, Missing children, Imprisonmet, Death, Souls inhabiting inanimate objects, Abuse, and Horrific acts..the evil underworld wants to steal her eyes, thereby entraping her forever. Although Coraline overcomes these circumstances, children take these subjects home with them from the movie theatre and can worry about them becoming real. In a Brothers Grimm way this is a good allegory for children, just as long as they are not so young they can't seperate fantasy from reality. I would say, 9 is the youngest, and that's with parents who can explain the allegory after the movie to their child. I think this movie is perfect for 11 to 12 year olds. CrickHop
Parent of a 2 and 4 year old Written bysarahughart January 21, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Great for kids growing up on Tim Burton!

My 4 year old LOVES to watch Coraline, she is into the movies like NBC and CB as well. She seems to have a firm grasp on reality vs fantasy and always find elements of the movies that stick with her. These kinds of movies always get watched with a parent, just in case, but she just loves to sing along with her friend Coraline. The scene with the recreation of venus is a little disturbing, but doesn't seem to phase her.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old July 4, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

perfect movie!!!!

great movie with scares, laughs, and more!.....
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 7 year old Written byjulicious April 15, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great for middle schoolers and up, but you might get nightmares.

I really liked this movie for the messages, but it scared me so bad that I slept with the lights on for a week after seeing it in theatres. A lot of kids from my son's scout pack said they were scared as well. Not recommended for elementary age. Should be fine for older kids. I felt really bad for bringing my son to see this movie at the theatre, let alone letting him watch it at all. I should have waited a few years to show it to him.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Parent of a 6 year old Written bysrc116 August 13, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

VERY scary story...NOT for children.

My six year old couldn't wait to see this movie. Usually, I research reviews and check movies out very carefully but this time, I just didn't get to it before we went. What a mistake! He was terrified and like another reviewer's child, he kept asking how to "get Coraline out of his head." For at least a month after seeing it, he would tell me that he couldn't stop thinking about it. Parents need to know that there are ghost children in this story who were lured into the "other world" and murdered. Definitely not for little ones --- I actually thought it was pretty scary, too.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old June 12, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

CREEPY!

Not good. i went and saw this with my dad, and man- it freaked me out! it's dark and slightly disturbing, without any of the humor or wittyness the Tim Burton adds to his films. there is some slightly racy sexual stuff- a almost naked old lady, but mostly it was just creepy! who wants to watch a movie about a girl who is being persued by these evil monsters who want to cut her eyes out and eat them? not me!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 3 year old Written byKissum February 27, 2009
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

My 3 year old and I enjoyed it!

I took my 3 year old to see it today, and she loved it. I can see where the almost naked woman can be seen as inappropriate, but the way it was presented wasn't an issue for me. My daughter thought it was funny, and didn't say anything about it afterward. There are some slightly scary moments, but nothing that terrified her. The theater was full of little kids (2-5ish) and none of them cried or had to leave. I think this is one of those things you need to judge based on your child, but I definitely don't feel the 9 years and up rating is justified.

Pages