All member reviews for Coraline

Common Sense Media says

Cool but creepy animated fantasy too scary for young kids.
 

Users say

(out of 457 reviews)
age 9+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 6, 12, and 15 year old Written bycareful mom too August 30, 2009
age 2+
 
I rented it for the kids and they watched it, then I watched it later with them. I was in total shock at the might-as-well-be-nude scene with the lady with the exaggerated chest. What is wrong with the people who make these things? I don't think it was appropriate for ANY age, least of all, kids. I'm still angry about it. Why do people keep saying, "It was OK EXCEPT for the taking the Lord's name in vain and the naked ladies?" Those things,among others, make it NOT OK in any sense. It was pornographic and disgusting. I'm still angry.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8 year old Written byrienovo March 20, 2009
age 8+
 

8 is too young.

Very good movie, but I would agree with other viewers that it is too scary for children 8 and under. I thought our 8 y/o daughter would be ok, as she has seen other scary movies such as Narnia and Harry Potter, but this is way creepier. She spent the last half of the movie in her father's lap. And we didn't even see it in 3D! So much for animation being less scary! I wish I had read the reviews before going!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 4, 6, and 8 year old Written by3girlsmom March 26, 2009
age 13+
 

Very disappointed

I regret not reading reviews before seeing this with my children. From the advertising, I thought it'd be ok for kids and didn't look very scary. I was so wrong. Some helpful reviews if you haven't seen it are from: missbunhead, ParkerH, peony,and AmyB. I'd recommend reading these because they give good details of the iffy aspects of the movie and explain some of the reasons why other people said what they did. I, personally, hated it. The first half was dark, slow, and left you wondering what in the world the story was about. It leads to intense and disturbing scenes that can be very difficult for some to see or hear. I should have left with my 2 younger ones,(4.8 and 6.5), but stayed because my husband and 8y/o daughter didn't see how it was too scary. I would compare it to The Twilight Zone or Alfred Hitchcock. It was well done, had good animation, and had an unusual storyline. I guess I can say that about it. I just don't like scary movies, period. I'd rather see films that make me feel good afterward and leave me thinking that yes, there is good in the world. I'm a bit more sensitive and so are my children(I'll admit that). They are very sweet, kind, loving kids, and I think if this describes your child then don't take them. I wish I wouldn't have seen it, but as I said earlier, my husband thought it was fine. The parts that disappointed me the most were: the old lady with massive, bouncing breasts having tiny stars covering her nipples and wearing a nearly unseen thong because her fat almost covered it all; the immense intensity of the creepy, scary scenes (which is nearly the whole movie); the thought of having buttons sewn on your(the girl's) eyes and on the mouth(the boy); the ghost children who lost their souls to the evil spiderwoman who had sewn buttons on their eyes; the swear word, and the thought that your parents might not be real and will eventually betray and abuse you. My 4&6 yr-olds had their eyes covered, curling up to me the whole last half of the film. But like I said, my children are happy, pleasant, kind children who wouldn't want to hurt anyone. They both had 2 bad dreams that my husband and I had button eyes within 2 weeks of seeing it, and my 4y/o has strongly requested multiple times to never see it again. I reassured her we won't. I'm surprised at how many children enjoyed this movie. I agree with missbunhead that this could be because of neglectful parents with little real morals. For those reading reviews from others who rated this movie as good, take a look at some of their usernames.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byxxxemilayxxx March 20, 2009
age 8+
 

For all you insane parents giving this a 17 +

Seriously, I went and saw this movie about a month ago, and it was amazing. I loved the characters and the setting. I can't believe people would rate this as "inappropriate for children under 17" because of an old lady with a huge chest wearing pasties. She's a ANIMATED CHARACTER. How disturbed do you think your kids are going to be? If you keep them sheltered like that, imagine what the real world do to them. The movie was a bit too scary for little kids, I'd say ages 8 and up.
Kid, 12 years old August 23, 2010
age 9+
 

INTENDED to be creepy! Stop whining about it.

Great movie! I hate people who keep saying it's too scary/innapropriate, because DUH. If you show a 8 year old (or under) this movie, which is intended to be creepy, they will obviously get creeped out. Jeez, people are ignorant now-a-days. Anyways, good movie. Great animation, original story. Very imaginative!
Parent of a 6 and 6 year old Written byandsoitgoes June 9, 2011
age 7+
 

Coraline - Not a movie for everyone, but a unique gem in a sea of same-old-same-old films.

First, this movie was one that almost completely turned me off of CommonSenseMedia as a whole. Seeing the completely close-minded parent reviews about this movie shamed me as a parent, knowing that these people were my peers. Corline is a movie that's not for evveryone. Yes, it's scary. Yes, the issues discussed aren't happy and cuddly like most Disney fare. No, Coraline is not likeable all the way through. The very first thing I would like to address is the constant talk about the 2 old ladies who dance for Coraline. People have lauded the way that French and Saunders (Miss Spink and Forcible) dressed for this dance. They stated that "Her boobies were too big and exposed!". I'm sorry, but people that take severe issue to this need to rethink how they discuss the human body with their children. Yes, they are dressed in scantily clad outfits, but it is not with sexual overtones. It's how many public performers dressed in the era that they were representing. Yes, she has larger than normal breasts, yes they "bounce", but these things are done in a light-hearted manner. So if that description disgusts you, then Coraline isn't for you. The overtones in this movie are serious and grave, as they are in the book. For most children, ages 7 and up (possibly 9 or older) are best suited for the film. If you spend any time looking at what the story is about, you'll understand it's not going to be a fluff film. Coraline is a girl who is not happy with her parents or what she has in life. She's presented with what looks to be an amazing life from her "Other Mother", and she's thrilled - Until she realizes that her "Other Mother" is trying to steal her soul, as she's done with other Children. Coraline has to take a long look at herself, through the help of others, to recognize that her parents are fantastic, that they love her and that she loves them, and never wants them to go. These are character struggles many children go through, especially when their parents, like Coraline, have moments in their life in which they are too busy, or have to do unpopular things such as moving away from friends, school, etc. Coraline acts out, and the entire story comes full circle, Coraline atones for her actions and, something that is handled better in the book, truly is changed from the person she was. Do not go into this movie with an expectation that it's a fun fluff piece. As I mentioned, it's a serious, grave movie that deals with scary villains and is, to be honest, a "horror movie" for little kids. Coraline sometimes uses words to hurt her friends because of her frustration and initial narrow mind, but this is necessary to show her growth throughout. We, as parents, owe it to our children to screen movies like this before showing them to our children. It's clear that parents who blindly took their 4, 5 or 6 year olds to go see this were not doing their job. 10 minutes on this site or on reading a detailed description would have saved them an immense amount of grief. And seeing the responses here from parents simply, as I've said already, makes me ashamed. The same parents who are fine with Nightmare Before Christmas blast this movie for having poor values and that it's too scary. Well, guess what people - The little kids in Nightmare Before Christmas walked around singing a song about how they wanted to kill Sandy Claws, Oogie Boogie fights Jack at the end using multiple types of guns, and Sally poisons the person who is holding her hostage. You're telling me that you're totally fine with that, but not this? And how do parents posting her expect anyone to take them seriously? I see better grammar and sentence structure from child reviewers! It's a shame to see parents pour their thoughts into posts where, if graded by a teacher, would get a failing grade. If you can't coherently explain your feelings and thoughts, don't post at all. It does you no benefit other than making you look more foolish. That goes for people applauding this movie in the same way. When you post her, you need to post her as an adult, with an objective and OPEN mind. Anyone that doesn't should be ashamed of themselves.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2, 6, 10, and 12 year old Written bysocalmommyof4 February 14, 2009
age 11+
 

Way too scary for little kids!

I'd only heard or read positive reviews of this movie before I took my 10 and 6 year old kids to see it. Certainly it was visually amazing, but the fat old lady with huge breasts wearing only pasties was shocking and unnecessary, and the "other mother" goes from being slightly creepy to really, really frightening. I would say that any kids under 11, especially those with a vivid imagination, should be kept away from this movie. Imagine going to bed with 3-d images of an alternate universe on the other side of your wall, where there's a murderous, skeletal, spidery witch waiting to sew buttons over your eyes with a sharp needle, then kill you. No thanks. Both of my little kids have asked to sleep with me tonight. To be fair, my 18 and 13 year old kids went to see it together and absolutely loved it. So, an artistic wonder, to be sure, and creative story, but meant for bigger kids.
Written byAnonymous June 30, 2013
age 9+
 

Coraline

Amazing and enchanting movie. It is too scary for young kids and there is one inappropriate scene for kids. There is so many bad reviews but shut up! What do you expect? Great movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 4 and 8 year old Written byerika530 February 12, 2010
age 2+
 

I hate this move

I HATE the movie Coraline! It is VERY bad and a lady has huge boobs! And on one part, she had only stickers on! She had only underware! And the other mother tries to kill all of the children! This movie IS NOT OK! The other mother also tries to sow buttons on her eyes! I am 8 and my little cuson is only 4! We both watched it and my little cousin dosn't think it's skary! I don't either. Coraline should of not of been a real movie! I will always try to tell the people that the movie Coraline, is THE WORST movie for children to watch. So if enybody has the people's phone number who made this, please tell me it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8 and 8 year old Written byGraphicsmom February 15, 2009
age 13+
 

"Horror-line"

I wish I had read reviews before taking my 8 year old twins to this movie. I know my sentiment is shared with the parents of the 4 and 5 year olds I spoke to outside the theater today. In the movie trailer it looks like an artistic film with cute little girl in it. I am not familiar with the book the or the author but it was advertised as a "kid's movie". The PG rating doesn't really fit. There are lots of kid's movie rated PG for things like crude humor but this It is a scary film about a little girl who discovers a secret door leading into a parallel world of a kid-napper/killer who wants to sew buttons into Coraline's eyes. When Coraline realizes this and wants to go home, the "other mom" turns into a big, scary, skeleton. There is one terrifying scene after another. What kind of kid enjoys getting scared to death at the movies? Not to mention the distasteful show of nudity by the elderly neighbor with the triple G breasts wearing nothing but pasties. That alone should boost the rating to PG13. This movie is NOT APPROPRIATE FOR CHILDREN!!!
Teen, 13 years old Written bymibblesPerson September 19, 2014
age 13+
 

the reason saying this movie is okay for 9 year old's is ridiculous, is...

because the kind of story it is. what I'm saying is the movie is made to scare creative people, not normal people. sure it will disturb normal people, heck it may make them stay awake the night they watch it, but it will not scar them. I watched this movie when I was 7. BIG MISTAKE. I was terrified for a year and a half. this movie was every thing I feared most, and more. what you should know is that this movie will put ideas in your child's mind like, a pleasant world that resembles yours and every thing you wanted put in, Then the entire world trapping you and hunting you down to steal your eyes. a figure that looks just like your mother turning into a freakish monster and trying to trap you in a room for all entirety. Your parnets getting taken away way by powerful and evil force that no one knows about. dolls that watch you and keep track of what you do for a creature that wants to trap you and sow buttons were your eyes should be. ghosts of children living in a room for all entirety not being allowed to leave and go to heaven. A door in your house that leads to this horrid place, oh and there's one part were a lady is dancing with almost no clothes (she is also very ugly and old), and some blood comes out of some rats, but the blood is not to big of an issue considering I rated it for 13 .The creator of this story also said this "this story was made to scare the parents as much or more than the children." now this isn't exactly what he said, but it was to that effect. the reason Coraline keeps going to this place, and the reason no one stops her is because of her neglectful parents. will this scare a child? yes, but will it scar them? I don't know. you know your child better than me. is your child creative? if so, your child will love this movie, just make sure he (or she) is gotten to a point we they can tell real from the reality in there heads. the best thing is for you to watch the movie before them and decide if your kid can handle it or not.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byJustino4 April 23, 2011
age 7+
 
This should not be a PG movie straight up. There are naked ladies dancing, there are cats that eat mice with blood gushing out of their mouthes and this movie overall is creepy as heck. This should be PG-13 all the way. The sad part is is that no one above 13 would want to see this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great role models
Parent of a 6, 8, and 10 year old Written byteamworkfun September 14, 2009
age 15+
 

Not a great film.

I was shocked when I took my kids to see this. This movie is filled with bad stuff you don't want your kids to see, if you're a good parent. 1. Coraline isn't respectful towards her parents. 2. When Coraline goes into the other world, her other parents start to say grace, when the other father makes up a silly rhyme, and the other mother chuckles. Indicating that they don't take saying grace seriously. 3. Mrs. Forcible is shown wearing stripper-like pasties, and a skimpy bikini bottom. 4. There are many violent and scary scenes with the other mother. Do you really want your kids to see this?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 8 years old June 22, 2009
age 7+
 

its one of the best movies ever!

this movie may contain scenes that might scare children under age 7.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byfellaZ August 16, 2014
age 11+
 

Great movie but really creepy

My sister seen this movie when she was 8, and she was that scared that she does not want to see it even when she is 11. I actually watch it all time even if i am 14 now and i like it. You should watch it when you are 12.
Teen, 14 years old Written byicestardethklokfan February 18, 2012
age 9+
 

Over-reaction Much?

jeeze guys,what did you expect?just one look at the directer and you could probably tell it wouldn't be the best thing in the world to take a 3 year old to.-_-yes,the mum says "crap" and other Spink and Forcible are "scantily clad".remember jaws?it had the exact same rating:PG.PG means,'parental guidance' if you're going to freak out like this why didn't you just take your kids to see pink panther or that one jonas movie!? ):{ i don't like seeing movies i like get bad-mouthed because you couldn't read the warning both in the commercial AND before the film starts up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written byhuntersthompson August 12, 2011
age 8+
 

Sad people of the internet

Coraline is a great film, maybe not for the prudish middle class trying to mollycoddle the next generation of our society. It has a strong message to send out, not just that be careful for what you wish for, but to also point out that as parents it is quite easy to make your children feel neglected and push them in the wrong direction, whether it be drugs, Alcohol or worst of all another person altogether!!! kids hear swearing everywhere etc school, shops or just days out. stop blaming such a great film you morons and get a life, look into your own dark mess of a life and see if you have ever done anything so thought provoking that it might actually help someone see the error of their ways. peace out blap blap:0
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 28, 2011
age 11+
 

Okay, but creepy and partially disturbing.

I'm an 11 year old girl and I think that this movie is " iffy" for kids 11 and 10, "on" for 12+, and "off" for kids 9 and under. One scene that was partially disturbing was the one scene close to the end where Coroline is in the "other world" and she goes and watches a performance by the two elderly women. At the beginning of the show, after the first elderly woman does her first song, the elderly woman, Maurice, pops up (after a slide of the dogs running the opposite way on a giant rodent wheel) wearing a small thong ( which shows her buttocks briefly) and two small seashells covering only her nipples. Both outfits are very...,well,...revealing. The rest of that section and the torso are bare. Another reason this is disturbing is that some womens breasts are exagerated, sometimes greatly and sometimes minimumly, in size.There are one, maybe two uses of the word cr*p. I also rate this "iffy", "off", and "on", is because of the creepyness portion of the movie. One disturbing feature is the button eyes.CREEPY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I also do not like How the " Other Mother" eats bugs, and is basically a spider herself.It is kind of scary when the "Other Father" says, "So sharp you won't feel a thing" when they are talking about the ' putting buttons over the eyes buisness. My sister and I were kinda scared and I couldn't go to sleep. I had to sleep in my moms room! Remember!!! It all counts on the kid. Not really a grown-up movie at all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 4, 2010
age 9+
 

perfect movie!!!!

great movie with scares, laughs, and more!.....
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old June 20, 2009
age 10+
 

Not a little kid movie

I honestly didn't like this movie very much. I'm not saying it's bad, it's just not my kind of movie; I'm not a fan of violent, action packed movies, I prefer romantic comedies and stuff like that. Parents, beware-just because it has dakota fanning and is animated doesn't mean it's appropriate for your 4 year olds. Although it was advertised mainly to the 2-8 yr old audienece, it really is more for ages 9+, and even teens. I don't think it was fair that in the previews, they didn't show the really scary parts and the "boobs" part (which was sick). Just know that if you want to rent it or see it, leave the kids under 10 at home unless you want them to have nightmares for the next few months.
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages