Parent reviews for Deadpool

Common Sense says

Gory, profane, sexy superhero story great, but NOT for kids.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 119 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 229 reviews
Parent of a 12, 15, and 17 year old Written bymovielovinmother45 February 11, 2016

Great film, a great time, and for teens too!

CSM has done it again. Like they have done for The Revenant and many other must-see films they have totally over-reacted the content of this film. I took my children to see this one, and I will admit, was a little scared of what might happen in front of their eyes, but needless to say, it was completely fine. First off, yes, Deadpool does have a lot of violent scenes, but they are all presented in a unique style which doesn't feel violent until it is written down on paper. The language is crass, but of course all of our children hear this at school. Sex, while seeming bad in this review, is fine. There is extremely quick glances of breasts, but it's blink-and-you'll-miss-it, kind of like Big Short or Terminator. There are no drugs, which was what I was most worried about. Altogether, the film is completely fine for ages 14 and up (high schoolers) or mature middle schoolers. The film is just as bad as Terminator or The Matrix.

This title contains:

Language
Parent of a 5, 9, 9, and 12 year old Written byraising4men February 14, 2016

NOT FOR KIDS!!!!!!

We were completely disappointed with this movie. The extremes that they went to with the language, nudity, and sex were completely unneeded for the storyline. Most of the scenes included multiple uses of "f--k". There is a scene in a strip club. The sex scene was extremely graphic and drawn out! When did they start allowing sex scenes like this in movie theaters?!? I understand the draw to this film, especially for Marvel fans, but I find it to be completely inappropriate for kids of any age. I know that our kids may hear bad language or "sex talk" at school or with friends, but this movie violently forces it down their throats!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byVRN600 February 13, 2016

This Anti Hero is Not for children

This movie i felt should have been NC17. I noticed children younger than 12 were not able to handle watching the movie because kids were freaking out through out the film. I am mature enough to say the sex scences in the movie is extreamly graphic. A women plays with her breast while having sex . A man buttocks is shown but his gentals are shown although, you hardly notice. Women breasts are are shown at the strip club. Aside from the strong sexual content their is intence violence and adult humour. I t is in your childs best intrest not to see this movie

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byJoyrobics February 13, 2016

Crude sexual images/references

This movie would have been just fine without the many nude sexual scenes and scenes of women in topless bars. I love Ryan Reynolds and his wit and the whole superhero type of movie. There were many crude verbal references to male genitals with relationship to oral sex and self sex. Many crass rude references to male genitalia especially. I was completely embarrassed to be sitting next to my 15 and 17 year old "testosterone infused" teenagers. I did not expect this movie to be as dirty minded as it was. Even in the credits following the movie a cartoon character continued the rude/dirty hand gestures indicating self sex and sexual innuendos. I never wanted to be that parent that takes their kids to inappropriate movies. Now, I am. We have seen all of the prior x man movies and have enjoyed them. This one definitely take a turn for the worse . I will not take my boys to another one of these movies without seeing it first. Beware!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byDeadpoolfan February 18, 2016

Here's the Truth

I don't have kids. But I've been a fan of Deadpool for a long time, and I'm seeing a lot of skewed reviews so I wanted to set the record straight: this is not a superhero movie. Read that again: this is not a superhero movie. And that's where people are going wrong in their reviews. Doesn't mean it's not a good movie. Yes, Deadpool is an extremely graphic movie in all areas: sexual, violence, profanity, imbibing. The movie was made that way for a very important reason: it's true to the comics. Now, comics can't take it to the extent the movie could, but knowing the character as well as I do, and as well as the filmmakers do, the only way to make the movie was how they did. Let me repeat: graphic. There is full fledged nudity, front and back, male and female. Granted, the male frontal nudity is during a dimly lit fight scene, but it's there. There is a 5-10 minute sex montage illustrating various holidays, including a pegging scene. There is a short scene of (hidden) masturbation involving a unicorn plush. There are graphic torture scenes, both on and by Deadpool. He is a mercenary, NOT a superhero. Other reviewers got the profanity section right, it is a lot of crude humor and explicit language. There are many scenes involving alcohol and references to drugs. After reading all that you might wonder why anyone would want to see it. It is dark humor. And that's how the original character was. And it is a truly hilarious movie, quite meta, the entire audience was laughing when I went. But it is NOT for kids. And I don't think if you have teens who would be mature enough to handle it, they'd want to watch it with you.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byBrothepro53 February 12, 2016

Wow!

This movie production is funny for kids that are 13+ and has action and all sorts of stuff it was amazing

This title contains:

Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 10 and 15 year old Written byNormaCasey124 February 11, 2016

Not my kind of movie, but my boys loved it!

Well, my first review for Common Sense Media, but I think they completely over-did this title. I saw this with my 15 and 10 year old, and was fine for the oldest. The youngest was fine, but I was just uncomfortable with all the swearing. The violence is directed in a peculiar way, which makes it not seem bad while watching, but appear so when trying to review. The review on this website is accurate for swearing, violence it over-reacts a tad, sex was very, very quick. My 15 year old didn't notice. (Pardon my English, not my first language) Overall, the film is fine if you don't mind swearing and semi-violent films. It was entertaining for my kids, but not my sort of picture.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Parent of a 3, 4, and 6 year old Written bycatherinen February 14, 2016

Great movie, but not for young kids

Went to see it last night with friends. My own children are way too young to even consider letting them watch it (ages 6,4, and 3) However, I was surprised to see some people there with their toddlers, 5 year olds, and a few 9 or 10 year olds. The small kids didn't understand most of it I am sure. At times, the older kids got upset or rowdy. Definitely never heard them laugh nor seem to enjoy it anywhere near as much as the adults in the audience. At one point they left for a bit and came back. While it really is up to the parent, I truly cannot understand how or why any parent of a child under 12 would allow them to see this movie. I agree with the review, it is not a film for kids. Even if your kid wants to see it, and you have no problem with them seeing gore, violence, nudity, hearing many very adult-themed jokes, etc...how much are they really going to enjoy it? How much are they going to understand? Or is it all just going to go over their heads? IMO, taking a kid to see this would be a complete waste of money. If I watched this with my kids I would want them to be old enough to be able to understand and truly enjoy it, not just watch it because "Look a super hero!" I will never understand that mindset. Also, if your young 10 year old DOES understand all of the very adult themes present in this film...well...there's something very wrong with your parenting skills I think. Educating kids about sex, violence, etc and outright condoning it and allowing them to think such crude things are acceptable at their age and commonplace are two very different things.
Parent of a 12 year old Written byPeterSoksa08 February 12, 2016

11-12-13 UP, KNOW YOUR CHILD!

My son is 12 and a huge fan of Deadpool. He loves to read the comics but he doesn't play the game. When he found out that there was going to be a movie, he was very excited. I was quite worried about the rating so I went to see it first. It was a fantastic movie filled with funny jokes and adventures. However, it did have quite a bit of violence and language. It took me a while to decide if my son could watch it for I am quite an over-protective parent but eventually I said that he could see it. To be honest, it really isn't that bad and therefore I think that kids tween and up should be allowed to see it.

This title contains:

Language
Parent of a 14 and 17 year old Written byrichard.kick February 14, 2016

Raunchy and funny, but not for kids

Deadpool is a non stop torrent of wise cracks and sex jokes. It is a very funny movie, but not appropriate for kids. I saw this movie with my 17 year old and he was uncomfortable seeing this movie with his parent. Yes the language is bad and is not anything kids in high school haven't heard before, but it is excessive. Fine for adults, not for kids. The swearing isn't the biggest criticism, it's the content. For mature adults it's fine, but not for children. The sex montage is humorous, but inappropriate, unless cunnilingus, strap-ons and anal sex are topics you wish to discuss with your children. There is a scene at a strip club with appropriately topless women which is fine for adults, but not for kids. The jokes, while funny, are again inappropriate for kids. Many, many penis, crotch, butt and masterbating jokes. Funny for adults, and edgy for teen boys, but not young girls. As for violence, there is no more violence in this movie than in other Marvel films, but there is more gore if that's the right word. Dismemberment, decapitation, graphic head shots, skewering, etc. are the norm. This is R rated violence for a reason and not meant for kids, regardless of whether or not it is done humorously or not. My 14 and 17 year olds have seen the Matrix and Birdman so they have seen 'violent' films and heard 'vulgar' language in films, but Deadpool takes it to another level. I enjoyed the movie and laughed throughout and recommend it for what it is, but I do not believe it is for middle school or even early high school kids.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 7, 9, 11, and 14 year old Written byheidii March 8, 2016

Hey, 13 year old kid, let's watch some gory porn together!'

If that is what you say to your teens on a regular bases, then this movie is great for your family. If you don't want you teens to be red.. While they are a date with their 13 year old "bae" or want them to littlerly squirm in their seats next to you, their parents then skip this one. It's a great movie, rated R.. Because of the SEX and violence. Just violence is one thing. Boys love violence, and crave it. BUT what your boy doesn't need is a wrong view of sex. Or a porn addiction because he WILL be turned on by this movie and will need to see this kind of stuff again. But hey, if that's all good for your family, go. Just don't come crying to people when you find out he has wrecked his life with a porn addiction in 10 years. You and he should watch the movie, "Don Jon" after you take him to this one.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bybusymumof5 February 15, 2016

I loved this movie but I'm not letting my kids see it

Our family LOVES super hero movies with a passion so we've all been really excited with all the new ones coming out in recent years. However the kids were really disappointed when there were indications that this one wouldn't be suitable for them (NSFW trailer). I went to see it by myself when they were at school and I have to agree with the rating. The boys are between 8-14 and aren't completely sheltered and wrapped in cotton wool. They have heard the occasional swear word and seen a decent amount of gore. However this really stepped it up a level. It definitely wasn't at all suitable for the younger two and whilst I think the 14 year old could handle the gore and swearing, I believe that the torture scenes, nudity, sex scenes and frequent sexual/masturbation references would be very uncomfortable and perhaps even disturbing for him. Thankfully this movie isn't core to the Marvel universe so they aren't really missing out on anything and they can see it when they are older. Meantime, I'm looking forward to seeing it again, this time with my husband!
Parent of a 15 year old Written byKatspell February 12, 2016

Not for young kids, but awesome for adults who don't mind raunchy humor

I am mostly writing this because the official review lists partial nudity and that is incorrect. There is full nudity both male and female in this movie. There is also an extensive sex scene that includes implied strap on play. I personally am taking my 15 year old to see it but only after I watched it first. I personally found the movie to be hilarious but I am advising my mom to stay away because she doesn't like raunchy humor.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 13 and 15 year old Written byreadergirl1228 February 13, 2016

Great for Adults, NOT for kids

As an adult, I really enjoyed this movie. Great action, great dialogue-the humor is incredibly well written. However, this is NOT a film for kids. I read the reviews here first, then went to see it on my own. I felt like my 15 year old might be ready for it, but I wanted to see it first. Boy, was I glad I didn't bring her. Tons of profanity, violence, and sex scenes (between Deadpool and his girlfriend, and there is also a scene in a strip club). Not for kids at all. Definitely an adult movie.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bydanielleandrea February 13, 2016

Funny

Hilarious! This is a movie I would pay to see again. It was really funny including various jokes, some about X-Men and 20th Century Fox, which is the film’s distributor. My first thought walking out of the auditorium was, “hilarious”. The writers did a great job balancing this movie between comedy, drama, action/adventure, and some suspense. The actors also did a great job, Deadpool was also a premiere of Ryan Reynolds of me, which I’m kind of ashamed to say that I’ve never seen a movie starring Reynolds. Deadpool is a good movie, and again, pretty funny. Beware there is a sex scene in the movie a lots of explicit language. I would say this movie is appropriate for teen’s aged 16 and up. I highly recommend this movie for ages 18 and up.

This title contains:

Language
Consumerism
Adult Written byValleyMom March 11, 2016

DEADPOOL ---- Gratuitous violence, thin plot, NOT for kids

I have worked in the film industry many years and the gratuitous violence in films is becoming worse & worse with each passing year. I brought my teen daughters to see this tonight and we walked out after 30 minutes, leaving my husband to see the remainder. This film has nothing redeeming about it IMO as special effects are a dime a dozen and the plot lines here are very thin. I didn't care about the sexuality or crass humor --- the point is that this anti-hero is not someone I care to watch getting revenge or getting the girl, or getting anything by blowing everyone's brains out and telling jokes at the same time. What does that say about the value of human life. Zero. This film epitomizes the dumbing down of our society……..when to entertain people you need to shove a hot cigarette lighter in someone's mouth or impaling someone. Ugh. Hated what this stands for.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written bynavy_mo February 12, 2016

Raunchy, hilarious, adult-themed super"hero"

Raunchy, vulgar, bloody, hyper-violent action. Saw it with my 24-year old son, and we were both entertained and laughed at it constantly. Violence, bad language and filthy references were at a maximum. Definitely will not let my pre-teen see it. My wife would not care for it either.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byStevie111 February 12, 2016

Incredibly Good Superhero Film For Mature Audiences, No Exceptions

Deadpool is a bloody, crude, and amazing Marvel film, probably the best one yet. From beginning to end there is graphic violence and filthy dialogue. There is also strong and explicit sexual content and nudity, including a fight scene where a character is one hundred percent naked. The characters and story are great, and I loved the humor. Ant Man was probably my previous favorite Marvel film, but this is better. I highly recommend this hysterical and entertaining movie. That being said, this is only for the most mature teens and adults, and even they may be uncomfortable.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byrenees3 February 26, 2016

I love dead pool! but your kids wont!

Loved every second! **NOT FOR KIDS*** I laughed my butt off! **NOT FOR KIDS*** Deadpool is my fav marvel anti hero! **ITS R RATED YOU IDIOTS!!!** It was a perfect mix of violence, sarcasm, and action! ***FOR GODS SAKE DO NOT BRING YOUR CHILDREN TO THIS MOVE!!!*** **DEADPOOL IS NOT FOR KIDS**** **DEADPOOL IS NOT FOR KIDS**** **DEADPOOL IS NOT FOR KIDS**** **DEADPOOL IS NOT FOR KIDS****

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byTHiNGYBOBinc February 28, 2016

Do you guys not know what "Rated R" means?

Is Deadpool a good movie? Yes. Is it faithful to the original comics? Mostly. Should you bring your 5-year-old kid to see it? NO. Deadpool has a lot of sex, drugs, gore, and swearing in it. But that's pretty much what Deadpool has always been about. In fact, this incarnation of Deadpool is actually NICER than some of his other incarnations. Regardless, this film was made with an older audience in mind, which you honestly should have been able to guess from the "This film is rated R for adults ages 17 and up" message that mysteriously keeps appearing wherever this movie goes. This movie is not suitable for children. It was never TRYING to be suitable for children to begin with. Some films are just not made to be watched by small children. Bringing your kid to this movie and then complaining about it not being suitable for children makes you pretty much the same as that guy who sued McDonalds because he spilled coffee on his lap and "didn't know it was hot".

Pages