Parent reviews for Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Common Sense says

Adorable comedy about middle-school anxieties...and farts.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 8+
Based on 63 reviews

Kids say

age 8+
Based on 252 reviews
Adult Written bychristin g. January 1, 2019

Greg is a Terrible Role Model, with no Respect for Parents

This movie is so painful to watch. The first time we watched it my kids were really little, maybe 2 and 5, and we got a few laughs from the "cheese touch" and whatnot. Watching it again with my kids, now 6 and 9, made me ultra uncomfortable.
My oldest loves the books, and surely kids relate to the main character of books, and assume he is right. Well, everything Greg does is rooted in selfishness and disrespect. He thinks everyone around him is idiots, including his parents and baby brother, and best friend. He believes he is smarter than everyone, and has no moral compass. He lies, lies and lies. I do not want my children looking up to him. There is a lot of bullying going on as well. I think the books can affect a child's attitude.
Then, there was the Adult Magazine with the semi-nude woman on the front, that they showed in more than one scene, which I found completely unnecessary. If I had remembered that scene was in the movie, I wouldn't have watched it with the kids at all.
So sad there were no positive role models or positive messages in this movie.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byemr2667 June 15, 2020

No for kids

Movie full of bullying, kids been mean and liars and bad example to follow... includes porn images and bad parents thst dont guide the bad behavior of his kids ... words like stupid jerk i will kill you moron ... kids touching buts... trying to ridicule a boy putting fatness , cloth type and others as an stereotype of non being popular...

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Adult Written bydramakidmom April 20, 2020

Middle School Angst with humor

I think this movie captures the difficulties of middle school in a fun, comical way as it tackles some very real complex issues that many "wimpy" kids find incredibly challenging.
Adult Written byInba March 27, 2020

Just I love it

It is normally good for children.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byJanuckey October 9, 2018

Inappropriate messages for kids under 10

"Diary of a Wimpy Kid" is basically a movie about a kid who is a terrible, selfish, manipulative person and an even worse friend. Greg, the movie's main character, wants to be popular at any cost. He schemes and is typically pretty terrible to his one true friend, Riley. He constantly belittles his friend and even let him take the fall for something HE did. He broke his best friend's arm, and seemed more concerned about the fact that it made his friend more popular than it made him. It is later revealed in a flashback scene that he bullied a little girl to the point of tears once while in kindergarten. Now in middle school, the same girl consistently bullies Greg, and he asks what he's ever done to her. Perhaps that is the most annoying aspect of this utterly terrible, manipulative character; he is not only awful, but he doesn't seem to KNOW he's awful and therefore doesn't take any responsibility for MOST of his actions. There aren't a whole lot of consequences for the character's terrible behavior either, other than his friend Riley finally realizing that Greg is a garbage person and stops hanging out with him. In fact, that's the most positive message in the movie when his best friend has finally had enough of his mean, manipulative behavior, and realizes that Greg is not a good friend or person and finds a friend that treats him with more respect. At least that teaches kids about being a good judge of character and having boundaries about the types of people to surround yourself with. Also, another positive is that Riley stays true to himself and is leagues happier than Greg, despite Greg constantly trying to make him feel bad about being himself or inadequate. Overall, I would not recommend this movie for any kid under 10. It promotes bullying and manipulation as a way to get a desirable outcome, and kids under 10 won't understand it as humor. They may actually see it as an endorsement of such behavior. Greg does take the heat off of Riley in the end and comes through as a friend for him at a integral time, but that ONE instance is not worth small kids watching this movie, as Greg never truly apologizes and his consequences for all of his horrible actions are pretty slap on the wrist none existant. There are also situations within the movie (like the mother finding the older brother's porn magazine) and confronting him about it, that I don't think is appropriate for young kids. The movie might be fine for older kids that are able to grasp situational humor, but I would not recommend this for younger kids.
Parent of a 3, 7, 11, 11, and 12-year-old Written byRainee S February 25, 2018

A good Movie

My 7 year old loved it. i watched the second movie with him too. There are bad stuff. like a very bad magazine the brother owned and but it is a very good movie to laugh at with your children.
Parent of a 10, 12, and 15-year-old Written byHendo H. U December 27, 2017

Great!

Not exactly like book, but just as good.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent Written byJasmin R. June 11, 2017

Not funny

Didnt find humor on many of the jokes. And attitude on characters not a great influnce on kids today.
Parent Written byEricann1 April 23, 2016

Good

My daughter who is 10 thought that this was a bit too... Disgusting in some areas. Overall 2/3 of my children loved it ! I just think this is more for boys than girls. Especially appealing to my 11 and 13 year old sons. It was really great and they watched every movie , and read every book of this series. Would recommend.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byAidan S. August 6, 2015
Adult Written byclarence August 5, 2015
Parent Written byerinw2 October 19, 2014
Parent Written bytreat02 December 28, 2012

Good, maybe a little nasty

Okay, for one thing, if you let your kids read or see the movie this, you MUST say: "Greg isn't a good role model, and neither is a lot of the characters in this." I think kids can figure this out. The movie, has Fregley, a really weird fellow 6th grader, that shows his "secret freckle" and it's some sort of blob that's a purplish and has a hair in it. Well, it's disgusting, and Greg and Rowley think that (which is good . . .). There's a scene on the second floor boys' bathroom where a kid is on the toilet (nothing is shown, of course). They use mild phrases like "stupid" or "moron" "dumb" "jerk" "idiot" "freakin'" and "crap". They say "oh my god" at one point, which sometimes you may not want your kids to hear this. Rodrick, Greg's older brother, has a magazine portraying a woman in a bikini. His mother scolds Rodrick for owning it in their household, saying it's "offensive to women" and he is punished. I also believe that there is fights, (not very bad) and there is a point when High School kids hold Greg and Rowley hostage, then they make Rowley eat moldy cheese (shown offscreen). I liked it, but some parts were a little nasty. I hope this helps!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 6, 6, and 7-year-old Written byCheryl M. August 6, 2012

A fun movie, perfect for boys and their parents!

I notice a lot of people are very concerned about the bad behavior, poor choices and selfishness exhibited by the characters. This is not Go, Diego, Go- this is a coming-of-age story meant for the early tween crowd, and it is full of the awkwardness, uncertainty and pressure that this age group will likely relate to. As with any decent story, there is conflict involved (that would be the bad behavior, trying to fit in). Yes, Greg acts incredibly selfishly and does some pretty lousy things, but it's not glamorized at all- he eventually sees how these actions are hurting others, and in the end he does the right thing (that would be the conflict resolution). The movie follows the book pretty well & the sketches are drawn right into the film several times. My boys loved that they remembered things from the book. The bullying parts were not that intense at all. My boys actually laughed when the bullies drove by and sprayed them with the fire extinguisher. We all enjoyed the movie a lot. It didn't make my sons fear the idea of middle school, and it certainly didn't make them think it's okay to threaten others, or turn their backs on their friends, or leave Kindergartners in a ditch. My boys are 6 and 7 and they know the difference between a movie and reality. If you feel your child is overly impressionable, though, you may feel better about screening it first.
Adult Written bykeeyan January 29, 2012

the best

this is one of my favorate movie

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Consumerism
Adult Written byRobbyWBoy16 January 3, 2012

Wimpy kid movie

Parents - if yall see it yal might like it, kids- if yall see it youll be entertained but not as entertaing as book series

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Parent of a 7 and 11-year-old Written byfastraxsg December 16, 2011

Wimpy??

Ok...so some kids or parents would think the movie is SO off limits because Greg A.K.A The wimpy kid is kind off imature and loves to complain...and the siblings fight alot!! He is also very "wimpy" and NOT a good role model....BUT, if your kids are pretty mature and know not to follow these examples, the movie should be fine. I personally enjoyed the movie. Its a comedy!! And at the end Greg does something that only a TRUE FRIEND with a LOT OF GUTS would do.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written bybasbel October 7, 2011

O.K

It is a funny movie with fart jokes. me? well is was just............... OK

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byRunning Mom August 8, 2011

Inappropriate behavior

I had a pit in my stomache as I watched kids interact in this movie - I would never want my children to act that way! It does open the door to talking to your kids about friendship in a semi-funny way, but what really drew the line for me was Greg's older brother. He was a terrible addition to the movie. A "naughty magazine" has absolutely no place in a children's movie, and we will NOT be watching anymore of these productions.
Parent of a 12-year-old Written byGoodSSJ May 11, 2011

The Movie's Awesome

This Movie Is So Awesome And I Love The Movie And The Book.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Positive Messages
Positive role models

Pages