Find the best for your family

See what's streaming, limit strong violence or language, and find picks your kids will love with Common Sense Media Plus.

Join now

Parent reviews for Doctor Sleep

Common Sense says

Well-made "Shining" sequel has intense violence toward kids.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 15 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 6 reviews
Adult Written bynerdyginger27 November 16, 2019

Great movie, but MUCH more gruesome and disturbing than its Kubrick predecessor.

This was a fantastic movie, but definitely suited best for mature older teens and up! There are many very intensely violent scenes, including depictions of the torture/murder of a 14 year old boy, suicide, cult activities, corpses, death, gun violence, nudity, and drug + alcohol abuse.
In spite of this, there are many redeeming themes/messages including being true to oneself, using your talents to help others, overcoming drug and alcohol addiction, and good vs evil.
Definitely watch the original Kubrick film and speak with your teens about their mental health before viewing Doctor Sleep!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byimshell November 16, 2019
Parent Written bykmpontes November 13, 2019

Does justice to the Doctor Sleep book with fun nods to the Shining movie

Those expecting this to be a sequel to Stanley Kubrick's movie the Shining may be disappointed. Reading the existing reviews, it's clear that's what many were expecting. This is not the sequel to the movie but follows the story line of Stephen King's Doctor Sleep book. There are some great nods to the Shining movie, which fans will definitely enjoy. Overall, I think they did a great job of maintaining the premise and plot of the book while weaving in some iconic characters, scenes and storylines from the Shining movie. Some plot changes have been made to accommodate the merger of storylines but the changes make sense and are not overdone or poorly adapted.

There is definitely strong violence against children, similar to the book, which might be too much for some tweens. The villains behave like drug addicts during these violent scenes, which also could be quite unsettling. The movie is very light on romance and sexual content, particularly for a horror movie. There is one reoccurring nude zombie figure, but her appearance trends towards comic versus scary or risqué particularly as the story progresses. There isn't any overt consumerism or very strong language.

Multiple characters are recovering alcoholics and actively attend AA. The main character has struggled in the past but he behaves heroically as the story progresses.

This movie is full of adult issues but I do think it can be handled by a mature teen, particularly one who has read the book and /or seen the original Shining movie.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byFilmreviews.org November 11, 2019
Adult Written bydavispittman November 11, 2019

Very well made Shining sequel

Doctor Sleep is a very well made horror thriller film. This is a direct sequel to the shining and it treats the first film with a great deal of respect. The plot is well laid out and is thoroughly entertaining, it’s long but doesn’t feel long because of how it invests you. The acting is very good, especially Rebecca Ferguson. I will say that kids need to stay FAR AWAY because of the amount of violence directed at children. A pre teen is murdered onscreen by a group of people. Lots of frightening imagery as well. Language is moderate for an R rated film, and there’s also some nudity.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byDaddydaycare November 11, 2019

Blood and murder

So there’s a murder scene with a 10 year old Being massacred.

The bad guys in the film technically smoke but it’s presented in a way that isn’t cigarette use.

The hero is a 15 year old girl, which was a good idea and there might be relatability to loads of kids.

There’s a gun shootout later on in the movie.

They use an axe towards the end of the movie.

Think that’s all you really need to worry about when it comes to worrying about your kids.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written bybettsannie November 10, 2019

Almost Walked Out After BRUTAL Child Murder Scene!

As a fan of horror movies, it takes a lot for me to say a movie crosses the line, and I’ve never considered walking out of a movie due to a violent scene...until now. Doctor Sleep contains a horrifically realistic murder of an eleven year-old-boy. During the scene, the child screams, cries and desperately begs for his life. His murderers revel in the kill and further traumatize the child by telling him how much they are going to hurt him. While the scene is shot from only the neck up on the child, you see his painful and bloodied expressions as he cries in pain while gurgling on blood. I would not recommend this movie due to the line it crosses with this child’s graphic murder, which is a shame because the rest of the movie isn’t bad, and the goriness of the scene was totally unnecessary to the telling of the story.

Very disappointed to see Common Sense Media’s “expert” recommendation of 16+. Are we really that desensitized to the murder of children that we’d recommend a very realistic, brutal and graphic depiction of it to 16 year old kids? Those who worked on the film have said in interviews that the scene was “traumatizing” to film. And these are adults!! So, perhaps the 16+ rating should be reconsidered.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byLiamo44 November 10, 2019

What a load of crap

The worst film myself and my son saw ever. Terrible plot line and acting was atrocious.
It’s over 2 hours of your life that you will never get back.
Adult Written byLuvmovies001 November 10, 2019

It was an average scare, but violent

The movie wasn’t particularly scary or gorey throughout and was actually a good movie. I will say that due to a particularly gruesome scene involving a child’s murder, this movie should be viewed by adults. The scene in particular was drawn out, referenced several times and hard to take in. It was meant to be unsettling. As someone with an adult brain and mature emotions and thoughts, it took me time to process. It may be a movie that is best viewed before allowing a child to watch to determine if they are able to handle and process such a scene. The rest of the movie did have instances of people in peril, murder, death, etc.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byWoh November 9, 2019

Good shining sequel

Rated R for horror movie violence/disturbing content, language and for brief graphic nudity

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byPres November 8, 2019

Gratuitous violence.

movie was okay - old naked person shown several times although it wasn’t real nudity - it was clearly a costume and no detail showing - but seeing her 3 or 4 times got old and was actually not necessary

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byMentalMovieFan November 8, 2019

Surprisingly good sequel

I was pleasantly surprised with this movie (though I haven't read the book). I worried that it might be slow and uninteresting, but I found it really engrossing with great characters.
There are some very distressing scenes though - one in particular that is very graphic and involves a pretty nasty murder. It's definitely aimed at mature audiences
Adult Written bychrisdye2050 November 6, 2019

stupendous movie just not for kids

okay so lets start by saying i had been waiting awhile to see this movie and it was mostly the movie i expected which was extremely good and scary very scary it is about stealing kids souls and evil doing i also say its long for a movie for famlys but aside from that the movie was fantastic and i highly recommend it to anyone over 15 kids wouldnt get the story and is extremly scary for kids

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byTeeEmmEmmCee November 6, 2019

Very good movie, very okay sequel

The book, as usual, is far better, but this movie actually does a good job of continuing the story originally available as a story in the late 70s and then later the infamous (yet heavily different) movie in the early 80s, by none other than master filmmaker Stanley Kubrick.

You can expect plenty of unsettling situations, sights and themes, which is why I think it's best suited for 16+, but it's not as graphic or horrifying as it's movie predecessor. The nudity is not designed to arouse, nor really is any of the sexy stuff. The language is pretty standard fare for an R rated movie. The level of blood, gore and violence is high enough that it's not for the feint of heart.

In the end, fans of King or horror movies, or of the original Shining film, should really enjoy this. If nothing else, it's entertaining. It's not a masterpiece by any stretch, but it's far better than most remakes, sequels or well-known book-to-film adaptations.
Adult Written byYoavi123 November 6, 2019

WOW!

doctor sleep ya the movie don't good as the shinning but the movie not bad

This title contains:

Positive role models