Parent reviews for Fight Club

Common Sense says

Lurid, twisted, and violent movie has mature themes.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 35 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 80 reviews
Adult Written byyuri13 November 7, 2015
I saw this film when it was released and did not like. But the film is David Fincher, he made The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, who was one of the last "great movies" that I saw. It has Edward Norton, Helena Bonham Carter, Jared Leto (in abject paper), etc. So I decided to take a chance on love and reviewed. My opinion: Good in the first 20 minutes. The film loses its novelty when Brad Pitt appears. Nothing against Brad, on the contrary, I like it, think good actor, but his character gives another direction to history, shifts the focus completely direction. In other words, it gets boring. The story of Edward, intertwined with that of Helena, was much better and could develop to very interesting things. But no, everything changes course into a fight club. I find it all so primitive, so no-brainer. To not say stupid ... even the same balaio of bullfighting, cockfighting or pitbull. I hate these forms of violence, even the so-called "civilized" as boxing, anything goes, full contact, Street Fighter, Mortal Kombat, Dragon Ball and the like.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, drugs & smoking
Adult Written byMarilynManson March 12, 2010

Awesome

This is one of my favorite movies. It made me want to live my life to the fullest.
Adult Written byMostlysane June 23, 2013

Great FOR THE RIGHT AUDIENCE

While the movie was entertaining, I believe this movie would be difficult for teens (even older) to watch unless they are very mature. Obviously *SPOILERS* there is an abundance of violent fighting, but there is also sexual nudity of both males and females, loud off-screen sex, distorted on-screen sex, violent non-fighting acts such as arson/chemical burning/gun threats, morbid job of collecting human fat to make soap, and excessive swearing (including the F word, but I found this trivial among the other events). I disliked the main characters whimsically committing crimes. *END SPOILERS* Please, anyone looking for advice, read my review and wonder whether or not you or another viewer would be okay with viewing this. All this said, IT IS STILL a good movie for those who can handle it. It's very entertaining and thought provoking. But please, don't take teens 14 y/o or younger.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, drugs & smoking
Adult Written byDaNosk August 18, 2010

A movie most loved by (mature) teens and young adults.

This is a movie that younger people can enjoy, but only if they understand that it is satirical. If your kid is the dumb, monkey-see, monkey-do type, then they are the targets of this film, and probably wouldn't enjoy it anyway.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, drugs & smoking
Positive messages
Parent of a 6 and 12 year old Written bySharkfit. April 11, 2011

18 and up.

Do not let your kids see this movie. It is a great movie But it's rated r for many good reasons. I saw it when I was in my 20's. 18 and up.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, drugs & smoking
Positive messages
Adult Written by4Spice October 22, 2009

funny bloody violence 16 over

the movie is okay cool fighting some parts and alot of funny parts truth is 16 and over because it has some scenes of nudity and bloody violence worth watching not worth buying

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written bymshotstuff February 5, 2010

This Is A Man's Movie..

Once in a while you come across a film that can change the way you see your own place in life. Fight Club is that kind of movie. Ed Norton portrays a “nameless” character that almost every person watching can relate to. Brad Pitt makes the most of his character to its maximum potential with the guy that every male watching wishes he could be. The supporting cast is incredible, the film’s dark humor and grainy atmosphere sets the viewer in their world which strong resembles the one we live in. Every line that Brad Pitt’s character “Tyler Durden” voices makes worthy of an instant quote for years to come. Words cannot explain the power the movie hold and only all of your senses can take in this terrific masterpiece.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Positive role models
Parent Written byPlague February 18, 2010
Awesome movie. Very violent with plenty of blood, but humor to go along with it.
Adult Written byGrady508 April 9, 2008

Graphic and explicit yet best movie ever made

It is so amazing but for 16 years of age and older you'll love it.
Adult Written bycian93 April 27, 2011

For mature audiences

First off, this is an excellent film and I think everyone should see it at some stage. That said, it is very violent and has a lot of sex in it. It's probably not going to do any harm to anyone who's about 15 but the messages it pushes can easily be misinterpreted. It's not difficult to imagine that some teenagers or even adults will think of it as glorification of violence and rebellion.

This title contains:

Positive messages
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written bySuperParent August 31, 2009

THIS MOVIE RULES!!!! HIS NAME IS ROBERT PAULSON!

Good beat em up film! with a suprising twist! it is quite violent and has few brief sex scenes and one really long one

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, drugs & smoking
Positive messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 1, 8, 9, and 14 year old Written bythejokerspencil January 28, 2009

Graphic Dark Comedy is Entertaining

If you hate sex, violence, and language skip this one, if not enjoy yourself its pretty funny.
Adult Written bydolphinlover9 April 9, 2008

Great Movie

This movie is one of my all time favorites. Not for kids under 16.
Adult Written bybroadwaybaby April 9, 2008

Brilliance, if it floats your boat.

The book was fantastic on its own, and the movie Fight Club simply wraps both up into a nice soapy and satirical package. If the acting, the philosophy, and the infamous ending plot twist aren't enough to get you snared into this story, then there's always the flashes of Tyler (the deranged political activist of this story) and his pornography, the very original music, and even Ikea tables to reign you back in. Needless to say, this flick isn't for kids, unless you know them well enough. I first saw it at thirteen, and, not being easily shocked, got a grasp of the philosophy quickly enough and was able to look past the flashes of porn and the swearing and drinking and smoking and even the twisted characters to understand what was behind it. So, if your kids are more intellectual and you don't mind them seeing things such as this and think they're mature enough to handle it, then go ahead. It all, of course, depends upon personal opinion, but this movie is rated R for a reason, is all I'm saying. It's a thoroughly enjoyable movie, and don't let the title deceive you: this fight club is more than the usual testosterone battle that you'd expect - it's a whole world of testicular cancer, beautiful and unique snowflakes, and, of course, soap.
Adult Written byMarco G. November 5, 2017

It is not good for the teens

Adult Written byPure H. July 3, 2017

Fight Club

Fight Club has strong bloody violence throughout, however the mature themes will depend whether or not the viewer is ready to see the film. The film deals with issues of male identity, consumerism and there are also some subtle sexual frustration themes too. The chances are that many won't be able to fully understand these themes until they have a mature mindset so I'd recommend Fight Club for more mature viewers. RATING SYSTEM: U - Suitable for all ages PG - Parental Guidance advised PG-T - Content of a PG film, with a few things you may expect from a T film T - Teen M - Mature Teen A - Adults MY RECOMMENDED AGE RATING: Fight Club - Rated M for strong bloody violence, sex
Adult Written byJoe J. March 9, 2017

It's not until we've lost everything, that we're free to do anything.

Only movie to me that feels long, but in a good way.
Adult Written byBatZoid123 February 14, 2017

Still one of my favorite films

Fight Club is a great movie, but full of dark themes. I saw this film at a young age and still love it to this day. I would recommend letting mature 13 year olds watch, and any teenager from 14 and up.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bydarthsitkur February 9, 2017

I'm totally about to break the first two rules

To sum up fight club in one way, it's trippy, but I had fun with it lol. to describe it genre wise, it's not really a drama, it's more of a really funny crime comedy with plenty of brutal fights and belly laughs, and Tyler durden is one of the coolest fictional characters you could ask for, I mean, he definitely reminds me of myself since he has the I don't give a shit kind of attitude, hahahahaha
Adult Written byKrishnaSameer K. December 12, 2016

This title contains:

Positive messages
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, drugs & smoking

Pages