All parent member reviews for Forrest Gump

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 22 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written bySinfoniarc August 5, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Life Is Like A Box Of Chocolates...If You're Old Enough To Understand

Forrest Gump is a great commentary on American life from the 1950s-1980s. You can easily take a tour of history through the people that Forrest encounters (Elvis, JFK, LBJ, Black Panthers, etc.) and events (Vietnam, Attempted Ford assassination, invention of Apple Computers, etc.). I question whether or not even a 13 year-old will fully get this movie as they may or may not know about some of the events that take place. Having said that, because Forrest is such an affable character and has such a true love for Jenny, even an 11 year-old will find this movie fun to watch. If there are any disturbing scenes in this movie, you can easily imagine as to what they are--the suggested abuse Jenny gets from her father (even thought it doesn't show anything), Forrest's encounter with the Black Panthers and former Alabama Governor Wallace (the N---word IS used), and the violent war scenes from Vietnam. Forrest is a great friend and has the most pure and innocent love one can imagine. Good values children can take away are things like: the value of friendships, the value of true love, respecting one's parents and elders, serving our country, nobody likes to be teased, and to treat others like you would want to be treated.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written bydwrigt6494 December 17, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Forrest Gump Review

I love this movie. I think it's one of the best movies ever. There are a lot of historical references in it. Also, the main character show that through hard work and dedication, you can achieve anything. They also show the importance of family throughout the story. The only down side is there is a good amount of violence and some bad language because they are in the Vietnam war, so some things are said and done that might not be appropriate for young children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 4 year old Written byBeen There August 18, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Great for anyone in or from an abusive environment!

For adults, it's fine. NOT for kids, unless the kid lives in an abusive environment. I really "get it" where Jenny returns to the house she lived in with her dad and she threw rocks at it and then dropped to the ground in tears. Wish he would've bull dozed it right after she did that instead of waiting. Better yet, let HER drive the dozer!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byMal1960 July 4, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

A great movie, but not for young teens

What the Common Sense review does not mention is an early scene in which Forrest's mother has sex with the school principal to get Forrest into public school, and Forrest hears plenty of noise from the principal while that's happening. Also, the "foreplay" scene is not appropriate for young teens or children.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written bytommysportsgirl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

simply horrible!

I don't know why anyone would want to watch this a second time! It pokes fun at mentally challenged people and isn't humorous in the least. Certainly not for children.
Parent Written byCooldee April 25, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Beware!

There is some bad stuff such as war violence, swearing, drug use, and child abuse. Recommand this movie to children to ages 13 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 14 and 17 year old Written byGrandmoi January 31, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Adult Written byRachel D April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Yuck

Yes, Tom Hanks performed brilliantly but overall this movie was disgusting. The amount of sex, language, drugs etc. was unreal and depressing. I never get the impression of love, care or concern for Forrest in this movie. One movie I wish I could forget and erase ever having watched.
Parent Written byPlague December 14, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Forrest Gump

A moving, powerful, and funny movie the whole family will charish for years and years to come. Tom Hank's greatest role ever played in his acting carrer by far.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 1, 8, 9, and 14 year old Written bythejokerspencil January 21, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Cool

A cool movie and sweet. Watch it! Beware of content ages 14 should be able to handle it.
Adult Written byMovie Man December 11, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

An Excellent Achievement! Bravo!

This is a brilliant film and a wonderful achievement! Tom Hanks is absolutely awesome as Forrest Gump. PARENTS: In my opinion, I believe this should have been rated R for War Violence and Images, Sexuality, brief Nudity, Language, and some Drug Use. It contains particularly graphic war violence and peril, frequent sexual themes, nudity, language, and some strong depictions of drug use. Despite it's violent and sexual content, it is a beautiful movie, and it should be viewed by everyone at some point. Thanks for reading - Movie Man
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 18 year old Written bygilstrapstudios July 8, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Forrest Gump blew my mind away

When I saw this movie, it was one of my top five favorite movies of all time. But the war scene was a little bloody, and the movie had a little bit of sexual situations and strong cuss words, but this is an awesome movie and you should see this! You'll be glad you did!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written bykerriokie April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Movie Full of Great Lessons and Great Acting

I was sad to see the negative adult reviews on this movie. No, it is definitely not for young children. I watched the edited television version with my 10-year-old and talked to her about what we were seeing as we went; but I won't let her watch the unedited DVD. That being said, I think 14-year-olds and up can learn a lot from seeing this with their parents. It addresses issues from drugs to sex to war to people who are mentally challenged in a compassionate, (movie)-realistic way. What a great starting point for a talk with my son!
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 November 26, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Forrest gump

Families can talk about American history and how it's seen through Forrest's eyes. What are his impressions of the Vietnam War? Of a young Elvis? Of the hippie movement? What would you say the movie's main message is? Are viewers meant to admire Forrest? To sympathize with him? If you've read the book the movie is based on, how do the two differ? Why do you think the filmmakers made the changes that they did?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byDuncanDerund September 4, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

PG-13 for language and sexuality+war violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 11 year old Written byedklat August 27, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byBrown Norway August 11, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

skip the sex scenes

My 12 year old daughter liked this movie alot and found it funny and heart warming. I had forgotten how much sex is in this, between troubled Jenny, porn magazine, and prostitues with Lt. Dan. I watched with my kid, and skiped over those parts that things I'm not ready to have her see.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byEthan511 August 1, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

One of the Best Movies Ever

This is one of my favorite movies. They couldn't have chosen a better actor for the role of Forrest. It's rated PG-13 for language, drugs, some violence, and some implied sex. A must see for 13 and up. Maybe 11 and 12 if very mature. Forrest Gump is a great role model because he does things he believes to right and doesn't care what other people think.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Adult Written byLowe's man January 11, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

a fun trip through history

Forrest faces much adversity which he must overcome. That he does and does well. He goes to college, plays football, gets a college degree, joins the Army, saves a life during Vietnam, plays ping pong on the Army team, starts a business with a friend, gives to the local college by cutting its grass for free, runs coast to coast and ultimately marries his childhood sweetheart Jenny. Along the way he- and viewers- witness the first black students to enter the University of Alabama, the Kennedy assassination, the Vietnam War and the protests that came with it, and numerous other historical events. He was also treated nicely by the majority of people he met, before it became popular to do so to disabled people. Everyone who's at least 13 should see this movie. One word of warning: Forrest and Jenny bear a child out of wedlock.
Adult Written byOr April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY