Parent reviews for Forrest Gump

Common Sense says

Moving and wonderful, but parent preview a good idea.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 32 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 162 reviews
Adult Written byBrown Norway August 11, 2014

skip the sex scenes

My 12 year old daughter liked this movie alot and found it funny and heart warming. I had forgotten how much sex is in this, between troubled Jenny, porn magazine, and prostitues with Lt. Dan. I watched with my kid, and skiped over those parts that things I'm not ready to have her see.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byMal1960 July 4, 2009

A great movie, but not for young teens

What the Common Sense review does not mention is an early scene in which Forrest's mother has sex with the school principal to get Forrest into public school, and Forrest hears plenty of noise from the principal while that's happening. Also, the "foreplay" scene is not appropriate for young teens or children.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bytommysportsgirl April 9, 2008

simply horrible!

I don't know why anyone would want to watch this a second time! It pokes fun at mentally challenged people and isn't humorous in the least. Certainly not for children.
Parent Written bySinfoniarc August 5, 2010

Life Is Like A Box Of Chocolates...If You're Old Enough To Understand

Forrest Gump is a great commentary on American life from the 1950s-1980s. You can easily take a tour of history through the people that Forrest encounters (Elvis, JFK, LBJ, Black Panthers, etc.) and events (Vietnam, Attempted Ford assassination, invention of Apple Computers, etc.). I question whether or not even a 13 year-old will fully get this movie as they may or may not know about some of the events that take place. Having said that, because Forrest is such an affable character and has such a true love for Jenny, even an 11 year-old will find this movie fun to watch. If there are any disturbing scenes in this movie, you can easily imagine as to what they are--the suggested abuse Jenny gets from her father (even thought it doesn't show anything), Forrest's encounter with the Black Panthers and former Alabama Governor Wallace (the N---word IS used), and the violent war scenes from Vietnam. Forrest is a great friend and has the most pure and innocent love one can imagine. Good values children can take away are things like: the value of friendships, the value of true love, respecting one's parents and elders, serving our country, nobody likes to be teased, and to treat others like you would want to be treated.

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Positive Messages
Adult Written byMovie Man December 11, 2009

An Excellent Achievement! Bravo!

This is a brilliant film and a wonderful achievement! Tom Hanks is absolutely awesome as Forrest Gump. PARENTS: In my opinion, I believe this should have been rated R for War Violence and Images, Sexuality, brief Nudity, Language, and some Drug Use. It contains particularly graphic war violence and peril, frequent sexual themes, nudity, language, and some strong depictions of drug use. Despite it's violent and sexual content, it is a beautiful movie, and it should be viewed by everyone at some point. Thanks for reading - Movie Man

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byLowe's man January 11, 2014

a fun trip through history

Forrest faces much adversity which he must overcome. That he does and does well. He goes to college, plays football, gets a college degree, joins the Army, saves a life during Vietnam, plays ping pong on the Army team, starts a business with a friend, gives to the local college by cutting its grass for free, runs coast to coast and ultimately marries his childhood sweetheart Jenny. Along the way he- and viewers- witness the first black students to enter the University of Alabama, the Kennedy assassination, the Vietnam War and the protests that came with it, and numerous other historical events. He was also treated nicely by the majority of people he met, before it became popular to do so to disabled people. Everyone who's at least 13 should see this movie. One word of warning: Forrest and Jenny bear a child out of wedlock.
Written byAnonymous August 27, 2014

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bykerriokie April 9, 2008

A Movie Full of Great Lessons and Great Acting

I was sad to see the negative adult reviews on this movie. No, it is definitely not for young children. I watched the edited television version with my 10-year-old and talked to her about what we were seeing as we went; but I won't let her watch the unedited DVD. That being said, I think 14-year-olds and up can learn a lot from seeing this with their parents. It addresses issues from drugs to sex to war to people who are mentally challenged in a compassionate, (movie)-realistic way. What a great starting point for a talk with my son!
Parent of a 14 and 17 year old Written byGrandmoi January 31, 2010

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Positive Messages
Adult Written bySandra F. December 19, 2016

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent of a 5, 12, and 16 year old Written byChris T. January 3, 2018

Masterpiece, let your kids watch the best movie ever.

This movie is about an unintelligent man who against all odds participates in the worlds biggest events and tries to find his school love, Jenny. Shot across different time periods, Forrest Gump makes a deep and emotional connection to the viewer every time you watch it. Beautifully and masterfully acted by Tom Hanks, this is my favorite movie of all time. It had mild swearing and violence ( because of the war he was in) and a non-graphic sex-scene.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byPizza G. August 12, 2017

One of the best movies ever made

Forrest Gump is an exceedingly good film in every aspect. The compassionate characters, the fluid plot, the touches of humor and sadness. No movie before has elicited so many emotions from me at once--this film's ability to fluctuate between happiness and sadness, and to take the audience with it, is a remarkable feature. It succeeds in strongly conveying the inner conflicts of the characters, the elements of momentous tragedy. And yet it leaves you feeling happy. This movie is great for kids and adults alike, but it does have some questionable elements. There's infrequent but occasionally strong language--instances of "f--k," and "s--t" as well as historically accurate but still jarring uses of the "N" word. On top of that the film contains sexual innuendos and situations (implied / referenced intercourse, passionate kissing) and upsetting violence; scenes take place during the Vietnam War, and men--some of them important characters--are killed and badly wounded (one secondary character has both legs amputated, another is shot in the stomach, etc.). One female main character is abused as a child and then shown being slapped around later in her life. She gives into drug use (we see her snorting cocaine, using LSD) and contemplates suicide. Overall, despite the iffy and upsetting moments, Forrest Gump is a heartwarming movie and a must-see for, well, anybody.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written byscaissie April 15, 2017

Too much sex

Forest's Mom has sex with a school administrator to get Forest into school. Forest overhears their grunting. We're told that Jenny's father sexually abuses her. Jenny places Forest's hand on her breast and he has his first sexual experience. After the soldier in the barracks says "Look at the tits on her", we turned it off.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 1, 3, and 6 year old Written byJarinsa C. November 20, 2016

Forrest Gump

This one is one of my personal favorites, but my kids are 1, 3, and 6 so they are wayyyyyyyyyy too young for it. There's a lot of outdated references (e.g the hippie phase) that might confuse teens. But other than that, it's okay.
Parent of a 13 and 16 year old Written bynuenjins September 9, 2014

Emotional buttons pressed but to what end.

So it's a happy so called "feel good" romp through history. It is fun and awkward sometimes to a Napoleon Dynamite degree but the content of a boys teacher having sex with his mother is nowhere near appropriate for any young teenager. These 'moments' seem to be glossed over by the heartwarming moments but are still there and kids will catch them and notice that this 'will' send messages to and/or disturb your kids and saying nothing to address these moments for innappropriate audiences can leave them with unattended thoughts and feeling of being disturbed by the content. The movie is strung together in an amusing way and there are lessons to be learned from it, but keep in mind impressionable minds will remember the bad ones too.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byEthan511 August 1, 2014

One of the Best Movies Ever

This is one of my favorite movies. They couldn't have chosen a better actor for the role of Forrest. It's rated PG-13 for language, drugs, some violence, and some implied sex. A must see for 13 and up. Maybe 11 and 12 if very mature. Forrest Gump is a great role model because he does things he believes to right and doesn't care what other people think.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Language
Adult Written bycheeewybar March 5, 2017

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byAbdulRehman N. November 19, 2017

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byMovie World 1316 March 25, 2017

Drama is touching entertaining, also funny, but parents need to watch it with their kids

Parent of a 13 and 16 year old Written byColumbiaMDMom January 24, 2016

Great Movie -- but just not for kids, imo

I am so glad I had common sense media to consult for this. At the suggestion of common sense media _did_ preview, and will not be showing this as family fare. After previewing this, I've come to the conclusion that this was never intended to be for kids. Others pointed out a couple of scenes that parents could fast forward through. Even with a quick finger on the remote, I'm left concerned that the emotional impact is inappropriate for my teenage sons. There are two story arcs here. One is this pure-minded soul, plods along in life and through his gifts -- running, ping pong, etc. -- bumbles into great success, and encounters seminal historical events. That story arc, underpinned by Forrest recalling and following his mother's advice, would be great to share with the family. The other arc is his longing for Jenny, the girl he befriended on the school bus the first day of school. Jenny, either because she's dealing with her own demons or because she feels she'd be taking advantage of Forrest, stays connected with Forrest but won't commit to him until the very end of the movie. In what may be the most poignant part of the movie, Forrest simply asks her "Will you marry me?" and tells her "I would make a good husband." He then says that he is not smart but that "I know what love is." Though masterfully acted by Tom Hanks, it is because of this intense emotional component that I am choosing not to share it with my kids. I saw someone mention that there was a shorter version, edited for tv. If anyone knows where to find this, I'd be interested. The message for me of the movie is to live one's life with honor. It's a great message; just a little too heart wrenching for me to want to share it with my teens.

Pages