All parent member reviews for Harry and the Hendersons

Parents say

(out of 12 reviews)
age 9+
Review this title!
Parent of a 4 and 10 year old Written byJ9800 March 22, 2010

Foul language out weighs viewing for younger children

The foul language seem superfluous and added nothing but distraction to our kids. I'm surprised the movie did not have a PG-13 rating.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educator and Parent Written byEmangina June 12, 2013

Harry Come Live With Us

I cherish this movie from my childhood and don't recall the language or violence. That was until I watched it with my kids. I found myself running for the tv as the little boy started cussing 5 minutes into the film. Now did those things stick with me into my adulthood, probably not. All I recalled was how funny it was and how sad it was at the end. I wish I had waited to share this one with my kids. They were 3 and 4 at the time. These 80's movies will catch you off guard! Be cautious.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written bysamartin66 May 20, 2009
Very funny. My kids enjoyed it but the language is unnecessary. This movie was made before PG-13 and just because the language it would have fallen into that category.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bypamelao8 March 29, 2009
A cute story - marred by a number of curse words I was unhappy to have my children ages 7 and 10, introduced to including bastard, hell, shit , asshole, dam it. THese words did not just appear once, but repeatedly - not sure why they needed this
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educator and Parent Written bygehret78 March 8, 2013

Harry good!

Cute movie. Wish they kept the language out. It really wasn't necessary for the likability of this movie.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written byMattmchugh September 2, 2011

An OK family movie, with a fantastic movie creature

A few four-letter words -- sh*t being the most common -- but nothing over the top. A slightly odd vibe with regard to gun culture. The father is a hunter and teaches his young son to shoot a rabbit (happens off camera, though you see them with the dead rabbit) . And the villain is a hunter, yet by the end, everyone's all reconciled in a big vegan group hug... philosophically and all but literally. It's a little odd. But most of the movie's a lot of light-hearted slapstick with gooey touches of sitcom sentimentality. The cast is fine. John Lithgow plays a bug-eyed, befuddled dad with the best of 'em, and Melinda Dillion is the sweetest, long-suffering movie mom you could want. Though, of course, the real star is Harry. A seven-foot actor in a fur suit with an astoundingly expressive animatronic ape-man mask. He's a marvelous, old-school bit of movie magic from make up genius Rick Baker. Today, they'd do him as CGI and he wouldn't be half as good. So, all in all, only an OK family movie, but definitely worth seeing as a piece of cinematic history in its own right. - mm
Parent of a 7 year old Written byscoutdog January 8, 2011

Bad language not for kids under 10.

bad Language is one of the things I try to avoid having my boys exposed to. My boys are 9, 8, & 5
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byKrawlsdrawls June 13, 2016

Beware

Checked this site for info on the movie before watching. They left out quite a bit. Haven't seen this movie since the 80s and in true 80s form, the rating of PG left us unsure if it was appropriate. The overall theme is great, but the amount of bad language was not in the main review. While it was not pouring with curse words, there were enough to be surprised. And they were abrupt and extreme for such a family movie. Get ready for a cameo of every inapproiate word--but not the F-bomb. Very cute family movie, except for that randomness in language.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Parent Written byspunkyjones May 16, 2012

i forgot about the strong language used!

several foul language - even from young boy
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bypamela8 April 20, 2009

BAD language - overhwhelms a funny/.lovely story

A story with a nice message - but the language was appalling and totally unnecessary - my 7 and 10 year olds had not heard all those words before - it was very uncomfortable -wish I had checked here first before putting it on at home
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byDLJones3423 April 9, 2008

Hysterical! Should be a classic favorite!

Our family enjoyed this older movie. It was well done, a nice balance between reality and comical, unlikely situations. It was fun to imagine what it would be like to have someone like Harry at our house. I only had one objection, and that was the occasional swearing. For younger kids (5 through 7 maybe), this movie is okay if parents watch it with them and explain what's going on (and isn't that what PG means?). It might be a little scary or confusing at times otherwise.
Educator and Parent Written byCaraR 1 March 15, 2016

Harry

Movie contained words: shit, shitless, god damn, pissed off, he'll, shut up
What other families should know
Too much swearing