Parent reviews for Hostel: Part II

Common Sense says

Gory torture bloodbath checks in for another stay.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 17+
Based on 16 reviews

Kids say

age 16+
Based on 26 reviews

Wondering if Hostel: Part II is OK for your kids?

Parents: Set preferences and get age-appropriate recommendations with Common Sense Media Plus. Join now

Parent of a 14-year-old Written bything66 March 3, 2019

Meant for very mature audiences

It's not all gore and sex, some of it is actually pretty good.
But really do not watch this junk!

This title contains:

Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byTam1999 January 7, 2019

Hmm...I must say.

This movie is gorier than the first. Definitely a movie for 17 and up. Though the movie did have me on the edge of my seat. Not really knowing what would happen next. Despite the gore, swearing, and nudity, it was a very good movie.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byAlexandraM 6 February 3, 2018

VERY GORY & NUDITY - not for the fainthearted

This movie, compared to the first hostel is incredibly gory, scenes of young tourists getting tortured, a young boy gets shot, but it is off camera. A lot of swearing, with the use of c*nt and f**k used frequently. Follows along from the first movie, gives you a bit more extra information about the psychos paying to kill. If you're into a very gory, sadistic horror movie. Then this one is for you, but if not then DEFINITELY DO NOT WATCH! 17+ for this movie, no child any younger then 15-16 should watch, in my opinion, but if you can get through the gore without cringing, closing your eyes or feeling uncomfortable then its defs a must watch.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byJk12345 June 14, 2017

Good, again not for young kids

This film is a wow, you sure to have a parent with the kid before watching, stands streight for the R rating.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byPCDberry May 2, 2015

Hostel pt. 2

Deals with very strong pervasive violence/gore including Strong pervasive graphic tourture, including graphic pervasive nudity from both male and female and includes graphic assault

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bychristian2011 January 25, 2013

Another sadistic and gruesome sequel to the first. Not for anyone under 18.

Like the title in the description, Hostel Pt. 2 contains almost nothing but a group of sadistic psychopaths who pay money in order to brutally torture, mutilate and murder an individual in a restricted hidden chamber found around the United Kingdom. One extremely disturbing scene shows a bare naked young girl hanged upside down and a bathtub beneath her, in which a very attractive young woman walks in, discards her robe, and lays in the bathtub, wielding a scythe. She begins to mutilate the young girl's body by slashing her in the back and finally slits her throat, with blood splattering all over her, and bathes in it. Another grisly scene shows a cannibal who tortures his victim by graphically slicing pieces of his flesh off his leg and consumes it in the background sitting at a dining table. There's also images of the victim's decapitated heads on stakes found in a secret room inside a mansion, some from the past sequel, and a woman is decapitated in the woods, which kids begin playing soccer with the severed head. Extreme horror movie fans or sick minded sociopaths will find this movie fun and exciting to watch.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byFighter2425 March 11, 2012

More gore this time around.

Eli Roth is at it again his second Europe-set gore fest. Hostel was the most violent movie I had ever seen. There were images in that movie that made me almost sick to my stomach. But that was the point of the movie. Long ago, some people sat around a table and said "Let's make a genre of films that will keep people thinking about them all night, a movie that will really f**k with the audiance." And the horror genre was invented. Hostel not only accomplished this, but set a new standard for brutal horrors. The sequel does this also, but not as well as the first one. Hostel: Part II did many things right; it gave you a new scenario, with new characters and more sadistic torture, while sticking true to the first movie. However, there were a lot of cheesy moments. Unfortunately, the annoying, violent little children from the first movie return for the sequel. Basically, it breaks down like this: If you like horror, watch this. If you don't, don't. Simple as that. As for parents, it's brutal. Should your children watch it? NO.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byNeonKennedy November 20, 2011

Sequal to Hostel. More torture porn. However there is a small change in scenery that makes this film better than the first.

Quentin and Eli join forces again and return for more relentless and sadistic behavior. Remember that its only make believe. I am surprised that this movie was not banned in the U.S. Im not saying it should, but it should only be viewed by an audience that can stomach what they are seeing.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byresidentevil808 October 13, 2011

no for the weak minded a warning.

wont suggest to anybody the violence is to vivid and just there

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Parent of a 12-year-old Written byLifeisgood3 August 24, 2009

Should Be NC-17

BRUTAL,GORY,BLOODY!!! This Movie Is Sick And Has Lots Of Strong Sexual Content. NO ONE SHOULD WHAT THIS IT'S GROSS!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byKitKatKaity May 29, 2009

Our world is going down

Anyone who actually enjoyed this movie has psychological problems. I know I am not the only person concerned about how our kids are growing up. For a 13 yr. old to be on here saying they think this movie is cool when there are people being tortured for someone else's sick pleasure makes me wonder where are your parents? If you are able to tolerate watching this I would go so far as to suggest you are a danger to our society.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byfarrell1 May 6, 2009
um

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byGamePlayer12 April 12, 2009

SICK

Sick and Terrible movie.. Dumb and garbage to put in your mind.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byroni777 April 9, 2008

i was nauseous

it was very groody , it starts to make you wonder what else the director is capable of doing if he can direct a movie like this, can he also direct a killing?
Adult Written byTVDirector April 9, 2008

Again? Where was the ratings board?

Be forewarned that while this film should easily have received an NC-17 for the version screened in U.S. theatres, the DVD is being released "unrated" and this version would have been.

It's important to understand the semantics . . . this version would easily have been over the top for an R rating, even for the MPAA which is really nothing more than a marketing platform for the major studios.

If the film is "unrated", major retail chains will carry it, but with the NC-17 attached, most big box retailers won't touch it, equating it with porn, so this is how studios are getting around this. (This same issue is occuring with the videogame Manhunt 2.)

You'd like to think they'd be smarter than that . . . they aren't, but you should be. This is nothing more than torture porn.
Adult Written byalec_smithers April 9, 2008

THIS IS THE GORIEST MOVIE IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This movie is like disturbing porn. Picture a totally naked girl getting hung upside down and getting knifes stabbed through her body and her throat getting sliced open. While shes screaming. Me and my friends were watching this at one of their houses and we were screaming one of us almost fainted, we were laughing though at some parts because it was so bad!