All parent member reviews for Jaws

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 38 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 5 and 7 year old Written bywmoon6744 May 31, 2015
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Best Movie Ever! Isn't That Bloody And Scary For Me. But Iffy For 4 And 5 Year Olds. Overall. 6 And 7 Year Olds Should Be Fine With It.
Parent Written bygoodluckbob September 2, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good movie

good for 7 and up if there allowed to play halo and there mature
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byundertakernumber1fan April 17, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

leave the kids at home this isnt for youngster

it was before it time but it should of had a higher rating because of the gore of body parts everywhere
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byMasterPlayer2342 July 30, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

An awesome thrilling adventurer film!

I LOVE THIS MOVIE! I saw it 4 weeks before I was 11 years, and it rocked! but some parts had too much blood, it has some swearing and smoking, But other then that it was a blast! It was the first horror Movie I've ever seen and I don't think it's that scary! It's just thrilling and exiting! 5 Stars WATCH IT!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written bySuperParent August 29, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Best Speilberg Film! reccomend it for all ages!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Adult Written byJJJ2017 April 18, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Rollicking good fun for tweens and up.

As you probably know, this film was created in 1975, when CGI wasn't invented, but even though CGI wasn't around, it is a great movie! SPOILER ALERT AHEAD!! It starts of with a teen girl swimming in the water at night, and she feels jolting motions pulling her under, she starts to scream, and is dragged under the water. I would say any mature tween could watch this, but anyone sensitive might want to give this one a miss.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent of a 17 year old Written bydtsa78cfgs9rovw January 16, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

good movie but should be rated PG-13

this is a great movie but it might scare kids under the age of thirteen
Parent of a 7 and 10 year old Written bytimorr April 25, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

e.g. You should think twice before going with a tween!

I think it is really inipropiete for a PG movie.All the blood,goor,and violence is inconseable and very shoking.Im only 10 and I regrete seeing it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bygarfield2711 March 20, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Thrill Ride that WILL scare you completely senseless.

This movie is awesome. But it's very violent, has strong language and smoking is common (historically correct.) Keep in mind that even though it is PG it would definately be PG-13 or maybe even R today. A graphic scene involves a man going one on one with the shark and blood squirting out of his mouth as he shakes back and forth. A severed leg, a woman and a kid are eaten off screen and we see a decomposed severed head. 2 sharks are killed and are both focused on for a LONG time. Lots of Blood everywhere. For mature teens or people that love horror movies, this one is a must see.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bytommysportsgirl April 9, 2008
Adult Written byraven10 June 28, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

JAWS IS AWESOME !!!!!!

I am 10 years old and today I just watched Jaws for the first time, it was awesome . It's a bit bloody and if you are under 9 it would probably give you nightmares but otherwise its the best! If you don't like blood, best not to watch this film. It's really cool, I love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Parent Written byanna F 1 May 17, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byLowe's man August 31, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

one of Steven Spielberg's finest

When I was a kid I saw some of Steven Spielberg's movies, such as "E.T." As I got older I saw more of them, such as "Close Encounters of the 3rd Kind". Somehow, though, I missed "Jaws". Until now. I bought it cheaply on VHS. It is slower-paced than many of today's movies, but again that's what makes the suspenseful part so good. Topping it off, John Williams chose music just right for the occasion. The mayor refuses to believe the claims that there was a shark. What happened after the capture is up to the viewers' imaginations. However, it is reasonably safe to assume that the mayor saw the shark and was forced to believe, that its picture was in the paper and that residents and tourists were told that the water was once again safe for swimming. First time viewers will see that the movie was bloodier than they assumed it would be, while those who haven't seen it in years will discover that it was bloodier than they remember. Nothing too gruesome, especially compared to today's movies, but not entirely benign either. For this reason you should think twice about letting elementary school children watch this, especially if they're afraid of the water. For those who are ready for this movie, though, the plot is very good, making you wonder what's going to happen next.
Parent Written byjawstheshark June 17, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

amazing

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 September 13, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

jaws

Families can talk about the fact that this movie is considered the first official "summer blockbuster." What other blockbusters can you think of? What do they have in common? Also, how does the movie build suspense? What's scarier -- a monster you can see, or one you can't? Why?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydarkknightrises232 July 14, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

1975 movie is awesome!

The movie has way too much blood for young viewers.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written bycomicbookfan2144 July 10, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Way too graphic for young kids!!!

Extreme, bloody, graphic shark attacks. It also swears with 3-4 uses of the word s--t, along with b---h, d--n, b-----d, and J-sus.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byChuck Reid March 20, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Boring as dishwater.

I don't know wether its the music in the backround or the colors but there is something in this movie that bored me to death.The only good thing about this movies is the supspense.
Parent of a 13, 13, and 15 year old Written byJawsFan3000 October 15, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Bloody and scary classic is best left for mature teens.

My MPAA rating: PG-13 (borderline with R) for intense strong bloody shark violence, pervasive threat, some language, and brief female nudity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byStepMomSterToo January 11, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Good scare for older teens

It's scary. The shark eats a lot of people, making a lot of blood. I am not sure about what age this should be. I saw it when I was really young and it never scared me, but I saw the Exorcist at age 7 and that really scared me, so everything else paled in comparison. So, use your judgment. You don't want your kid to never go in the ocean again. :)
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages