Kid reviews for Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

Common Sense says

Deeply moving, irreverent film about friends, cancer, life.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 5 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 15 reviews
Teen, 16 years old Written byJflores14 June 18, 2015

Beautiful story is heartbreaking and thought provoking

This film is a bit odd and out there but I loved it! Visually stunning and hilarious. CONTENT: VIOLENCE- one fight; non graphic SEX- a breif scantily clad woman on a computer, lots of rude references about sex and masturabtion. A kid talks if masturbating all over a pillow and makes a rude sex gesture to imitate it. LANGUAGE- about 4 uses of f**k, 4 bleeped uses of f**k as well, 10 uses of d**k, 15 or so uses of ass and shit, a couple of bitch and tit. Crude references. DRUGS- two boys accidently get stoned. MY RATING: PG-13/ for thematic elements, innuendo, strong langauge throughout, and drug use- all involving teens

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Language
Kid, 8 years old June 19, 2015

Amazing, fantastic, heart breaking drama is funny but extremely sad and is racy with tons of strong language.

This movie fallows Greg a kid in high school who has to visit his friend Rachel because she has cancer. Greg's friend Earl is his co worker because they have been making films since they where in kindergarten. So they decided to show Rachel the films to make her happy. Greg hates himself, and does not want to go to collage because he is awkward, weird, and he thinks he's to dorky. Then as Greg keeps visiting Rachel she gets happier and happier and they become friends. Then Greg and Earl decided to make a film for Rachel, they video is having everybody in there school says a nice message, and a kind message with cards and flowers. This comedy/drama is quite racy, Its implied that Greg masturbates, lots of references of girls t-tties, Earl watches porn, Rachel's mother makes racy suggestive comments, flirting, and extremely explicit talk of masturbation. There is tons of constant swearing including several uses of s--t d--k f--k b---h a-s motherf--ker 4 bleeped uses of f--k also non bleeped punk a-s and a nearly inaudible c--k. There is also some drug use and Greg mentions that he accidentally ate cookies that have drugs in it. This movie has a positive message about helping your friends, being nice, and risking stuff for your friends. Greg is also a good role model because he helps Rachel and tries to make her feel better. My quality rating 9.9/10. My age rating off for 2-13 iffy 14-16 on for 17+. My rating:R for pervasive language, some strong racy references/content, disturbing images, brief nudity, and some drug use- all involving teens.
Teen, 16 years old Written byirontap June 24, 2015

Very enjoyable

This title contains:

Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old July 14, 2015
I absolutely loved this movie. It was witty and captured every aspect of teen life, and at the same time was heartbreaking (but not sappy and cliched, like many movies— cough cough, The Fault in our Stars— are). But the best thing about it was the acting. The acter who played Greg (I forget his name) was amazing, RJ Cuyler (Earl) was so good you would think he was living his role, and Olivia Cooke as Rachel was also very, very good. All throughout this movie I was laughing one second and crying the next (literally), and I can’t emphasize how much the acting captured me. I am 11, and I handeled this pretty well, but there are some things that are somewhat inapproipriate. There is one rather dramatic f—k, and three or four more bleeped ones (in a video). There is also liberal use of s—t, b—-h, damn, hell, t—-ies, and c—k. Sexual content is limited to some masterbation refrences and a breif glimpse of porn (scantiliy clad girls, nothing else). Greg and Earl also accidently get high on marijuana. But overall, this movie is so good that any mature tweens and teens sould really consider seeing it.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byPoppy.bath April 24, 2016

sad but incredibly funny!

Such fun for movie night, but there is quite a bit of strong language and themes that younger kids may not understand, greens character is funny and sweet, (if not a little weird) and so is earl's Rachel is a sweet but shy and depressed girl but Greg cheers her up considerably, the end is extremely sad, me and my family were quoting the movie for two days at least after watching!! a few racy bits and references to masturbation and drugs! watch before you let your kids!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byNeon_Fish September 4, 2015

Terrible and boring

This movie is an utter waste of money and time. The whole movie is so boring and there is no real plot. It's really just a self pitying story about a teenage boy who doesn't fit in and the whole movie is narrated by him. If you like movies like the fault in our stars and divergent etc other teen movies, you most likely will not like this movie as it is so slow paced and narcistic. Would advise people to not watch this movie, however if you like depressing movies then go right for it lol. Also this movie has many references to a character [email protected] over pillows... And in one of the scenes someone is watching [email protected] There are also many swear words. Not a kids movie.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byTeenageCritic100 July 31, 2015

Heavy language for a PG-13 movie

This movie is so, so good. It's very well made and really funny. I found the language pretty heavy for a PG-13 movie - it has the works. There's some references to masturbation and if I remember correctly a few other sexual references. There's a brief scene where two teenagers are - while accidentally - high, but nothing bad comes out of it, it's just meant to be funny. It should be fine for mature 13 year olds. All in all, this movie is great and I completely recommend it!

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 13, 2015

Me and Earl

This movie was much better than it looked. You will love this movie.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byCameronRakena April 21, 2019

Me and Earl and the dying girl

I think this book is really good for children/adults to read because it explains a girls life, who has cancer. It is a really riveting and gripping novel that shows you what teenagers are/can be like. The book contains quite a lot of inappropriate language so I wouldn’t recommend it too children under the age of 14, but it does have some great role models and some excellent messages being put out there.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bylilylacie127 September 4, 2016

Great Film

This movie is beautifully done. I have not read the book yet, though I plan to. It made me feel a roller coaster of emotions and I just adore it. There is some masturbation jokes and talks about porn and boners, but it's simply because High School is filled with dirty-minded children. Also, there is Marijuana use in the film, but it's not serious or on purpose.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old September 1, 2016

Watched a year ago XD

A lot of cursing, a few drugs otherwise, AMAZING! Bring tissues!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written bytrock_swaggi July 20, 2015

Amazing and HILARIOUS movie

This is the funniest movie I have ever seen about death. It mixes funny jokes with sadness. there is plenty of swearing and sex talk but the main character and the girl with cancer are great role models and there is a good message which is that friendship can not be disturbed. Flat out amazing!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byimoviegoteen July 10, 2015

Great film is harsh

This movie was sad, had its language, sex, and some depression, harsh for even those 15 year olds.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written by-..--..--..- January 6, 2018

Emotional Roller Coaster

This movie was incredible, and completely worth a watch for any teenager. The language in the movie really isn't a big thing in the movie. (one use o f---k, and several uses of d--k, sh-t, b---h, hell) Honestly, most of the language is used pretty reasonably, and accurately represents the vocabulary of the average high school student. Also, any public middle school kid will have heard as much at school anyway. In this movie, there isn't even kissing, so nothing romantically graphic is shown. There are however several jokes about mastraubation, and one character comments on various girls "t-----s". Several main characters get high off of 'weed-filled' brownies, and blame it on the soup they stole from there history teacher. For me, this movie was a complete emotional roller coaster, because one second your laughing at the dynamics of Earl, Greg, and Rachael, and the next your sobbing. (I swear, if the end of this movie doesn't get you, you're a robot.) Overall, I think this is a fantastic and under-appreciated movie, that anyone thirteen+ will definitely be able to handle and enjoy.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byItberachel July 29, 2016

This title contains:

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking