Parent reviews for Meet Me in St. Louis

Common Sense says

One of the most loving of all movie families.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 6+
Based on 9 reviews

Kids say

age 5+
Based on 9 reviews
Adult Written byhillview December 12, 2011

Good Family Movie but Some Bizarre and Outdated Plots

Mostly appropriate for younger audiences but the Halloween sequences were exceptionally scary and bizarre. This raised the most questions for our children and why it should be viewed by a slightly older child audience. The women roles are also dated and very passive (requiring a man to have worth in life almost).
Adult Written byDanDB November 21, 2019

Some issues in an otherwise forgettable musical

Overall, a nice, if slightly boring and contrived, musical. Two scenes gave me some pause: at a party scene early in the film Judy Garland's character and her younger sister perform a dance with racist overtones and, as other reviewers have mentioned, the Halloween scene is bizarre and promotes bratty and downright brutish behavior from children (references are made to "killing" and "torturing" people on Halloween by throwing flour at them). I would only watch this with children mature enough to understand the concept of outdated racial stereotypes and inappropriate behavior from other children.
Adult Written byxxxrodrigoxxx July 2, 2019

A heartbreaking masterpiece

Judy Garland is a legend, and this iconic musical film allows her talents to shine through. It's sad, sure, but everything works out in the end. It perfectly captures the beauty, love, family, nostalgia and heartbreak that all come together during the Christmas season. The songs are endlessly catchy and the turn-of-the-century setting, lovingly designed and costumed in lush Technicolor, give the film an escapist note. Like many Old Hollywood classics, it looks at the distant past through rose-colored glasses, but that's what makes it so irresistible. You may want to discuss what life really was like back then. Little kids, however, may be too young to appreciate the historical context and Old Hollywood history behind this film, and may be completely hostile to watching an "old movie."
Adult Written byCurlytop1478 April 3, 2018

A wholesome classic

I love this film, it is down to earth and child friendly!!! The movie is wonderful!!! The music is fun as well!!!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent Written byLooking4BestMedia July 7, 2014

Outdated Movie has Lost Any Charm

While many think this movie to be a classic and a must watch, I strongly disagree. The female roles are very outdated and the women are so dependent on having a man or marriage in order to have a fulfilling or even satisfactory life. The music wasn't as impressive or engaging as I had hoped. The most interesting part of the movie is also one that might want parents of very young children to skip which is the Halloween night scene. We never knew how different the customs of Halloween were back then (1903), and clearly having kids talk of "killing" their neighbors (by throwing flour at them) and burning some of the neighbors possessions in the street was outright bizarre. We've come a long way from the customs in this movie, and nostalgic value or not, it's time to let this movie go and not recommend it as a "must see" or highly recommended as Common Sense reviewed it.
Parent of a 9-year-old Written byRobyns_Nomomie May 30, 2014

Great For Family Movie Night

Ties into the time period of the Samantha~ American girl books. Family friendly nothing suggestive, just a great Family Classic. Follows 1 year in the life of a Close knit family. Two older daughters (late teens early 20's) 1 son (late teens/early 20's) sweet young/first stories love is a good chunk of the story line, A girl around 10, and another girl around 5. The parents, family servant and Grandfather. The possibility of having to Move to New York from St Louis is another good chunk of the plot, and it is the year of the World Fair. Story ends on a happy note with the Family staying in their home town. Musical with great songs! Judy Garland and Margaret O'Brien steal the show.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byclassicfilmlover39 November 19, 2012

One of my absolute favorites

I have loved this movie since I was about 4 or 5 years old. This is one of the happiest movies ever made, and it stars one of my favorite people in the world, Judy Garland. And my, she looks and sounds beautiful in the film. She was at her best. I've heard people say they enjoy watching this around Christmas, and I can see why. The song "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas" was first introduced to the world in this film. If anyone were to introduce that classic, I'm glad it was Judy. All the other songs are magnificent, especially The Trolley Song! I've also always loved the Technicolor in this film. It's absolutely beautiful. This is such a fun, heartwarming, feel-good movie. Gather your family up around Christmas (or anytime, for that matter!) and watch this if you're looking for a good time.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent of a 6 and 11-year-old Written byWife-mother-law... April 21, 2012

Christmas movie for the whole family

Our six year old was a bit lost and therefore a bit bored. But the 11 year old liked it. She was interested b/c of Judy Garland/Wizard of Oz even though we had to pause and explain things a few times (why you couldn't go to the big Christmas Ball if you didn't have a tuxedo? what is a dance card?) Even so, there were some real high points -- feisty Judy Garland beating up the boy next door when she thinks he has mistreated her little sister, Judy singing "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas." A good Christmas time movie for families.
Parent of a 6 and 8-year-old Written bysmabadi April 11, 2009
Great movie for the whole family. I loved this movie maybe more than my kids did (2 boys), but they still enjoyed it.