Kid reviews for Mirrors

Common Sense says

Brutal horror movie offers little to reflect on.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 10 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 18 reviews
Kid, 11 years old February 27, 2009

Mirrors was a disappoint and this is coming from a true horror fan

Mirrors was simply bad. Not because it wasn't scary, because it was jumpy in two scenes, it was boring. Nothing was going on. The gore factor was surprisingly low and that's a low even for Alexandre Aja who makes his films gruesome non-stop from start to finish. Mirrors was completely different. There were so many twist and turns that the story never went anywhere and nothing made any sense. Sometimes things were so stupid I wonder if he recycled ideas from M. Night Shymalan. For sexual content, we see Amy getting ready to take a shower. (We see her buttocks, legs, bare back, and the side of her breast). For violence/gore there are only two gruesome scenes. One scene involves a female ripping her jaw off (extremely gory, gashes of blood, the whole act is on-screen). The other scene involves a man grabbing a shard of glass slashing his throat. (Gashes of blood). Kiefer Sutherland fights an evil nun and there is a lot of blood and gore in this scene. As for profanity, there are at least around 10 f words, some scatological terms, anatomical terms, religious exclamations and profanities, mild obscenities, and name-calling. Overall, skip Mirrors.
Teen, 13 years old Written bywilliam_1601 September 24, 2010
Despite the positive role-model characters who put family first, this film contains disturbing violence and gore. The language is strong, but not explicit. Overall, the child needs to understand the unrealistic nature of the film in order to view it without significant impact. The most questionable scene in the film for children is when a woman lies in a bathtub while her reflection in the mirror turns 'evil' and pulls her jaw apart. Blood sprays everywhere and her face is torn apart in real-life.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Positive role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byBrendan Conway January 16, 2011
good movie and a big fan of Kiefer Sutherland

This title contains:

Consumerism
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byneonnloveeee August 13, 2010

ok for teens

I loved itt!! Its not the greatest movie for kids, it will make you scared if mirrors for the next couple days after watching it. But, I loved it(:

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 14 years old Written byjackbauerislife February 1, 2011

sutherland

great movie keifer sutherland is god

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 15 years old Written bytwilightluver7689 January 30, 2011

Creepy and gory

This movie literally left me looking back in mirrors when i passed by for about 2 weeks. It freaked me out, and was very gory, esp. when a character's jaw is pulled apart. I actually didn't watch because i didn't want that image in my mind. Don't watch if you are already scared of mirrors, or don't want to see blood (lots of it!)

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 12 years old July 3, 2009

Freaky

This movie is interesting. It is violent and scary and has some occasional sexual things but nothing to serious. It is very bloody and gory. Not recommended for under 15.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Kid, 12 years old March 19, 2010
I liked it a lot... It will most likely terrorize you from mirrors after watching it for a day or so... But it was pretty good. One of my favorite horror movies.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byKyle1414 July 20, 2013

Hmph...i liked it, but expected more

-_- Whatever. Haha I guess this was an OKAY movie

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavyborn February 10, 2012

Horror film with a unique premise is rendered unoriginal and boring

Mirrors is directed by Alexandre Aja, who directed Piranha 3D, after this film. And, honestly, it is obvious how one could end up in such a low point in ones career, when you have to direct B grade torture porn. Now, Mirrors really is a shameless, lost-cause of a horror movie. At first glance, the premise of mirrors getting into our world and causing people to cause extreme harm to themselves and everyone around them, really does sound like a decent idea for a horror movie, but, as you trudge through the movies nearly impenetrable 110 minute running time, the screenwriters have resorted to nothing more than a standard possession and exorcism movie, which is just ridiculous, because with a truly original horror movie idea like this, you would think that there would be absolutely no need, what so ever, to resort to lame and hackneyed storytelling in the last half-and hour of the movie, but, alas, director Aja, does exactly that. So, with the R Rating in hand, there are many things tat parents should be aware of: There is pretty much non-stop, continuous sequences of extremely graphic and gruesome horror violence, with many, many scenes of throats being cut, ripped open, a woman's jaw being torn off all completely on screen, and some extremely intense and frightening scenes of terror and horror, particularly the movies last thirty-minutes. Also, there is brief nudity in a scene from a woman taking a bath, which goes horribly wrong, but, none the less, she does expose her bare back and buttocks for a few seconds. And finally, there are about 1- uses of the F-word and its derivatives, but also includes several uses each of sh-t, hell, g-dd-mn, d-mn and b-tch. So, if you think that this movie has a decent sounding plot for a horror movie, than, well, you would be right, actually. But, just don't expect the ending to bring it all together perfectly. Skip it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byafrodude February 19, 2009

mirrors review

this movie is great.i watched it last night.it can get gory.all in all its great.only 1 boob shot.
Kid, 9 years old November 16, 2008

disgusting brutal bloody movie!

This mob=vie is pretty good until the girl ripped her mouth off!
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 January 21, 2012

I'm gonna give an honest review,hope everyone says this review is useful.

(Do not discredit this review immediately,read text) Ok,I know some kids arent ready for seeing brain eating b****rds Or hacksaws but come on.mirrors.if you aren't ready for this stuff,don't see it.there are parents who let their child see it then grumble about it cos it's too violent.well I personally saw it with my brother on unrated edition on DVD and he freaked out.sometimes,even hardcore horror fans need to take a break.
Teen, 16 years old Written byimjustwondering March 28, 2011

Off: 0-13 Iffy:14-15 ON: 16 +

i loved this movie( SPOILER ALERT!!!) its a psychological thriller about a man who is on patrol at this old abandon mall or building and these demons are released when he arrives(no flying spirits ) and soon he has to start fighting demons in order to save his family but in the end gets trapped in the same horror. this is really not for kids in the single digits some parts of the movie is extremely violent like the scence where his sister jaw it ripped off and how thats happening is pretty graphic but its goo i would say its sexual because its not like there is sex and tongue kissing is movie to watch if in pyschological thrillers and he is good remodel for trying to save his family instead of just leting the demons kill and gets a nun who used to be possessed by them to do the right thing as well

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Consumerism
Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old July 5, 2013

Good

Good movie and interesting too. You say the movie has no positive role models?!? The man died and Anna DIED to save the worlds from the attacking mirrors!
Teen, 15 years old Written bySaross April 16, 2017

Great Bloody horror movie

I recommend the movie mirrors, the plot is very thought out with a few plot twists, that I definitely didn't see coming. Mirrors is rated R there is a lot of blood and cussing. The setting is an important part of mirrors or any movie, if you don't know the setting you will be confused. Mirrors takes place in a old burnt dirty store called the mayflower. It's a old store and Ben an ex cop is doing security. I think it's a good creepy eerie setting you definitely don't think anything of the setting at first but it really ties the movie together very well. The background actually is a picture of it from the movie. The Plot holds attention but it's not straight forward you have you think about it obviously,for the most part it holds attention. The conflicts aren't really realistic since it is a horror movie, I've never had a mirror attack me, but at the same time it's believable. They scenes look realistic. The plot basically without giving anything away Ben gets a security job at the old burnt mayflower, he starts seeing weird things happen in the mirror and finds the wallet of Larry ( you'll find out who he is) and like a normal person he try's to think logical until his sister dies. He tries protecting his family and it all traces back to a schizophrenic girl. It's a really good plot it's very thought out and creepy. There is a huge part of the plot that I'm not telling you because it would ruin the movie for you, you just have to watch it. There are definitely things that I didn't expect but ici told you that would be a spoiler and no one likes those. he characters are where it's lacking horror,movies never really have great characters. Horror movies like mirrors are basically here's the main characters and the others die. The characters are realistic and good actors even though I know none of them. They are believable it's definitely not cheesy. When things with the mirrors start happening, like any other person Ben get curious and investigates. He tries to think of logical explanations. When his sister dies a gruesome death he doesn't know what to do he just kinda breaks down. But what Ben does know is he needs to figure out what's going on. The scenes definitely aren't funny there very Gruesome. The dialogue is pretty natural, freaking out , cussing , stuttering. The dialogue is just random I mean what would you do if you just walked into a room with your dead sister (spoiler) with here jaw hanging off with a bathroom full of blood. It's not just writing it's body language you don't want to watch a movie where they stand there like robots. When Ben finds his sister there's a lot more of body language than words. The actors fit the characters in my opinion, it goes into writing. They use a lot of body language more than woruds. They're interesting characters and well written. After Ben figures out somewhat what's going he rushes home and paints all the mirrors in his wife's house to protect the kids his wife freaks out thinking he's a threat to the kids and kicks him out, until she sees it for herself when mikey , son starts acting weird. Like in this picture Ben is bloody and gross they really do get in to character There definitely isn't a strong theme in this movie but... you can find one in pretty much everything. Something like not everything you see is what it seems. Like this picture take a closer look I don't really know what you could compare it too, it's kinda like people judging othhers no one truly knows except that person.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written byVivian_L July 30, 2009

The most boring horror movie I have ever seen~

This is, by far, the most boring and the stupidest horror movie I have ever seen. There were a lot of slow parts where nothing important happened. There was a lot of violence, but it wasn't terrifying at all, just stupid. The movie itself was not at all scary, and it seemed like the creators were using excessive violence to make it scary, which didn't work. I don't even understand why they needed anyone to guard a ruined building in the first place; why didn't they tear it down and build something new? It was a stupid movie and it wasn't scary for a 14 year old at all. Because of the violence and gore it's definitely not appropriate for anyone under the age of 13, but I don't recommend it to anyone, since it's a complete waste of time. :/
Teen, 13 years old Written bykristinaM May 5, 2009

Not for the tender-hearted or w/e.

LOVED THIS MOVIE, it was good. Although it actually didn't scare me at all, i know it's all fake so it kind of mad me laugh at some parts. It was very gory and gruesome, had plenty of deaths and blood, etc. Not really that much cursing in all. Oh, and the little boy(the son) almost drowned, that was pretty much the scariest part for me because he was so adorable and inocent looking. All in all, it's a good movie, but you shouldn't allow younger children and teens to see it unless they don't scare easy, are with an adult or older sibling, or if a parent has seen it first and given them the "ok". -Kristina(:

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking