Parents say

(out of 14 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Parent of a 14 year old Written byMarvin Martian February 18, 2011

10-13 don't watch alone

I would rate it 12-15. One bit very disturbing (hammer scene), but rest fine, some strong language, and mild drugs
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 year old Written byChristianMother101 September 13, 2013

Preteen daughter forever scarred

I'm afraid to say I might have made a mistake letting my preteen observe this film. They were terrified for almost the duration of the "experience", and slept with me for more than a year after this troubling movie. Think twice, and know your tween before letting them watch this emotionally scarring and mentally traumatizing Stephen King horror flick.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bymeeru November 2, 2010

Violent but suitable for mature 8 year olds.

Fantastic film, Although there are some scenes of extremely storng violence, I would let a mature 8 year old watch and enjoy this superb film. Entertaining, suspensful and well made.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bynduns October 12, 2010

I think any obsessed fan of anything should watch this movie

Pay very close attention to the character Annie Wilkes and think about how much that relates to how you would act if you were to meet an author who did something you weren't necessarily happy with. I love this movie. It's horrifying without having to rely on gore/monsters/anything like that. Instead, the 'monster' is a regular human being. That's just... amazing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 6 and 10 year old Written byunicornb May 2, 2016

Why Didn't I Watch This Sooner!

This Film Is About A Famous Writer Who Gets Into A Car Accident. Then A "Number 1 Fan" (Annie Wilkes) Who Happens To Be A Nurse, Finds Him. She Fixes The Writer (Paul Sheldon) Up In Bandages, And Begins To Nurse Him To Health, In Return He Lets Her Read His New Misery's Child Novel. After Finding Out What Happens In His New Book, She Begins To Torture Sheldon In A Violent Manner. This Movie Has Some Tense Scenes In It (Gunshot Wounds, Injections, Characters Are Beat And One Is Tortured). There Is Really No Profanity Of Sexual Context, But There Is A Ton Of Violence. What Do You Expect From A Film Called Misery. Totally Recommend This One!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byjlplaysxxx April 7, 2015

My Favourite Movie

This is one of my favourite movie and I gotta say it shouldn't be an 18. There is one really violent scene with is the hammer scene as you see Annie Wilkes with the hammer as she comes down a strikes Paul Sheldon's foot which makes it go sideways and you hear a massive cracking noise. The camera then pans to see Paul Sheldon's expression which isn't very nice either. I would let a 12 year old watch this film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 14 year old Written byguillaumetricot March 5, 2015

THE GREATEST

I saw this movie last month, mature kids can watch it, very intense and scary
Adult Written bysarge123 January 24, 2015

A fantastic thriller, but at times rather brutal and shocking. Ok for mature 15s.

Language includes one dramatic spoken use of the F-word, and about seven written uses. Violence is brutal but not gruesome. A man's ankles are broken by a large hammer, and while the scene has no gore or blood it is still very intense and disturbing. A shooting results in a small amount of blood splatter. A climactic confrontation features eye-gouging (not as bad as it sounds), punching, grabbing and bludgeoning with a blunt instrument. That being said, the film isn't overly gruesome and relies mainly on wit and psychological tension to establish fear.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bywonder dove April 16, 2013

Great 90's flick!

I liked the movie. It's definitely tamer than any of Stephen King's newer films and remakes, I'm surprised he has not remade this one too! I like the "wintery" setting, it gives the story a more cold feeling. It's basically about an obsessed woman who is a major fan of an author to the point of stalking him. One stormy day, he winds up in a brutal car crash and is "rescued" by the crazy woman. She brings him back to her home and pretends to nurse him back to health only to later find out that she is a complete psycho who plans to keep him there and then eventually kill him along with herself. I loved the actors! A really nice little thriller from the 90's! Language is not frequent but contains a few heavy words like some "f" words, sh*t, co*ksucker, h*ll, b*tch. Violence is mainly bad towards the end but includes a gun shot, a dead body, hammering a persons feet, fire, a gory fight, yelling, threatening...etc. No sexual content to worry about. There is alcohol in a couple scenes, a woman drugs a man more than once with pills, also a needle. Okay for 13+ families.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byFilmManiac May 9, 2012

Annie is so crazy that I laugh at this movie (I know it's sick, I mean it's scary but I find Annie's craziness hilarious)

What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byjcb7411 March 1, 2012

Misery Movie Review

I think it's a very graphic movie, that young children should NOT be allowed to view.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written bykidsarethebest May 7, 2010

not for that little

okay well i am really doing the book since its not here.i did another account for the movie(i made another)yea well anyway. whole bunch of profanity a lot when you think it's actually clean for a few minutes it starts again,f word,s word,h word,g word,lord's name in vain,and the b word. one mention of weed(so far)and a lot of uses of saying the boy's you-know-what
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written bychildrenrcool November 20, 2009

amazing thriller! great for 12+

I saw this,a at eleven, and it was an insane thriller! it kept me at the edge of my seat, and was a 7 out of 10 on violence. It was also a horrifying , stressful, yell at your television screen movie!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byseabird111 April 9, 2008

Great Movie

This movie is absolutely amazing! I could not have enjoyed it any more than I did. It's full of suspense, and you can feel Paul Sheldon's growing agony as you watch the movie. However, it is extremely violent, and I wouldn't recommend it for children under the age of 14. There is a particularly graphic fight scene, involving head-bashings. Plenty of swearing during this part, in which even the completely anti-language Annie Wilkes lets loose verbally. Overall, I'd give this movie 4/4 stars.