Kid reviews for Oliver & Company

Common Sense says

Can't compete with Disney classics, but still fun.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 7+
Based on 15 reviews

Kids say

age 7+
Based on 23 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byRuff234 July 7, 2019

Disney Rip off not worth renting

This movie is very cheap for a Disney movie and not worth renting it is probably the most boring Disney movie I’ve ever encountered it seems like a rip off of Fox and hound art style and a poor plot the movie is not good and makes absolutely no sense The characters are so Random and pointless like the dogs I think it could’ve gone better
Teen, 16 years old Written byDylanLeviiHiggiNobth May 19, 2014

'80s Disney classic can be really scary/sad sometimes.

This movie has emotional elements including a kitten who is alone in the earlier scenes and some scary sequences including two meanacing dogs and an intense/violent death of a certain character. There is even some mild consumerism including an image of the Coca-Cola logo, some insults, suggestive content, messages and brief smoking. So it's on for ages 9+, iffy for ages 8- and off for ages 5-

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 8 years old May 25, 2021

Why do people hate this

The movie is awesome, and I loved the songs "streets of gold"

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byVonterrio Jones May 24, 2021

Weaker than other Disney fare

It is a forgotten movie
Teen, 15 years old Written byDogcat October 10, 2020

Keep calm and love Oliver.

I love Oliver and amp; Company when I was little. I had a orange cat and amp; I named him Oliver because of the movie. He ran away when I was around 10 and amp; I never watched it again. I haven’t seen it in years but, I loved it.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 9 years old May 17, 2020

Too violent.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 15 years old Written bybrownabi000 March 29, 2020

I WILL GO DOWN IN HISTORY SAYING THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER!

I grew up watching this movie. I have lived in a very diverse area all of my life, and this movie was always something I could relate to. As a child I would get done with dinner and beg on my hands and knees to watch this movie. It got to the point that the movie just had to stay in the DVD player. I have seen a lot of bad reviews about this movie. I am wracking my brain as to why. It could be the "scary" themes represented but I cannot understand why it is such a big deal. A lot of movies have "scary" themes throughout. I also grew up loving Pocahontas and that is a terribly rated movie. If we allowed are children to watch movies with REAL LIFE SCENARIOS maybe our kids wouldn't be asshole or serial killers. Thank you very much.
Teen, 13 years old Written byCheryl_bombshell January 3, 2020

One of my favorites

Oliver and company was phenomenal.... one of my favorite Disney movies of all time (tied with the great mouse detective) there are some kinda extreme scenes for little kids , one where desoto (one of the evil Rottweilers)gets hurt another where dodger (main character puppy) gets beaten up in a dog fight... and the adult human is told he’s going to die if he doesn’t pay his debts

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byFurtramameetsth... August 7, 2019

OMG this is amazing

Love the music! Oliver and Rita and dodger are my favorites Jenny is great to so is Winston and gorgette is kinda annoying bill sykes AWESOME

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byFurtramameetsth... August 7, 2019

OMG this is amazing

Love the music! Oliver and Rita and dodger are my favorites Jenny is great to so is Winston and gorgette is kinda annoying bill sykes AWESOME

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written byrenemonroy2019832 November 14, 2018
Teen, 16 years old Written bymallowieshan1149 October 30, 2018
Teen, 14 years old Written byMochiWolf May 4, 2018

Why should I worry?

I have LOVED this movie since I was pretty little. The plot is a little bit unoriginal, and there are some bad role models (Georgette is a conniving, jealous diva. Fagan kidnaps a girl's cherished pet kitten to pay off a debt. Dodger is kind of rude and uncaring at times, but changes later. The villain, in addition to being a total jerk, smokes constantly) But just so long as kids know not to mimic that behavior, they'll be good. I think the main reason I love this movie so much is the music (especially "Why Should I Worry" and "Perfect isn't easy").
Kid, 12 years old May 21, 2017

Great disney classic!

Teen, 14 years old Written byJasonpd May 22, 2016

Oliver and Company Review

Very Good Movie I disagree with the reviews it should have 83% certified fresh on Rotten Tomatoes instead of a rotten 44%

This title contains:

Positive role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bySodaDog February 26, 2014

Why does everyone hate this film? - Requested by Advocatewhat'sright

As i remember seeing this film when i was three, i still think this is one of the best films of all time. The soundtrack lives up to Disney standards and i really loved the deception of New York City! I just wish it wasn't rated as low as two stars.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 17 years old Written byabbacus September 19, 2012

Really good!

Cute kids movie.
Teen, 15 years old Written byTeenParent15 January 24, 2012

Such and underated movie!

Oliver and Company is an amazing movie! It's so underrated, everyone forgets about it but it's really good. It's funny and it has good songs (obviously, because Billy Joel is in it) it paved the way for the Disney Renaissance - which in my opinion are better than the 'classics' Oliver and Company is not to be pushed aside.
Also there are some scary scenes in this movie but generally it's ok.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 17 years old Written bySynchronicity March 6, 2011

The most underrated Disney film of all time - and one of their absolute best

I've loved Disney films since I was born. No, really. I was born in '93, and the first film I saw in a theater was The Lion King. I think of all the films I saw in the theater during the first few years of my life, The Lion King and Oliver and Company hold the most special place in my heart. I've seen TLK and other Disney classics many times over, but I've only recently rediscovered Oliver. The status of the film is a bit like its central character - this was originally a very popular film back when it was released in 1988, and even got a rerelease in 1996 (where I was first exposed to its greatness), but it took 7 years for it to get on home video, had mostly mixed-to-negative reviews, and went from popular to criminally overlooked. In the 80s, the dark period of Disney history, Oliver and Company was the light at the end of the tunnel, and it helped pave the way for the best films to come out of Disney since the "Golden Age" period that began with Snow White (1937) and ended with The Rescuers (1977). The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, The Lion King, and other films of the Disney Renaissance period (the 90s) were all created by the artists who started with Oliver and Company. But it doesn't give off the impression of being an experimental film; it ends up being a true classic. Oliver is an orphaned kitten living on the streets of New York City. He fights to survive until he meets Dodger, a dog (voiced by the always-cool Billy Joel) who is initially resistant to Oliver, but ends up liking him quite a bit. So much, in fact, that he introduces the kitten to his group of ragtag stray dogs, including the dumb Einstein, the smart Brit Francis, the sassy Rita, and the hilarious Tito. All of them help out a homeless man named Fagin, who owns a large debt to a loan shark named Sykes, one of the scariest villains in Disney's history. He owns two intimidating Dobermans, and they're both hostile towards Fagin's gang. Then, when Oliver learns how to survive, he's adopted by a little rich girl named Jenny, whose poodle Georgette is anything but pleased about. It all ends up becoming a tale of friendship and loyalty that's on par with anything Disney did during the Disney Renaissance. But the tone of this one is very gritty and realistic at points - a shock for Disney, but still counterbalanced with happy songs and what not. For example, the opening few minutes will make even the most hard-hearted cry at least a little, when Oliver is simply left alone in a dark and scary New York at night. But, the song playing during this scene, Huey Lewis' "Once Upon a Time in New York City", is sad yet uplifting, pointing towards better things that are yet to come. And that they do. The only other things to worry about are some mildly scary scenes (when Jenny gets kidnapped by Sykes, when the characters are threatened by Sykes' Dobermans, and the intense chase scene in the New York subway). Overall, though, CSM is wrong; they've got the same biased opinion on this as the film critics who haven't appreciated it for what it is: one of Disney's best classics. The music is awesome, the animation is awesome, the humor is awesome, the voice acting is awesome...so yeah. In only a little bit over an hour, Disney accomplishes more than most films of three hours can! Just see this one! You won't regret it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 10 years old July 18, 2010

Oliver & Company?? What a weird movie!

Not really good. Or just too 'kiddie' for me...

This title contains:

Positive role models
Privacy & Safety

Pages