All parent member reviews for Prometheus

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 15 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byfriedch1cken June 9, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Impressive watch

This is not a horror film. Anybody expecting to be scared will probably be disappointed that there are only a few scenes that might make you jump. The sex & nudity is very mild. The aliens are creepy-looking, and might scare some kids. The violence might be too much for some kids to handle, but it's not too bad. Prometheus is a really good sci-fi movie, though!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bythedad319 June 16, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

It Was Great

prometheus was a great movie. i saw it with my 6 yr old son in 3D and i was a little worried about the rating. but compared to like, all the other aliens, its not nearly as bad. i love movies, so i could name off several movies that are more innappropriate than this. im a huge alien fan, so this was great. the part im most iffy of was the c-section cut open part, but otherwise it was a well acted movie. some scares, wouldn't reccomend to the little ones, but yeah. all in all, IT WAS AWESOME!
Parent Written byNicholas McCarty June 28, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Rating

I think this movie is very inapropiate for children. Lots of cussing. 16+ at least.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydarthsitkur February 21, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

prometheus sucks

this was terrible and boring as hell, it dragged A LOT and it was slow to the point of painful, I would much rather see a prequel about predator
Parent Written byDan G. October 12, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

R-Rated movie not for children of any age.

The film contains considerable grisly sci-fi violence, several instances of rough language, much crude and crass language, significant profanity, some sexual references and innuendo, nonexplicit relations between an unmarried man and woman, one use of marijuana, and some alcohol consumption.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bysorry123 October 10, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

really good !

it is really good and I like it really much!
Parent of an infant, 13, and 16 year old Written byParentReviewer August 9, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

5 Star Alien movie isn't that violent compared to the Original "Alien"

Violence isn't really the issue, mainly just intensity and some sexual content/references. The most intense scene is where a woman gets a C-Section and has an alien fetus removed from her body. The sexual content includes references to getting "laid" and a couple has sex resulting in the alien fetus in her body. If they just edited the C-Section scene a little bit, this could've been PG-13.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written byfatherkeith June 29, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Do not see it

It was not exciting and it did not keep me engaged during the movie. David, the human robot, played by Michael Fassbender, voice will remind you as HAL in the movie 2001: A Space Odyssey. I would recommend if you really want to see this go see it in a matinee showing. Do not get your hopes up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMusicRock668 June 19, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Prometheus is Great Scary Thriller But Not For Young Teens or Preteens ! too Disturbing !

Prometheus is very good Thriller Movie is full of gory Scary things music adds to intense also said 3D effects reallys add too it Maps are Very cool looking but is part where alien snake cawls up guys arm breaking it and hear bones cracking and is very intense scene also women finds out she is Prengnant with Alien inside of her she gets it but is very disturbing scene and movie is very scary instense if see it in 3D is very Well Done movie music is Great i don't Recomend it For teens under Age 15 because it gory fact and it disturbing scenes also guy is burn live Which is very Gory also with snake scene it jumps on guys face melting his face and Mask very Grusome ! this movie is Not For Weak Teens or Young Kids !
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 9 year old Written byCleanthes June 16, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Powerful movie--but not for kids or young teens.

This movie is very powerful and a worthy successor to the Alien movies (in fact better by far than the third one). But it isn't for kids. It's very violent and would (I hope!) scare young kids. Some characters are brave and selfless but others are disturbingly amoral. I seem to remember some strong language (though that doesn't bother me much) and several characters drink heavily. Finally, the message, which involves the possibility that humanity's creators were an alien race that might not have good intentions towards us, isn't for the faint-hearted. I've rated the film on for 15 and up, but that might be conservative: the standard "R" age of 17 might be safer.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byAli Raza June 13, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

love the type of movie

a better movie, less rate just because of sex scene,.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Adult Written bychristian2011 June 10, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Good Movie.

Prometheus is sort of like the sequel to the "Alien" movies, and it shows you at the end. The violence happens about halfway throught the movie, and it can be pretty graphic, violent and disturbing. A snake-like creatures wraps around a man's arm, then breaks it showing his elbow bone sticking out of his arm; a man gets acid thrown on his face; a man discovers a small parasite squirming out of his eye; a large alien picks up a man by his neck and then twists and rips it off with graphic gory results. Language is infrequent, but can be strong at times (few uses of f**k, sh*t, godd**n, and d*mn). A couple is seen kissing and making out in bed (no nudity shown). The captain is seen drinking some sort of whiskey or rum several times.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byFrankinf June 10, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

could have been PG-13

great movie just as good as alien but should have been pg-13
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written by4Boys1Dog June 8, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Decent movie - Not for kids