All parent member reviews for School of Rock

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 22 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written byPAFC June 3, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

One of Jack Black's best unoffensive efforts; great music, fun rock references

Our family loved this movie. While the language is a little strong, compared to other movies that are rated the same, it is relatively mild. If your children like rock, it is a lot of fun. If you are a family who tolerates no swearing whatsoever, or if "kick some ass" would shock or offend you, then it's not for you. The overall message is that uptight kids use their skills to create a rock show, a slacker finds a calling and realizes what is really important in life, and forgiveness abounds.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 17 year old Written bylove2 September 24, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

bad language!!!!1

lots of swearing (yes even out of the mouths of children) adults say the words (you can kiss my ass, i'm sexy, i'm not a sex freak anymore, shut up, and hell) kids say ( shut the hell up, shut up, and stupid head,and ass) The badest thing is there learning all this from there teacher. and when a kid writes a song and performes it on stage this the biggest line in the whole song "todays assiment kick some ass"! This movie is a very bad influence on kids 10 and under because if they see ten year old and adults saying those words and that the teacher in the movie say it's a good thing to say those words they probably will end up saying them.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byMovieMan101 April 9, 2008
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

THE SCHOOL OF ROCK

THE SCHOOL OF ROCK is the most suprisingly good movie of the year! I loved the little kids who rocked out!!! Parent Preview: Sexual Content: none except some very mild innuendo Language: Minor, minor swear words Violence: none Drugs/Alcohol: none Commercialism: none except constant rock n roll references My Rating: PG for some language/innuendo
Adult Written bybasbel October 7, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Funny movie

it is a funny movie, but i think it is for four and up
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byChrissy505 February 17, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Hilarious!!!

I loved this movie!!! Jack black is funnier than ever and so are the kids acting with him even though some of them weren't even actors (lead gutarist Zach is soooo cute as an 11 year old I wonder what he looks like now...) The movie is great but be warned don't let kids under 12 see Jack Blacks video diary under the bonus features you see a blurred butt-shot of him. The movie itself isn't bad at all except for a few inappropriate references nothing bad happen on or off screen except for some drinking.
Parent Written bybabymonkee May 5, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

School of rock , rocks!

while the main character is not really a good role model (as a teacher ) and starts the flim only thinking about himself .He does have a very possitve effect on the children.Apart from that its just a really cool and fun family movie!
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 August 29, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

school of rock

Families can talk about how much Dewey loves rock 'n' roll. Why is it so important to him? What does it allow him to express? How does School of Rock compare with other movies you've seen about starting or performing in a band? What's the most important thing Dewy learns from the kids, and what is the most important thing they learn from him?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydarkknightrises232 July 14, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Awesome, funny, movie is great but has weed smoking.

At the beginning of the movie a character is thrown off a stage and wakes up in bed with a black eye. Lots of gangsters hang around the performing place and they like to smoke pot.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byshanerocks April 6, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

MY FAVORITE MOVIE OF ALL TIME!

This movie is great! very well done. i recommend it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMovieAmma September 3, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Not for a good moral but a good laugh

Movie is funny but low on good lessons. The characters are endearing and while Jack Black's character gets caught for his misdeeds, he doesn't really get punished.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bymusicmama4 July 8, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great music and humor. Just talk to your kids about the dishonesty they pass off as ok.

Our family LOVES this movie. Jack Black is an adorable imbecile who learns some things during movie. The kids are cute, and learn to love music. Just talk to your kids about the dishonesty that they pass off as ok. Do you think the end justifies the means, or is dishonesty just wrong? Why? And I don't know why they had to use so much language for a show obviously aimed at kids.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 year old Written byohya August 7, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

good story,PG level film.

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator Written bynashvillemom March 7, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
We watched this with our 9 year old daughter and we all loved it. There is some swearing (ass, d*mn, b*tch), some very mild drug references, very little innuendo. In fact, I was surprised it was rated PG-13 -- should have been just PG. The message is mostly positive and the bad behavior (drinking, slacking) is portrayed as "loser" behavior. The teacher learns as well as the students, but it's not really a lesson movie. Just good fun.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8 year old Written byehsing@rogers.com January 19, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great for teens and up

I love this movie. My 8yr daughter also loves it. She is mature enough not to repeat the mild swearing. After repeated viewing, she wanted a clearer definition of "groupie". I've avoided that one.
Parent of a 9 year old Written byrobinpeggy April 9, 2008
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good messages about individuality and growing up

If your child likes music, particularly rock music, this is a fun movie to watch together. Although there is some drinking, the filmmakers take care to state that rock music is not about "getting wasted" and there are many positive social messages about acceptance of diversity and adolescent awkwardness. Joan Cusack is terrific as always, and the talent of the 10-year-old performers is amazing.
Adult Written byPanya April 9, 2008
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fun

This wasn't, by any means, a fantastic movie -- but it was really very entertaining. Jack Black is very funny, as were several of the kids, and the musical scenes were good. Because they put off schoolwork, I don't think young kids should see this.
Adult Written bykmartha April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Good for young kids

I watched this movie with my 8 year old daughter and felt completely fine. I had read the reviews before hand. The only possible iffy part is that the main character is somewhat of a slacker and isn't following the rules. It all works out in the end though. A good family film and my daughter enjoyed it.
Adult Written byfritzsky April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byJennifer H. April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

The children in this movie are amazing!

We love this film. It's so much fun to watch Jack Black interact with the kids. There is some mildly offensive language, but we let our kids watch this movie because of the amazingly talented children in it.
Adult Written byPal101 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Terrible movie

Thought its boring its certanly a good movie for kids.

Pages