Kid reviews for Shame

Common Sense says

Powerful drama about sex addiction is NOT for kids.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 18+
Based on 9 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 8 reviews
Teen, 14 years old Written bymbhky.16 April 12, 2021

THE BEST

My Baby loved it

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byClorox bleach March 26, 2021

Shame review

I know it seems bad letting a 13 year old watch this NC-17 movie but they should already know about sex by that age. Also this movie was showing the negative affects from it. A 13 year old should watch this so they learn about how sex addiction can affect your life.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byusername342343 April 1, 2021
Teen, 16 years old Written byJAXmidget December 27, 2019

fun flick

I see why it's NC-17, but if you approach the topic with maturity and understanding, you realize it's less about his addiction to sex and more about his unhealthy behavior. Furthermore, the movie is in no way condoning it. Difficult film but very informative and heartbreaking. Must-see.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 17 years old Written byLotherd January 29, 2014

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 16 years old Written byevolinag September 24, 2012

Thought-provoking drama has strong sexual content, brief violence and frequent language. Kids beware!

"Shama" is an adult drama about a sex addict and his sister, who both had to go through a lot in their lives.
There are two things you need to know before watching this movie: The first one that there is quite a lot of sex, and that this is not a mainstream hollywood movie. It is a calm movie, sometimes there are long sequences without any talk. Also, there is one thing this movie has what is missing in other movie: art. The movie's score is mostly piano-based, letting the visuals talk. Sex scenes, while graphic, don't seem pornographical. Michael Fassbender gives a superb performance, and should be nominated for an Oscar as "Best Actor in a Leading Role". This is a movie for people who love movies from the Sundance or Cannes Film Festivals. It is artful, beautifully filmed and perfectly acted. The ending is shocking and thought-provoking.
(SPOILERS may follow:)
Really, one thing you need to know before letting your kids watch this movie, is that it is rated NC-17 for sex. The movie starts with a scene of male nudity and also has several scenes filled with naked people of both sexes. In one scene we see a man and a woman having anal sex. The content is strong, but nothing you wouldn't have seen in an R-Rated movie. The scene that mostly caused the NC-17 is one scene in which a man and two women have a threeway. There is no penetration, but everything else. The scene is extremely graphic, and is at the NC-17 level. However, the music that is played, which is a calm piano melody, makes it seem much less erotic. This movie is not meant to arouse. It's nothing for children, however.
If you think that sex isn't a big deal then there is only one scene to worry about: There is one scene showing the aftermath of a suicide, we see a woman having her wrists cut (blood is present), this scene is very sad and emotional. A man is beaten up, but it is not too graphic. There is frequent strong language.
(END OF SPOILERS)
I don't think that sex is a big deal, but I know several people have got a different opinion. Older teenagers will have no problems watching this movie. But maybe their parents will.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byAdam C. September 12, 2012

Amazingly Emotionful... for adults

While Shame is a masterpiece of emotion and the dangers of addiction and is perhaps one of my favorite movies of last year. There is no question that it is not for children as apparent of it's NC-17 rating and multiple explicit but meaningful sex scenes.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 9 years old December 5, 2011

bad book

this movie has the most dirty stuff ever don't get it

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking