Parent reviews for Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings

Common Sense says

Funny, poignant, thrilling MCU adventure; action violence.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 10 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 31 reviews
Parent of a 8 and 10-year-old Written bySlphillippe September 6, 2021

Stick to older kids

Movie was very entertaining. Lots of subtitle reading required. The movie is very clean, however the previews were not. Disappointed we had to sit through those - parents beware of that. The word s**t was infrequent, but very prominent when used. The actor was upfront and center stage when they used any of the words described in the review.

This title contains:

Language
Adult Written byMarwaantar September 6, 2021

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byChrisdye3289 September 4, 2021

Fast flying fun

Okay so I'll say I went to see this last night and it was a absolute blast from start to finish so.much fun and a superb message about friendship and how far you go for your best friend aquafina says the word for a lady's nevaregans twice threw out the movie it was meant to be funny but I know some wouldn't appriciate that type of humor but aside from that it's one of the absolute best

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byQtip September 3, 2021

Action in a very well made loving story.

Lots of action and violence but not over the top and gore and blood. We see people die stabbed punched shot and fall to their death and sometimes it can be very graphic. Lots of hand to hand combat but nothing over the top. Some swear words like sh*t and hell but nothing too harsh. Overall a very well-made action pack blockbuster movie that the whole family could love.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written bydanipenny September 21, 2021
Parent of a 9 and 16-year-old Written byMkt83 September 17, 2021

Some swearing no sex

It’s Marvel so of course there’s swearing. The fight scenes aren’t that bad. No sex or speak of porn like in spiderman. I think most kids that have watched the rest of the Marvel movies will like it!
Parent of a 7 and 11-year-old Written byNikooluci September 17, 2021

This title contains:

Positive role models
Adult Written byLloyd E. September 15, 2021

REVIEW: Marvel Studios’ Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (2021)

Marvel Studios’ “Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings” is the latest modern-day extension to the MCU? Guided to craft beautifully by Destin Daniel Cretton. Shang-Chi has a massive soulfulness that future MCU movies need to take notes on and that only Black Panther did so memorably. It occurred to me while watching this movie that it is genuinely no longer about the characters we focus on, but it is their adventure toward locating themselves, and we follow that adventure here in an amazing Superhero Oriental Fantasy blockbuster. Noticeably, the VFX, scene sets, costume designs, and the special effects themselves incredibly heightened the impact of the movie and allowed a symbolic impact on the awe-inspiring production value and, as a result, the aforementioned movie knocked out in dazzling heights on a beautiful scale because of the VFX. The movement sequences and choreography are polished and stunning. Narratively, the storyline continues incredibly, and we understand the moments of humour the MCU is so well-known for, and we are all here for it. This film divided me going to the cinema and waiting for a digital component! Because of COVID-19, however, I didn’t need to have the entirety of Shang-Chi spoiled earlier on with leaks, thank goodness I went to the very first showing on the opening Thursday night, I have experienced Shang-Chi several times now and in extraordinarily different formats including 4D-X. This movie displays some of the most remarkably phenomenal combat performances in a Marvel movie I had never seen in this noticeable approach previously. The movie is formulaic and well-trodden territory for Marvel and has several exceptional visual effects layered in. Shang-Chi is such an enchanting movie to watch and even better on the biggest screen you can find, keeping safety in mind at all times! If you have seen Marvel movies consistently, you’ve got to know that the narrative is a predictable storyline for Marvel’s superhero foundation adventures. This film is full of numerous great moments, with its battle sequences and action set pieces, which is arguably undoubtedly its major attraction. But Shang-Chi has given us some outstanding personalities and characters in a live-action film like Black Panther’s did so on his solitary quest. Marvel Studios’ Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings is one of the most exceptional superhero movies I’ve watched in years, if not in the past decade. Simu Liu and Meng’er Zhang and Tony Leung Chiu Wai get considerable distinct and exceptional choreographed action choreography that we have not witnessed since Captain America: Winter Soldier. There is not any one thing like Shang-Chi I have seen before in the MCU, this film seems fresh. Shang-Chi feeds us with the deprived traditional antique sequences of martial craftsmanship, which we appreciate a lot as an audience and applauds in an incredible modern depiction. This is one of the better, exceptional Marvel films ever. I would recommend watching this one.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byOscar's dad September 13, 2021

For older kids

Rated 12A, so really ought to be OK for under 12s, but it's very violent, on-screen death, full of violent family trauma, and lots of bad language. Should be rated 12.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written bySammorales1997 September 3, 2021

Beautiful.

Different from other marvel movies. Very beautiful, good story, and funny.

This title contains:

Positive role models