All teen and kid member reviews for Shaun of the Dead

Kids say

(out of 88 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old December 24, 2011

Shaun of the dead Must read

I think the positive message is being very brave going against zombies. I am 11 and i watched it, i think it should be 11 & up because it is appropiate, no bleeding
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old December 22, 2013

Great movie

I saw this when I was 9 and it was GREAT one of my fav movie 10/10
Kid, 9 years old August 23, 2012

good move

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old August 1, 2016

best simon pegg movie

it is very gory has f words and s words and very violent
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old July 15, 2016

Clever horror / dramedy winks at horror movie cliches, but also has upsetting deaths, intense situations

TheProBros thinks parents should know that, while Shaun of the Dead is a more lighthearted film than other horror movies, being somewhat of a horror / comedy / drama mixture, it still has several extremely upsetting scenes--including the graphic, prolonged deaths of several beloved main characters. Most deaths are half-offscreen, but we still catch glimpses of impalements, disembowelments, shots to the head and more. The host of main characters use everything from cricket bats to molotov cocktails to fend off zombies, which are killed in plumes of blood and guts, and swearing is very frequent and strong, including "f--k," "c--t," "s--t," "pr--k," and an instance of the N-Word, as well as English slang including derogatory terms and phrases such as "wanker," "bollocks," and "bugger off." The characters also drink and smoke throughout the movie. Overall, TheProBros thinks that Shaun of the Dead, containing blood and gore, swearing and substance consumption, is best for mature tweens and teens around the age of 14.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byCharlieRoome August 25, 2016

Funny, bloody at times but is suitable for a mature 12 year old

Violence - 4/5 The movie can be bloody at times Sex/nudity - 2/5 some refrences Bad Language - Frequent swearing and some times strong. There is uses of 'f*ck' 'sh*t' 'c*nt' and one use of 'n*gger' Drinking, Drugs and smoking - 2/5 There is a lot of smoking and drinking because the movie takes place in a pub but there is nothing to worry about. There is a refrence to characters dealing weed. Frightening/ intense scenes - The movie becomes intense at the end as it takes a sudden turn in tone from a comedy to a actual 'zombie' movie but it is never too frightening.
Teen, 16 years old Written bymike_da_mike July 15, 2016

Awesome horror comedy! Would watch it again

This movie is a very funny take on a horror comedy movie. I loved the movie myself but they're a few things to know before you watch this. In this movie there is tons of fowl language: f**k s**t c**t pr**k and many more. there is also very bloody parts of this movie such as when one of the mane characters gets his guts ripped out by a zombie hoard and thats just one example of what to expect in this movie. lastly in this movie there is a lot of drinking alcoholic drinks and smoking. although all of that this movie is very fun and exciting to watch!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byCSMclassification August 15, 2015

Strong bloody comic violence, gore, very strong language.

SHAUN OF THE DEAD is a British horror-comedy about a selfish slacker, with an awkward mate, and his pushy ex-girlfriend. Together, with a few others, they go to the safest location they know and battle a large horde of zombies. It was classified 18 for strong bloody comic violence, gore and very strong language. There is frequent strong bloody violence, which is also fairly detailed. However, the overall tone is comical, which lightens the violence a little bit. Strong gore occurs in two key scenes. One is sight of a mangled, mutilated body. The other is sight of a man being torn appart by zombies, which is realistic and very bloody/gory. Also, there is no humor to lighten up the scene. Therefore, it is better classified at 18. Very strong language (c*nt) occurs at the very beginning of the movie. It is only said once throughout, and is not said directly/offensively. There is also frequent strong language (f*ck) and milder language (sh*t, pr*ck, tw*t etc.). There is also some crude humor and sex references.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old June 24, 2011

Shaun of the Dead

Very funny movie! Not for kids 7 or under.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old November 2, 2010
This film is really funny, and it really gets you on the edge of your seat. The scenes are well directed, everything is realistic, and some parts are quite dramatic. Although, it is good, it has lots and lots of swearing. Loads of f**ks, a c**t, a w****r, and so on. It has not got much violence or gore untill about half an hour into the film. The goriest scene is where a man falls in a lot of zombies, and they rip his guts and body bits out and eat them (on screen). They shoot them with a big rifle, zombies are stabbed and beaten with a cricket bat, and a zombie girl falls on a metal spike, impaling right the way through her body, and she gets up and you can see a bloody hole through her body. Some of it is quite emotional, like when Shaun (the main character) must shoot his mother who is about to transform into a zombie, and he does in the end. It is a funny, exciting film, but a DEFINATE no-no for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byjake W. June 20, 2010

perfect for teens

love it not too bad but gore
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old April 13, 2009

Zombifying!!!

I thought this film was excellent especially the end when they are playing on the PS2!!!
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008

A must see for kids 13+

i'm 9 and i only saw it because i saw "Hot Fuzz" before shaun of the dead. This movie is REALLY GORY!!!! not for kids my age, but i dont really get disturbed by gore or blood. There is plenty of bad words, but don't get me wrong, this movie is SO FUNNY!!!! I don't want to spoil it for those who want to see it, but the goriest part is when a ton of zombies rip this guy and eat his intestines for food. I got 2 words: EEE WWWW!!!! Great movie, really innapropriot, overall, a MUST SEE!!!!!
Teen, 13 years old Written byIYAMPHRIENDLY September 18, 2016

Awesome parody

This movie is hilarious, definately not a 17 and up. It has a bit of swearing, but the violence is actually quite mild and comical. Good movie.
Teen, 16 years old Written bywhytheredsuit April 30, 2016

Fine to watch with your parents-The only problem is the gore

There is language but it isn't too intense, the main thing that should be considered is the violence and gore. As it's a zombie movie there are multiple gory deaths, including a man having his intestines pulled out while he is alive and a zombie being hit with a car. People may also find the film upsetting due to the amount of characters deaths but as it is a comedy the sad mood quickly changes.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byrebo344 February 20, 2016

Humour and heart in a zombie flick.

Shaun of the Dead is an awesome zombie movie. While it is labeled as a horror-comedy, don't be fooled. The movie actually has some drama here and there that works perfectly. Simon Pegg is exceptional in his role. Sure, the cast did well, but Pegg is who I feel for the most. I feel for his character. He isn't perfect, he's flawed. His life isn't good until the zombie apocalypse (whoops, I can't say the z word) which redeems him. Grade: B+.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byBuffy Rules February 12, 2016

Review #11 - This is genuinely hilarious and well-worth watching. It is briefly extremely violent as well.

RATING: R | STUDIO: Universal -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- FOREWORD: To reviewers who say stuff like "I let my 11 year old watch this and he/she got nightmares", well, the MPAA rated it R for good reason, meaning *"Restricted: Under 17s must be accompanied by a parent or an adult guardian"*, and not realising it's not The King's Speech, it's a heavier R. Please do exercise more caution next time. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Yes, in Australia, this movie is given MA15+ for good reason. This film turns horror on its head and yet can be genuinely scary in places. But if anything, it's a lighthearted tale of the titular character, Shaun, a loser who works at a retail store and is having a hard-knock life, what with his girlfriend breaking up with him. But when he finds hints of the living dead, this is when it gets even better. Nothing will be spoiled here, but suffice to say, George R. Romero liked it himself, and that says something. Universal, Working Title, actors Simon Pegg and Nick Frost and director Edgar Wright have hit the jackpot. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------PARENTAL GUIDANCE SECTION: This is probably not suitable for anyone under the age of 13 at the very least. They will find the zombies terrifying because the zombies always have some sort of blood on them, and zombies are very briefly found feeding on a man's stomach (reasonably gory as a chunk of stomach is missing) from a medium shot. There's also a man who, in a general store, nearly slips on a pool of blood (body of other person not shown) oblivious to the dead body with a bloody hand-print on a fridge door; there's also zombies splattering blood from injured areas as baseball bats, guns among other things are used against them. There's a man who has a bloody neck wound (similar to Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1, with the ear wound); also, in the film's most gruesome sequence, a man is thrown toward a window to defend himself and the zombies use their bare hands to rip open the man's stomach with a large splatter of blood, take out his intestines, start eating them and then bloodily dismember all four limbs of that same man. A zombie is impaled on a short pipe but gets up again, but blood pours from her wound. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------As for the language, I recall maybe 50 uses of the F bomb, probably the main reason along with the dismemberment/disembowelment the MPAA gave it R, but the real shocker is that in the opening scene, Nick Frost drops the C bomb during casual conversation, this word is said once throughout the entire movie. There's also milder words than that, but I just said the worst. They also make PG-13 sexual references but one man jokes that his father "touched" him but retracts it; there's a reference to someone dealing marijuana. There's also a bit of drinking. (P.S. Why does it say "too much violence" or "too much swearing" when in reality, it isn't too much for my own sensibilities? Then again, I'm not sensitive to violence or language except when it's animal violence, this film has no animal violence.) --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------You'll have to see it to believe it, it is hilarious, (somewhat) bloody and brilliant. Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are always reliable comedic talent (even better here than they are in Paul) and the parodies here are hilarious --- one example from the start, one of the retail people is called Ash, a nod to "Army of Darkness"; the rest are too perfect to spoil. Watch, love and thankyou for reading.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySabineDM January 3, 2016

Hilariously Gruesome

I watched this movie recently, not thinking much of it due to its lack of popularity, but I was pleasantly surprised. It has all of the right components to a dark comedy: oblivious characters, excessive gore, and plenty of corny jokes. I definitely wouldn't watch if you're sensitive to blood, but even if you are a little bit, I say it's still worth a shot. Definitely an incredible experience with the hilarious and touching addition of Penelope Wilton, from Downton's Abbey's innocent and mother-like persona. I may also add that although the C word is mentioned once, it is not meant offensively but in the same way the D word may be used. It is not a word that is taken as seriously in the UK, and no one should take it in the way It's used in America.
Teen, 15 years old Written byDan Kav December 29, 2015

A fantastic movie

Shaun of the Dead is such a fun movie. Blending comedy and horror, it is a timeless movie. The combination of both Simon Pegg and Nick Frost is just great. As well as the brilliant direction from Edgar Wright. Though bloody and gorey, it is mainly played for laughs. Friendship and family also play a predominant role in this film. Shaun of the Dead makes you feel all kinds of different emotions. It is a must see for any film lover.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old December 23, 2015

Funny

This is a great film which takes something like The Walking Dead and makes it into a comedy. If your not scared of mildly freakish zombies then you could probably watch this. Be warned that there are lots of swear words like f*** and s***.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages