Parent reviews for Spider-Man: Far from Home

Common Sense says

Fun, fast-paced sequel has some dark, dizzying violence.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 42 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 139 reviews
Parent of a 18+-year-old Written byJoshua H. July 2, 2019

Again with the porn normalization? Really?

There is way too much sexual stuff for a superhero film where the main character is a teen! One part a character misunderstands a situation and believes that Peter is about to "do the deed" with a woman much older than him. (He was just changing into his suit, but still.....) A character remarks to Peter that he knows he ordered adult films in the hotel. (like the "I'm looking at p0rn " "joke" from the first one.) The Spider-Sense is now called the "Peter tingle." Peter remarks his new suit "hurts his web shooter" (but not those web shooters.) "Jokes" like this belong in Deadpool, not here. Why is Marvel trying to turn their Spider-Man into another Deadpool? This is not the Spider-Man I grew up on. While Tom Holland is exceptional as Peter Parker, the Tobey Maguire and Andrew Garfield versions never stooped to this level

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byhthrun July 4, 2019

Good movie, but one scene really bothered me.

I first read about this scene in another review.
SPOILER
A grown female SHIELD agent brought Peter a suit and ordered him to try it on. She wouldn't turn away and wouldn't take no for an answer. Marvel/Disney thinks it's ok to make jokes of a woman making a 16-yo undress in front of her? What if the genders were swapped, imagine the outcry.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bybrysonreviews July 2, 2019

One of the best Marvel Movies EVER (Spoiler-Free)

This movie is for sure one of the best Marvel Movies!
Here's all you need to know:

Cast:
The cast, especially Tom Holland and Jake Gyllenhaal do excellent jobs!

Violence and Scares:
Unlike most Marvel Movies, this one had a jumpscare, of sorts. It's during an hallucination of sorts (if I said more it would be a spoiler), but most kids should be able to handle it. The visuals in this movie are stunning! They really are breathtaking, but they can get intense, especially in the hallucination mentioned above, and the fight scenes.
One character dies, and younger kids might have a hard time processing it.

Sex:
Peter and his classmates stops in Austria for a bathroom break, and there is a scene where a classmate catches Peter changing, with no nudity, just him in his underwear, with a female shield agent.
There is a joke with Happy and Peter about "a pay per view film with no name", which he proceeds to correctly guess as it being an adult film.
Peter does change in front of MJ one time, again no nudity, however she is looking away, but looks for a brief second.

Language:
There is a few uses of "sh--", bitch, ass, damn, hell, badass and a cut off "what the f..."

Drinking:
There is no smoking, or drugs in this, however, there is a few instances of drinking. On a plane, (potential spoiler) Flash Thompson is offered a drink in first class, lying about his age, because he "blipped", so his ID showed he was 21, but he blipped so he was really 16, and is refused the drink.
Mysterio offers Peter a drink, however he reminds him he's not 21.
Characters in a bar drink Champagne, beer, etc, but its really only in 1 or 2 scenes.

Tips:
Stay for the mid credit scene and post credit scene! They both are VERY important to the plot!
If you have young kids, 3D might be a little to intense for them, due to the VFX being very intense, even in 2D!

I say this film is appropriate for 9 year olds, or if your child is sensitive, maybe 10.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Adult Written byNatasha247 June 30, 2019

Really good for teens

This title is an inspiring film for teenagers. My kids loved it! It may not be suitable for younger viewers because of some violence and language. But for tweens and teens it is great!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byJzag July 13, 2019

Disappointing content and language

The movie was okay and set up for what looks to be a really good sequel. However, writers included, unnecessarily, fouls language and sexual references. These did nothing for the movie except market it toward older audiences. Unfortunately families with younger children who like the action hero spider man probably shouldn’t take them to see this one.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written by9-year Old Army July 20, 2019

Once again, Marvel succeeds in satisfying us with another great film

First of, if you thought the the first one was good, this one is better. The general Marvel violence and action is to be expected, nothing crazy or out of league. Peter tries to get MJ to like him and they kiss once or twice at the end. She also sees him shirtless once. Some small references that will fly past kid's heads, eg. references to 'the web shooter' once, and Peter seeing and adult film. It is referenced two characters had a relationship with each other, mentioned only via dialogue. A shirtless Peter is in a room with a woman, when a person walks in on them, and mistakes them for 'being busy' . As for language, there is aa middle finger, an incomplete WTF, one or two S-words, Ds and Bs, all can be missed. Some mild 'Damns and Craps etc.' but mostly inaudible language. Definitely a great films for tweens though. Reviews make it sound quite dodgy, but it fits the PG13 rating definetly

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Language
Parent of a 10-year-old Written bybluestarcat3 July 12, 2019

The Worst

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byGeekMom81 July 3, 2019

This Comic loving mom approves!

The sexual jokes went over my 10 year old daughters head, she thought the flirting and pants down was funny and in now way sexual. Violence was typical of Marvel. The emotional part did make my kiddo cry but overall, definitely great despite a few curse words.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byNonnie0603 July 7, 2019

Wonderful Marvel movie with little person to person violence

I loved this movie! My 6yr old daughter does not like movies with violence being inflicted on people or people being shot. This movie had neither! My husband and I took our 9yr old son and 6yr old daughter, both of whom are more sensitive than most kids and we all enjoyed the movie. Most of the fighting scenes are buildings being knocked over and Spider-Man trying to keep the buildings from falling on people. Much less menacing and scary than other marvel movies. Even less so than Spider-Man Homecoming.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 11-year-old Written byHishchap456 July 8, 2019

A intriguing yet amazing movie! Marvel have done it again!

I took my two kids to see this yesterday. One is 11 and the other is 16.
They are both ‘Fans’ of the MCU and said that this movie is going to be great. I took them and I overall think it’s a great movie! There are a few iffy moments like when Peter had to change in front of a SHIELD agent and someone walks in and where a Zombie Iron Man jumps out from a grave in a jump scare moment. But there are very funny moments as well like when Peter’s Aunt refers to his 6th sense as ‘Peter tingle’! There are a few violent scenes and a bit of cursing but nothing a 8 year old child couldn’t handle. Definitely take your kids to see this!
Parent Written bySara E. June 7, 2019

Spider-Man far from home

Very funny with lots of action.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bySmartdude1 August 12, 2020
The movie is fine for kids little darkness, little sex, over all fine movie for kids.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 9-year-old Written byBobby G. July 21, 2020

Itll be fun for kids

Not that great with awful camerawork and a some pretty bland action. Some light sexual references and violence that includes explosions and hand to hand.
Adult Written byRRBB June 12, 2020

Seen it on tv 18 hours ago

Its amazing for nine or ten year olds and up

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byTyler2fk February 28, 2020

Dark, but entertaining sequel has violence but also an important message

Suggested MPAA Rating: PG-13 for sequences of violence and action, language, and a rude hand gesture
Adult Written byMoneydog23 January 20, 2020
Parent of a 5, 10, and 10-year-old Written bysilwuttke November 3, 2019

spider man

Really good movie!!! Not really violent, also includes some language, some positive role models, and some sexual content. GOOD FOR 11+!!!!!!

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 12, 14, and 17-year-old Written byHendo H. U October 3, 2019

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent Written bynuenjins September 21, 2019

Contender for WORST Spider man movie yet.

The "villain" is one of the most uncompelling and generic with an almost carbon copy plot from Homecoming, but now on 'vacation' overseas. Spiderman movies are NOT getting any better in our opinion, but actually worse and more face palmy with plot holes miles wide and cheap, teenage Disney humor to distract you.

I mean, if you thought Spiderman 3 was bad, well this is easily a contender for the spot while I personally thought SM3 had better action. It could be part burn out and oversaturation but we exspected a better outing from all the rebooting and recasting over the years. However, this failed in any way to refresh the franchise, if not actually make it even worse by solidifying how inept and uninspiring it's script writers are.

My hopes for the Webslinger, unfortunately, are all but dashed if not also waning my hope for the future of Marvel films under long term Disney rule in general. The only reason to come back for me is if Tom Hardy's Venom clashes with Spidey on the big screen, otherwise, this version has lost it's steam for me as Civil War war is STILL the best appearance, and being that it's his first is NOT a good take away.

*As a side note: With Marvel films ousting original heroes and mainstays that were their bread and butter, it may well be we've seen the best already, even though , ironically, we have yet to see the best Spider man movie we all deserve and know someone is capable of creating. it's like baking, all the ingrediants are wrapped up in the long history and success of the comic, the recipe has been made. Now if we can find a cook smart enough to stop messing with it. Deadpool was a suprise success because they did EXACTLY that. Stick to the recipe. IE- most Spider Villains were not just lazy "mech suits", I mean c'mon man.
Adult Written byrkunreal93 September 17, 2019

Great movie

Violence and sex is tame.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models

Pages