Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for Spider-Man: Far from Home

Common Sense says

Fun, fast-paced sequel has some dark, dizzying violence.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 29 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 58 reviews
Parent of a 18+ year old Written byJoshua H. July 2, 2019

Again with the porn normalization? Really?

There is way too much sexual stuff for a superhero film where the main character is a teen! One part a character misunderstands a situation and believes that Peter is about to "do the deed" with a woman much older than him. (He was just changing into his suit, but still.....) A character remarks to Peter that he knows he ordered adult films in the hotel. (like the "I'm looking at p0rn " "joke" from the first one.) The Spider-Sense is now called the "Peter tingle." Peter remarks his new suit "hurts his web shooter" (but not those web shooters.) "Jokes" like this belong in Deadpool, not here. Why is Marvel trying to turn their Spider-Man into another Deadpool? This is not the Spider-Man I grew up on. While Tom Holland is exceptional as Peter Parker, the Tobey Maguire and Andrew Garfield versions never stooped to this level

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byNatasha247 June 30, 2019

Really good for teens

This title is an inspiring film for teenagers. My kids loved it! It may not be suitable for younger viewers because of some violence and language. But for tweens and teens it is great!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent Written byGeekMom81 July 3, 2019

This Comic loving mom approves!

The sexual jokes went over my 10 year old daughters head, she thought the flirting and pants down was funny and in now way sexual. Violence was typical of Marvel. The emotional part did make my kiddo cry but overall, definitely great despite a few curse words.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bybrysonreviews July 2, 2019

One of the best Marvel Movies EVER (Spoiler-Free)

This movie is for sure one of the best Marvel Movies! Here's all you need to know: Cast: The cast, especially Tom Holland and Jake Gyllenhaal do excellent jobs! Violence and Scares: Unlike most Marvel Movies, this one had a jumpscare, of sorts. It's during an hallucination of sorts (if I said more it would be a spoiler), but most kids should be able to handle it. The visuals in this movie are stunning! They really are breathtaking, but they can get intense, especially in the hallucination mentioned above, and the fight scenes. One character dies, and younger kids might have a hard time processing it. Sex: Peter and his classmates stops in Austria for a bathroom break, and there is a scene where a classmate catches Peter changing, with no nudity, just him in his underwear, with a female shield agent. There is a joke with Happy and Peter about "a pay per view film with no name", which he proceeds to correctly guess as it being an adult film. Peter does change in front of MJ one time, again no nudity, however she is looking away, but looks for a brief second. Language: There is a few uses of "sh--", bitch, ass, damn, hell, badass and a cut off "what the f..." Drinking: There is no smoking, or drugs in this, however, there is a few instances of drinking. On a plane, (potential spoiler) Flash Thompson is offered a drink in first class, lying about his age, because he "blipped", so his ID showed he was 21, but he blipped so he was really 16, and is refused the drink. Mysterio offers Peter a drink, however he reminds him he's not 21. Characters in a bar drink Champagne, beer, etc, but its really only in 1 or 2 scenes. Tips: Stay for the mid credit scene and post credit scene! They both are VERY important to the plot! If you have young kids, 3D might be a little to intense for them, due to the VFX being very intense, even in 2D! I say this film is appropriate for 9 year olds, or if your child is sensitive, maybe 10.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Adult Written by9-year Old Army July 20, 2019

Once again, Marvel succeeds in satisfying us with another great film

First of, if you thought the the first one was good, this one is better. The general Marvel violence and action is to be expected, nothing crazy or out of league. Peter tries to get MJ to like him and they kiss once or twice at the end. She also sees him shirtless once. Some small references that will fly past kid's heads, eg. references to 'the web shooter' once, and Peter seeing and adult film. It is referenced two characters had a relationship with each other, mentioned only via dialogue. A shirtless Peter is in a room with a woman, when a person walks in on them, and mistakes them for 'being busy' . As for language, there is aa middle finger, an incomplete WTF, one or two S-words, Ds and Bs, all can be missed. Some mild 'Damns and Craps etc.' but mostly inaudible language. Definitely a great films for tweens though. Reviews make it sound quite dodgy, but it fits the PG13 rating definetly

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Language
Adult Written byJzag July 13, 2019

Disappointing content and language

The movie was okay and set up for what looks to be a really good sequel. However, writers included, unnecessarily, fouls language and sexual references. These did nothing for the movie except market it toward older audiences. Unfortunately families with younger children who like the action hero spider man probably shouldn’t take them to see this one.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 10 year old Written bybluestarcat3 July 12, 2019

The Worst

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written byHishchap456 July 8, 2019

A intriguing yet amazing movie! Marvel have done it again!

I took my two kids to see this yesterday. One is 11 and the other is 16. They are both ‘Fans’ of the MCU and said that this movie is going to be great. I took them and I overall think it’s a great movie! There are a few iffy moments like when Peter had to change in front of a SHIELD agent and someone walks in and where a Zombie Iron Man jumps out from a grave in a jump scare moment. But there are very funny moments as well like when Peter’s Aunt refers to his 6th sense as ‘Peter tingle’! There are a few violent scenes and a bit of cursing but nothing a 8 year old child couldn’t handle. Definitely take your kids to see this!
Adult Written byhthrun July 4, 2019

Good movie, but one scene really bothered me.

I first read about this scene in another review. SPOILER A grown female SHIELD agent brought Peter a suit and ordered him to try it on. She wouldn't turn away and wouldn't take no for an answer. Marvel/Disney thinks it's ok to make jokes of a woman making a 16-yo undress in front of her? What if the genders were swapped, imagine the outcry.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written bySara E. June 7, 2019

Spider-Man far from home

Very funny with lots of action.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byltfleck July 22, 2019

Meh movie, some characters were miscast, mediocre acting

Overall the movie was meh. The plot was a little ridiculous. The lead female was not the best fit for the role. The lead male actor was fine. The movie is geared towards the teenage crowd. There is a scene that includes spider man taking his pants off which could be uncomfortable for the younger kids. Also, there is a short kissing scene at the end which could make the younger kids blush and look away.
Adult Written byHiimpaul6 July 21, 2019
Adult Written byAnnieNZ July 18, 2019

Loved this movie

We’ve watched almost all the Avenger movies and this one Is definitely in my top 3. Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Really interesting story line, lots of comical situations. We took our kids 7 and 12. They really liked it. I want to buy the DVD so I can watch it again! It’s one of those movies, you leave the theatre smiling.
Parent of a 9 year old Written byJiMDreaM July 18, 2019

Spiderman coming of age.

This is Spiderman coming of age. A great example (typical for Spiderman) of the contradiction between the feelings about personal identification, and wishes and dreams of a teenager, and a hero's responsibility to stand up against evil (naturally coming with the job description). Action at a reasonable degree considering other Marvel movies. Very enjoyable, although we saw it in German. Good humor, and good balance between "stressful" and relaxing scenes. I saw it with my 10y son, but the movie would be great also for my 10y daughter. A definite recommendation for the whole family.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byNoliedog1 July 16, 2019

I like this movie a lot

It’s a great movie. This movie is my favorite movie so far. I gave it a 10/10

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byAngi365 July 15, 2019

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byHermoine F. July 15, 2019

Awesome Movie!!!!

This movie was great. My kids loved it! There is some violence and a small sweet kiss shared btwn two characters which was very cute. Amazing special effects and Holland does amazing as Peter Parker. Great for tweens and up but probably a little intense for children under 12.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byFatcat3 July 14, 2019

Spiderman

It's a great family movie. It's very funny and entertaining.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byOmkar sai July 12, 2019

Man at any age don't feel nervous

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written bySai Reddy July 8, 2019

Pages