All parent member reviews for Spider-Man

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 32 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 5, 9, and 12 year old Written byshadowfc March 14, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Common Sense Pretty Accurate

I watched this movie at the theater when it came out, but I've probably only seen it once or twice since then. My 12 year old has been bugging me to see it. Trustin Common Sense, I decided to let her watch it. She has seen all the Heroes (NBC) episodes, so know up front that she's accustom to a certain level of violence and language. I have to agree with Common Sense's review. It's appropriate for kids 11 and older depending on the child and the parent's leniency for violence or language. I listened for the "S" word and never heard it. Lots of "A" (rear-end) references, even by Peter's Uncle Ben. I don't remember Peter himself ever using bad language. There is a degree of violence throughout. The last fight sense was rather painful for my daughter to watch (as Spidy gets the snot beat out of him). There's quite a bit of blood to boot. So just be careful. In the end, the movie was still an appropriate watch for my 12 year old. It has some good overall themes about what it means to be a hero that I enjoyed recapping later with my child. For the faint of heart, preview (as always) this movie before letting the kids watch, but I give it a thumbs up for 12 and over.
Parent of a 3, 6, and 9 year old Written bytsreyb November 26, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Enjoyable for tweens, teens and adults, but NOT younger kids.

Very enjoyable movie. Older kids, teens and adults will love it. But, IMHO, the villain is just way too scary for kids under 10.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written by4Spice June 14, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
good movie teens will love it 11 and over for kissing and violence
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 11, 14, and 15 year old Written bycashed12 July 23, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Donning a costume and name--A good 10-year old action funfest!

Spider-Man is the funniest,touching,action-packed tale about a nerdy teen named Peter Parker accidentally got bitten by a spider,Drawing concept art,Then donning the name--SPIDER-MAN,Spider-Man can be fun for 11-year olds,But too intense for 6-year olds,Fun and exciting!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Parent of a 13 year old Written byohya August 6, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 10 year old Written bydandy June 3, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

FINE

PG-13 really? But I didn't let my kids watch it tell they were all 8. Some words like (d**n, s**t, h**l, and a**). When my kids first saw it they thought it was gross because of all the boyfriend girlfriend stuff.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent of a 2, 2, 5, 10, 10, and 16 year old Written byMariofan May 9, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Why do they rate all the superhero movies PG-13,even though they know kids of younger ages would watch them? These are great movies. The violence is the common super hero movie violence, not that much blood.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Parent of a 12 year old Written byGoodSSJ May 7, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Awesome Movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I Think It's Iffy For 2+ Because Of The Scene Where MJ Was Being Attacked By Men And MJ Wore A Clingy Shirt While It Was It Was Raining And The Green Goblin Might Creep Out Kids Ages 2+ But It Still An Awesome Movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Adult Written byForknose April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Great Movie

This movie is one of the best movies ever. The first time you see it, you love it. Second time, it gets dull. I had a lot of fun at the theatre seeing it and can't wait for the sequel nonetheless.
Adult Written bydoodlesalltheday April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written byTheRightGuy101 August 23, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

A great action film for the younger ones!

This movie may drag for teens and adults and is mostly made for the child auddience. My son loved it and the only part that was a little gorey was when Green Goblin got stabbed with his own hoverboard thing. Blood gushed out of his mouth, but thats pretty much it. Great Movie for kids, 2+. 3/5
Adult Written byjubajen April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

PG-13 is appropriate

Parent of a 14 and 16 year old Written byrrks115 June 17, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bygreen_goblin May 8, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Still iffy for 13-14 year olds.

A little iffy for a 13y/o. This has more blood than other recent superhero films. The scene with MJ and SM is quite sensual, cos you can see her nipples poking through her top. The Green Goblin is quite scary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 17 year old Written bymikeabc123 October 12, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
pretty good
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byPlague March 5, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Spider Man

I liked it a lot. It was easy to follow and the action scenes were fantastic.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byAshnak April 9, 2008
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

This is a great movie

This is one of the best comic book hero movies I have ever seen. Unfortunately one scene in the rain shows way too much for a PG-13 Movie. Minus this one scene, this movie could be PG. With this scene, I would say R
Adult Written bysilakkalaatikko March 22, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byChristy Deckys April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

spider-man!!!

This is a great movie but alot of action in the end!
Adult Written bybaconbrother4 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pages