All parent member reviews for Spirited Away

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 58 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 9 year old Written byPatrick.L January 26, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

No way for kids!

Definitely not recommended for kids! Only suitable for Young Adults and above.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 5 year old Written byRebrandSoftware June 16, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Okay for intelligent three year olds who aren't easily scared

My 3.5 year old daughter and I love this movie. I was concerned about the parents to pigs scene so I told her about it before we watched, and worked up to it over a number of viewings. She was a little bit scared of the giant baby that threatens to break a girl's arm until I told her they became friends in the end. This is a wonderful movie, and the lighting of the lamps scene is so absolutely perfect that I could watch it 1,000 times.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 3 and 5 year old Written byANewell23 December 10, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

best movie ever!

LOVED IT!!!!!!! great movie! great story line graet animations GREAT EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!!! a must watch! best anime movie ever!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bycourtwork October 15, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Wacky and Wonderful for Over 10

This movie is really wacky, but since it's by Miyazaki, it is beautifully wacky. I began to wonder if there were some mushrooms involved in its creation. I'm a big Miyazaki fan and originally bought this dvd for my 10 year old after reading the CSM rating and parent comments. I forgot about that plan and we watched this for family movie night. Both of my kids (ages (just turned) 7 and 10) found it disturbing. The 10 year old was ready to pull the plug early in the film out of boredom, but later he found it upsetting. I'm glad we stuck with it and saw the plot resolve; I think it would have been more troubling if we had not. My 10 year old is pretty sensitive, and did have nightmares after seeing this movie right before bed. The part that was most disturbing to my guys is when Chihiro's parents can't stop eating and are turned into pigs. They are then whipped by the restaurateur as they try to continue eating. That part was intense for both of them. We took a break midway through the film and both kids were hugging me saying, "I never want you to turn into a pig!" The frightening elements for young kids include: the fact that Chihiro is separated from her parents (and they are turned into pigs) for the whole movie; Chihiro is alone in a (very) strange place and is visibly frightened for much of the film. She is at the mercy of and mistreated by many characters early on; and her internal compass is superior to that of her parents and other authority figures. These ideas, particularly the last one, are scary and confusing for young kids. For these reasons I agree with CSM's 11 year old rating. There are some other creepy characters - namely Yubaba and No Face. Having said all of that, the quality of the film is superior, though the content is strange. I don’t regret that my kids saw it, but I’m glad I was right there with them, and I anticipate much conversation about it for a long time. In some ways this movie is on par with a movie like Pinocchio – not a pleasant experience for a young child, but the messages are loud and clear. As always, Miyazaki does a brilliant job of evoking a wide range of emotions using sounds like foot steps, silence, wind, and voices. The movie is visually stunning, like all of his films. The evolution of the characters is well done and the viewer feels part of that experience emotionally and sensually. And, even though Chihiro finds herself in frightening and perilous situations, she becomes calmer and more convicted as the story goes on, and we get to watch that transformation. There are so many lessons and themes that run through the film. Particularly reflective of the Asian culture, is that Chihiro's success comes from constantly consulting her inner compass, and having a care about her actions, often using deference as a strategy to persevere. We rarely see such protagonists in American films. She does not get caught up in the material pursuits of the people around her and stays true to her heart. I particularly appreciate the cultivation and manifestation of love in this film. It is very true and in no way sexual, which again, is rarely seen in American films, unless the love is parent/child or sibling related. In summary, I think this is an amazing film, on par with Eraserhead for its eccentricity, and typical of the high quality we expect from Miyazaki. I recommend this movie for everyone ages 11 and up. It’s probably OK for younger kids, depending on your kids, but I highly recommend that you watch it with them, and I wouldn't go below 7 or 8.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byFreedomFromCens... August 12, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

I LOVE this movie!!! And always will! A classic!

I have to admit my affinity for dragons was one of the main reasons I wanted to see this movie as a kid. And oh boy did I love it...It warmed my heart and gave me that good feeling at the end of the movie where you think anything is possible...and life just seems to drift away for that moment. I especially loved the scene where she nuzzles her dragon-friend, that made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside as a kid ^.^
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bythewittyman27 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

wierd!

how duz every1 luv this movie so much? it wuz one of the wierdest movies ive eva seen, and impossible to follow. instead i suggest princesws mononoke for any1 looking for a good anime movie.
Parent of a 8 year old Written byMamawolf83 February 5, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Well made but a bit scary & dark

I saw this movie when I was 19 years old. While some parents feel this movie is okay for an 8 year old I dont think so. This movie has many very fightening images including: charaters being swallowed whole, a dragon nearly bleeding to death and many, many images of spirites that even at 19 scared me several times. If your child is more on the sesitive side as I was I strongly recoment against having them see this film untill they are a bit older.
Adult Written byDiary Ainzon September 12, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Spirited Away - A MUST SEE MOVIE!

This movie is a masterpiece of its own. Though it might not be appropriate for very young audiences but you will never regret the values and its amazing story that the movie holds. Everyone will be inspired for the courage, determination and love by the protagonist's role. It's a must watch movie for a lifetime.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byaeryn November 22, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Wonderful look at Japanese folktales

Rather than simply echo all the great things everyone else has said, I'll say this: I am a 25-year-old with a degree in anthropology with a focus on Japan and a minor in Japanese - so trust me when I tell you that this film is CHOCK FULL of Japanese culture. In fact, it's one of the best films out there (probably tied with Mononoke-hime) to present a nice overview of Japanese traditional culture and folklore. Parents who homeschool or just want their kids to have a good understanding of other cultures would be very, very well served by watching this movie with their kids! However, do yourselves a favor and read about Japanese folklore first. This movie is so very Japanese that it can be hard to understand it if you don't have some knowledge of Japanese folk beliefs. It's useful to learn about the cultural context of the movie and to study differences between Western fairy tales and Asian fairy tales - because at its heart Spirited Away is a modern Japanese fairy tale. For example, Haku is a dragon, a creature that in the West we tend to think of as evil and destructive - but in Japanese folktales, dragons are harbingers of good luck and felicity, and protectors of good people and entities like the Buddha. This film can be a wonderful way to experience another culture! But parents would definitely be well-served by learning a little about Japan with their kids before watching.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Educator and Parent of a 7 and 11 year old Written bykmillsma April 17, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

second only to "castle in the sky" movie

not as great as castle in the sky, but still very interesting
Parent of a 6 year old Written byjavamama926 March 11, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great movie, wonderful animation; good for relatively mature youngsters with supervision to help explain story elements

This is not a straight-forward movie that spoon-feeds the story to you, where it has a lot of symbolic elements in the story. This is not a movie you just turn on for your kids and leave the room, but I would argue that you shouldn't do that for most kids movies. Are there some scary elements to the movie? yes, the faceless "monster" can be scary and the witch can also be a little scary. There are magical elements to this story, which helps make it a fantasy and helped my daughter label it as an interesting story and not real. She first saw this when she was 5 y.o. and absolutely loved it; she was much more freaked out by an episode of Scooby Doo than this movie. I think there are positive messages in terms of the independence that the little girl, Chihiro, gains through the movie. The animation is as expected -- wonderful. The age appropriateness depends on your child (as always) and their ability to separate fantasy from reality.
Parent of a 7 year old Written bykejksnkfn October 10, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
This is my favorite movie! I love it so much, that I watched it about 25 times!! This movie is fantastic!! ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 3 and 7 year old Written bymiss panda September 24, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

i think this movie is terrific for older children

I enjoyed watching this movie with my 9 year old cousin and she definatly got the point of it, i wouldnt however let my younger son watch it as he is not old enough to understand some of the more intense scenes which are not violent but shocking and strange.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Parent of a 5 year old Written byjessaboaz March 10, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

MY favorite movie

Classic coming of age flick. The movie is about a girl who moves to a new town and has to leave behind her friends and start over. She's nervous, and a little scared. But by the end, she figures out that she can handle anything. This is my favorite movie. Not my kid's favorite, MY favorite. But my five year old loves it too. However, it is scary. My kid doesn't scare easily. I don't recommend it for the average five year old though. I'd say ages 8 and up.
Parent of a 7 and 9 year old Written byNiche March 7, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

A thoughtful visual treat

This is one of our family's favorite movies. Very clever, imaginative, inventive, and features a somewhat spoiled girl who develops independence and strength in a foreign land. A visual treat and pitch-perfect for our family which appreciates our children's entertainment flavored with less saccharine and more art and thought.
What other families should know
Great role models
Educator and Parent of a 4 and 9 year old Written byconnielove93 February 21, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A perfect Family Film

This movie is fantastic. This movie is not violent exept for a few paper cuts. The movie is about a ten year old named Chihiro who is a spoiled child and is worried about moving away. Her parents stop at a tunnel off-road to check it out and they find a shop with food and eat it, they turn into pigs and Chihiro must find a way to change them back. She finds herself in a magical world of spirits and she gets a job at a local bath house from a kind boy spirit. As weird as it may seem, at the end Chihiro learns a lesson about growing up. After her journey she becomes less of a small child and more of an independent adult. This movie was a fantasic journey into adulthood and away from the safety of childhood.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byJjSmihal April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

This was so bizarre!

I hated this movie. I did not buy this movie. Part of the reason for my loathing is information that most of this type of animation is made by people who also dabble in animated porn. Anyway. This movie was very strange and my daughter (age 5 at the time) didn't "get it" and it gave her nightmares.
Parent of a 8 and 13 year old Written byJonathan wood April 5, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

The most beautiful animated film ever

This is a film which is fine really a bit to scary for young children but a film they will enjoy and remember and watch again for the rest of their lives. Just invite 2 of their friends over for a sleepover and watch this film together it is a truly wonderful experience then again know your child and don't show this to the easily scared.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byArkmabat January 18, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great movie!

I love this movie. There are some violent scenes and blood splattered, but you have to keep in mind that this movie was originally targeted for young women, so it doesn't go overboard just for the fun of it. Honestly, I have a pretty weak stomach but I love watching this movie, just don't watch it while you already feel nauseated! There are positive messages about friendship, adapting to change, doing what you know is right, honesty, forgiveness, faithfulness, hope and family.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 4 and 7 year old Written byamandolin December 14, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Really good movie

Both my girls (4.5 and 7.5 years) liked it, but they still were a little unsure of a few things. My husband and I needed to explain things during and afterward to reassure them. They now talk about it all the time and sometimes pretend to be spirits. Chihiro is a great role model and it has great message.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages