All parent member reviews for Star Wars: Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back

Parents say

(out of 23 reviews)
age 7+
Review this title!
Parent of a 13 year old Written byohya August 8, 2010

great, but some mild violence

What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byrolandobabel June 14, 2013

Nice action movie, with restrictions

It is an impressive movie, though not one with a clear ending. It has some scenes, not suited for small children: - darth vader kills/strangles someone at a distance - the confrontation of luke with a virtual darth vader where darth vaders head is sliced off and luke's face is visible, is kind of shocking for children - the suffering of Luke in the snow is quite dire. - the snow monster can be a shock - there is betrayal of Lando calrissian All in all a movie for children 8 years or older.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written bycamusa December 28, 2010
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 7 year old Written byResponsibleParent April 9, 2008
Parent of a 12 year old Written byTsion April 9, 2008

An Amazing, Engrossing Follow-up to an Amazing Epic!

THE EMPIRE STRIKES BACK is arguably the best movie sequel ever. It really continues the plot of the original instead of just making up some dumb problem for the characters in order to make money. The visuals equal, if not top, the originals, and the cliffhanger you are left with is simply, well, cliffhanging. The second in the trilogy delves deeper into the characters, making them less stereotypical and giving them real fears, concerns, and hopes. It also reveals a shocking truth about Vader's connection to Luke. Violence is the only thing to be concerned about here. Guns and light-sabers are rampant, but the violence isn't realistic or bloody. People are shot and they fall without so much of a groan. That's all it is. No language, no sex, and no drugs. This really is a grand moviemaking spectacle. Even if your kids can't or won't watch it, you should. Highly recommended.
Adult Written byDUDES!!! October 2, 2011

Very good, but intense

Iffy for the youngest...
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byMi3 February 6, 2011
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written by@@@ December 23, 2011

Screw Avatar--this is way better!!!

This is definitely one of the best action movies ever. The action, despite the fact that it isn't as flashy as in modern films, is hundreds of times more exciting. Also, the plot isn't built purely upon action. There's more depth in the script. It isn't just a few skimpy lines of dialogue stuffed with comedy like Transformers. This movie has everything that could be asked for in its genre. I don't think that I can say anything bad about this film. A real classic.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byPlague March 2, 2010

Star Wars: Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back

My favorite Star Wars movie hands down. The family will love this film.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byalexrollin April 9, 2008
Parent of a 1, 8, 9, and 14 year old Written bythejokerspencil January 29, 2009

Original Saga is the Best

This is the best of the best probably the best of movies to.
Parent Written byGeorge Robson March 2, 2016

The best movie of the entire saga!!

Empire has barely no violence at all and no sex. There is very mild blood at the end. This is really not unsuitable at all and should be supplied to all SC fi fans.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byPaul Wahlburg February 28, 2016

Sounds of Star Wars

Episode 5 of the great saga earned 3/5 stars for multiple reasons, First of all i want to highlight some of the great parts of the film. Sounds was a big part of the film and you could really see the impact of it, There was always background noise to keep you entertained and to ass effectiveness throughout the film. The movie was hardly silent and as a result the few moments of silence was really effective just because of the contrast. You cant complete the saga without episode 5 but also other films were done better. Even though this is the 5th episode, you have to remember its a part of the first 3 films that was released and didnt have the best special effects but that was minor compared to how good of a film it was. i tried not to be biased because i love star wars but this is a must see for any type of fan!
Adult Written byMichael Loughrie February 21, 2016

Made by a bad director, but still a masterpiece

This is the best Star Wars movie of all time. Probably the best movie ever, or one of the best movies ever, totally recommended!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byPastalover February 20, 2016

Do or do not, there is no try.

I give this movie 5 stars! The sound in it is just awesome. Theres never a silent moment in the entire movie probably except when Han & Leia are alone. There is a theme song for everything in this entire movie. Theres Vaders song, you know when he and his stormtroopers are coming even when you can't see them. Theres the lightsabers that make a "whooom whoom" sound, Chewys call which is just the weirdest sounds buuut it definitely goes with him. Even when Vader, Skywalker and Yoda use the force you can hear it, hearing the intro music you could tell its a movie full of journey and adventure. Theres the dramatic music when you know something like a fight is going to happen. The droids they can't talk but they have all these electronic noises. And the ships make a lot of noise especially when theyre taking off into light speed. This episode was one of my favorite because its when Luke finds out Vader is his father.
Adult Written byCheescake.eater2016 February 19, 2016

Strikes

The movie is the best movie of the sound is ear dropping. At no point in the movie the sound was never quite. Even as different characters I mean each character had a specific kind of theme that played whenever the spotlight was on them. I enjoyed the movie more better when the sounds went with the movie. As the thrilling movement made me part of the movie but just watched as it played out. Each character had its own theme and so you know who was in the ship. I've watched nearly all the movies but every time I enjoy watching the movie. Each scenes was perfectly made by the director, props to him. As one scene when the ship was moving side to side didn't actually look real. It just looked like the ship was just moving side to side. The favorite part:when Skywalker had faced Vader but skywalker lose but never died. The killer part was when they ended to movie when the ship had got away from Vaders ship.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byQmorgan408 February 19, 2016

The Perfect Sound

During the movie families will see a lot of action because this part of the Star Wars trilogy is very important due to the sound effects of the of each scene and each CGI tech of each scene. Within the movie you'll notice a lot of different sounds that portrays to each scene or thing in the movie such as tie fighters and the X-wings of the movies how it shoots its blasters and the sounds of it soaring the air as if it's going over your head and how it shows the sounds of dagobah planet and creatures and the errieness of the planet as well. All in all this is an amazing film and families will love it just as much as I did.
Parent of a 8, 12, and 16 year old Written bylauradavis723@m... January 25, 2016

A violent movie for an 8 year old

I'm 8 yeas old and Empire Strikes back is violent but is not bloody or gory. There's signs of human weakness and beloved old characters from the prequels. In all, I loved it!
Adult Written bykipwalker44 January 21, 2016
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byBestPicture1996 June 9, 2015

A truly epic follow-up

You know a sequel is good when its name is used as an indicator for excellent sequels. The stakes are higher, the tone is a little darker, and the characters begin to develop more and more, especially Luke, who goes through maybe one of the best changes in movie history, or at least receives the most life changing information. Sometimes watching it you just have to marvel at the special effects, they're practical but not at all cheesy (well maybe Yoda is a teensy bit), and I wish movies made their FX more like them nowadays. It has great one-liners, plot twists, cinematography, the "Imperial March" theme and all the other great music...there's a reason why it's considered one of the greatest films of all time. Maybe it's not in my top 10, but I can respect the universal opinion to have it seen as such.
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages