Kid reviews for Tenacious D: The Pick of Destiny

Common Sense says

Yup, it's Jack Black -- with an "R" ... really.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 12 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 33 reviews
Kid, 0 years old July 4, 2010

no, R is for 17 and over!

i don't like R rated movies, please don't make R rated MOVIES for 16 or any younger, it's bothering me thinking RATED R is for ages 11 (amadeus), 12 (child's play), 13, 14, 15 or 16+ movie. rated R is fine for 17 or 18+.
Teen, 15 years old Written byevolinag July 5, 2012

Crude, profane and druggy comedy has good music, average script

"Tenacious D in 'The Pick of Destiny' " is a music comedy starring rock band Tenacious D. Unlike in his other movies, Jack Black here plays himself (in an overall VERY fictional story) as the lead singer of his band, which is also known for crude and sexual lyrics. So the viewers who are not familiar with Tenacious D, but only with Jack Black as an actor will be surprised of this side of him. If you like Tenacious D's songs, you will have your fun with this movie, too. The songs are great, featuring three outstanding songs, "Kickapoo" (featuring performances by Meat Loaf and DIO), "Master Exploder" and "Beelzeboss (The Final Showdown)". Also, the short song "Classico" is really funny. Cineastically, the movie is not something special. It features over-the-top crude humour and the plot is rather average. But there are some really funny jokes, too (especially the reference to "Tribute" at the end of the movie that only fans of Tenacious D will get). Anyway, it is an entertaining movie with some great songs, and can be quite a lot of fun. But if you are interested in the music, rather get the album than the movie - you won't miss that much. Like mentioned above, Tenacious D are known for their crude lyrics. The songs have quite a couple of f-words and sex references. Even the song "Classico", which lasts for 58 seconds only has 11 f-words in its lyrics, and one "s**k my c**k". There is not much on-screen sex/nudity going on: in one scene Jack Black uses his penis to deactivate lasers, we see a really graphic bulge in his pants. While there is no nudity, it looks detailed (Hard PG-13 to R). While performing "Master Exploder" Kyle Gass has a guitar that looks like a woman's spreaded legs and Kyle starts licking on it, a girl in the audience suddenly puts her hand near her crotch, implyingly having an orgasm (PG-13). Overall, the sexual references in the songs are pretty graphic. The movie has some scenes of drug use - mostly cannabis. Know your child about the drugs, i can't tell you if your kid is endangered to do drugs. In one scene, Jack Black eats mushrooms and hallucinates (he is unknowing of that they cause hallucinations). There is little violence, nothing too strong. Jack Black dreams of having a gig ("Master Exploder") in which his voice causes several slapstick-like accidents, such as a microphone exploding. In one scene, his voice literally blows someone's mind: we see the top of his head exploding, and a gooey substance splashes onto a girl in the background (PG to PG-13, it looks too comical and fake to disturb or shock viewers). In a parody of "A Clockwork Orange", Jack Black is beaten up by the Droogs (PG-13, it looks worse than it actually is due to the music that is played during this scene). There are some verbal references to graphic violence. Overall, since this is a comedy and mature teenagers can make a difference between movies and real-life, it is okay for viewers around 14.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byEdco2010 January 1, 2011

Tenac

Good movie, 116 F word and other swears. Smoking and JB has to learn how to do "push-ups" in one scene.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 9 years old March 31, 2013

Awesome

This movie has a a lot of swearing but it is also very funny
Kid, 9 years old March 22, 2009

tenacious d review by critic07

Really funny, a comic gem that d fans and comedy fans will love. i mean it!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byAlyssaevans74 April 17, 2017

My all time favorite movie

This is my all time favorite movie. I absolutely recommend it. It reminds me of a comedic rock and roll musical, and you can be sure it's funny because Jack Black and Kyle Gass are the main characters. The movie starts out in Kickapoo Missouri with young Jabels aka JB (played by Troy Gentile) and his family. Troy Gentile was a perfect fit for this role. He literally looks like a miniature Jack Black not to mention his facial expressions are absolutely priceless. They are a very religious family, everyone except JB that is. The family is sitting down for dinner when JB comes into the dining room with his guitar that he named Monster Mash. He beings to sing his song Kickapoo that has extremely vulgar and inappropriate language for a kid his age, (but it's hilarious). His father escorts him to his room where he beats him with a belt then sings about how rock and roll comes from hell and that he has to praise God while he lives there. After he leaves, JB prays, but not to God, to Dio the singer. His poster comes to life and explains what JB has to do in order to be the awesome rocker he dreams to be. Dio tells him to go to Hollywood where he will meet someone and make a band. So JB takes some money from his father's wallet and runs away where he travels from Kickapoo to every Hollywood except the one he needs to. He finally makes to to Los Angeles where he meet Kyle Gass aka KG, playing guitar on the boardwalk. JB immediately idolizes KG and they play a song together called “Classico” which is also when they meet their soon to be biggest fan, Lee. After the song KG acts arrogant and walks off. Later that night he witnesses JB get jumped by a couple guys. He “saves” him and invites him back to his place. KG really thinks he's all that lying about writing songs with very famous rockers and saying he's writing a solo album called “the Kyle Gass Project”. JB asks if he can audition to be the singer and KG tells him he will teach him the ways of rock. He learns about the “crotch push up” and the “power slide” (a rockers single most important stage move) then comes the “gig simulator”. At this point, JB finally finds out KG has been lying the entire time. KG tells him he has to move back in with his parents because he already spent his last rent check. It turns out he bought JB a totally awesome customized guitar (I'm so jealous!). When JB sees his new guitar he tells KG they are going to pay the rent with their rock. There's a really funny explanation for why they named their band “Tenacious D”. They both have birthmarks on their butts. On JB it says “tenac” and on KG it says “ious D”. After that they go to an open mic at a bar for their first “gig” and there is another the week after with a cash prize. This is when they perform the song “the history of tenacious d”. The owner of the bar tells them they should write some new material. So they go home to write a masterpiece but unfortunately experience writer's block. They're looking at magazines of some of the most famous rock bands when KG notices they're all using the same pic. Crazy right? Well it gets better. So KG and JB go to a music store to look for the pic but come up empty so they ask the manager if he knows where they can find a pic like that. The manager (played by Ben Stiller) knows the whole story behind the pic. It's know as “the pic of destiny”. He tells them how the pic was created and why it's so powerful. He says they can find it in the Rock and Roll History Museum. This is where it gets really interesting. They go to Lee’s house and lie in order to get him to let them borrow his car. So they head towards the museum and JB falls asleep on the way their and has a dream of what it's going to be like when they get the pic. In his dream they sing the song “master exploder” which includes many wardrobe changes and guitar moves that are absolutely impossible, but super cool. Then they stop at a diner where JB meets a totally crazy dude known as “the stranger” (played by Tim Robbins). He has previously broke into the museum to find the pic but was unsuccessful and got his leg chopped off. He gives JB a blueprint of where he should enter in order to get in safely then he vanishes. KG and JB get into a fight which leads JB to taking the “shoelace express” the rest of the way to the museum. In the middle of his journey he stops to eat some mysterious mushrooms. He then went on an incredible adventure with his friend Sasquatch. He ends up falling out of a tree and landing by a sign that says he is only one mile from the museum. This is where one of my favorite songs comes in. He sings “Break-in City (storm the gates)” which I think is an absolutely hilarious scene. KG meets back up with JB in the air vent of the museum and they make up. Now they're in the museum and have to hide from the security guards. The find a map and determine the pic should be at the top of the “guitarway to heaven”. They enter the golden gates and climb their way to the top. The stranger told JB there were lasers so he has to use his “catlike reflexes” to maneuver his way through the lasers. I'm not going to spoil the ending but I'll give you some hints at to what is coming next. They utilize the skills they learned at the beginning (the power slide and crotch push ups) to escape the museum safely. There is an epic car chase with an equally epic song called “car chase city”. They escape the police and make it to the open mic contest BUT something happens to the pic and there is a HUGE plot twist. They end up having an intense rock off with the devil and you'll have to watch to see how it ends! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!!

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byXx that one bro Xx December 1, 2016
Uragh good... Um I watched this movie online and it was pretty good but cock in every sentence come on lol it was good
Teen, 13 years old Written byYouCanAgree June 6, 2013

Awesome, but explicit

A really great movie, but not for kids, man. Jack Black and Kyle Gass are pretty much the world's greatest band and this a rockin' movie. If you're fine with your children hearing f**k and c**k and stuff like that, then let them watch it. The movie is hilarious aimed towards teens and adults. There is a flash of breasts and you can see JB's schlong, although the underwear is covering it. Overall, a great movie.
Teen, 15 years old Written bymattguy15 July 26, 2012

awesoome but inapproprite

tenacious d in the pick o destiny was awesome i loved it but as a 12 yrs old even i know its way to inappropreate . it's funny but between jack black and kyle gass i am not sure if there try to have a swear off .f**k is used constantly then s**t is used alot then c**k also d*****bag is used once same with d**k and a** is used alot .not a lot of sex they mention doing c**k push ups and some girls acting sexy.jack black eats organic mushrooms they get high and smoke bongs

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byBailey Crawly April 29, 2012

Parents, Beware!

Do not let your children see this movie! There is rude humor, the film is full of satanic symbolism and profanity! Below is part of one of the songs in the film: "Can't you see he's the man/Let me hear you applaud/He is more than a man/He's a shiny, golden God!//If you think it's time to f**kin' rock and f**kin' roll out of control/Well, then you know you've got to rock the block/And f**kin' suck my f**kin' c**k/Cause when you rule, you f**kin' school/All of the fools out of their jewels/Cause if you think it's time to (3x)/f**kin' rock!//He is going to kick your f**kin' a**/And you know his name is Kyle Gass." Then he continues singing rocking and f**kin' rolling. It's profane against God as well, not appropriate for humans under 50, really! BAD!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byStevie111 March 5, 2012

Very funny

Good. A teen can easily watch this

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byKennyMcCormick October 3, 2011

For mature people.

Really funny! but if you don't like swearing don't watch, 115 f words, lots of s words and c*cks. Mature 12 year olds can watch.

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 14 years old Written bywatermelon888 May 9, 2011

good for all ages

love it

This title contains:

Positive role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byI_TellTheTruth January 7, 2011

17+

LOTS of swearing. And they show Jack's penis in one scene ... it's still inside his underpants, but he has an erection and the shape is quite graphic.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byHTFMime December 10, 2010

I actually liked this band when I was in middle school.

When I was in middle school I liked this band but I never saw the movie though because my parents would not let me see it back then.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byBestPicture1996 August 12, 2010

Big laughs

Very stupid movie, but if you have nothing to do catch it on TV because it will rock YOUR SOCKS OFF! This film can't really be described in a lot of words...you'll just have to see it. TEENS ONLY.

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byoctober1985 July 17, 2009
There's swearing, drug use and some sexual dialogue. It's not the worst R-rated movie ever, though parents may be offended by it.
Teen, 16 years old Written bymovieloverman1234 July 16, 2009
I love this movie. There is extreme language though. Ment for older teens. Want a fdunny movie then you have found It with this. Awsome movie but not for kids.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bybradley4846 June 26, 2009

Very Funny

Lots of swearing. some very explicit sexual humor

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycrippldbutalive June 12, 2009
This is one of those movies where you liked it but you didn't like it. It was OK in my opinion. I wish they could have taken out with Language and the Pervasive talk, so it would be appropriate for kids. This movie and his band TOTALLY ruins Jack Black's reputation with kids.

This title contains:

Language

Pages