Kid reviews for The Devil's Rejects

Common Sense says

A family of sadistic killers—a big no for kids.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 17+
Based on 21 reviews

Kids say

age 16+
Based on 22 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byashowiscool April 5, 2011
I've got to say, this is one of the most gruesome and disturbing movies I've seen. And I absolutely love it. You might wonder why a teen finds such enjoyment in movie gore and sadism, well trust me it has nothing to do with their intentions and we hate it when you turn off our R movie or accuse us of being disturbed beacuse of it. The truth is, its a movie. It's fake. It's fun. Escaping reality is what movies are all about. But anyway, yeah, this is one hell ride of a movie. Lots of gore, relentless language and a rape scene. But the movie is imensly entertaining and if your kid is mature enough, give him back his Rob Zombie DVD's.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written bytyturd43 April 6, 2021

This movie is one of the best grusome and bloody movies i have even seen i would recommened for people over 15 because it is super grusome and a lot of naked people in this but great over all movie

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byHorrorKing90 January 22, 2021

My favourite horror movie of all time

It is an amazing movie, the acting is amazing and the characters are fun to watch, however there are some scenes people may not want to watch for instance there is a graphic sex scene near the beginning of the film and there is also a scene of rape later in the movie but it works because it makes you hate the killers even more and it makes the finale of the movie even more satisfying (not gonna spoil what happens) it is quite brutal but not a great deal of blood but still quite bloody, there is ALOT of swearing in it, in almost every sentence, there is also a lot of drinking of alcohol and a lot of weed, cigarettes and cocain but overall it is a brilliant horror movie and my favourite of all time, definitely worth a watch.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byCarl Wheezer of... August 5, 2020

I Guess I'm More Accepting than the Devil!

I am binging all of Rob Zombie's movies, in chronological order. While I've only seen this and "House of 1000 Corpses" (This is the much-better sequel) I am confident that this is one of Rob Zombie's finest projects.

The movie is amazing, albeit quite violent, and the violence can be grueling to sit through. There are scenes of abuse, and one in particular around the 00:33:11 mark that is particularly disturbing. (It's a scene in which Bill Moseley aka Otis forces a woman to strip down to her bra and panties, and it's quite memorable, because of a specific other grotesque thing that happens in this scene, the woman's friends and husband are forced to watch, so you may want to set a 33 minute timer at the beginning of the movie, and just skip ahead a couple minutes once it goes off). There are sadistic murders and one torture scene featuring a Sheriff torturing the three main protagonists or antagonists, depending on where you stand, in which a cattle prod, a stapler, and nails are used. It is one of the gorier scenes of the movie, but not too disgusting. A man's neck is snapped. Multiple characters are shot. There are two different scenes that are sexual and violent simultaneously, the more graphic one is at the aforementioned 00:33:11 timestamp. A house is also set on fire, nothing graphic is shown. There's also a super-entertaining wild-west style shootout at the beginning and end of the film. There is a pretty high body count, and the movie is also much gorier and somewhat more sexualized than its predecessor (House of 1000 Corpses).


There is a comical sex scene in which a topless woman is shown "riding" Sid Haig aka Captain Spaulding, it ends poorly and is revealed to just be a dream. The beginning of the movie does start out with nonsexual nudity, (a dead, nude woman being dragged along a forest) as well as a woman showering naked, you can see her full-frontally when she's pulled out of the shower, still in a nonsexual manner. This is neither overly disturbing nor sexual, there's not much objectionable about a plain and simple depiction (although they are in slightly violent situations) of nudity.

There is a somewhat gratuitous amount of swearing, but not in a way that gets very annoying.

The performances from Sid Haig, Bill Moseley, and Geoffrey Lewis are all extremely convincing, (especially Geoffrey Lewis as Roy), and the performance from Sheri Moon as Baby is the perfect Bonnie minus Clyde. The performances from all of the friends and lovers in a motel being invaded are also fairly emotional, except for Brian Posehn's performance as Jimmy, which was a bit lackluster and just a cliché character in general. Overall, great acting, also notably Matthew McGrory's terrifying and simultaneously cutesy performance as Tiny. Many other amazing performances as well, William Forsythe's realistic performance as Sheriff Wydell, Michael Berryman's performance as Clevon, the list goes on and on.

The Devil's Rejects is, at heart, a movie about crime, grief, revenge, and a messed-up beyond belief family, with a surprisingly relaxing soundtrack. And it also has some of the most beautiful cinematography I've ever seen (the beautiful cinematography being at the end of the movie, aside from that, the camerawork is slightly shoddy and shaky, but it's not very noticeable).

So parents, as long as you make sure to skip that scene at 00:33:11, (and the other timestamps I've mentioned below) the movie should be suitable for most teens 14 and up, if your kid is either studying film or extra mature, let them see the movie as early as 12. You should watch House of 1000 Corpses first, although it's not needed per se. Both movies are free on Amazon Prime. Amazing movie overall!!!

Extra notes: Most graphic scenes to skip and their timestamps: 00:33:11 to 00:35:12 (gross rape-y scene), 00:43:02 to 00:46:43, (super violent double murder), 01:08:12 to 01:09:01 (sexual murder), 01:26:06 to 01:33:00 (torture scene, maybe a little longer than necessary, but just to be safe, I might go with that amount of time.
Teen, 13 years old Written bypattybateman August 2, 2020

Gory fun, only for those with a strong stomach

Watched this on shudder when I was 13. I watch a lot of gory movies so this didn't bother me, however I think most people my age wouldn't be able to finish this, that's why i'm giving it a 15+ rating. The first half and motel sequence was pretty much just pointless torture-porn (I almost turned it off during the forced oral sex) the second half had some story and was somewhat enjoyable. I would recommend this to fans of modern horror, I will be watching more of Rob Zombies work

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bysolarr.bubbelz December 13, 2019

yeet

sadly i saw this when i was 12. its too gruesome at that age. wait until 13.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byMovieMaster February 10, 2018

Really well done but very disturbing, NOT for children.

(See The Content Guide Under The Review)
Quality: Rob Zombie is a talented director, unfortunately a lot of his movies fail to impress me due to only seeming to exist for pure shock value but The Devil's Rejects is special. It is very well directed, the cinematography is great, the characters are complex and surprisingly the acting is on point too. I do find it hard to recommend this to families though as it is a very graphic film but is definitely a very good one.

Content Guide:
Violence: The movie centres around a family of serial killers and an vengeful police officer. As a result the film is extremely violent, featuring shootings, stabbings, torture and other forms of assault. All with rather bloody results.
Swearing: A lot of swearing but if you really are considering letting your child watch this violence is more of a concern.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byMovieGeek12345 September 24, 2017

Disturbing but surprisingly decent film.

The Devil's Rejects, the sequel to House of 1000 Corpses is often considered Rob Zombie's best film. While House of 1000 Corpses was a disgusting rip-off of Texas Chainsaw Massacre, The Devil's Rejects was actually an ok film. Although there are no likeable main characters featured in the whole film, it is shockingly very well made. The film is also surprisingly well acted, however the lack of likeable or relatable characters along with a few scenes that made no sense, such as characters absorbing extreme bodily harm without care (that plank of wood should have at least knocked out Otis) certainly bring the film's quality down. Overall despite my low expectations caused by the nauseating disgustingness and mindlessness of House of 1000 Corpses I was surprised to find out that this film is actually an ok flick, however it is not for those who cannot handle extremely disturbing scenes of graphic violence and nudity.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byChloe's sweets March 13, 2017

Adults only

This movie is recommended for a 18 and up this movie is worst than South Park do not let your kids or grandchildren see this movie
Teen, 15 years old Written byCtres January 2, 2017

This rob zombie movie is very bad then South Park Sheri moon zombie is a bad girl

Teen, 17 years old Written byTomiscool November 5, 2016

House of 1000 Corpses is Better.

Violence: 6!/5: Definitely The Most Violent Movie Of The 2000s.
Sex: 5/5: Much Nudity And Sex. Language: 5/5: F--k, S--t, Bitch, Ass, D--k,
C--k, F--got, C--t, P---y ect. Drugs/Smoking: 4/5: Much Drinking And Smoking.
Overall:20/20! OFFICIALLY ONE OF THE MOST INNAPROPRIATE MOVIES
EVER! This Would Be Atleast Okay For 18+, Maybe Even 19+. My Rating: NC-17.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 11 years old March 23, 2014

Violence!!!

Violence, nudity.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 February 3, 2012

Sociopathic film encourages sadism,revenge and a society full of minds of twisted,sick people.

I admit I watched this with my parents when I was about 9 on DVD in the unrated edition.I will say,that's the biggest mistake of my life.You are a warped minded parent if you let any kid under 18 see this.There are over 200 f bombs in the unrated and lots of cut violence is uncut.This film was originally rated NC17 as a warning to parents,but the MPAA cut it for a R(the unrated version is the NC17 version) for extreme violence,sexual and language.Offensive on every level.I have seen every single Rob Zombie film that has been made up till now and I agree this is by far the most offensive,with House of 1000 Corpses which I saw when I was 8 lingering somewhere close behind.Picking up where 1000 Corpses left,Sheriff John Quincy Wydell and his team attacks the house of the Firefly killers.Quincy's brother is killed in the ensuing shoot out and he vows revenge.The result?A massive combination of Grindhouse style violence,language and sex.Its rated NC17 by the way.Why would you want to have less sense than Hollywood?

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bymovieaddict725 May 15, 2011

No kid should see this. It will scar them.

This movie is disgusting. There's rape, merciless murder, and non stop language. There is nothing redeeming about this movie. Absolutely nothing. Don't watch it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bymynameisnick April 26, 2011

Good movie to watch when kids aren't around

Now honestly as twisted and messed up as this movie is, it never gets old, this a big NO KIDS movie though

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byReidboy95 May 21, 2010

Two thumbs up!!!!!!!!!!!

Well I just finished watching this movie and..........I loved it! Although this movie has messed up content it's great!!! I enjoyed trying 2 pick who's side I was on and the story was well thought out!!!
Teen, 13 years old Written byNapkap January 15, 2010

One of the Best Horror Films of All Time

A movie that is beautifully framed and shot, as well as amazingly written and acted, this is a perfect horror film. I do not have a single complaint. We love and hate the three killers at the same time. The movie draws you in and never lets you go until the credits start rolling. It's entertainment at its best.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byyummyyummy81694 August 25, 2009

Definately not just one star

This movie was actually VERY good. yes it was insanely violent, had TONS of language- 300+ f words, and sadistic rape and sex scenes. But thats no reason to give it one star. I was on the edge of my seat almost the whole time and the entire movie i could not decide whether to want the Rejects to win or if i wanted the Sheriff to win. ALtogether great, suspenseful, and very inapropriate for most kids under 17, but i saw it when i was 14 and im not messed up :)

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bymrwonka02 April 9, 2008
alot of intence violence and gore, it may disturb you, the language is very strong, and sex, it does have nudity. but it is good, it has plenty of humor, drama, suspence,and horror
Teen, 17 years old Written byDittochs64 April 9, 2008

Very Disturbing and Unsettling, good horror

This is a great horror flick for adults! I love movies with bloodshed and Violent sequences, for example the Punisher was, in my opinion, underated, but Devil's Rejects was too far over the top. A girl has her head exploded over the road in a car hit and characters are tortured and sexually abused. They say the f-word way too many times (528 according to imdb). NOT FOR KIDS, good horror though.

Pages