Kid reviews for The Island

Common Sense says

Explosive movie is best for teens and up.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 9 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 14 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byDoctorWhovian October 2, 2018

A movie that raises interesting questions and thoughtful concepts, both of which are unfortunately diluted by senseless action (Mild Spoilers)

The Island is a 2005 film, directed by Michael Bay and starring Ewan McGregor and Scarlet Johansson. Like so many other modern-day action movies, it raises some truly thought-provoking moral question, like: should clones have the same human rights as actual people? Do clones even count as people? but it is let down by a poor third act, and an over-reliance on pointless action and special effects. The story would have been genuinely intriguing if it had of been told without the excessive CGI and action content, but for now it is just a sore rehash of superior films, like THX 1138, Blade Runner, 2001: A Space Odyssey, and pretty much any other film that deals with themes of ethics, consciousness, and what it means to be human.
Teen, 15 years old Written byNeon_Fish July 19, 2015

Good

It's a good movie but could be disturbing for under 14s

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 17 years old Written byJocastaTheWeird March 18, 2015

Kind of blew my mind a little bit

Semi-futuristic film about cloning.
~~~~~
The good:
This, for me, was the kind of movie that's mostly pretty fun to watch, but that also makes me think a lot. It brings up ideas about humanity and stuff like that. Intense and deep and eerie and WOW. I really liked it. I can compare it a lot to Neal Shusterman's "Unwind," and Ayn Rand's "Anthem," which are both books that disturbed me, in a kinda good--definitely interesting--way.
~~~~~
The bad:
One F-word, one or maybe two S-words--if any other swears I didn't notice because they were likely more minor.
References to porn and pre-marital sex. One mild sort-of sex-scene (characters are in underwear but it's close-up so you're mostly just seeing their faces).
Some kinda gross views of partially-developed human clones. Fluids and stuff are scooped out of one's mouth to help 'im breathe. Some surgical scenes, notably one where a man wakes up during what may be heart surgery.
Lots of violence. Cars blowing up, buildings collapsing partially, that sort of thing. More worthy of note/concern is the injuries the characters get, though. A man gets his hand nailed to a door with a nail gun, and there's lots of gun shots and punching. Someone gets strangled. Oh, and lots of injections, many of them lethal.
~~~~~
Makes me worry, though, 'cause this all seems very plausible. I can totally see us making clones of ourselves in order to harvest their organs to keep us alive.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written byWildAnatolian December 15, 2013

The Island

Great move, some scenes can be more than a little disturbing though.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bySarahepr47 July 17, 2012

watch it!!

watched at school, great movie.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 14 years old Written byCalc77 July 16, 2012

Surprisingly Good!!

I just finished "The Island" and i must say it was an excellent 2 hours! It starred recognizable actors, that performed EXCELLENTLY!!!! The visual effects were surprisingly good for a 2005 title. There is some disturbing moments that may frighten younger viewers, as well as a few suggestive scenes (there was VERY little nudity). But overall a very good fast paced, action packed movie! If your child loves action/adventure films, and you are confident in their ability to view this film without an issue, then i say go for it!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 15 years old Written bysarahik695 March 1, 2011
i have never seen so many brand names in a movie

This title contains:

Consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byBrando804 June 25, 2009

Great movie expierence! Not one to miss!

This is one of the better action-thrillers I've ever seen, everyone should see it! No language, and some scenes that might be disturbing to viewers under 10.
Teen, 17 years old Written byLipGlossChck April 9, 2008
Teen, 16 years old Written bycyclone09 April 9, 2008

awesome summer movie!

this movie, although a little bit freaky and violent, is probably the best futuristic movie i've seen in a while. it is slightly disguting (surgery, halfway "developed" humans, etc) and kids need to be mature enough to understand that they are "growing" human adults....and also killing the clones once they have done whatever they were created for. 13 and up.
Teen, 15 years old Written byfrogusa005 April 9, 2008

Best Movie in a lllloooonnngggg time!!!!!

ok guys if you haven't seen this movie, it is a must for action fanatics everywhere. It is soo good. Funny in parts, and interesting because it is a very realistic portrayal of the future (2019). There are some rather gross parts and some "harvests" of the clones, but that is quick and then the action takes over. Protagonists kill or injure lots of nameless bad guys, but it is really a good movie. Great actors too (Ewan McGregor does a great job!!!!)
Teen, 17 years old Written byElvenDryad157 April 9, 2008

A great action movie that raises relevant questions

I viewed this movie last night and greatly enjoyed it. Yes, there are some downright disturbing parts and lots of violence, but overall I believe that you can get a lot from it if you take the time. Such as, the value of life, cloning, purpose. I was breathing a happy sigh of relief at the end. If you just want an action movie that has pretty good acting, check this one out.
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008

IT SAYS BAD WORDS IN THE MOVIE

Teen, 16 years old Written byCurbspaget April 9, 2008

Awesome!

This was a great movie, and not too violent or full of language.

Great fun for everybody!