All parent member reviews for The Kids Are All Right

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 14 reviews)
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byjorgeal95 January 14, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Funny, but the dark type

It was good. Bening gave a pretty good and, at times, hilarious perfomance, as did Moore. This is a movie about bringing someone into your life and how much they can change your family's life. I would see it again. Some semi-comic, clear sex scenes. Messages aren't good as adultery is depicted. Very much meant for older audiences, but I have a mature mind for a 15-year-old (as of January 2011). As stated before, it depends on the maturity level of the viewer. Worth watching overall.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byBestPicture1996 September 5, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Lesbian dramedy is a little underwhelming

After the enormous Oscar hype about this little indie that could, a couple of Golden Globe wins, and four years later, I eagerly pressed play to watch "The Kids Are All Right." I especially had an interest in the film after learning about the topic of artificial insemination, in which I was conceived! I have to say, the only edge this movie really has is the sex scenes and the fact that it's a lesbian couple...but the latter doesn't really matter, at some point you're just kind of watching a family drama unfold, the fact that it involves gay parents is irrelevant. And sadly, though I did enjoy seeing Ruffalo being a kind of hippy dippy donor-dad, the story wasn't all too compelling. Amid the sex and language though, there are great messages about what it means to be a family despite circumstance, and it has its funny and tender moments.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written byvolleycall2 December 10, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Just ok, graphic, dissapointing ending

This movie is not for kids. There are scenes with video clips of gay porn, lots of nudity and graphic sex scenes. I started off liking this movie but the ending left me with questions and it lacked closure for me. I think even as an adult, I found the sex scenes unnecessary and sometimes too graphic.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bywonder dove May 4, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

A wonderful surprise!

Amazing movie! Really loved it. It was nice to see Josh Hutcherson play a more mature role. I love every actor chosen for this film, especially Annette Bening (brilliant in American Beauty!) The storyline was very different and interesting which kept this movie refreshing and definitely fun to watch. Although very explicit sexual themes and conversations (including gay man porn shown on a TV more than once), it all blends well with the story and the more you watch it, the more you see past all the dirty stuff and appreciate what the story is really about. I found lots of parts heartwarming & emotional, also funny. Absolutely not for kids - 17 should be okay. However, I'd imagine this would be very uncomfortable to watch with family!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byshootingstar11 June 10, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Not All Right for the Kids

I'm thrilled that gay/lesbian couples are FINALLY becoming a more prominent part of film and television culture. That being said, this is not a movie for kids. I'd even go so far as to say it's not for teens, either, given the amount of explicit sexual content (gay, straight, all of the above) and pretty deep themes, such as infidelity, what constitutes a family, coming of age... substance abuse... Not a movie for family night, but definitely a winner.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written bymlbrown March 29, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

There are better movies out there and my time is too valuable

I thought it was ok. My son hated it. He said what was the point? The tv series Parenthood is far superior at showing relationships. This could have been a better movie if the biological father had not gotten quite so involved in their lives. Must every parent totally mess up in the movies??
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 9 year old Written byCBeth February 6, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Disappointing, given the interesting subject matter

I honestly had higher expectations for the movie, based on reviews. But it was quite disappointing. The story was obvious, and not as compelling as it might have been. I did not see a positive vibe between the Bening and Moore characters --- nothing to do with them being lesbians, it just portrayed a marriage that I did not see as positive; also they did not seem to have a believable chemistry. I would actually say that the Bening character was not a positive role model (not that this excuses the adultery either but Moore's character was more real/sympathetic). I gave it a note for the drinking and drugs, although the message was clearly that one should not engage in irresponsible behavior around those items. Anyway, clearly an adult film, not for kids.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byFancyChristine15 January 10, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Ok movie but not for kids or young teens

The movie was ok. I agree with what a previous poster Gina wrote though. I think that the story line was kind of unbelievable. It was about a lesbian couple that have been together for over 18 years and then one of them just all of a sudden starts having sex with a man. It was kinda weird but the movie was ok.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bydricelo December 26, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bykhan2705 November 4, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Excellent witty dramedy and superb performances .... loved it.

i so wanted to see this movie and i did, loved it so much. excellent movie. it is well one of the best movies this year and definitely one of the best family Drama/ comedy too. i don't like to compare but i think American beauty was seriously better than this that is a classic but this one was excellent. I absolutely loved The Kids Are All Right. Everything that belongs in a great Oscar winning movie is here. The performances from Annette Bening (Nic), Julianne Moore (Jules) and Mark Ruffalo (Paul) are fantastic. They bring great depth and humour to their roles and they make the story and the characters they are portraying to be believable and we get to care for them and also feel for them. Expect, Bening, Moore and Ruffalo to be up for acting Oscars next year as well as a Best Original Screenplay nod and I would not be surprised if this is nominated for Best Picture and even comes close to winning. The film is that good. We have a great character study, a film that resembles real life and is believable and is anchored by great performances and writing. This is certainly one of the best films of 2010 and I look forward to seeing this sweep the award season and with reason to. julianne Moore plays the character that experiences the biggest arc in the story - nurturing and self-reflective one minute, spontaneous and regretful the next. For an actress often at home in period roles that require her to express repression, this feels like her most liberating work. As Joni, Mia Wasikowska - superb in Tim Burton's redux of "Alice in Wonderland" earlier this year - has the coltish manner of a young Gwyneth Paltrow and brings lucidity to her maturing character. Growing up from his cherubic turns in "Little Manhattan" and "The Bridge to Terabithia", Josh Hutcherson appears to be graduating to troubled adolescent roles with ease. The simultaneous sympathy for all characters that Cholodenko has beautifully crafted makes the resolution of conflict so much more meaningful and the message of unconditional love all the more powerful. It's further proof that the best dramas, the ones that leave the biggest impact, paint characters in many shades of gray and not just politically speaking. an excellent movie, The Kids Are All Right is a smart, cheerful, character-driven relationship comedy. In other words. Do watch.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bymoviemadness September 6, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
The Kids are All Right is an honest, funny, dysfunctional, emotional, and graphically sexual portrayal of the American family. The individuals in the film were so believable and relatable. I laughed and cried my way through the whole thing. The challenges of parenting, allowing your children to grow up, love, changing friends, changing priorities, changing goals, the meaning of family, growing up, and confronting dissatisfaction within long relationships are frankly and capably represented. Well worth the watch for adults and older teens/college students. There is too much sexual content and mature subject matter in here for anyone younger.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bysdddtd August 16, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Missed Opportunity

This movie missed a great opportunity to portray a really good story with a great message by adding the VERY graphic porn and VERY graphic sex scenes which did not add to the story only detracted. It could have been a great PG13 movie. Good acting, nice story. My kids see gay and lesbian couples with kids and this could have helped them understand their similar struggles and concerns. Too bad a potential good movie became a loser. Hollywood needs to learn that for the majority less is more and sex is sexier when left to our imagination.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 17 year old Written byGina_ August 8, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

disappointed... Hopes dashed for a great Lesbian indie

HATE IT!! Steryotypical america that has a Lesbian cheating with a man, she is not remourseful of her 18+ year relationship. There are several a porn like sex scene of the man and woman and joking undertones of the 18+ year relationship, no even remotely sexual tension betweent the couple. Sad to me because there were some amazing moments that brought tears to my eyes, but I was so infuriated with the complete lack of regard for the relationship and the fact that a Lesbian would NOT be excited to see some dude's junk I couldn't enjoy the movie. I had such high hopes that this would be a great "real" movie on that struggle especially that it was an indie flim, however Hollywood wins again and the movie is catered to the male idea that we all need the "man" ... very disappointed, no wonder america doesn't take a stand for Gay marriage, according to this movie it's laughable to cheat on your partner of 18+ years... shame on you
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bybporter28 August 6, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

A brilliant, mature, and intelligent look at life...

I can not possibly speak more highly of The Kids Are All Right. The film will certainly garner several Oscars, and in my opinion, Best Picture. Cholodenko has truly outdone herself. An independent masterpiece.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages