Kid reviews for The Legend of Tarzan

Common Sense says

Tarzan returns to the jungle in violent action-adventure.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 19 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 22 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written bychloe_was_here_ August 3, 2016

Legend of Tarzan

So I went and watched this with my brother's girlfriend and my little sister. My sister is 11, and I honestly don't know if it was the BEST idea to take her. The movie overall, had a good plot, had beautiful scenery, and had amazing actors (they really killed it), but there were also some things that I should warn you about. Violence: The violence wasn't too over the top, but people get shot, crushed by stampedes, and a man gets a wound stitched back together by giant ants (You have to watch the movie to really understand what I'm talking about). Sex: I think this is what most parents are concerned about with this movie because there seems to be this rumor that there is a sex scene in this movie. Well, let me put this straight for you. Tarzan and Jane are obviously crazy in love, so expect a lot of kissing. There is the one "sex" scene where they kiss passionately and move towards the bed, but nothing is shown except for when they wake up with the blankets covering them up almost completely except for their shoulders. Language: Samuel L. Jackson is one of the lead characters in this movie, so if you thought that this movie was going to be squeaky clean in the language section, I'm sorry but you were wrong. He is one of the only characters who swears in the movie, though. Expect some uses of s**t, a**, the N word, and some joking about a gorilla's "nuts". Drinking, Drugs, Smoking: Some drinking, but nobody gets drunk or anything. No drugs. And a few people smoke cigars. Consumerism: I honestly don't know why anybody would be horrified to see a logo, but still, let me put your minds at ease when I say that there is no consumerism in this movie. Overall this was a good movie, that definitely earned its PG-13 rating. I would watch it again, but probably not with my sister. I hope this helps!
Teen, 14 years old Written byPhoebehoang August 5, 2016

Story line hard to follow

The storyline was very hard to follow and we couldn't tell what was happening. Also it was VERY unrealistic and not very amusing.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 9 years old July 4, 2016

Interesting story, but boring action and characters in violent reboot like action movie is lackluster and dumb but has some good effects.

This dumb and overlong action thriller has a complicated story, and starts off in the late 1800s in England. It's been ten years since John Clayton -- was known as Tarzan in the Jungle and met his wife, Jane. When he's invited to go back to the Jungle to find out information about slaves in the Congo (run by Leon Rom, the king). When John and Jane get there, they meet their childhood/teenage/young adult friends that live in a beautiful village, but when a brutal attack becomes present, lead by Leon Rom, Jane and the rest of the villagers are taken hostage on a boat, and now John/Tarzan must do anything he can to save them. When he meets up with a man from England (played by Samuel L. Jackson), he must travel through the Jungle, meat some dangerous animals, and battle some bloody battles. Will they get Jane and the Congo people safe? How will this tale end? Violence 4/5: Violence is usually quite strong, brutal, but bloodless besides some gory wounds and animal attacks. Several Congo men are shot by Leon and his army in a scene next to the home of a tribe, and dead bodies are seen. Crocodile eats a man alive as he screams. A heard of several different types of animals trample and crush men, destroying buildings and bones. A man battles a gorilla with bashing, smashing, and eventually, the gorilla biting the man. He is seen stitching the gory wound with dead ants. Tarzan's parents are killed, his father is beaten to death by a gorilla, and his mother dies of sickness. Leon strangles villagers and tribes men with his rosary as they scream. A man executes a leader of a village point blank with a bullet to the head, as everyone screams. Bloody flashbacks to Tarzan being threatened by a Gorilla with lots of screaming, and when his Gorilla mother is brutally killed/shot with some blood visible, Tarzan kills a teen boy in revenge by slashing him with a knife. Burning villages. Beating. Suffering slaves nearly drown in water. Some disturbing wounds. A gorilla is shot and the dead body is seen, and the other gorilla's smash and break human's necks to ensure that they're equal. Some jump scares. A man shoots another man's ear, leaving part of it bleeding, and blown off. Men inside of a train car are smashed, shot, and have their skulls bashed in by Tarzan in his parter. Dead bodies. Explosions. Rapid gun fire from a machine gun. Dozens die. Guns, arrows, and shooting. Battle scenes. Tweens in peril. Brief joke about how a man was very close to his priest, implying he was raped. Sexual content and nudity 3/5: Some passionate kissing between Tarzan and Jane. When Tarzan first meets Jane in the Jungle, he kisses her legs, and sniffs her, and we briefly hear him starting to preform an act, but she stops it. Brief, non-graphic and mostly implied sex scene between Jane and Tarzan, and he is seen kissing on top of her, and their bare backs, and legs are seen. Language 4/5: One use of "s--t," "a--," "b---h," "the N word," and a few, hard to hear uses of "f--k," which are sometimes inaudible. Drinking and drugs 2/5: Some smoking, and adults drink homemade, hard liquor, some get drunk. Time for the quality part! Quality starts 1 star, closer to 2: This dumb and boring sequel although has an interesting plot and some slightly entertaining moments, it's filled with horrible, lame affects, and scenes that don't make sense at all. The acting from Margo Robbie is not too great, and it's extremely easy to see that all of her reactions are fake to everything in the story. Most shooting, and even the bloody deaths look completely fake, filled with CGI. It's also historically not true, including some real life cities in different counties, and the way Tarzan fights is physically impossible for a human. This underwhelming movie, although has a few entertaining moments, a few good affects, and a somewhat interesting story, it's boring, dumb, and most of the affects are horrible, not to mention the sucky acting. My rating:PG-13 for intense sequences of action violence, bloody images/wounds, a scene of sexual content, language, and drinking.
Kid, 12 years old July 5, 2016

Great movie

Great movie for kids over 10. It has some violence but overall great.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byDaHenster August 4, 2016

Exciting action movie is light on plot but still entertaining

Violence - 13+ Sex - 12+ Swearing - 10+

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 17 years old Written byilovemoviesandtv July 26, 2016

Interesting but sloppy

This movie had some great scenes and cinematography, but it also had really terrible parts and bad CGI. There was too many extreme close ups and awkward slow mo. The dialogue felt strange at times. The plot was sloppy and honestly all over the place. There were some scenes where I did tear up and they could have been so much better if the plot was well-constructed and the story flowed. Opportunity missed.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 14 years old Written byPro. Pretzel July 3, 2016

Awesome

This movie is my favorite movie of all time, but keep in mind that it is as violent as any superhero movie and the intesity and fighting is much more real and emotional than any superhero movie. I would recommend 11 and up. But do see it, it was amazing!!!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byBATMAN7 September 12, 2016
Teen, 14 years old Written byrebo344 August 5, 2016

OK, but average.

The Legend Of Tarzan is an interesting movie, yet forgettable. Samuel L. Jackson is the best part of the film, Christoph Waltz, Margot Robbie and Alexander Skarsgard were good. The movie has such a HUGE budget and the CGI at times was distracting, jarring and cartoonish. The story itself is decent and the cinematography is beautiful, but I wouldn't watch this again. Grade: C+.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 16 years old Written bySlendyDaMan July 23, 2016

I really liked it

Very good movie with great action sequences. Not for little kids, too violent including brutal executions. Mild swearing. There is one sex scene, which is not as minor as Common Sense Media makes it seem. SPOILERS a villain uses a rosary to kill someone slowly. Might upset some religious people.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 14 years old Written byKingRobert December 24, 2017

Fine but nothing that I was expecting

I was wanting to watch this movie for a while now but I wasn't expecting it to be a drama/romance movie. But that doesn't mean there wasn't any action, it was very brutal and intense. Sex is pretty high including several passonite kisses and a sex scene. Language is very infrequent.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byPipeCine August 6, 2016

Tarzan Yells In Anger Through The Jungle

It seems that the man of the jungle will always have a place in modern film. After 104 years of to know the story created by Edgar Rice Burroughs about "Tarzan", David Yates (he directed the last four films of the wizard more famous of the history), Adam Cozad and Craig Brewer reinvented the classic keeping the origins intact, but transfiguring the future of the character of a form gloomy and dark; many products have been inspired in the legend but none like the of Tarzan in the 19th century. Alexander Skarsgard interprets to a different Tarzan, who poses in each frame, it gives some elegance to the film, but reduces the coarseness of the masculinity of the original, nevertheless, it is a good renovation. Jane (Margot Robbie, our intrepid Harley Quinn of "Suicide Squad") portrays the essence of a woman of the 19th century, refined, frank and fearful, although Robbie impregnates it a pinch of feminism, something very characteristic of our time; I can only say that Jane is not a damsel in danger, perhaps, it is she who save to Tarzan. Comical integration that can not miss is called Samuel L. Jackson, Washington Williams is the companion in the long trip to the Congo. And the best for the end, I have always been a lover of the villains of Mr. Waltz ("Spectre") and with Captain Rom adds an interpretation a little more burlesque with trace of his previous performances, but with a new face, a spectacle in every word, in every dialogue, in every shot. With a not very frequent prologue in the current Hollywood, the film puts us in the nineteenth century, where John Clayton (name of the king of the jungle) converses with national congressmen in order to travel to Congo to prevent the extermination of a tribe very dear to him, he clearly accepts and after a short love affair, where Jane wants to go, but Tarzan refuses in order not to lose her, Jane, Tarzan and Williams initiate the perilous trip through the wet and dangerous jungles of the Congo. Hours after they settle in the tribe (with a implicit sex scene, Yes, Tarzan has needs too), they are ambushed by Waltz. Tarzan plays James Bond for a few minutes, but he is aggressively hit and remains unconscious for a few seconds, ideal period time to kidnap some members of the community and Jane - the goal was to capture Tarzan, not to Jane -. I do not why Hollywood wants to invade each story with romanticism, Tarzan and Jane have romantic potential, but no more love, it already was enough. There is a beautiful and insightful component, in addition to the chases, fights or stampedes. We have witnessed a long trip in which illustrate the beginnings of a child grown in the jungle, an expedition that goes back to 1918 with "Tarzan of the Apes"; series, films, TV films, comedies, animations, dramas and even pornography have been based on the story. It is implausible not knowing the foundations of the guy and "The Legend of Tarzan" knows very well handle that past, Yates was intelligent and objective by omitting the beginnings that no one in the movie theater was willing to return to see, subtly positioned are found flashbacks that objectively elucidates the origins and they added the first moment in which the wild man met Jane. Support plots, which are accommodated with total convenience and complacency. The film respects the parameters imposed by the story, it does not require millionaire special effects nor technological artifices, however, it avails itself of both. Fidelity of a work towards to its reference is essential if you don't have a sufficiently unusual idea to eclipse the original, this time they decide to leave the past behind and projecting a Tarzan that continues with the same ideals of earlier, Jane is fresh and determined and Jackson is the humorous part, despite this, the loyalty and novelty to be injected in the film are underestimated by the somber harmony of the final result. "The Legend of Tarzan" suffers from many shortcomings, nevertheless, it executes action scenes with total perfection. It has long I do not saw a film with so much excellence technical. The best thing the reinvention of Yates was the majesty of his scenes. Shot perfectly positioned - just in case, Were Tarantino or Spielberg involved in this? -, angles geometrically precise, focus thoroughly outstanding and a shocking visual landscape. While many of the few animals on screen are executed by CGI or animatronic, the film retains the same perplexity of "The Jungle Book" by Jon Favreau. Technically, one of the best movies of the 2016 and an of the more innovative and dark stories of the man of the jungle, "The Legend of Tarzan" is a good escapist entertainment for put a side superheros, animations or catastrophes. A professional cast, memorable action scenes and a near-perfect cinematography are intimidate by generic long scenes, cliches of the genre and a sluggish pace.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 15 years old Written byJMS12392952 May 30, 2017

Its okay

The Legend of Tarzan is better than I thought, but not amazing. The action scenes in the jungle are very entertaining. Tarzan swinging through the trees is cool to watch. The bummer of this movie is it is too long and the pacing is very bad. Overall, another mixed bag film.
Teen, 16 years old Written byChloe's movies May 29, 2017
Teen, 15 years old Written byChloe Treska's candy April 18, 2017

Ok for a 11+

I have this movie on DVD and I think this movie is recommended for a 11 and up to watch this movie and it is like the Disney movie
Teen, 15 years old Written byKathy joe and Chloe April 3, 2017

Ok for a 11+

This movie is recommended for a 11 and up to watch but the legend of Tarzan is like the Disney version of Tarzan
Teen, 15 years old Written byChloe Lynn treska March 25, 2017

Ok for a 11+

Good Tarzan movie
Teen, 15 years old Written bySick bubblegum March 24, 2017

Ok for a 11+

Good movie for 11 and up
Teen, 15 years old Written byChloe's sweets March 13, 2017

10 and up

This is a great movie I think this movie is recommended for a 10 and over to watch the legend of Tarzan is almost like the Disney movie
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheReveiwRanger October 27, 2016

Not what I expected

The plot was hard to interpreted. Great action just too confusing .

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language

Pages