Parent reviews for The Queen's Corgi

Common Sense says

"Family" comedy has crass jokes and sexual innuendo.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 14 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 6 reviews

Wondering if The Queen's Corgi is OK for your kids?

Parents: Set preferences and get age-appropriate recommendations with Common Sense Media Plus. Join now

Parent of a 12-year-old Written bycagey11 May 9, 2020

Wow...

We only could stomach the first 10 minutes or so of it... the Trump / FLOTUS caricatures (yes, caricatures) felt out of place in a movie whose target audience was children.. and trust me, if I'm saying it was too much, then it must be bad.

When Trump wants to breed Melania's dog with one of Elizabeth II's corgis, he tells the dog as she inspects her prospects, "Grab 'em by the puppy." Do 9-year-olds get this? Probably not. But COME ON. Additionally, the Trumps' dog tries to force herself on Elizabeth II's corgi. It was at that point that we decided this was not the movie for us.
Adult Written byVbruce85 March 22, 2020

I'm confused

I'm genuinely confused. After seeing a trailer a few months ago at the cinema, we decided to watch at home when we found it was on Netflix. I sat down to watch it with my 7 and 12 year old. It started off... Ok. It then got suuuuuper wierd when the presidents dog tried to have sex with the royal corgi main character Rex. Whilst he clawed himself away and tried a number of tactics to stop her from kissing and mounting him. It was very very wierd. Slightly awkward as it was very obvious what was going on as they referred to the dogs as "girlfriend" and "mates". My kids are aware of what this means in the animal kingdom... So this was strange. I didn't carry on watching as I found it quite odd and unsuitable for my children.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bymndad07 January 26, 2020

Just a few funny bits and then all awkwardness

There's about five minutes of funny and cute dog stuff at the beginning (all of which is in the trailer). After that, it's just awkward, from the girl dog forcing herself in the main character to the main character deciding to steal the bad dog's very sexualized girlfriend-dog because she's "hot". There's also poorly chosen language, like "damn right" a couple times and "hellhole".
Bottom line, kids maybe 8 and under will be briefly amused at the cartoon dog antics and not pick up on the rest. Much older than that and it's just awkward with precious little that is funny or otherwise redeeming.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bynduns April 26, 2020

In some respects, it's not as bad as it should have been, and in other ways, it's worse

In all fairness, this wasn’t entirely unpleasant as at least parts of it were okay. For starters, despite constant bad attempts at humor throughout, at least the film is never loud or obnoxious and even the soundtrack doesn’t try to be hip or cool, save for this one very painful musical number. But even then, that was clearly intentional.

While the film does follow a very generic path with everything being about as predictable as you can get, at the very least, it wasn’t painful to sit through and there were two jokes that got a chuckle out of me. Even the scenes with Trump were perfectly tolerable as the film makers neither kiss up to him or mock him with jokes we’ve all heard 1000000 times. He’s just portrayed as, well, a guy in the movie. On top of that, most of the dogs introduced in the shelter Rex winds up in are fairly likable.

However, all of this simply prevented the film from being unbearable as it does just enough wrong to qualify as the first truly bad film I saw last year. While the supporting characters are fine, the main leads are not. They set up obvious character arcs for them, but their development isn’t believable. Rex starts off pampered and spoiled, but rather than slowly learning about humility and togetherness, he just suddenly embraces it because the situation calls for it and nothing else.

But easily the most poorly handled is Wanda who only falls for Rex because of his status as the queen’s top dog and then just suddenly changes her mind and starts to legitimately care about him in the span of a minute. I wish I was exaggerating. All this great stuff she does for him throughout the film means nothing as all I can think about is how shallow she was at first and how sudden her shift in character was. It’s like the writers had a checklist of commonly seen character arcs but had no idea what to do with them.

And on top of that, the story loses quite a bit of focus during the second third, seeming to have no real idea of what it's trying to be. As such, while this film isn’t as painful as I thought it would be, it’s still bad.

But considering the low expectations I had, the fact that this is bad isn't what angers me. No, what angers me is that the first 5+ minutes are actually really good. They establish everything, the characters, their personalities, the main conflict, the lesson Rex has to learn, they get all of that down pat without any dialog. Reflecting on that makes me realize this movie actually had more potential than I initially thought. If the animals didn't talk or think like humans, this movie might have actually been legitimately good.

Oh yeah, like others have pointed out, this feels like it shouldn't have been aimed at families. I'm all for mature humor in family films, but this movie goes way too far, especially with the implied attempted rape from Trump's dog.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byJodiWhite90 February 4, 2020

Awful film.

My 4 year old wanted to watch this because she love dogs.

I honestly have no clue who this film is made for? It's not suitable for young children (it has a very forceful implied rape scene) and it's not aimed at adults? It's just a really weird movie that has no clue who it's target audience is meant to be.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byMommyon731 June 4, 2020

Don’t do it!

I literally made a Common Sense Media profile so that I can put a warning on here for parents. This movie is horrendous. Never mind the fact that it makes Trump looking like a bumbling idiot. The Trump’s dog has come to mate with the Queen’s dog. The first ten minutes has me reeling. Trump tells his dog to go “grab them by the puppy”. She rides a pretend horse and mimics humping it. She chases the queen’s dog and says she’s hot for him. All the while the queen’s dog is running and saying no. Nearly every line spoken is a double entendre. And it has all the makings of a rape scene.

Yes, these are dogs, but they are humanized. It’s as if the makers wanted to make their rated R movie but veiled it in animation. I can’t even figure out the intended audience here. We turned the movie off after 10 minutes.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written byPammyf May 1, 2020

Absolutely Not For Kids

What were these people thinking?
Pure Puppy Porn.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byHollie Garner September 11, 2020

Adult movie disguised as a kids movie!

Where to start... mocking Pres. Trump and the first lady, drug use, a transgender shows up, male on female abuse, attempted murder, cussing. And its rated PG!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 5, 7, and 16-year-old Written byKrisrh01 August 30, 2020

Not for young kids

I feel it is rather disappointing. I thought this would be very cute for my 5 and 7 year old. But by far too many sexual innuendos and references to drugs. My line was the cross dresser.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bybeardeddad August 19, 2020

Unnecessary Oversexualization

Considering this is a PG and being targeted at children, there are some very uncomfortable scenes. Within the first 10 minutes there are unnecessary Donald Trump misogynistic sexual references, a clear over sexualised female ‘tarted up’ dog who basically forces a younger innocent dog to mate with her using over eager harassment and blatant disrespect. It’s peppered with inappropriate and frankly unnecessary lewd jokes and references.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byDiariver August 12, 2020

Tacky

The movie disrespects our President. No matter what Party one is, I think most parents want their children to learn respect for the elected leader of our country. Plus, the sexual humor is inappropriate to all children.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byAskque August 2, 2020

NOT for children

This movie sends a terrible message and is inappropriate for any child. Its animated and about dogs but the rest is horrible. They should be ashamed of their PG13 rating.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byTrailwood June 21, 2020

Absolutely inappropriate for kids

This move is filled with violence, sexual references, and even jokes about suicide. It is completely Inappropriate for kids of any age.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byTropicalismyzen June 21, 2020

Terrible. Waste of time. Not suitable for young kids.

I lost interest pretty quick. I would rate this PG-13 (at minimum) due to the language, violence, and sexual references. Male (Queen Elizabeth’s Corgi) and female (President Trump’s dog) are expected to mate. The male dog doesn’t want to mate and asks if the female dog if she understands the meaning of no, all while the female dog proceeds to try to force herself on him. Gross! The movie makes fun of the president. No matter what party you are, or what party a president is, I find it very tacky to make fun of the leader of our country. There’s some bullying and scenes where one corgi basically tries to kill another corgi. It’s just ridiculous. Not even sure who the target audience is suppose to be. Terrible movie.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language