All parent member reviews for The Ring

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 28 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byMostlysane April 6, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

My favorite horror movie.

This is my FAVORITE horror movie!! It only has 2 (maybe 3-4) really jumpy-scary parts. Everything else is just creepy and very suspenseful. There's an element of mystery to it which I enjoyed. I don't recall any swearing although there may have been. The only "sexual" scene is when Rachel (the mother) is putting her clothes on however she never has less than underwear on. LOVED IT!!
Parent of a 11 year old Written bykellebag January 3, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Scary movie, judge by YOUR kid's standards.

If your child is easily scared, no matter what age, this is not for them.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 5, 9, 11, and 14 year old Written byJamesRobertson January 4, 2009
Adult Written bygavin m. jackson April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Couldn't Live Up

This is a film that couldn't live up to the scary first act of the film. It drones on, and on, asking more questions that it doesn't attempt to answer, and ends with an extremely silly scene.
Parent Written bylolboy55 December 9, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

for teens

i watched it when i was 5 years old and it was not that scary probably the scariest part is when she comes out the tv
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bycritic sense November 4, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Recommended Rating: 14+ for moderate violence, intense/frightening scenes and language

This Japanese horror film is mostly mild on the violence (the most violent parts are when a man electrocutes himself in a bathtub and when water turns blood red after a horse jumps off a boat), however it has some scary scenes that may be too frightening for younger viewers. The atmosphere is dark, intense and unsettling throughout. There are some eerie thematic elements and the end is shocking. The language throughout the film is mostly mild, and only occasionally spoken. Some characters smoke cigarettes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bylemonlover July 19, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

It's okay.

The mvoie has a scary plot that will frighten young kids, but the PG-13 is accurate. It also has some swearing like "p***k" and b***h." But most kids at least 12 or 13 could handle it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bywonder dove June 26, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Creepy!!!

For hardcore horror fans, this movie isn't too scary but the concept of the movie is very creepy. For people who are not horror buffs, this film will probably scare you to the moon! I love the horror genre, and I found this one pretty good but it's more on the quiet side. With Rachel (main character) trying to figure out the mystery behind the tape, there's no real scary action until towards the end and bits and pieces throughout (like a shocking suicide incident, or a mad horse going crazy and killing itself by falling into a river where blood is seen...to name two). I think it's a perfect film for mature teens because the story is straightforward, without any major violence. A drug is mentioned once (marijuana) and there's basically no sexual stuff (except for a reference to spending the night with a guy). It's much scarier watching alone in the dark if you're looking to scare yourself straight...but definitely worth watching!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byFilmManiac May 9, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great horror movie that is actually quite scary NOT because of violence.

What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byS0CKM0NKEY September 30, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great MOVIE!(:

This movie was really good! It started it of with a good plot of teens pass down a tape will kill you in seven days. The girl(Samara) will come out of tv and leave you dead. It was a good idea. I just watched Ring Two and that was a good movie too. If you like this movie i suggest you should watch the 2nd one.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written byOHMOM16 June 14, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

The Ring's Rating of PG13 is Suspect

As a parent, my strong opinion is that this movie never should have been rated PG13. It's a great movie, don't get me wrong. However, I can't imagine letting kids who are 13 see this film. It's exremely intense and very frightening. I think just the level of tension in this film is too much for kids that young to handle. I honestly think this needed an R rating for that reason - plus language. A great movie - but should be reserved for older teens/adults.
Adult Written by22LowBrass December 4, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

For any kids 8 and older as long as the parents are around

Anyone over the age 10 can see this film by them self. There is nothing scary about this film. This is defiantly not scary at all. Its a starter horror film. If your kid can not handle this film then dont move on to other types of horror films. Note that this is a J-Horror film so the worst part is after the film when people think that samara is right behind them.
Adult Written bykhan2705 October 30, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

creepy ....... disturbing horror thriller.

A good horror film with a cool concept. Gore Verbinski's style is unmistakable. He has left this work well marked with his stylistic shots, and suspenseful progression. Very creepy and a bit strange but it has a good mix of everything. psychological horror always must be sure to not be too slow-paced, because then it becomes boring. The Ring is a perfect example of what I consider a good psych-horror movie to be, because it unfolds like a mystery and keeps the viewer cerebrally involved...as it scares the crap out of them.The thrust of "the Ring" isn't only to entertain and to make shiver. It is also doubled by a reflexion on the power of the image. One of the images of the film depicts a woman in front of a mirror looking at the camera. So, she's also looking at the viewer. This is unhealthy voyeurism that the movie denounces like the insensible media which expose to the mainstream, woes and sorrows of the victims and so manipulate the viewers' fears. The sequence during which Ann Morgan's husband is incensed by Rachel's will to learn more about Samara rings thoroughly true. Moreover, these seemingly maladjusted images embody symbols: the chair and the lighthouse illustrate loneliness, the figure at the window (a hint at "Psycho"?, 1960) might symbolize parental severity. The creepiest, clammiest, twitchiest squealfest in months. Successfully envelops us in a disturbing experience. disturbing, unsettling and downright creepy.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 year old Written byjkks76 October 23, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written byParentwholovesmovies September 25, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

The Ring is such a great movie!

This movie to tell you the truth is not that inappropriate! It is scary but it's not like a bloody, gory, slasher film it is more like a thriller/drama. I watched it with my 10 year old and he was on the edge of his seat.some parts made him jump SPOILER! like the part when the girl died and the mom found her body in the closet or whatever (by the way this part is not bloody! the reason why it made him jump was because she looks like a zombie!) NO MORE SPOILERS! also the cursed video tape has some disturbing content on it like a box of cut of fingers wiggling, a tack goes through a finger nail and it rips off the finger but this scene is brief!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Parent Written byPlague February 25, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The Ring

Scary as HELL! Watch it, but not wit the kiddies.
Adult Written bylevi1beck February 2, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

OK but not for the easily scared

A good scare but if your kids are easily frightened no matter what age even up to 15 i wouldn't recommend it as you may get some sleepless nights. This film isn't for everyone but you could try getting it free from www.rewards1.com/index.php?referrer_id=1426138 rather than buying it and realising your never going to watch it as your children are too easily scared but still quite a good film if you enjoy horror.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bygreen_goblin May 8, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

A film for OLDER TEENS! Not for kids.

Intense film, although not scary. It's very disturbing and atmosphere is out-of-this-world.
Adult Written bycrackerjack5 April 11, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

WOW!!!

THE scariest movie of all time. It's not for kids...not at all. But it's very good for teens who love horror films. It's not so much violent as it is disturbing. The scary scenes stay with you for a long time. Not for the squeamish or easily scared.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byElmo9607 March 20, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Very good, not gory at all, but will give you the creeps!!

This movie is scary in more of a creepy sense. It WILL disappoint people who are expecting gore. There are some scenes of dead bodies, but they are only shown for a second or two. Overall, it has a very, very creepy feel that will linger after the movie is over. I loved it...and it's unfortunate that more horror flicks aren't as good as this one!

Pages