All parent member reviews for Tinker Bell and the Great Fairy Rescue

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 16 reviews)
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written bywood12piper October 29, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Good little Tinker bell movie

I rented this based on other reviews from this site and it was spot on. My 4 1/2 yr old daughter, who has not yet been bitten by the Disney princess bug, thankfully, likes tinker bell. She wanted to watch this over and over. It had a sad part which made her cry and a few scary scenes but she was ok with them as they were fairly brief. The dad finally comes around in the end and learns his lesson. The other thing I thought was a little wacky, was that the fairies were responsible for changing the seasons and for making rainbows, not quite the message I expected. Recommend for ages 4 and over, it might be a bit too scary for 3 yr olds.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Parent Written bymom2twogirls1boy November 17, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Finally a Great Disney Movie Perfect for Young Viewers

Wow, Disney finally came out with a movie that doesn't involve name calling and person on person violence! Bravo! I like this one the best out of the 3 Tinkerbell movies out thus far. It's the tamest and the "chase" scene is very benign. My 3 and 5 year old girls love this! I love when I hear them putting their hands together and chanting "faith, trust, & pixie dust!" You're only young once!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 year old Written byMom2Peanut November 8, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
My two year old LOVES this one. There is less violence than the last Tinker Bell movie, and I think the positive message is easier to find. My daughter now loves to have glitter or 'pixie' dust sprinkled on her while she thinks happy thoughts and then flies around the living room:) I feel a little off about how much disney pushes the products, but we fix that with staying away from the huge stores, lol.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 4 year old Written byhypolla October 17, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
gReat.. my child verry happy.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Parent of a 3 and 5 year old Written byLizAllen October 11, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Loved it!

My 3-year-old and I watched this together. We both loved how much we learned about fairies thanks to Tink and Lizzy building the fairy guide book. We also loved the deleted scenes on the DVD. Tink's friends rescue scene is tense but not overly so, my daughter was completely fine. I was also thrilled with the message to encourage imagination and belief in magic.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 1 and 3 year old Written bybrinoni June 22, 2013
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Sweet but scary for sensitive little ones

Our 3 year old is quite sensitive so found the scenes with the cat chasing the fairys very scary. He also had trouble understanding why the daddy didn't want to play with his daughter and why he was sad when she was asleep. That being said, out almost 2 year old thought it was a hoot and thoroughly enjoyed the fairy hi-jinx. It is a lovely tale with a sweet ending, just be wary with sensitive children.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of an infant, 2, 5, and 10 year old Written byAG Fan Parent December 10, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Amazing! =)

Recently, I watched all three of the Tinker Bell movies that were on Netflix (the first three, but not The Secret of the Wings) with my 5 and 10-year-old daughters. Wow. They were all great for younger kids movies, but this one particularly stood out. As an adult and mom, I expected them to be silly, but even I was drawn in. This one is very capturing, and you really feel scared and worried for the characters as supposed to knowing they will all be okay. I was torn between wishing Tinker Bell had left Lizzy alone and wishing she would stay with Lizzy. There isn't anything bad in this -- it's perfectly 100% harmless -- but it's not cheesily clean either, and rarely am I more into watching a G movie about friendship then anything else. This has the same gang of fairies, but they're all entertaining and meaningful as usual. Vidia, the "mean" fairy particularly stood out in this one, and she's definitely my new favourite. Not only at the "happy ending," but at the beginning, too, she acts more like Tink's friend then enemy, and her help leads to Tink's safe recovery. She even saves Tink and is instead captured (by Lizzy' father) herself! Lizzy is also a very nice character. While I think we're all sick of movies about fathers who just don't have time because of work (is that all family movies are anymore.....), this one instance was a little bit different and was certainly very well done, to say the least. The house they lived in was beautiful and magical, and Tink's fascination with their car (that lead to Vidia's recovery) was a very entrancing touch, that made us all think more about OUR car! ;) Overall, this is a great pick. Right now, it's Watch Instantly on Netflix, so hurry! I would recommend watching the others first, but when you get to this one, you'll probably like this one the best!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byBeckstar October 31, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

would not see again

I was a bit disappointed in this film. I was unhappy they included humans and was hesitant about watching it at first. I did like it, but I wouldn't see it again
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 4, 4, and 7 year old Written bymagasalee March 18, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 4 year old Written bynancymcjensen November 25, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Perfect rainy day movie for little girls

This is my 4 year old daughter's "go-to" rainy day movie. She loves Tinkerbell and imitates her "fixing", has built fairy houses, and asks why Vidia is so cranky. So it's actually prompted some interesting discussions in our house. For my part, I can watch this with her without falling asleep, the music is decent (I've caught myself humming the opening song) and the graphics are beautiful. There are a couple of situations that are a little tense, but overall this is a very sweet story.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Parent of a 1 and 3 year old Written bypatricia09 October 7, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent Written by4mykidos October 7, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great movie! even my boys loved it!

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 3 and 6 year old Written bygroovybobby September 27, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, I watched it with my 3 year old son and 6 year old daughter. My son got a little bit restless during the middle when there wasn't enough action, but my daughter was enthralled the whole time - even calling out encouragement to the characters on the screen, something she has never done before. I thought it was great to see the "mean girl" (Vidia) in a different light, and it was great to see the group of fairies accept her into their group. Well done!
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 4 year old Written bySenecasmommy06 September 23, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
I watched this movie with my 4 year old daughter and we both really enjoyed it. I thought the movie was sweet, and overall a good Disney movie for the younger audiences. My daughter did however say that she thought it had a few scary parts (when Tink goes underneath a car, when the cat is chasing them, and when the fairies are in the boat). Although she said it had some scary parts, she laughed and smiled through the majority of the movie. In my opinion it is a pretty safe movie.