All parent member reviews for V for Vendetta

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 20 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byMovie Man August 15, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Intense and Disturbing, but very Well Made for 17+

Parents: This is not an action extravaganza; it is a highly disturbing, complex, and well made sci-fi morality tale with intense politics, provacative material, and some good action sequences. There are many disturbing issues (many of them graphically flash or are protracted on-screen), including torture, mass murder, governments killing hundreds of thousands, experimentation, child molestation, families being taken away from children and tortured/murdered, imprisonment, discrimination against homosexuals, and, finally, anarchy. A child is shot on screen (disturbing). A man is burned alive (his hands are seen on-screen; quite frightening). The action can get rough too; throats are slit, chests are impaled, people are smashed against floors and walls, etc. But, if you can stomach this material (and there is something almost constantly disturbing going on), then you should be in for a rare film that puzzles the mind, makes you think, and best of all, shocks you with two great twists in the middle, leaving you eagerly awaiting grand finale. But know this: if you are looking for a spectacular, epic final battle, I'm afraid you must go elsewhere. Otherwise, enjoy!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byworkethic April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

read the book.

V for Vendetta is based on a graphic novel writen by Alan Moore in the 80s. Many colleges have this book in their curriculum. I have not finished the book myself, but I have noticed the movie adaptation is mostly true to it. But not 100% In the not-so-distant future, the "former united states" as fallen as a result of a futile over-seas war which has crippled much of europe. England has risen into power by way of media manipulation and fear/faith tactics. Their once elected leader assumes role as a totalitarian..."for the people's protection."...after an alledged "biological attack" that killed 80,000 people. Persecution of minority groups, homosexuals and non-christians soon follows. Possession of questionable, offensive or "blacklisted" music, books, art, films and demonstrations of political satire are all punishable by death. Like in any such oppressive society, a revolution is inevidable. As V quotes "The government should fear it's people. The people should never fear their government." V for Vendetta is about the makings of such a revolt. A tortured, but charming soul, V sets out to assasinate the chain of command in the government's regime and pave a way for the people to rise against what's left of it. Meanwhile, he demonstrates his determination as he demolishes government buildings and hi jacks TV stations to announce responsiblity for his actions and broadcast his agenda. On his path, he adopts Evey, the daugther of political activists who were executed for their "crimes." V teaches Evey what it takes to be so driven by an idea that you do not fear dying for it. Children under the age of 15 may not find this movie very appealing. There are many long winded rants in reference to Shakesphere and revolutionary events. The violence, although not terribly gorey, is quick and bloody. The world in which V for Vendetta takes place in, is cruel and desperate. Children and women are often abused by figures of authority with no one (except V) to save them. There is one scene where a little girl is shot dead by a police officer for defacing a Big Brother slogan in her neighborhood. As a result, the people turn against the officer, beating him with shovels and other garden tools. Evey's good friend reveals to her in private that he is "living a lie" as a heterosexual TV host and shows her his private collection of black-listed items included a Quran, a piece of pop art mocking the chancellor, and photographs of his gay lover. Later that night, he is beaten and dragged out of his home by police for a Benny Hill-like stetch he wrote for his show in which he mocked the government's incompetence. While imprisoned, Evey discovered the auto-biography written on toilet paper by a lesbian telling her tale of persecution and imprisonment. In this tragic story, the woman onced lived happily and peacefully with her same-sex partner until police were sent to tear them out of their home, imprisoned, tortured and put to death. This is the same case for most character's background stories. There is a lot of pain, anger and fear throughout the movie, which younger viewers may not understand. But the happy ending is that they all become free to be who they truely are. Free of fear and free of persecution. These are ideas that people kill and die for everyday. Overall, the story is touching, revelant and smart. It takes some deal of understanding both historical and current events to appreciate V's violent resolve without condoning the violence itself.
Parent of a 9 and 12 year old Written byBrandi44 June 5, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

What are some of these people talking aboout?

First of all, the only reason this should be R is because of the storyline that is probably too complicated for younger kids. But if you are rating the content, this movie could be PG-13. Seriously guys? Whoever thinks you should be 17 and older to watch this film are WAY to protective over there kids... Anyways, great movie worth watching if your 13 and over so you understand this movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 7, 16, and 17 year old Written byMild Mom May 22, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

SHOCKED to read review from 9 yearl old!

I can't believe your first review comes from a 9 year old! Where are the parents of this child. Obviously watches loads of inappropriate material to think the violence wasn't bad. There is no way a child this age can understand the message, its pretty heavy content for an adult! Am a bit concerned that my just turned 16 year old has had to do a film study of this at school!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educator and Parent Written bygorgeguy July 7, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

I approve!

They say there is no positive messages? I heartily disagree. The British government is corrupt and what will change it? Definitely not voting. For kids, there are many violent movies out there with obvious bad guys and the good guy always wins. The bad guys in this are less clear, but again gives the viewer a chance to think is V's actions are right or too extreme? I agree that it is violent, but the message of stopping a truly corrupt regime (think of America between 2000 - 2008) via "any means necessary" does prove somewhat instructive. While the climax does make me pause, I was truly thrilled with V's effort to create change.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byThemp4wiz4rd May 3, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great movie. Helps teach your children to think for themselves, and to share their ideas.

The point of this movie wasn't what you were seeing. There was an underlying message that this entire review has missed. Violence was simply the artist's medium to convey the idea to not believe everything you see, and to question everything you think. Yes, the medium is crude, but it is realistic. This is a great movie to show to 15+ year olds who are capable of self-thought. If the child has had information spoon fed to them their entire life, then it moves from a great movie up to a must-see. How Cynthia Fuchs managed to miss such a phenomenal moral that everyone should learn at one point or another is baffling, and aside from the violence, V (the main character) would make a decent role model. I would suggest showing your children how Ghandi prevailed in the same way as V, but without the violence. For it is truly the same story. Hope you enjoy it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byNeonKennedy November 10, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Violence is not heavy. A few brief swear words probably wont have a negative affect on kids.

I see V for Vendetta as a political film. The audience might start to question the main characters actions as the film progresses. Taking place in London, the surrounding environment has a big problem with human rights and equality. The society is corrupt. The movie focuses the spotlight on the two main characters who decide to bring justice in a way that they believe is proper.
Adult Written byLauraEve August 17, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Review

Violence is medium, there is one very gruesome scene which lasts for about 6 minutes, and some scenes near the beginning where violence is present. . Death is an issue, but done without gore. There are scenes of woman dancers in revealing, feather covered costumes on two occasions, and the beginning scene there is a short shot where the main character is in her bra.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byeat_trucks January 5, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Troubling and almost insightful.

Brings up interesting questions, though I wish it had spent more time looking at the politics and people's willingness to surrender freedom out of fear. Lot's of violence. But a very enjoyable movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 12 year old Written bybobdylan July 10, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

N for Not For Kids

I liked it a lot but i think it's messages may go over some kids' heads and i thought that the throat-slashing finale was WAY overdone, not too mention the many bad words and the sexual implications.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byorcadin9 March 27, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

good movie, why R???

i think that this movie isn't that bad and shouldn't be rated R I know that it's violent but not realistic.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 3 year old Written bymessenger December 13, 2008
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

this is not a kids movie but not why you think

so many reviews lose the message of the moviebut the real fact is the movie does have violence and sex but the thing is the movie message is more about how ideas never die and we deserve our rights i think violence solves nothing permently but some times you have to change it with violence for peace to even have a chance existing this movie is deep and thought provoking that raises many moral points like what would you do for peace by what means all parents like me should watch this movie and figure out if your kid will see it for more then just another movie with knives but for the message it holds
Adult Written bywolfunc April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

amazing

this movie is amazing any one over old enough to understand it should see it
Adult Written bybethlthomson April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

bad

bad movie
Adult Written byRachel D April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Excellent thinker

I was really impressed with the complexity of this movie and it makes you think. There is a lot of violence so be warned but the overall plot and issues it addresses are very relevant to today.
Adult Written byGhcool April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bySyndacin April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byMort555 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great movie for it's target audience

This is one of the biggest surprises as of late for me. I didn't expect much from this movie but I was pleasantly surprised. The movie had a great story with action and humor sprinkled throughout. This movie makes you think so if you don't want to this movie is not for you. If you are over the age of 17 you should give this movie a try.
Adult Written byzdevil April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byreaper13546 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY