Parents say

(out of 74 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Adult Written bymetalheadsouthpark July 30, 2009

Easter Eggs you don't need...

This movie was tougher to rate overall than most, while specific characters were never good role models, the overall message of the movie was positive (the lessons good, the way they were learned, not so good). I loved this movie, especially considering I saw it in theaters, and am somewhat familiar with the novel (I have a copy I need to finish 100%!)... I would say this movie could have earned a NC-17, but because of the overall message, I would allow an average 16 year-old to watch it. The more inappropriate content is actually harder to find, I recently bought the "Director's Cut" Blu-Ray with digital copy; strangely the digital copy is the theatrical version, however, this time while watching, I noticed things I hadn't in theaters; The Comedian begins watching a movie, that looked as though it was setting up for pornographic content, and has a dirty magazine on his coffee table. During the scene where Adrian Veidt catches Rorschach and Night Owl treading in the snow, the movie the comedian was watching re-appears on the top monitor to the right of Veidt's head, and there are explicitly pornographic films playing on two other monitors, one visible fairly long. Another potentially offensive monitor showed a crucifix with Jesus' head replaced by that of a goat (this could be considered Satanic.) Veidt's monitors are shown often, but are only that clearly visible, at least with highly offensive content for that sequence. Other than these scenes the offensive content was fairly blatant. Good movie, fun to watch, and if your 13-15 year old kids aren't observant, you could let them watch, as long you will be there, and you may make it a one time deal, so that they don't find the offensive material!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Adult Written bybetsfio July 30, 2009

Over the top violence

I found this movie so over the top violent, that I left halfway through the movie. I would never want my kids to see this movie, at any age!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 1, 3, 12, and 16 year old Written byNikkiV March 24, 2009

Not for kids

This movie is definitely not for kids. It was a very aesthetically beautiful movie and had great characters, but definitely too much for kids (almost too much for me). The violence is very intense and there are very explicit sex scenes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byDanny21 February 25, 2016

Not suitable for people under 17.

It has three nude scenes including a sex scene (about 30 seconds long) and strong violent sequences. (Including gore)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymoviemaker201 June 13, 2013

Underrated at times, I liked it.

Some people just don't like it. Either the reviews loved it or hated it. I personally think it was a good film. Although not as good as the book, I still don't hate it. The story follows a band of super heroes named the Watchmen, in an alternate 1985 in which costumed adventuring is outlawed and Richard Nixon is still president. Some have hung up the masks, but the brooding Rorschach (masterfully played by Jackie Earle Haley). When a former mask named Edward Blake, aka the Comedian gets murdered, Rorschach is on the case. His theory: someone is killing off masks. Nobody believes him, until former super hero Dr. Manhattan gets banished and a man granted super intelligence by the name of Adrian Veidt\Ozymandias is attempted to be assassinated. Is the sociopath Rorschach actually right?-----------------------Violence: 10\10 ----- Boy, if you thought the book was gory, wait till you see this! Lots of blood, beatings, implied butchery, and one particularly graphic though brief shot of a man's arm being crunched. (The skin rips, revealing bloody bone being crushed.) ---------- Sex: 7/10 ----- A sex scene or two, one definitely more graphic than the other. Thankfully, you only see the outline of sensitive parts. Dr. Manhattan wears no clothing, resulting in quite a bit of non-sexual nudity. ---------- Language: 9/10 ----- Comedian says a lot of F-Bombs when he's drunk. Some infrequent Sh-ts, H-lls, D-mns, and A words. --------- Drinking, Drugs, and Smoking: 6/10 ----- A woman is implied to have a drinking problem. Comedian and Silk Spectre smoke. Comedian is drunk sometimes. ---------- Overall, this is actually one of my favorite on the Zack Snyder catalogue, and I can't wait for Man of Steel. See you then!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bygamenerd323 November 17, 2009

Second best superhero movie, best is and will be The Dark Knight

This movie is violent, but the violence is shown in an artistic manner, not just killing. There is explicit sex, but there is little nudity and it's not gross nor constant. I defintley liked watchmen, but like everyone else, I didn't like it as much as the dark knight.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Parent of a 8 year old Written byBuddyWeb August 22, 2009

Hard Edged Comic Book Mobie

For comic book fans, Watchmen represents one of the great story achievements for mature audiences. The film is as dark, scary, and brutal as the comic book, which means that it earns the Rated R rating. It's a long, but very good movie for adults. The violence is hard to watch, even for adults, but the story pays off. As an adult, I also recommend you check out the Watchmen comic series, but not with your children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byilikemusik23 July 23, 2009

A diffrent kind of superhero movie, but a great one!

I have to say that for 2009 Watchmen is deffintly one of my favorite films that has been released this year! It had everything that i was expecting! A dark story line, good action sequances etc etc. However im pretty sure most people know it's a superhero movie and a lot of kids like those kind of movies. Parents! TAKE THE R RATING SERIOUSLY ON THIS MOVIE!!! THIS IS NOT FOR ANY KIDS UNDER 16! There is lots of graphic violence throught the movie and some of it is rather disturbing, one character who isnt human is naked throught most of the film and his cgi penis is visable quite often, there is also a bit of swearing and a somewhat explicit sex scene. I read the graphic novel before seeing the movie and it followed the book which was also great very well. It's one of the ebst movie's ive seen this year but it's deffintly not for kids!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byBroDude May 15, 2009

Faithful to Source

I read the Graphic Novel, which I enjoyed, and the movie was faithful, in spirit and message, to the novel. The Cinematography was beautiful, the acting and actor selection was nearly perfect, character development was good too. This movie, like the novel, begs the watcher to ask themselves about human nature and good versus evil. Like the book it made me feel uneasy and it affected me on a gut level in a strange way. This movie is as good as your going to get in an adaption of a comic book. Yes, there were moments of brilliance but something was lacking. Maybe to slow at times, cheesy at others, and it felt inconsistent with itself (if that makes sense). I was rated R, so I expected violence, language, and some nudity (This was the director of 300). I did have a problem with one sex scene that was attune to a skin-a-max late night movie; it was over the top and not necessary. Definately not for kids under 16. Not a popcorn movie or date movie, but is a make you think movie. Ps. I am thirty, the review options would not allow me to go past 17.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byMurphy04 February 5, 2017

One of the greatest films of all time

Watchmen is one of the best films ever but it does have lots of extreme violence swearing and even a sex scene (with nudity) and is not suitable for under 16 This is by far the darkest comic book film ever Sex 5/5 Profanity 4/5 drinking/drugs/smoaking 2/5 Violence 6/5-The violence is so extreme it goes over the limit
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byXx Marley Xx January 9, 2017

Boring dark and two violent

Parents need to know that this movie is Realy bloody and grusome and not even good! Just completely boring the action is to violent two dogs fight over a women's leg a man gets his arms cut off oil is poured over persons face! This movie is to complex and dark don't let your kid or even a teen watch this! Read the novel instead
Adult Written byMovieboy321 September 21, 2015

One of the best movies i have ever scene... But its too graphic

this intense thematic, dark mortality tale is a good one but includes strong violence of people being blown up, skin peeling, fingers exploded, cleaver to the head, wounds, gory and many graphic moments. The one sex scene out of the 5 sex scenes was shown one of the characters getting a blowjob. D.r manhattan walks around naked showing his butt and penis. there is a lot swearing and used in the exact definition. the book is actually true to the comics which I love the movie contains a lot of martial art violence and graphic violence. THIS MOVIE IS NOT FOR ANYONE UNDER 15 But this movie has messages of teamwork but this movie is hard to watch. talk to your kids about the violence and the mortality of the story
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bychristian2011 August 26, 2012

Fantastic film based off the graphic novel. However the content in this film is NOT suitable for children 16 & under.

Watchmen isn't your averge "superhero" film where parents bring their kids along. It's rated R for a definite reason. This is a dark, complex and gory morality tale (like it says above) based directly off the graphic novel and it contains very graphic violence and gore, explicit sex scenes including rape, strong language, and disturbing images including the grisly aftermath of a murdered child. The storyline takes place in a alternate version of 1985 where war is taking place between Russia and the U.S., and Russia finally came up with nuclear weapons. However, it shows Dr. Manhattan who possess god-like powers who he can manipulate and destroy literally anything that comes to mind, and the U.S. uses him in order to intimidate Russia and that makes the other Watchmen useless in the process. Later, it shows Ozymandias, the mastermind behind the Comedian's murder and the one who uses Dr. Manhattan with his power to blow up New York City in a destructive attempt to prevent World War 3, so the U.S. and Russia team up in an effort to stop Manhattan, plus ruining the peace between Russia and the U.S. Clearly this shows that it's a dark and gritty morality tale, not a "take your kids to see" Superhero film. Besides this, for people at least 17 and over, this is a great well-written film based off the famous graphic novel and it should not be missed! =)
Adult Written bydarthsitkur August 22, 2012

It's a good movie but kickass is better

While I did think this was a good movie, I like kickass better, kickass also takes on the scenario of what if superheroes were real but it's more fun and over the top
Adult Written byPoint_Particle April 14, 2011

Appropriate for a 13 y/o for a 15/16yo who can analytically look at the story.

This movie, along with the comic, is one of the best stories of my generation. It is very gritty and graphic story line, but that is not always a bad thing. The movie highlights many of the less favorable traits of humanity, and it shows throughout the story how some characters become "horrid" and how others view the negative human traits. This film, for me is a philosophical adventure and i think if you want to watch it with your younger children, you should discuss what the point of the film was on a philosophical level. Talk about what the author and director wanted the audience to get out of the movie. P.S.: Some people really hate this movie, which i can understand, it was written by a semi insane(in my opinion) genius author. The story is very deep and everything from why Dr. Manhattan is naked to the horrible things the comedian commits has a reason. Go into this movie with an open mind.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of an infant, 2, 4, 7, and 11 year old Written bylindsey678 January 29, 2011
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byStepMomSterToo January 11, 2011
Iffy for 16+. That is RIDICULOUS. One of the male characters walks around naked, with full frontal showing. Um... yeah, no thanks on that one. Very gory, lots of blood, lots of violence, a very raunchy sex scene. I will not be watching this with my teens. Yikes. Great movie, though. I my 17 year old watched in on their own, not the end of the world, but won't be recommending it to them.
Adult Written bydudeman123 July 19, 2010

A great movie experience!

Well common sense did get this review right The Watchmen is really not a superhero movie. It is a dark, voilent story of the world ending in nuclear war and a murder mystery which is tied together at the end. Personally this is one of my favorite movies. The watchmen is so well written, the dialouge is the best part of the film. The effects are wonderful and the music fits in the film perfectly and, for the most part it stays true to the graphic novel. It really is a wonderful but extremely voilent film.
Adult Written byThatKrazyGuy April 12, 2010

You Must Watch "The Watchmen"

This movie is very original and the ending is so unexpected it will leave you pondering about it for a good time after the credits finish rolling. The film is brooding and serious. It almost takes itself too seriously at times. There is no glimmer of hope throughout this 3-hour film. The heroes are not even hopeful about saving the city of New York in this alternate 1980's universe. It is a very well written, very thought out, and very well-made film. The acting is spot-on. Fans of the 20+ year old graphic novel will not like some of the significant changes, but new-comers will be compelled. A word of warning to parents: THIS IS NOT FOR KIDS!! The movie's gory violence is BRUTAL. The heros are all bordering on anti-heros. The sexual content is subtle sometimes, but mostly overt throughout including constant full-frontal male nudity and a prolonged (5-minute) slow motion sex scene. Also there is a brutal scene in which a superhero attempts to rape a female superhero by beating her violently until she is too physically weak to defend herself, but he is stopped before actual penetration is made. Other than those two prior mentioned instances of graphic sexuality are brief mentions of prostitution and a brief moment where a hooker flashes people on the street. Mixed into this steaming pot of sex and violence are mild swears. Overall, this film is very good but is completely inappropriate for children under 17. 4/5 stars. Enjoy!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 16 year old Written byDanBrazil October 22, 2009
It's a very cool movie!a little violent but pretty cool
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages

Pages