Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for Yesterday

Common Sense says

Sweet romance, some swearing in appealing comedy/fantasy.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 11 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 10 reviews
Adult Written bypath2thenorth June 28, 2019

great feel good movie

we took our 10 year old to see it. There is a scene where two of the characters are drinking (no one does anything stupid), one that alludes to sex (a jacket comes off and the roll on the bed clothed a bit) and some language. But we felt comfortable taking him to see it. We are big music and Beatles fans!! We didn't take him to see Rocketman...that is too much for him.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 14 year old Written byTadesca July 21, 2019

Feel good fantasy without Superheroes

This was such a well made movie, and it does feature Ed Sheeran! A bit of language, but nothing the kids haven't heard on the playground. The story is very endearing and ends positively. The moral lessons about lying are very strong.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bysas421 July 14, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed it

Aside from the fact the main character, Jack, lied about being the writer of the Beatle's songs early on, he at least did "fess up" near the end. There are two kissing scenes, and one toward the end in which he takes her home and your imagination can figure the rest. All in all, fairly innocent, and ad an adult who loves the Beatles, I enjoyed it immensely.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byMommyEili July 7, 2019

I like it

This movie is good but has some stuff. I like the music.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byJbeebe807 July 2, 2019

Really good movie!

Really cute movie that is light hearted and shows what happens when you get caught up in a lie! Good music and nice story.
Adult Written bymovieman48 July 1, 2019

Feel Good Movie

Really enjoyed this. A feel good movie. Obviously very surreal - I mean, how could the Beatles just disappear from history? But in our fame hungry age has a good message - that it's people and relationships that count, not fame and money. Kids should be OK with it as no real swearing or sex scenes. Just one point - it might be lost on kids who don't remember the Beatles. But for my generation it was nostalgia.
Parent of a 15 year old Written byLeofilmer June 29, 2019

Good comedy

This title contains:

Language
Adult Written byterra100 June 29, 2019

Incredibly good movie, good feelings, fun

I took my two early 20s daughters to this film. It was so refreshing to see a non-super-hero movie. It was incredibly well done. Lots of emotions. Funny!!!!!!! Good taste. Nice to see a PG-13 comedy that isn’t crass. Thank you Working Title and Universal Pictures for funding this beautiful film. Long live The Beatles!!!!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byCCCK June 28, 2019

Parents beware

Very pronounced GD and long awkward moment discussing if they would sleep together. Of course the music is wonderful but definitely better hearing the Beatles. Parts of it dragged out but overall ok. We would have been fine to sit this one out or watch on demand later.
Adult Written byMotormouth1107 June 27, 2019

Yesterday

I think the movie is appropriate for teens ages 13 and above.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byAnonymos June 26, 2019

Yeet

I love the beatles

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models