All parent member reviews for America's Got Talent

Parents say

(out of 20 reviews)
age 10+
Review this title!
Adult Written byjmann612 August 30, 2010
Before you catch “America’s Got Talent” why don’t you tune early and check their sweet new game show “Minute to Win It”? An extra hour of fun? Ummm…count me in! It’s so funny and cool and Guy Fieri is awesome. GO NBC!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byconcerned Mom55 June 19, 2014

Disgusted with 12 year-old Comedian on AGT

Though I have enjoyed watching America's Got Talent and have witnessed some wonderful and very talented individuals, I was totally disgusted at the 12 year-old boy on the 6-17-14 show. Not only did he come out and offer appalling soft-porn comedy, but his parents belly-laughed at his outrageous jokes. And to make it worse, they wore the fact of their Christianity on their heads. I am disgusted and appalled that anyone found the humor of this minor funny. What is America coming to when instead of building morality and decency in our young children, that we encourage this kind of lewd act, all for the sake of money and fame? A very sad day for America.
Parent Written bymichae1444 June 5, 2013

great show

its a great show
Adult Written byIlovetwiligjt January 29, 2013

Good show, beware motivation and self esteem issues.

This is basically just a big talent show for all americans. I recommend it for older tweens, though, I think people who actually want to audition may look at the show and be too scared by the judges' critics they might not be motivated to audition for this show, or any show in life. Also beware mild offensive language such as da*n, god**mn, and other mild language. Curse words are bleeped out, though. Contestants sometimes wear skimpy outfits and when showcases go wrong, there is sometimes some mild violence. Good show, beware Motivation and self esteem issues.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byStanleypuss July 20, 2012

AGT

It is a very good show. Some language is suggestive but Curses are "most" of the time Bleeped. Some kissing and flirting between judges and the host. They sell in stores fake X's and buzzers. The judges are Deal or no deal's Howie Mandel, Piers Morgans Tonight Show Piers Morgan, and Ozzy Osbourne's wife Sharon Osbourne. They Flirt and Fight and they pretend to think about who they're going to pick for judges choice. The host is the one and only Nick Cannon. My Family and I watch every night it's on.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byshanerocks May 20, 2012

Really good show!

Definetely worth watching. It's amazing!
Adult Written byJEDI micah April 11, 2012

YOU'VE NEVER SEEN TALENT LIKE THIS!!!

To be honest, I think this show is way better than American Idol! In American Idol, the only talent on that show is singing. But in America's Got Talent, you don't know what to expect! There's many types of talents allowed on this show, such as singing, dancing, instrument playing, illusions, stand-up comedy, stunt performing, animals performing, and more! Parents, you and your kids will love this show! You will probably find the host of the show, Nick Cannon, funny!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bysongscreener March 3, 2011
Show is about working for your dreams has great message
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bygmc443 July 7, 2010
I love the program but cannot stand that Twit, Howie Mandell is a bonafide Idiot..... I just cant stand him and his patronizing of those who have not a sintella of talent in their entire bodies...........
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 13 year old Written byChristfollower June 12, 2010

Need to rethink this - NOT AS INNOCENT AS IT SEEMS!

I think the review above needs to be revise. I've had to turn this show off on more than one occasion, because it was too racy and/or trashy for my family. Some of the acts I wouldn't want my husband seeing, much less my 13 year old daughter. They have strippers other than the funny one mentioned above, and most of the other female competitors are very scantily dressed. They bill this as family entertainment, but if that's what family entertainment has come to - we'll do without thank-you-very-much.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 9, 13, and 16 year old Written byesams June 5, 2010

this show is NOT for children under 13

the 1st 2 seasons were TV-14 and common senses reccomendation is EXTREME BAD LANGUAGE and i saw on an episode on the 3rd season 08-09 violence and on season 1 06-07 some drugs and bad role models There are, however, remarkable performances by some contestants who have God-given talents. using negative messages now remember the hot pink girls it showed some drugs and magic and skateboarding like diary of a wimpy kid xtreme sk8ers and put some episodes on MYSPACE so that it for today
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byAnnoyedteenguy April 5, 2010

Just about anyone can watch it, and will probably laugh at bad acts.

I started watching it on the last season with my mom. Some people are just ignorant at how they will inevitably fail. One of the biggest fails was a choir teacher who sang "Over the Rainbow" as if he were completely tone deaf, but there is no worries on this program, and some of the acts are wonderful. The judges can end the tryout at anytime by giving the person the X's which is always funny. Great show.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 17 year old Written byhimynameisdanie... September 11, 2009

blaaaaaaaaaaaa

this is a sucky show!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 14 year old Written byMoneyprincess June 24, 2009

It is not as good as the commercials make it look

Some of the people's acts are strange. It shows the gore and the people can stay on stage until 2 people have pushed their button, for the person to sit down. Your kids are at risk of seeing things that are extremely gory and inappropriate. You should watch it then figure out if you want your kids to watch it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bybmartin April 9, 2008
Adult Written byhammann1 April 9, 2008

Mostly entertaining but some questionable talent/characters

My husband insisted this was a family show and then the weird angel-winged guy and the racy female stripper had him fast forwarding the tivo. We really enjoyed some of the musical talent. In these early episodes it seems anything goes.
Adult Written bydanceforonealways April 9, 2008

Horrible junk TV

complete waste of time, an insult to our intellegence. No talent, put some talented people on this show who deserve the air time.Staged, looks like something from the 80's. Low budget, Terrible, Terrible, Terrible
Adult Written bytaterbug14 April 9, 2008

kinda stupid, but not the worst thing on tv

its entertaining in a weird sort of way, not the worst thing on tv. some of the acts are questionable, especially at first, but when they get down to a few acts, they have normally weeded out the very odd or questionable ones.
Adult Written bygreta-elisif April 9, 2008

Interesting Variety of Things, Some Material of Questionable Value

This show is kind of fun to watch. There are things on it not so good for kids: drag queens, burlesque, temper tantrums by judges (saying “I quit”, storming off the set, continuing to make a scene in front of camera in dressing room, relenting and coming back. Pathetic). There are other things on it that are OK, like the magicians, ventriloquists, and bluegrass musicians.
Adult Written bydownwardblog April 9, 2008

I love this show. Great to watch with the kiddies.

I make an effort to turn off the commercials but I do allow the kids to watch this show. It really is great for the whole family. My kids sing and dance while watching this show. I'm glad it's starting back up. I saw a promo for this show the other day and there will be the cutest 4 year old singing. I'm sure my little one will want to be her. Love it.