All parent member reviews for Arrow

Parents say

(out of 14 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Parent Written byLiana B October 21, 2013

About arrow

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written byRedSnakeGaming October 7, 2014

Good Superhero Show Great for Kids

I think that this is a very good television series for any kid really. It hardly has any nudity but there is some violence but nothing too graphic. Overall this is a good superhero television series
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byBeckyDee April 12, 2015

Lots of action, few *if any* consequenses

Warning: Read if you want details to help make decision about whether child should watch, don't read if you don't want spoilers. Ok, I'm three seasons into this show and have watched it evolve from Season 1 where Arrow is a full-on vigilante and kills most all who have "failed this City!" to where he comes back in Season 2 and decides he's not a murderer and wants justice more than sheer blood lust. That's a good thing. The not-so-good thing is that the show ups the violence in Seasons 2 and 3 by introducing villains who have no problem slaughtering people (now sometimes innocents who are collateral damage as they got in the way of the not-so-innocent targets) and hanging them upside down in warehouses to let the blood drain out of them. All shown, not implied. As the show progresses, so does the violence, a mother is gouged with a sword straight through center mass *in front of her children* and dies, eyes boggled wide open, as she falls to the ground next to them (they're all tied up). Another female character who is a vigilante gets brutally slain unexpectedly and falls off of a building onto a dumpster which breaks her back when she lands on the ground *directly at the feet of her sister*. Again, all shown in graphic detail, repeatedly if you count the "previously on Arrow" segments at the beginning of each show. So, that's the violence part. Then there is the romantic issue...it's not that they show sex so much as the way relationships start, stop, and start up again, then stop, and start (you get the point). The females on this show are strong physically, but when it comes to men, they pretty much will put up with anything and take anyone back...there are no consequences to cheating, lying, etc. It's not the end of the world if you let your teenager watch with you, but be prepared to explain some pretty irrational romantic behaviors and to endure some bone-crunching blood-letting that is shown in more graphic detail as the show progresses. If you have a tween, the Flash *might* be a better option. I say *might* because we're only on Season 1 of that show, and who knows, since it's an Arrow spin-off, it may go the same direction with violence as it progresses. Hopefully it won't. An important P.S.) I wish there was a click-on option on CSM under "What should other families know" that highlights body issues being a problem on a show... example, one of the main female characters loses a dramatic amount of weight in between Seasons 1 and 2 and has had significant plastic surgery that caused her to look very different... so much so that my teen asked me, "Is that the same actress?" as she looked so tiny and changed. It was sad to see such a beautiful person change herself so much, presumably because of pressure from producers that we've read/heard about for actors to be thinner. (Making an assumption here, so forgive me for doing so.) On the positive side, she regains some weight in season 3 and looks a lot healthier. There are more examples I could list, but that's the one that was the most startling. So, heads-up to parents of tweens and teenagers, there are some stereotypical Hollywood/fashion industry body-type issues in this show, unfortunately.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bytmrobinson January 3, 2015

Indoctrination Aspects

The acting and special effects are top grade and well thought out. The characters are not stagnant: the develop and even flip flop on perspectives. What is also well thought out is the indoctrination. Language: it seems like a profane word or phrase is selected to be repeated for a single episode - this pattern is repeated in many episodes. Like many shows, with the exception of a brief underwear bed scene in the pilot (that is flashed back on occasion in subsequent episodes) the writers waited until about 3/4 through the first season before introducing a sex scene (not the actual act itself, but all initial trappings). On the following season, you are hit with a sex scene up front in episode one (this timing is common to some books that like to weave a story in a series and then plug some porn into the story line). Fornication is not even questioned. Shacking up instead of manning up and marrying is taken for granted across much of the series. Yes, there is violence, but moral desensitization to a lack of integrity seems to be the subliminal message that runs through the series. "Family" is played up in a positive sense, only to discover that the most prominent family heads in the series are anything but sexually faithful. The one exception to this is Walter Steele; he is depicted as a man of integrity (he does divorce his wife who covered up his kidnapping and her previous husband's murder). Again, the effects and such are top notch, but should we overlook the immorality that is purposefully grafted into the story line merely because we like to be entertained? Detective Lance sums up the pro-vigilantism of the series by asking, "What good are our laws if they do not protect human lives?" If you think that law enforcement bears not the sword in vain, but should be a terror to evil doers, you might like the concept of the Arrow: when he appears, the body count of bad guys biting the dust skyrockets.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byPakistanPEGI December 20, 2014

16 and up

Despite the truth it is a DC comic hero's show but contains some material which is only for older teens and adults. Real Violence Bad Language(hell,damn,crap,bitch,bastard) Sexual Themes Drug abusing and drinking
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byoxman21 April 27, 2014

Good action series, but gets a little dark.

Season 1 isn't too heavy, however season 2 is when things can get a little darker in certain scenes. In season 2, a man in a prison cuts open his flesh and pulls out knives from them. A romance scene shows a woman's bare back. Young woman are force fed a liquid which solidifies their oesophagus, this is done in a disturbing manner as a murderer does this to preserve them as "dolls". There is also a lot of romance, random making out here and there, including lesbian. Appropraite for kids 14+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byNate R January 31, 2016

Awesome show! (SPOILERS)

This show is awesome, but extremely violent and intense. Violence and blood is strong e.g. An arrow in the eye, Deathstroke making large cuts in Oliver's chest with a knife, a suicide is committed (gun to the head), and a throat was slit, but you cannot see it, for the camera is behind. There is also terrifying threats that imply extreme violence, like Green Arrow almost shoving a man's face into a fan. There is also many situations of cheating on mates, and Oliver's friend saying it must had been hard to not have sex in 5 years. Language includes "ass", "son of a bitch" and "hell". This show is great, but also greatly suggestive.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byaubreyb1 September 20, 2015

We watch it too!

My husband and I enjoyed watching this alongside our 10 year old.
Parent of a 12 year old Written byedklat April 16, 2015
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent of a 9 year old Written byJustinG 3 January 3, 2016

Is action packed and awesome if your 9 and is says 12 and up who cares I'm 9 and I watch it what's the big deal

AWSOME it's perfect for your family to watch as long as everyone is 9 or up and if think it says 12 and up I'm 9 my parents let me watch it and they know it's content and they even watch it
Parent of a 13 year old Written byJillanjake2 April 5, 2014
Arrow is a good show for teens and Tweens violance is the main concern we follow Oliver queen as he takes justice into he's own hands saying the law does not do enough
Adult Written byquankiet22 June 10, 2016
Parent of a 18+ year old Written byCheese and Bread May 15, 2016

The Arrow

It's a tv show based of a DC comic. It's about Oliver Queen who is stuck on an island for 5 years when he is saved by some fishermen when he gets back everyone thinks he's gunna be the spoiled jerk he was (cuz his parents where super rich and spoiled him) (and BTW he got stranded on the island cuz there Yacht sank and him and his dad got to a life boat but there wasn't enough water for them all so his dad (who felt guilty ruined is city and wanted his son to survive and fix it) shot himself and then when Oliver gets back from the island he's a baller at fighting and shooting an arrow and he becomes a vigilante called the Arrow
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byHieptrieu April 8, 2016

Favourite superhero show of all time

Okay Marvel may have Daredevil, but DC has got the arrowverse! Don't miss out