Kid reviews for Big Mouth

Common Sense says

Raunchy but sweet animated comedy has sex jokes galore.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 90 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 125 reviews

Wondering if Big Mouth is OK for your kids?

Parents: Set preferences and get age-appropriate recommendations with Common Sense Media Plus. Join now

Teen, 13 years old Written bySenSid October 4, 2018

Great show to introduce adulthood and puberty to teens

Big Mouth introduces important topics to teens while using humor at the same time. It turns puberty into a funny subject. It turns teens hormones into a physical monster, which helps explain more and add humor. While there is some sexual content and swearing, its all part of showing teens what adulthood and growing up is like. All in all, Big Mouth is a great way to show kids the reality of puberty.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byIanBeltran October 2, 2017

Hidden gem

After reading what parents thought about the show I couldn’t help but roll my eyes at adults drawing conclusions without actually watching the content they’re recommending to other parents. For those whose morals blocked out the message the show was trying to portray, it’s really an accurate, and at times ludacris, show about teenagers who go through puberty. When you’re going through the process, puberty really does feel like there’s a crazy hormone monster controlling you and persuading you to do irrational things. It’s smart, it’s funnty, and there’s nothing else like it that’s as accurate as it is.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byms1721 October 4, 2018

Great show that allows teens to laugh at their growing body

It's stupid how juvenile most adults think teens are. Once you're in middle school, it's a trip to hell for their children, with puberty, homework, and gossip galore. This show is a great way to laugh at all those problems, with a surprisingly real look at teenagehood at the same time. Expect some language and sexual humor/conversation, but it's nothing that any present-day teenager will be new to. I love this show and definitely recommend adults to show this to their teens.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byRo.imp August 18, 2020

Puberty and Comedy

This is an adult comedy made by Nick Kroll, thats casts other comedians such as John Mulaney and Jason Mantzoukas.

It is a delightfully funny show about puberty in the present-day, and the struggles and feelings associated from the stage of life everyone goes through.

Although it is rated as TV-MA, it was made to be marketed to teens, which is why much of the humor is so crude.

Personally, I find it to be extremely funny, and personally validating, as I saw the troubles that I am/have experience(d) through puberty. Although it is a comedy at heart, it does have some episodes that are particularly informing, such as an episode that included several different scenarios discussing contraceptives, STD's, and the importance of reproductive health. Although it does wrestle with some of these ideas, most of the episodes are centered around serialized comedy, rather than informing the public. Weird and bad jokes, are sometimes evident in a few episodes, but not so much as to make it unenjoyable.

The themes in this TV show are great, and it is good to see it tackle on issues and insecurities such as penis size (inferiority in Nick) along with horniness (Andrew's excessive masturbating and sexual thoughts) bra size (Jessi and her bra fiasco) and the tackling of Shame (appearance of the Shame Wizard) which is another big point that teens (such as myself) struggle with. All in all, it is a very good show, and I absolutely would recommend to any teen and adult.

As for parents, I recommend you watch this show. You may not find it funny or entertaining, but it definitely gives you a glimpse of the insecurities and mishaps a lot of teenagers experience through puberty.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 10 years old October 10, 2019

Good show about puberty

I recommend this show mainly for either kids who have already hit puberty, or kids in middle school. It also depends on your humor. I've found some things funny in this show that I know other people wouldn't find good.

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 14 years old Written by__phoebezreviwer__ August 17, 2019

IGNORE STUPID REVIEWS-AMAZING!!

please please ignore the ignorant and stupid parent reviews saying it’s bad.these come from parents who DONT WANT THERE KIDS TO GROW UP. this show is basicallly the life story of all teens or tweens who’ve hit puberty. if you have then everything this shows will have happended to you, it’s your life! it’s so relatable and helps teens to feel that there not alone, i generally thank netflix for this show as it’s helped me to know others are going through it to. it has such amazing messages showing that no teens alone, everyone’s going through it together, and that it will really all turn out okay.a character with depression seeks help and learns the importance of therapy,asking for help and family. the kids all learn to not be ashamed of tbemsevels and there’s insecurities. although flawed every role model is perfect showing kids that although they all make mistakes they can recover from them an learn. amazing. no violence whatsoever. the sex in it is exactly what happens to almost every teen. for every parent saying it’s an “unhealthy portrayal” you need to get your head into reality. your kid is growing up, as much as you wish it your kid isn’t a baby anymore this is there life. everything shown(from the girls point of view) has happended to me and my friends, it’s our life. how is that inappropriate? as for the language anyone in higher middle school years, high school(or for england secondary school) hear the words cu*ts fu*k sh*t bit*h jizz, wank and all of that on the daily basis, they may even use them themselves(probably.) theres no consumerism. as for drinking drugs and smoking,, they’ll have encountered everything shown, two of the kids get high on weed, one of the girls Father’ is an addict, they drink at older siblings party’s. so happy to finally find a show that shows 12-16 year olds in reality, not acting like 8 years olds. it takes away the opinion that a teenagers life is perfect, and a high school musical thing. it may aswell be a documentary. it’s also very educational as it gives kids info about growing up, puberty,sex,pregnancy and more in a non-awkward way, and a way they’ll listen to and respect! speechless at how perfect this show is. it’s really a statement

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byCWau15 September 30, 2017

An Extremely Raunchy Yet Heartfelt Show

This show is all about teens dealing with puberty and all of the awkwardness that comes with it, so therefore its target audience should be those teens. It teaches them to allow themselves to laugh at what changes they are going through.
After all, seeing puberty as a taboo topic rather than an awkwardness we can all laugh at only makes puberty more difficult. This show blends incredibly hilarious humour, much of which is in the form of the Hormone Monster, with an underlying heartfelt message. Expect sexual humour galore, graphic nudity and language. I personally love sexual humour, and I know that not everyone does, but if you are a fan of Family Guy and other raunchy movies, or if you are going through puberty and want to be able to laugh at it, I urge you to give this show a try.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byalexanderhamilham February 19, 2019

PERFECT FOR ALL AGES

This show is a blessing to our earth and anyone who things other wise can talk to Lola over here. It’s an inspiring story about a group of preteens (Nick, Andrew, Jay, Jessie, and Missy) figuring things out. Sure there’s a little bit of raunchy jokes and scenes but it’s a sweet show everyone should watch. There’s a few examples of sex (Connie and Maurice eating spaghetti in an NSFW way), there’s some violence (Andrew pulls a disabled kid out of his wheelchair), drinking (Nick gets drunk off of Cotton Candy Brandy), drugs (Jessie and Nick try edibles). But it’s a good hearted show and will make you laugh until you pee.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymamie.slushie February 14, 2019

Accurate and Funny

All the adults are saying that “it’s too inappropriate and bad” well I am in 7th grade, (which is the same grade that the kids in this show are in) and I can confirm that is all bs. 7th grade is the time where we start puberty and go through all this stuff, Big Mouth is actually pretty accurate to the things I’ve experienced from being in middle school so far. YES middle schoolers talk about sex, making out, boners, puberty, our sexuality’s, boobs, and sex ed, get over it. This show may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but I personally enjoyed it. Having my own hormone monstress would make life a whole lot easier. This show should only really be watched if you are a middle/high school student going through puberty, because you’ll understand it more and everything will be funnier. I love this show and can’t wait for Season 3
Teen, 16 years old Written byt_jane November 7, 2018

Three Cheers for Netflix

Hands down the best representation of middle school drama, puberty, first relationships, growing up, first kisses, etc. I have ever seen. Big Mouth came out my freshmen year of high school and it was such a joy to watch it right after graduating middle school and looking back at all of my tween antics (I have since rewatched this gem countless times). Of course it's raunchy and graphic and often profane, but I don't think I've ever seen something more relatable. Big Mouth discusses touchy and culturally taboo topics through highly accessible characters, jokes, and best of all: it teaches us all that it's okay to be "weird" or "different" and that we're not alone.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byunyunboi December 18, 2017

Explicit, but mandatory

Yes, this show is full of sex, but it's super helpful for adolescents! It is almost as if it is a diary of seventh grade experiences. This isn't South Park, the innuendos are all necessary; not just for the plot or humor, but for the lesson. Big Mouth is better than sex ed, and I mean that!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Teen, 16 years old Written byprocrastinasian October 8, 2017

witty and down to earth

Big Mouth is silly and, despite the explicit content, it can provide entertainment to adults reminiscing about puberty, as well as solid and accurate representations of children going through puberty, something that is rarely found in media because of how taboo the subject is. It's lighthearted and astonishingly spot-on, with funny insights (not morals or lessons) on the workings of a developing person's mind.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byEpic man900 November 20, 2020

Funny show

Big mouth is a funny tv show... That’s all that I have to say...

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written by9002K November 8, 2020
A huge guilty pleasure for me. Big Mouth has talking genitalia, hormone monsters and condoms. But it's not quite as inappropriate as it seems. It has positive messages every now and then and it might seem like one of those "so inappropriate it's one of the worst" cartoons, but it's actually kind of smart and funny and it's not as inappropriate as it seems. I know I might've sounded weird for saying that
Teen, 13 years old Written by9029K November 2, 2020
Teen, 13 years old Written byJk9000 October 18, 2020
Teen, 15 years old Written byJane_05 October 1, 2020

Super educational, every teen should watch!

This show perfectly reflects what teens go through and is super relatable and funny at the same time. It's really important to know some of the stuff in the show. My little sister didn't know that there are different types of contraception and my Mum didn't even know the difference between an implant and an IUD, these are both things that the show discusses. Big Mouth tackles loads of important subjects like divorce and body image and it can help teens feel like they aren't alone. I'm tired of being told that I'm too immature for this stuff, people need to realise that tweens are a lot more mature than believed by media and they need to be exposed to this stuff so they can learn thing that sex ed in schools just doesn't teach. A lot of closed-minded parents are saying this show is too mature for their young teens but it shows exactly what their kids are going through and can be really helpful. I think all teens and parents of teens should definitely watch this. I seriously can't stress just how glad I am that I could watch this show and I only wish that I could have seen it sooner, it would have made me feel less alone and much more open to discussion. There is quite a bit of crude language and sex/sexual activities going on in the show but the language is nothing teens haven't heard before and the sex is part of the education in the show.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byJk90210 September 23, 2020
Kid, 12 years old September 17, 2020

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Kid, 12 years old September 5, 2020

Hi

This Show Is Really Pornography. I really
think this should be rated R. It has nudity, swearing, sex.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language

Pages