Kid reviews for Big Mouth

Common Sense says

Raunchy but sweet animated comedy has sex jokes galore.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 82 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 96 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written bySenSid October 4, 2018

Great show to introduce adulthood and puberty to teens

Big Mouth introduces important topics to teens while using humor at the same time. It turns puberty into a funny subject. It turns teens hormones into a physical monster, which helps explain more and add humor. While there is some sexual content and swearing, its all part of showing teens what adulthood and growing up is like. All in all, Big Mouth is a great way to show kids the reality of puberty.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byIanBeltran October 2, 2017

Hidden gem

After reading what parents thought about the show I couldn’t help but roll my eyes at adults drawing conclusions without actually watching the content they’re recommending to other parents. For those whose morals blocked out the message the show was trying to portray, it’s really an accurate, and at times ludacris, show about teenagers who go through puberty. When you’re going through the process, puberty really does feel like there’s a crazy hormone monster controlling you and persuading you to do irrational things. It’s smart, it’s funnty, and there’s nothing else like it that’s as accurate as it is.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byms1721 October 4, 2018

Great show that allows teens to laugh at their growing body

It's stupid how juvenile most adults think teens are. Once you're in middle school, it's a trip to hell for their children, with puberty, homework, and gossip galore. This show is a great way to laugh at all those problems, with a surprisingly real look at teenagehood at the same time. Expect some language and sexual humor/conversation, but it's nothing that any present-day teenager will be new to. I love this show and definitely recommend adults to show this to their teens.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 10 years old October 10, 2019

Good show about puberty

I recommend this show mainly for either kids who have already hit puberty, or kids in middle school. It also depends on your humor. I've found some things funny in this show that I know other people wouldn't find good.

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 14 years old Written by__phoebezreviwer__ August 17, 2019

IGNORE STUPID REVIEWS-AMAZING!!

please please ignore the ignorant and stupid parent reviews saying it’s bad.these come from parents who DONT WANT THERE KIDS TO GROW UP. this show is basicallly the life story of all teens or tweens who’ve hit puberty. if you have then everything this shows will have happended to you, it’s your life! it’s so relatable and helps teens to feel that there not alone, i generally thank netflix for this show as it’s helped me to know others are going through it to. it has such amazing messages showing that no teens alone, everyone’s going through it together, and that it will really all turn out okay.a character with depression seeks help and learns the importance of therapy,asking for help and family. the kids all learn to not be ashamed of tbemsevels and there’s insecurities. although flawed every role model is perfect showing kids that although they all make mistakes they can recover from them an learn. amazing. no violence whatsoever. the sex in it is exactly what happens to almost every teen. for every parent saying it’s an “unhealthy portrayal” you need to get your head into reality. your kid is growing up, as much as you wish it your kid isn’t a baby anymore this is there life. everything shown(from the girls point of view) has happended to me and my friends, it’s our life. how is that inappropriate? as for the language anyone in higher middle school years, high school(or for england secondary school) hear the words cu*ts fu*k sh*t bit*h jizz, wank and all of that on the daily basis, they may even use them themselves(probably.) theres no consumerism. as for drinking drugs and smoking,, they’ll have encountered everything shown, two of the kids get high on weed, one of the girls Father’ is an addict, they drink at older siblings party’s. so happy to finally find a show that shows 12-16 year olds in reality, not acting like 8 years olds. it takes away the opinion that a teenagers life is perfect, and a high school musical thing. it may aswell be a documentary. it’s also very educational as it gives kids info about growing up, puberty,sex,pregnancy and more in a non-awkward way, and a way they’ll listen to and respect! speechless at how perfect this show is. it’s really a statement

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byCWau15 September 30, 2017

An Extremely Raunchy Yet Heartfelt Show

This show is all about teens dealing with puberty and all of the awkwardness that comes with it, so therefore its target audience should be those teens. It teaches them to allow themselves to laugh at what changes they are going through.
After all, seeing puberty as a taboo topic rather than an awkwardness we can all laugh at only makes puberty more difficult. This show blends incredibly hilarious humour, much of which is in the form of the Hormone Monster, with an underlying heartfelt message. Expect sexual humour galore, graphic nudity and language. I personally love sexual humour, and I know that not everyone does, but if you are a fan of Family Guy and other raunchy movies, or if you are going through puberty and want to be able to laugh at it, I urge you to give this show a try.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byalexanderhamilham February 19, 2019

PERFECT FOR ALL AGES

This show is a blessing to our earth and anyone who things other wise can talk to Lola over here. It’s an inspiring story about a group of preteens (Nick, Andrew, Jay, Jessie, and Missy) figuring things out. Sure there’s a little bit of raunchy jokes and scenes but it’s a sweet show everyone should watch. There’s a few examples of sex (Connie and Maurice eating spaghetti in an NSFW way), there’s some violence (Andrew pulls a disabled kid out of his wheelchair), drinking (Nick gets drunk off of Cotton Candy Brandy), drugs (Jessie and Nick try edibles). But it’s a good hearted show and will make you laugh until you pee.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymamie.slushie February 14, 2019

Accurate and Funny

All the adults are saying that “it’s too inappropriate and bad” well I am in 7th grade, (which is the same grade that the kids in this show are in) and I can confirm that is all bs. 7th grade is the time where we start puberty and go through all this stuff, Big Mouth is actually pretty accurate to the things I’ve experienced from being in middle school so far. YES middle schoolers talk about sex, making out, boners, puberty, our sexuality’s, boobs, and sex ed, get over it. This show may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but I personally enjoyed it. Having my own hormone monstress would make life a whole lot easier. This show should only really be watched if you are a middle/high school student going through puberty, because you’ll understand it more and everything will be funnier. I love this show and can’t wait for Season 3
Teen, 16 years old Written byt_jane November 7, 2018

Three Cheers for Netflix

Hands down the best representation of middle school drama, puberty, first relationships, growing up, first kisses, etc. I have ever seen. Big Mouth came out my freshmen year of high school and it was such a joy to watch it right after graduating middle school and looking back at all of my tween antics (I have since rewatched this gem countless times). Of course it's raunchy and graphic and often profane, but I don't think I've ever seen something more relatable. Big Mouth discusses touchy and culturally taboo topics through highly accessible characters, jokes, and best of all: it teaches us all that it's okay to be "weird" or "different" and that we're not alone.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byunyunboi December 18, 2017

Explicit, but mandatory

Yes, this show is full of sex, but it's super helpful for adolescents! It is almost as if it is a diary of seventh grade experiences. This isn't South Park, the innuendos are all necessary; not just for the plot or humor, but for the lesson. Big Mouth is better than sex ed, and I mean that!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Teen, 16 years old Written byprocrastinasian October 8, 2017

witty and down to earth

Big Mouth is silly and, despite the explicit content, it can provide entertainment to adults reminiscing about puberty, as well as solid and accurate representations of children going through puberty, something that is rarely found in media because of how taboo the subject is. It's lighthearted and astonishingly spot-on, with funny insights (not morals or lessons) on the workings of a developing person's mind.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written bydickpounder December 5, 2019

best show ever

best show as a kid going through puberty the show is a good way on how kids learn there body going through those changes

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bythemarshingirl December 1, 2019

So funny and so real!

As a young teenager myself, I find this show incredibly accurate. Though it can be slightly racy, it talks about puberty in a way that most shows shy away from. In addition, it lets kids know that they are not alone in the weirdness of puberty. From an "imdb" standpoint, this show is incredibly sweet and has amazing character development through all three seasons. If you haven't watched it already, you should now!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byradpoopemoji123 November 26, 2019

A good look at what is coming when going through puberty

Throughout the whole show there is lots of sexual jokes and lots of language. You may feel uncomfortable at parts but it is all part of puberty. There is lots of rude humor with a boy having sex with his pillows. Overall a very very funny show for teens.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byiitsfrost November 16, 2019

Don't listen to the adult prudes who are rating content they haven't even watched!

Its crazy how many adults who have gone through puberty themselves and know exactly what its like are calling this show "animated child pornography" which is totally the opposite.

I started watching this at 14 when season 2 came out. I'm about to turn 16 a few months after the third season came out and let me tell you. This show is incredibly relatable to literally every single teen going through puberty out there. And its so nice to see a show that focuses on so many sensitive topics that aren't taught in schools, it isn't just a glorified show about sex. There are episodes that give a informatave insight with light humor about issues like teen pregnancy, what to do if an adult is preying on a child, STD's etc. There are lots of lessons to be learned from every episode and its nice because it manifests all these feelings teenagers have into monsters such as Mourice the Hormone Monster and Connie the Hormone Monstress and others.

I would say that if you think your child/teen is mature enough, hell yes let them watch this show.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byHi i am berlin November 10, 2019

Amazing show For Kids Who hot puberty

Hi, People anyways I think this show is amazing and should be used in schools instead of sex Ed, There Is Some Easily cencoreble language and animated nudity So Teachers Can Use It To Hell give the viewers a better understanding about what the different gender genitals look like, And It also Potrays it From the kids point of view So it is relateble for kids I Think Anyone With 2 Brain cells Would understand

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byUnicorn werewolf November 7, 2019

it's Amazing

I like this show, It's cool, funny, and creative. I like the Hormone Monstress aka Connie

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byBgboy November 2, 2019

It is an inappropriate show, but kids my age already know this stuff

There is very frequent cursing/ vulgar expressions such as the f-word, the s-word, p*ssy, and some more minor swear words, but there is stronger language such as c**t, but it is a lot less frequent. There is also a lot of sexual content such as kissing, sex talk, orgasms, masturbation, and more. There is also a very weird scene where you see a 7th grader having sex with his pillow. This is a bad influence on younger teens, but all in all, it is a great and funny show and you should definitely watch it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byFortnitequeen247 October 26, 2019

Perfect

This show is perfect for 13 year-olds and up. Because it shows the kids growing up and becoming sexual. It is popular in middle schools, lots of kids are watching it.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written by12345g43 October 25, 2019

Informative and inclusive

The show may be seen as “raunchy” or “perverted” but it’s helpful and great for kids of 11 and up because chances are, this is how they feel. It helps them understand themselves and one another, with an episode dedicated to explaining in a caring way what sexualities and genders and everything LGBTQ means to be. It helps kids understand that they aren’t alone, and that everyone is going through the same thing, just at different speeds. I think once a kid has hit puberty this will help them understand what’s happening to them, what to expect in the future, not to feel lonely or disgusting, and also have a laugh!!

This title contains:

Positive Messages

Pages