Kid reviews for Black Mirror

Common Sense says

British sci-fi series is violent and thought-provoking.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 29 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 43 reviews
Teen, 14 years old Written byizzybella524 August 2, 2016

Life Changing

The show is thought provoking, terrifyingly realistic and grotesquely riveting. Every idea explored in the episodes is based off real world scenarios (advertising, AI, online streaming). The themes are most definitely mature yet done in a way where they are not just for the sake of controversy. For example, a young woman is harassed on live TV into performing in a adult film, but it's used to signify the need for content that the episode is based on. One of the most profoundly moving TV shows of our generation and a must see for any informed citizen who wishes to confront their destiny.
Teen, 15 years old Written byblime June 16, 2019

! WARNING ! SHOW MAY BE TO COOL !

Amazing show! I'd rate it at a 10/10!

Not going to lie, I was a little bit scared of the show at first. But after binging 3 episodes late at night, I was actually shook. This show spreads a great message for both children AND adults. My mum's too scared to watch but I love it :-3

I recommend it to anyone 13+ due to the amount or strong language. I'd 10 out of 10 recommend this to someone under 13 as long as they know what the show's general theme is, and can process that big load of information all at once.

I for one loved the show and I CAN'T WAIT FOR SEASON 6 !

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byits_litty May 1, 2020

Great show

Whats great about this show is that each episode is different and has different levels of scariness. You cant really put an age rating on this show because some episodes 12 year olds could watch, and others should have higher age ratings. So if you are going to watch this show, i would recommend you looking up which episodes are scary, and which episodes are more thought provoking. In my opinion, the episodes you should watch first are, San Junipero, which is the least scary episode of the bunch, Hang the dj, Nosedive, and uss callister. The scarier ones of the bunch are: Playtest, Men against fire, and shut up and dance. But overall, none of the episodes are as terrifying as classic horror movies, they are more-so thought provoking. Black mirror is one of my favorites, would recommend!

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 16 years old Written byborkunderscorebork February 7, 2017

Beautiful Show That Society Needs to Watch

Black Mirror is a beautifully crafted show. While there are many inappropriate themes in each episode, everybody should try to get past this due to the show perfectly encapsulating aspects of our culture that are utterly terrifying or have the potential to be. While a few of the episodes are disturbing in their own right (episode 1,) most episodes garner the genre of "societal horror." The concepts conveyed in each episode are so disturbing that they really made me step back and take a look at our culture and how I interact with it. I would not recommend Black Mirror to the young or sensitive.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bysolardarlings October 15, 2016

Perfect for mature teens/tweens who are curious about the world

I think that this show is one of the most unique and insightful shows on TV right now. It touches so many different topics and each episode offers a new, dark approach on technology and humanity as a whole. I think as long as you are mature and can handle and appreciate the topics touched upon, this will be a perfect series for you. I love it!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byosk-ch March 2, 2020

Just amazing

I definitely agree with the other reviews - this show is life changing. Every episode is completely different but at the same time they're all so powerful and thought provoking. There are so many shocking twists and storylines that impact on you and leave you wordless. This is such a good series, and there's an episode for everyone. Sci-fi, mystery, crime, thriller, horror, romance you name it. I definitely recommend. There are a couple of episodes containing sex scenes, but most episodes are completely clean.

Strong sex in: hang the DJ, be right back, striking vipers.

Slight theme of sex in: the entire history of you, fifteen million merits, shut up and dance.

There is moderately strong language throughout, different intensities of violence through each episode, and overall not a strong presence of drugs.

I hope you found this review helpful, enjoy :)

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 15 years old Written byLauren G. April 7, 2019

Depends on the kid

This show is amazing, and really changes how you view the world around you. However, there is a lot of violence, sex, and swearing. It really comes down to each individual kid on whether these things, or the show's themes themselves, would be too much for them to watch. But, if you're pretty good with anything like me, it's a much watch!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 13 years old Written bylasershark March 31, 2019

Spectacular dark reflection of modern society and technology

Black Mirror is exactly as its title sounds, a show that reflects our own world, only it’s darker, blacker. It’s about normal people in societies terrifyingly similar to our own (varying by episode), who are confronted with issues influenced by advanced technology. It is a similar series to The Twilight Zone, in that each installment has a dark twist that will leave you reeling and rethinking the events of the episode. I personally love the show, especially the dark themes and fact that it is an anthology. This is a good style for a show like Black Mirror because of its content. Some episodes tilt more towards horror, while others feature more uplifting themes. Since it is an anthology, you have the privilege of picking and choosing which episodes you watch, making it easy to avoid inappropriate installments. The maturity level of your child is of course something to consider because of the sexual content, language, and violence. If you feel uncomfortable letting your child view a series like Black Mirror, a good thing to do is read a review of the individual episode, or preview it yourself before your child watches it. Consult your child to see if they feel comfortable with disturbing messages and themes.

The first episode, “The National Anthem,” is very disturbing and, frankly, I found it quite boring. I would avoid this one if you are uncomfortable with bestiality. In it, a princess is kidnapped and instead of a ransom, her captor wants the Prime Minister to have sex with a pig on live television. Don’t let this steer you away from the series, though, because trust in that most of the other episodes are better.

All things considered, this show is class A. television. Charlie Brooker, its creator, is pure genius. He has succeeded in creating an incredible and thought-provoking series. As with all anthologies, some episodes are better than others. One of my personal favorites is season four episode one: “USS Callister.” Although this installment will forever be known as “The Star Trek one,” it is still cohesive with the rest of the series and even has a happy ending which, sadly, is a rarity in the Black Mirror universe. This is spectacular television.
Written byAnonymous June 8, 2020

Black Mirror

First of all, Absolutely brilliant. The mind-bending plot makes you question your reality. I have rated this 18, not because of the violence ect, but because I do think you have to be quite attentive and imaginative to understand it, because I certainly didn't really understand it to the fullest. I think any one over 14 can watch it, but bare that in mind...

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byblanca123 April 8, 2020

Very good

super show love it fine for ages 11-12 and up

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAnyaKay07 August 21, 2019

it was good but....

Dude this was a great show and got me thinking about life but GUUUUURRRRRLLLLLL it was super inappropreate and swore a lot which i don't care about but there was sex in EVERY episode and i am insanly surprised when watching it i have never seen so much sex in a show in my whole life!!!!! ( sorry for spelling)

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byblackmirror June 24, 2019

Black mirror

I personally think that black mirror is the best show I have ever seen. I do not think that kids should be watching it( even though I am one) unless they can take sex, swearing, violence and nudity well. However this show is absolutely amazing and I think that Charlie Brooker is an amazing writer. It really shows what could happen to us in the near distant future and if you do decide to watch it, don’t binge watch it or your brain might just explode.
Teen, 13 years old Written byHenry S June 22, 2019

A thought provoking show with a relevance to modern society and technology

This show is full of beautiful and scary messages about the way the world is going, showing the good and the bad of peoples relationships with technology and it’s influences on the world and how we live are lives. Some episodes are better than others but the good ones out way the bad ones. Watching this show will widen you’re understanding of human nature and change you’re view on the world.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byrexdfur June 13, 2019

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byDionV March 17, 2019

For adults and mature teens

Black Mirror has really thought-provoking episodes, though they are all quite dark, some episodes have a lot of violence in them, and it gets horribly sad at some points. It is a series that challenges morals, displaying characters that aren't necessarily good or bad, and it is great at making you think about the harsh reality of our world and future. It is full of mature themes, and also just quite a lot of violence, which gets very gruesome in some episodes (it also contains sexual content, which I personally think isn't as bad but if you don't want your kids watching that kind of stuff, it's your choice). I would recommend that young children do not watch this show, as it has many disturbing scenes and scary parts. If your teen is scared easily or simply not ready to handle heart-wrenching content, existential themes and some high-impact violence, I would not let them watch Black Mirror. Regardless, it is a really good show, just be aware of its content.
Teen, 13 years old Written byKaitlynm93 March 16, 2019

great show, kinda weird

I really like this show. Sometimes it is a bit weird though, one of the episodes showed a man being forced to have sex with a pig. Overall, I like the show and would recommend it.
Teen, 17 years old Written bySushiCat January 7, 2019

Electrifying show

-Amazing! Covers a wide range of themes all while being an intense, psychological experience- after each episode I always had something in the back of my mind- sometimes troubling, sometimes scared- but in a good way. This show feeds at the raw emotional intensity of humans and our inner desires/motivations and is an extremely good discussion starter, as it deals with common themes, and future technology issues. Overall extraordinary series, you can clearly see they put effort into writing, and in one episode, I found zero plot holes! There are also fun easter eggs and etc. to look out for. If you look closely, the world is interconnected. This show is award-winning, thought-provoking, intense, and a masterpiece.
Really makes you think about our society today. A scary near future. Thank you!!
WARNING: Some episodes may contain inappropriate scenes/blood/violence/swearing/etc. but it's TV what do you expect
Teen, 16 years old Written byhanewcombe December 6, 2018

Black Mirror

Black Mirror is a TV show that is a mix of science fiction and a psychological thriller while being an anthology series which means that there is a whole new story and plot every episode. The episode ranges from forty to seventy minutes while the number of episodes per season ranges from two to six. In each episode, a whole new plot is introduced with whole new characters than the previous episode. Here, we are given a little insight into the future with more advanced technology than we have now. This series may be unsettling to some people because of the graphic content some of the episodes has. Some episodes are worse than others however, one must pick their poison.
In one episode, we are shown a life revolved around our ratings. This is the first episode in season three called “Nosedive”. Based on the ratings given to others by people around them, some may or may not be allowed into certain buildings, housing, or even certain rental cars. Lacie Pound, the main character in this episode, is faced with a money situation where she needs a 4.5 rating to be able to pay for her new living space. She goes on a whole adventure to try and raise her score but is faced with lots of problems along the way.
For anthological series such as Black Mirror, the audience needs to be engaged and interested since there is no storyline to follow. One way of this is for each episode to be something relevant and different than the other ones. I would rate this part of the show a 9 out of 10 because every episode is completely different than the last, but only has to do with our future with more advanced technology. In “Nosedive,” social media rankings and their rewards/consequences is the theme for this episode which is a real eye-opener to our society. In a way, our real world now is like that episode because most people, like Lacie, is so focused on how much people like her and other people are like Susan, the truck driver who doesn’t care what people think anymore.
Another key component of making a television show is the quality of the animation. In a show like Black Mirror that has a central theme of advanced technology, this is vital for success. Not many people will want to continue watching a science fiction movie with mediocre animations that are obviously computer generated. With good special effects and animations, it makes the show more realistic and relatable. For this episode, I rate this aspect a 10 out of 10. The special effects shown are realistic, consistent, and smooth. To me, this makes it more enjoyable and relatable because I can imagine seeing it in real life.
Not only is what’s seen on the screen important but so is the writing. Creativity plays a big factor in how successful a show does. There are so many different movies/shows out there but a lot of them have similar storylines. I would rate the creativity of this show a 10 out of 10 as well because it takes extreme amounts of creativity to make each episode different. There is a little amount of shows that talk about what Black Mirror does. The story lines are well thought out and at the end of each episode, there is a little cliffhanger to what happens to the characters which some people either like or do not like. I am a fan of how it is not a huge cliffhanger but leaves your mind to come up with the rest.
There are many other aspects about Black Mirror that I did not cover but overall, I give this series a 10 out of 10 because it is unlike any show I have ever seen. It is a very diverse, odd, and strange show but it is so unique. Some episodes sit better with me than others, but they are all captivating. For example, “Nosedive” is a more tolerable episode than “USS Callister” from season 4. The time and effort put into each story is easily seen through the creativity each story has, the realistic-ness of the special effects, and the uniqueness compared to other shows.
Teen, 16 years old Written bysuperman13 July 12, 2018

A stunning meditation on the implications of technology; dark and sobering

"Black Mirror" doesn't exist to entertain. It exists to ask profound questions about the human condition, namely concerning technology. With each passing episode, I was consistently floored by the show's brilliant writing and disturbing thematic material. It asks difficult questions about the moral and societal ramifications of increasing human dependence on technology, and deeply unsettles its viewers.

Black Mirror is not for kids, as most adults find it disturbing. There are numerous scenes of sexual innuendo and explicit sexual material (a talent show contestant becomes a porn star, couples have sex with genitals off-screen, and a cartoon bear makes vulgar jokes). The very first episode ("The National Anthem") boasts Black Mirror's most disturbing plot, one in which a man is forced to engage in bestial sex.

The violence isn't too graphic, but can be unsettling. A woman is hunted by a mercenary with a shotgun, and almost has her arms cut off (until her rescuer shoots her captor). In a flashback, it is revealed that a murderous couple kidnapped a child and burned her alive (again, this is mostly off-screen). Most of the violence is fairly tame, save for season 3 where things get edgy.

Black Mirror has tells sobering, chilling and unforgettable stories which shook me to my core. I highly recommend it to any youth or adult who craves thought provoking and philosophically rich television.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bypollysparkle33 June 19, 2018

Untitled #3

NOT FOR CHILDREN UNDER 14 !!!
---------------------------------------------

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff

Pages