Parent reviews for Castlevania

Common Sense says

Arresting anime adaptation has over-the-top brutal violence.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 17+
Based on 13 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 14 reviews
Adult Written bystephen F. July 12, 2017

Absolutely Brutal.

I feel that this series does have a certain strong morality to it. It features several characters who stand up against evil, fight to protect the weak, and are willing to sacrifice their own lives to protect/help others. It also has demons eating babies.

In one scene, after a demonic assault on a town, human intestines are shown strewn across the rooftops. In another, the main character takes out a man's eye with his whip. (the eyeball is shown flying out of his head in gory detail) There's plenty of extremely graphic violence.

There's also the matter of the Church. The clergy portrayed in this movie are wicked, hypocritical, selfish men with a lust for power. Which is perhaps an accurate historical portrayal of the sort of Catholic hierarchy who commanded the crusades in medieval times. (Although this story is set in a sort of alternate fictional reality) The demonic horde in this series is summoned by Dracula because the Church burned his human wife at the stake as a witch. His wife who had convinced him to see the good in humanity, to help her heal people, and basically be an all around good guy. Questions of morality, of right and wrong, wisdom and science versus superstition, ignorance, and fear are central to this plot, and while Dracula and his vengeance, his army of demons, are the great terror of the show, it is the corruption of the Church that seems to provide the actual face of evil.

The demons attack by night, while the members of the Church murder by daylight. The common people are mostly caught in the middle, reacting out of fear, while the apparent heroes are besieged by all three in a quest to somehow end the bloodshed.

This is a very adult show. I'm an atheist, but even I would say it perhaps goes a bit too far in vilifying the Catholic Church. But I feel that the story has some important virtues to impart as well. There are themes of redemption and sacrifice and decency in the face of evil here, but you'll have to accept some truly dark horrors along the way. and maybe facing those demons is the point.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bymcernoia March 12, 2020

Castlevania Season 3

Okay, so obviously this is an extremely graphic, swear-y, bloody title. We have covered that. But the characters are amazingly well written, Sypha and Trevor are amazing together and Alucard is tragic. Dracula himself is an amazing character, the tragic villain portrayed wonderfully.
In addition, while it does swear and use the Lord's name in ways it shouldn't be used, it deals with deep and intriguing moral issues such as good and evil, the "if God is all good, why is there evil?" thought that we all have to deal with at some point (I would point to season one's scene with the night creature and the corrupt priest as the most power point of that). It throws out questions on selfishness verses selflessness (most notably in Trevor himself), what gives human lives value, and the corruptive nature of sin (see Carmila and Hector on that).
Seasons one and two are powerful, dramatic, bloody and thought provoking. If you have older kids who would not be bothered by this and are willing to chat with you after about morality and other deep topics, please watch this show with them as there are many conversations to be had on in the first two seasons.
Then they put out season 3. While it deals with the above topics and themes even more and has some amazing scenes, the last two episodes dip into territory that neither season dipped into before: on screen nudity. This comes in the form of two sex scenes (mostly censored, but plenty of above the waist shots and enough graphicness that you know exactly what happened).
A moment of vulnerability from me, I am a recovering pornography addict, and like anime/animated shows. I've had to cut nearly every show of those natures out of my life in my pursuit of freedom. So I was so excited to find this amazingly well done, dramatic, epic show in Castlevania. It comes as a deep hurt and nearly a feeling of betrayal that this was included in the show.
If that is not a stumbling block for you, please enjoy season three, it is a fun ride with more of what you've come to love and expect from the Castlevania series. Unfortunately, for me this took all the air out of my balloon and could not enjoy the ending of the season whatsoever.

Overall (and I know this is a lengthy review), seasons one and two I would give B+, the subtractions being from that first episodes graphic description of bestiality that did not sit well with my soul, the general swearing the pervades the show, and a lot more gore than I generally like. The positives come from compelling characters, good storytelling, set pieces that are dramatic and beautiful, and great music. Season three I would give a C because of the graphic sex scenes in the final two episodes.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byHayden W. July 10, 2017

Age rating seems a bit low...

I'm pretty shocked CSM gave a 14+ rating for this one. This a TV-MA rated show and it shows. It's extremely violent and vulgar. Death Note is a TV-14 rated anime, , CSM rated that for 16+. While I wouldn't say that show is "child- friendly", it wasn't anything like this. Cannot recommend for anyone under 17.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written byMrsRosy April 10, 2020

Castlevania animation for adults

Kids might be fans of the games but this is for mature audiences, copious amounts of gore and death as well as torture and explicit sex scenes in series 3. The story is gripping with twists and genuine surprises, and adult fans of the games can spot many easter egg references hidden in the artwork.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byScott G. March 17, 2020
Sex is surprisingly ramped up a lot in season 3. Loys of gore throughout. Many adult themes. Not a show for kids.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byDaniLynch May 26, 2020

Gruesome, Brutal, Adult

This show has an amazing plot and admirable characters, however the violence is absolutely NOT kid friendly. The language is strong and sex and nudity is present in the later season. It is meant to be watched by adults or very mature teens.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byNicksden April 24, 2020

Brutal and bleak adventures

The world of Castlevania is not for everyone. This is evident from the first episode with multiple mentions of a man having sexual intercourse with a goat. There are other references of bestiality throughout the show. You can expect a lot of episodes that barely have any swearing (those can be fast-forwarded) and there are episodes with excessive cursing, almost for no reason. Season 3 introduces sex scenes and nudity. It's not overly explicit as genitalia are not shown, but you can expect everything else. The atmosphere of this show is almost always depressing and grim, with most of the characters dying or being hurt emotionally. Interactions between the majority of the characters made me feel like all of life has been sucked out of them. All in all, it's a shame this show is so graphic because the animations are wonderful and unique.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written bySleepy Eclipse April 11, 2020

It’s a great show based off a video game.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byAaron C. March 31, 2020

Dark & Intense Supernatural Medieval Drama has depth & is Violent.

Honestly, I'm surprised that CSM has given this only 14+. It has bloody violence & strong language. It's definitely not for kids.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byppintheasscrack March 7, 2020

Good gory

There’s a lot of swearing and gore but it’s nothing your kids never seen. If your kid is still innocent and thinks it’s bad ass to watch an M movie than this isn’t for them.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Parent of a 10 and 12-year-old Written byJulie St-F December 3, 2017

Intense, and gory

Watched this with my husband. Despite the fact it's animated, it's very violent and very gory. It would likely bother a lot of younger teens. While I'm not normally bothered by swearing for teens, the swearing was... creative, and often linked to describing violent events or wishes in a crass way that trivialized them.
It's a story based on an even more violent and gory videogame, and the plot is clunky and riddled with tropes and clichés. Women are mostly just plot devices. They spend a lot of time being victims in need of male rescuers.
If I am being completely honest, Castlevania comes off as an old-school fantasy that is so focused on making violence looking sexy, and leaves so little room for women, that I kinda wonder what year it was made in.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byCameron S. November 23, 2017

Probably, Obiviously, and most importantly Positivity Video Game Adaption to be the best and first of it too.

It's not for everyone, but maybe both fans and newcomers alike for the franchise would love this. Not because it's partially an anime or the art style of the show, it's because the plot was well written and inspired, the story started off so well that you want to watch it all over again, the characters maybe underdeveloped but you'll begin to understand their personality, the voices are rare, even the theme of the show was dark and epic.

I think this show could've had more ambition if there were more episodes, but that doesn't mean the creators didn't had plans.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bySam M. July 14, 2017

Very Promising and Far More Gruesome than the Games

Much gorier than the games i have played and surprisingly profane (my fave is when Belmont tells an adversary to "Stone The F**k up" before a fight). We see demons carry out decapitate, disembowel, and savagely toss and maim civilians leaving blood and entrails everywhere, we also see an infant one one demons bloody mouth, a bisected child, people impaled by falling glass, a massive pile of discarded corpses, heads on stakes and intestines strung up like christmas lights. Sword fights leave combatants bloody, dismembered, an eye gets whipped out gruesomely, blood oozes and flows is great amounts with lots of violent motion and sounds. These parts arent constant but pervade the story.
Very short, but moody, well written, voiced and animated. Its really an extended pilot rather than a season. Yet the platform for the future is pretty well established. Would have liked more Dracula. Belmont is an enjoyable lead and i anticipate seeing more from the cast in general. Action is engaging yet somewhat reserved which is understandable at this early point.